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COLORADO PROPERTY TAX 
 
OVERVIEW 

The Colorado property tax system provides 
revenue exclusively for local government 
services.  The largest share of property tax 
revenue (49.4 percent) goes to support the 
state's public schools.  County governments 
claim the next largest share (25.4 percent), 
followed by special districts (18.7 percent), 
municipal governments (5.1 percent), and 
junior colleges (1.4 percent). 
 
The authority for property taxation is both 
constitutional and statutory.  Article X of the 
Colorado Constitution provides that all 
property is taxable unless declared exempt by 
the Constitution, and that the actual value of 
taxable property shall be determined under 
the general laws to secure just and equalized 
valuations.  The specific statutes pertaining to 
property taxation are found in Title 39, Articles 
1 through 14, Colorado Revised Statutes. 
 
Under the general laws of Colorado, county 
assessors are required to value all taxable 
property within their county boundaries.  The 
State Board of Equalization (state board) has 
supervision over the administration of all laws 
concerning the valuation and assessment of 
taxable property and the levying of property 
taxes.  The Division of Property Taxation 
(Division), under direction of the Property Tax 
Administrator (Administrator), coordinates the 
implementation of property tax laws 
throughout Colorado’s sixty-four counties. 
 
Revenue derived from 2009 property taxes 
(payable 2010) will increase statewide for 
every local government type.  Table 1 lists the 
percentage increases in property tax revenue 
between taxes payable in 2009 and taxes 
payable in 2010.  The combined revenue 
increase from taxes payable in 2010 is 7.1 
percent. 
 

TABLE 1
Tax Years 2008-2009

Taxing Entity % Increase

School District K-12 5.5%
Junior Colleges 30.0%
Counties 8.1%
Municipalities 3.0%
Special Districts 10.0%
Combined Increase 7.1%  

In 2007, the General Assembly amended  
§ 22-54-106(2), C.R.S., to freeze the “total 
program” mill levies certified annually by 
school districts.  The mill levy freeze applies 
to 174 of the state’s 178 school districts that 
had previously approved broadly worded 
ballot issues waiving the revenue limits of 
Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado 
Constitution (TABOR).  The remaining four 
districts excluded from the change are 
Colorado Springs, Harrison, Cherry Creek 
and Steamboat Springs.  Over time, the mill 
levy freeze is intended to restore the 
percentage of school total program funding 
derived from property tax revenue to levels 
that existed prior to the 1992 passage of 
Section 20, Article X of the Colorado 
Constitution (TABOR).  On March 16, 2009, 
the Colorado Supreme Court issued a 
determination that the mill levy freeze is 
constitutional. 
 
 
STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

The State Board of Equalization consists of 
the Governor, the President of the Senate, 
the Speaker of the House of Representatives, 
or their designees, and two members 
appointed by the Governor with consent of 
the Senate.  Each appointed member must be 
a qualified appraiser, a former assessor, or a 
person who has knowledge and experience in 
property taxation.  The state board members 
for 2009 were Lyle C. Kyle, Chairperson and 
appointee of the Governor; Charles Brown, 
Vice-Chairman and appointee of the 
Governor; Craig R. Welling, designee of 
Governor Bill Ritter, Jr.; Wally Grant, 
designee of Brandon Shaffer, President of the 
Senate; and Representative Joel Judd, 
designee of Terrance D. Carroll, Speaker of 
the House of Representatives. 
 
Duties and Responsibilities 

The state board supervises the administration 
of property tax laws and the equalization of 
the values of classes and subclasses of 
taxable property.  Duties of the state board 
are found primarily in Article X, Sections  
3 and 15 of the Colorado Constitution and in 
Title 39, Articles 1 and 9, Colorado Revised 
Statutes. 
 
Among its duties, the state board reviews the 
findings and conclusions of the annual study 
contractor and orders reappraisals in counties 
found not in compliance.  The annual study 
was initiated by a 1982 amendment to the 
Colorado Constitution to ensure that all 



assessors value property at the same level of 
value using standardized procedures and 
statistical measurements.  The study is 
conducted by an independent auditing firm 
contracted by the Director of Research, 
Colorado Legislative Council, § 39-1-104(16), 
C.R.S.  The study and the resulting orders of 
reappraisal are the primary means of 
achieving statewide equalization. 
 
The importance of the state board’s 
equalization function is due in part to the 
relationship that exists between assessed 
values and state aid to schools.  Generally, if 
the property in a school district is under-
assessed, it is likely that the district will 
receive more state revenue than it is entitled.  
When the results of a reappraisal order 
indicate that the affected school district(s) 
received too much state revenue, the state 
board will order the county (not the school 
district) to pay back the excess funding.  
During the 1980s and early 1990s, this 
occasionally required the repayment of 
substantial revenue to the state.  In more 
recent years, significant improvements in the 
quality of county assessments have resulted 
in far fewer reappraisal orders and smaller 
repayments of excess state aid to schools. 
 
The state board also reviews county 
Abstracts of Assessment, decisions of county 
boards of equalization (county boards) and 
the policies and recommendations of the 
Property Tax Administrator. 
 
 
STATE BOARD ENFORCEMENT 

The following is a brief history of recent 
enforcement actions by the State Board of 
Equalization. 
 
2009 Enforcement and Repayment 

On October 27, 2009, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of 
Wildrose Appraisal, Incorporated, annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on the findings, the state board issued 
a reappraisal order for oil and gas personal 
property in Montezuma County.   
 
The board also reviewed the status of their 
2005 recommendation for Jackson County.  
The 2005 recommendation asked Jackson 
County to implement a five-year cycle for 
physical inspections of rural outbuildings.  
The Jackson County Assessor indicated that 
she had completed the physical inspections 
of all rural outbuildings in Jackson County. 

2008 Enforcement and Repayment 

On October 8, 2008, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on these findings, the state board 
issued no orders of reappraisal. 
 
They also reviewed the status of their 2005 
recommendation for Jackson County.  The 
2005 recommendation asked Jackson County 
to implement a five-year cycle for physical 
inspections of rural outbuildings.  The 
Jackson County Assessor indicated that she 
only had four physical inspections left to 
complete the project. 
 
2007 Enforcement and Repayment 

On October 10, 2007, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on these findings, the state board 
issued no orders of reappraisal.  They did, 
however, review the status of a prior 
reappraisal order given to Costilla County. 
 
On October 11, 2006, the state board 
determined that the 2005 ordered reappraisal 
of single-family residential property was 
successfully completed by Costilla County, 
and ordered the county to payback the state 
aid to schools as well as the supervision 
reimbursement costs by the end of 2007.  At 
the October 2007 state board hearing, the 
Costilla County Deputy Assessor provided the 
state board with a document detailing the 
County’s 2007 expenditures.  Although the 
entire $17,964.97 had not yet been spent, the 
remaining portion was slated to be used for 
education of assessor personnel and a list of 
proposed courses was submitted.    
 
The board reviewed the progress of their 
2005 recommendations for both Rio Grande 
and Jackson Counties.  The state board’s 
2005 recommendation asked Rio Grande 
County to determine the productive capability 
of agricultural land by implementing the 
National Resource Conservation Service 
(NRCS) soil survey by 2007 for 2008.  At the 
2007 hearing, it was reported the county 
completed the soil survey.  This was verified 
by Carl Ross of Rocky Mountain Valuation 
Specialists, Inc. 
 
The state board also reviewed Jackson 
County’s progress toward implementing a 
five-year cycle for physical inspections of rural 



outbuildings.  The Jackson County Assessor 
indicated that as of October 10, 2007, 45 
percent of the inspections had been 
completed. 
 
2006 Enforcement and Repayment 

On October 11, 2006, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on these findings, the board issued no 
orders of reappraisal.  They did, however, 
review the results of the reappraisal order 
given to Costilla County in 2005 for all single-
family residential properties in the county.  
The board determined that the reappraisal 
was successfully completed, and ordered the 
county to make the following payback and 
reimbursement. 
 
  State Aid 
 Supervision To Schools 
County Reimbursement Payback 

Costilla $17,964.97 $968.09* 
 
*   + interest on state aid payback based on the 
rate set by the Colorado Banking Commissioner, 
which can be reduced by three percent under the 
authority of the state board. 
 
The board approved Costilla County’s request 
to repay the excess state equalization 
payments to schools by the end of 2007.  In 
addition, the state board approved a reduction 
of three percentage points, resulting in an 
interest rate of six percent. 
 
The board also approved the county’s request 
to employ the “Bledsoe Plan” for the 
repayment of the supervision costs allowing 
the county to choose an alternative method of 
repaying the costs associated with the state’s 
supervision of the reappraisal.  The Bledsoe 
Plan authorizes counties to increase the 
assessor’s budget by the supervision 
reimbursement money for expenditures that 
will enhance their operational effectiveness. 
 
2005 Enforcement and Repayment 

On October 11, 2005, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on the findings, the state board issued 
a reappraisal order for the single-family 
residential property subclass in Costilla 
County.  The board recommended that Rio 
Grande County comply with a procedural 
requirement to use a soil survey conducted by 

the United States Natural Resource 
Conservation Service (NRCS) when 
classifying and valuing agricultural land, and it 
recommended that Jackson County submit a 
plan for detailing the methodologies and time 
frames the county will use to physically 
inspect agricultural outbuildings. 
 
The board also reviewed the results of a 
reappraisal order issued to Fremont County in 
2004.  Pursuant to the reappraisal, it ordered 
the repayment of excess state aid to schools 
and ordered the repayment of the cost of 
supervising the reappraisal.   
 
The county commissioners requested the 
state board allow them to apply the 
supervision reimbursement money to the 
assessor’s budget for 2006.  The alternate 
repayment method, referred to as the 
“Bledsoe Plan” authorizes counties to 
increase the assessor’s budget by the 
supervision reimbursement money for 
expenditures that will enhance their 
operational effectiveness. The county 
requested the funds be used to purchase a 
variety of computers, various types of 
software and maps.  The board approved the 
county’s request to employ the “Bledsoe Plan” 
for the repayment of the supervision costs.   
 
The board approved Fremont County’s 
request to repay the excess state equalization 
payments to schools by the end of 2006.  The 
state board approved a reduction of three 
percentage points, resulting in an interest rate 
of four percent.   
 
  State Aid 
 Supervision To Schools 
County Reimbursement Payback 

Fremont $54,751 $131,263 
 
+ interest on state aid payback based on the rate 
set by the Colorado Banking Commissioner, which 
can be reduced by three percent under the 
authority of the state board. 
 
 
DIVISION OF PROPERTY TAXATION 

Under the general laws of Colorado, the 
Property Tax Administrator (Administrator) 
heads the Division of Property Taxation.  The 
Administrator is appointed by the State Board 
of Equalization to serve a five-year term, and 
until a successor is appointed and qualified. 
 
A primary responsibility of the Division is to 
administer the implementation of property tax 



law throughout the 64 counties so that 
valuations are fair, uniform, and defensible, 
thereby ensuring that each property class 
contributes only its fair share of the total 
property tax revenue.  In other words, the 
Division's goal is equalization of valuation and 
proper distribution of property taxes 
throughout the state. 
 
The Division is comprised of four sections: 
Administrative Resources, Appraisal 
Standards, Exempt Properties, and State 
Assessed Properties. 
 
Administrative Resources 

Administrative Resources prepares and 
publishes administrative manuals, procedures 
and instructions.  It conducts schools and 
seminars regarding the administrative 
functions of the assessors’ offices.   
It conducts field studies and provides 
statewide assistance in tax increment 
financing, manufactured housing, title 
conveyance, mapping, abstracting valuations, 
certification of values to taxing entities, and 
workforce analysis studies.  The section also 
investigates taxpayer or taxing entity 
complaints.  It is responsible for various 
studies and reports such as the residential 
assessment rate study and the Property Tax 
Administrator’s Annual Report to the 
Governor and the General Assembly.  It also 
coordinates with agencies having an interest 
in property taxation.  In addition, the field staff 
works closely with assessors in all areas of 
property taxation. 
 
Appraisal Standards 

Appraisal Standards prepares and publishes 
appraisal manuals, procedures and 
instructions.  It holds schools and seminars 
regarding all areas of appraisal.  It conducts 
field studies and provides statewide 
assistance in agricultural land classification, 
natural resources and personal property 
valuation, as well as assistance in the 
valuation of residential, commercial and 
industrial properties.  The section assists in 
reappraisal efforts, reviews internal appraisal 
forms used by assessors, and investigates 
and responds to taxpayer complaints. 
 
Exempt Properties 

The Exemptions Section is responsible for 
determining qualification for exemption from 
property taxation for properties that are 
owned and used for religious, charitable and 
private school purposes.  Exempt property 

owners are required to file annual reports with 
the Division to continue exemption.  The 
section provides assistance to counties and 
taxpayers with inquiries about exempt 
properties, conducts hearings on denied 
exemption applications and revocations of 
exemption, and defends appeals of such 
denials and revocations. 
 
State Assessed Properties 

The State Assessed Section values all public 
utilities, rail transportation companies, and 
airlines doing business in Colorado.  The 
company valuations are then apportioned to 
the counties for collection of local property 
tax.  The section conducts research projects 
in connection with state assessed companies; 
assists counties and taxpayers with inquiries 
on the assessment of public utilities, rail 
transportation companies, and airlines; hears 
protests of the assigned values and defends 
appeals of such valuations. 
 
 
2009 VALUE INFORMATION 
 
For 2009, Colorado assessed values 
increased by $10.2 billion, or 11.7 percent 
from the prior year.  The increase resulted 
primarily from the general reappraisal of 
property to the 2008 level of value and 
dramatic increases to the values of oil and 
gas property.  Table 2 displays the 
percentage changes by property class. 
 

TABLE 2 

VALUE CHANGES BY CLASS

2008-2009 Class as %
Class Change of Total

Vacant Land 9.5% 6.3%
Residential 4.7% 43.3%
Commercial 11.3% 28.0%
Industrial 11.8% 3.3%
Agricultural 4.5% 0.9%
Natural Resources 14.3% 0.4%
Producing Mines 32.3% 0.5%
Oil and Gas 54.5% 12.1%
State Assessed 5.8% 5.1%
Net Total 11.7% 100.0%  



Residential, Commercial/Industrial, Vacant  

For real property classified as residential, 
commercial, industrial, and vacant land, the 
increases in value reflect market value 
changes that occurred between June 30, 
2006 and June 30, 2008.  Statewide, the total 
value of these classes continued to increase 
even though values in much of the United 
States were dropping substantially. 
 
Although certain areas along the Front Range 
experienced a significant decrease in 
residential value, especially portions of 
Adams, Arapahoe, and Weld Counties, the 
region as a whole faired much better than the 
national average.  According to the 
S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price Indices, home 
prices in metropolitan Denver declined by 5.6 
percent from July 2006 to June 2008, 
compared to a decline of 18.7 percent for a 
composite of 20 metropolitan regions across 
the U.S.   
 
At the same time, residential values in most of 
the mountain and western slope counties 
continued to increase significantly.  This was 
particularly true for resort counties such as 
Eagle (+16.1%), Pitkin (+34.1%), Routt 
(+30.1), and Summit (+26.4%), and it was 
true for counties impacted by the boom in 
natural gas development such as Garfield 
(+30.1%), Mesa (+21.1%), and Rio Blanco 
(+39.6%).  By June 30, 2008, residential 
property values in many of the western 
counties had begun to decline, but the 
declines were overwhelmed by the sharp 
increases that had occurred throughout most 
of the two-year period. 
 
The percentage change to the assessed 
values of the residential, commercial, and 
industrial classes reflects new construction.  
For example, although the total value of 
residential property in the City and County of 
Broomfield increased by 0.2 percent, new 
construction represented 3.5 percent of 
Broomfield’s 2009 residential total.  If new 
construction is removed, the residential 
property class value in Broomfield decreased 
by 3.3 percent. 
 

As with residential property, the 
commercial/industrial real estate market 
remained stronger in Colorado during the two-
year period than it did nationwide.  According 
to the Moodys/REAL Commercial Property 
Price Index (CPPI), the value of U.S. 
commercial and industrial property increased 
by 12.7 percent through August 2007 but 
declined sharply thereafter to post a 0.6 
percent reduction over the two-year period.  
This significant reversal in the national market 
is not evident in most Colorado counties as 
reflected by sales that closed on or before 
June 30, 2008.   
 
The total values of the commercial and 
industrial classes are also stabilized 
somewhat by the presence of personal 
property.  Business personal property 
accounts for 13.6 percent of the total value of 
the commercial class and 47.7 percent of the 
total value of the industrial class.   The 
assessor re-values personal property every 
year, and the values are less subject to 
dramatic changes than are the values of real 
property. 
 
The total value of the vacant land class tends 
to be heavily influenced by the residential, 
and to a lesser extent, the commercial real 
estate markets.  From county to county the 
strength or weakness of the vacant land class 
tended to reflect the strength or weakness of 
the residential and commercial property 
classes in that county. 
 
Table 3 provides a by-county comparison of 
2009 to 2008 values for the residential, 
commercial, and vacant land classes. 
 
    



TABLE 3 

COMPARISON OF PROPERTY CLASS VALUES BY COUNTY -  2009 to 2008
COUNTY   RESIDENTIAL CLASS COMMERCIAL CLASS VACANT LAND CLASS

2009 2008 Change 2009 2008 Change 2009 2008 Change

Adams 2,005,689,060 2,177,583,150 -7.9% 1,676,166,460 1,580,643,640 6.0% 169,451,270 190,592,430 -11.1%
Alamosa 49,620,684 45,135,218 9.9% 49,679,043 44,448,627 11.8% 14,131,497 13,132,070 7.6%
Arapahoe 3,955,280,450 4,233,898,200 -6.6% 3,356,710,690 2,917,202,300 15.1% 256,650,870 264,580,650 -3.0%
Archuleta 185,556,060 154,783,786 19.9% 55,573,680 51,775,675 7.3% 140,435,830 121,005,524 16.1%
Baca 6,119,320 6,266,918 -2.4% 5,318,745 4,877,420 9.0% 306,559 289,043 6.1%
Bent 7,783,383 7,751,189 0.4% 20,131,371 16,602,075 21.3% 429,259 414,999 3.4%
Boulder 3,151,178,140 3,081,353,450 2.3% 1,789,084,720 1,669,326,810 7.2% 174,286,800 176,540,520 -1.3%
Broomfield 424,535,458 423,513,645 0.2% 452,716,760 442,481,890 2.3% 51,769,290 53,735,860 -3.7%
Chaffee 180,033,600 156,432,480 15.1% 92,027,400 78,824,930 16.7% 81,947,860 71,520,210 14.6%
Cheyenne 3,400,816 3,416,691 -0.5% 3,332,495 3,391,410 -1.7% 225,209 230,995 -2.5%
Clear Creek 106,688,860 101,111,140 5.5% 28,028,040 28,582,460 -1.9% 26,585,410 26,797,640 -0.8%
Conejos 26,304,148 23,632,484 11.3% 4,731,297 4,033,898 17.3% 9,414,931 8,615,973 9.3%
Costilla 8,576,080 8,627,937 -0.6% 3,488,280 2,685,072 29.9% 103,380,870 91,649,147 12.8%
Crowley 5,896,339 5,686,154 3.7% 20,201,753 21,125,346 -4.4% 313,248 230,453 35.9%
Custer 52,342,270 46,734,610 12.0% 8,080,830 7,829,720 3.2% 24,716,500 23,492,770 5.2%
Delta 172,684,260 150,976,100 14.4% 68,063,080 61,655,370 10.4% 33,209,000 24,682,860 34.5%
Denver 4,546,921,570 4,512,971,310 0.8% 6,153,135,030 5,096,062,630 20.7% 238,222,210 212,368,360 12.2%
Dolores 11,992,746 10,453,711 14.7% 3,669,289 4,083,887 -10.2% 7,910,262 8,490,427 -6.8%
Douglas 2,802,092,260 2,709,385,800 3.4% 1,468,078,660 1,392,898,270 5.4% 338,494,900 356,591,690 -5.1%
Eagle 2,430,226,340 2,093,961,050 16.1% 766,533,050 700,977,440 9.4% 340,734,250 317,342,840 7.4%
El Paso 3,695,866,590 3,549,667,420 4.1% 2,203,595,620 2,080,863,020 5.9% 408,458,840 405,652,900 0.7%
Elbert 185,072,074 195,089,830 -5.1% 23,113,160 23,261,890 -0.6% 26,587,709 27,221,390 -2.3%
Fremont 198,549,420 192,438,930 3.2% 80,556,890 77,718,310 3.7% 50,614,970 46,770,420 8.2%
Garfield 633,504,570 487,096,360 30.1% 391,563,830 301,490,710 29.9% 232,354,710 155,879,320 49.1%
Gilpin 58,889,650 55,625,510 5.9% 258,487,560 228,722,130 13.0% 50,882,670 50,426,160 0.9%
Grand 432,577,610 404,564,240 6.9% 109,640,330 94,608,100 15.9% 189,818,750 191,372,620 -0.8%
Gunnison 362,891,150 332,774,640 9.1% 121,012,160 116,018,620 4.3% 240,695,010 232,974,060 3.3%
Hinsdale 29,972,520 22,830,220 31.3% 7,904,060 7,653,940 3.3% 21,954,370 16,822,880 30.5%
Huerfano 36,111,307 34,508,624 4.6% 20,065,298 19,844,448 1.1% 19,749,379 18,496,570 6.8%
Jackson 8,835,373 8,621,018 2.5% 3,668,351 3,351,505 9.5% 2,009,980 1,754,617 14.6%
Jefferson 4,260,319,360 4,330,155,840 -1.6% 2,355,434,360 2,288,453,130 2.9% 236,064,300 243,095,060 -2.9%
Kiowa 1,972,390 1,882,130 4.8% 1,026,430 1,055,040 -2.7% 70,850 74,340 -4.7%
Kit Carson 20,911,097 19,612,253 6.6% 35,844,649 38,873,374 -7.8% 905,354 838,692 7.9%
La Plata 627,852,580 588,495,170 6.7% 403,422,710 386,761,000 4.3% 218,847,090 216,835,660 0.9%
Lake 51,136,438 43,548,056 17.4% 11,424,625 10,922,467 4.6% 22,902,071 20,825,441 10.0%
Larimer 2,204,408,320 2,161,133,980 2.0% 1,336,388,540 1,236,949,970 8.0% 308,321,990 300,226,150 2.7%
Las Animas 56,460,960 53,414,150 5.7% 37,052,210 31,794,940 16.5% 21,234,270 23,208,080 -8.5%
Lincoln 11,787,328 11,662,991 1.1% 14,723,160 13,643,749 7.9% 1,563,800 1,491,280 4.9%
Logan 58,816,000 56,680,370 3.8% 42,353,640 43,132,330 -1.8% 2,775,880 2,894,760 -4.1%
Mesa 1,046,195,930 863,928,800 21.1% 641,173,550 540,556,490 18.6% 176,471,170 125,999,560 40.1%
Mineral 15,974,390 14,225,050 12.3% 6,315,640 6,313,270 0.0% 8,078,330 7,517,280 7.5%
Moffat 64,381,320 54,014,430 19.2% 42,694,210 32,830,730 30.0% 12,876,200 9,416,400 36.7%
Montezuma 135,419,390 113,658,990 19.1% 68,312,000 59,738,690 14.4% 32,266,070 31,393,340 2.8%
Montrose 259,953,240 245,623,610 5.8% 178,598,510 158,178,470 12.9% 74,270,940 69,931,840 6.2%
Morgan 93,678,390 90,285,740 3.8% 61,527,830 59,429,380 3.5% 6,088,510 5,580,290 9.1%
Otero 43,498,999 42,753,738 1.7% 26,441,999 27,006,105 -2.1% 1,545,261 1,535,844 0.6%
Ouray 89,660,520 82,538,920 8.6% 33,563,570 34,607,540 -3.0% 74,180,560 66,829,180 11.0%
Park 234,222,430 214,443,600 9.2% 29,397,456 27,873,174 5.5% 178,202,810 149,852,510 18.9%
Phillips 14,303,310 13,331,500 7.3% 11,624,230 10,541,360 10.3% 339,480 343,590 -1.2%
Pitkin 2,550,405,870 1,901,231,740 34.1% 680,069,030 541,290,210 25.6% 406,076,730 295,915,400 37.2%
Prowers 24,304,670 24,019,480 1.2% 25,669,700 24,384,260 5.3% 923,530 927,980 -0.5%
Pueblo 626,005,600 626,698,800 -0.1% 297,574,400 317,631,310 -6.3% 75,741,160 77,445,470 -2.2%
Rio Blanco 42,319,610 30,320,300 39.6% 30,847,210 22,683,180 36.0% 17,808,180 7,854,260 126.7%
Rio Grande 64,464,000 65,380,720 -1.4% 43,905,650 42,034,710 4.5% 41,468,190 37,800,030 9.7%
Routt 732,016,880 562,593,070 30.1% 297,637,390 252,915,110 17.7% 251,066,630 165,091,930 52.1%
Saguache 18,181,330 16,777,870 8.4% 5,646,670 5,523,280 2.2% 19,483,280 20,593,070 -5.4%
San Juan 14,761,870 13,654,320 8.1% 10,794,000 10,458,830 3.2% 20,738,610 18,767,080 10.5%
San Miguel 522,459,540 438,963,740 19.0% 150,066,900 120,352,200 24.7% 253,580,560 227,912,620 11.3%
Sedgwick 5,346,800 5,196,300 2.9% 3,067,220 3,103,320 -1.2% 71,130 82,290 -13.6%
Summit 1,252,239,785 990,515,336 26.4% 375,296,389 342,183,138 9.7% 281,511,276 214,052,332 31.5%
Teller 193,291,060 199,497,030 -3.1% 111,076,920 101,152,990 9.8% 84,991,250 81,819,960 3.9%
Washington 10,647,753 10,504,972 1.4% 3,920,514 3,937,694 -0.4% 240,424 268,251 -10.4%
Weld 1,147,452,920 1,259,424,810 -8.9% 711,373,330 665,193,890 6.9% 114,753,370 125,676,280 -8.7%
Yuma 27,896,690 26,508,680 5.2% 25,562,140 23,737,410 7.7% 954,100 854,400 11.7%

Total 42,297,938,878 40,409,568,301 4.7% 27,354,184,714 24,568,284,284 11.3% 6,202,155,769 5,662,626,048 9.5%  
 



Agricultural Property 

The value established for agricultural land is 
based on the earning or productive capacity 
of the land regardless of the property’s 
market value or its highest and best use.  As 
a result, the actual values of agricultural 
property are often much lower than their 
market values and tend to be stable from 
year to year. 
 
Oil and Gas 

There are currently about 41,000 active 
natural gas and oil wells in Colorado.  The 
taxable value of the real property interests 
under production by these wells is calculated 
as a percentage of the sale price obtained for 
the product at the wellhead.  This makes oil 
and gas among the most volatile of classes 
because the market prices of natural gas and 
crude oil can change considerably from year 
to year.  When the prices rise or fall, the 
production volumes of the commodities tend 
to increase or decrease in harmony with the 
changes in price, magnifying the effect of 
price changes on the assessed value.   
 
Since 2000, Colorado has experienced a 698 
percent increase in the total assessed value 
of the oil and gas class.  Among the classes 
of taxable property, oil and gas contains the 
third highest total assessed value, up from 
sixth highest in 2000.  The 2009 total 
assessed value for the oil and gas class is 
$11,858,552,261, which is 12.1 percent of the 
state’s total taxable value.  A partial history of 
the assessed value for the class is shown in 
Table 4. 
 

TABLE 4 

2009 OIL AND GAS CLASS

Year
(Billions) 

Value
Change from 

Prior Year
% of Total 
Taxable

2001 $2.65 78.5% 4.5%
2002 $2.80 5.6% 4.6%
2003 $2.20 -21.4% 3.6%
2004 $3.91 77.6% 6.0%
2005 $5.06 29.4% 7.2%
2006 $7.33 45.0% 9.8%
2007 $7.22 -1.4% 8.5%
2008 $7.68 6.3% 8.8%
2009 $11.86 54.5% 12.1%  

 
 
 
 

About 95 percent of the taxable value of the 
oil and gas class is concentrated in ten 
counties.  In four of those counties, 
Cheyenne, Las Animas, Garfield and Rio 
Blanco, over 70 percent of the county’s 
taxable value is classified as oil and gas.  
This is significant because the Constitutional 
Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR) prohibits a 
mill levy increase without voter approval.  
This restriction, when coupled with a volatile 
tax base, can cause a “ratchet down” effect 
on property tax revenue over time. 
 
Table 5 lists the top-ten oil and gas 
producing counties for 2009 and the 
percentage of change in total value. 
 

TABLE 5 
HIGHEST OIL AND GAS VALUE

By County 2009
2009 Assessed % Change % Value

County Oil and Gas 2008-2009 in O&G

Garfield 3,879,943,820 73.9% 74.0%
Weld 2,868,050,190 67.7% 49.6%
La Plata 2,022,884,360 23.4% 59.3%
Rio Blanco 821,666,900 42.5% 70.3%
Las Animas 639,055,760 28.8% 75.6%
Montezuma 310,477,420 79.2% 50.9%
Mesa 283,820,580 102.5% 11.8%
Yuma 251,044,860 42.2% 59.7%
Moffat 142,587,950 58.6% 27.9%
Cheyenne 140,626,587 27.8% 77.6%

 
 
Other Production Classes 

The value of land in the other production 
classes, natural resources and producing 
mines, is also calculated as a percentage of 
the money obtained from selling the product.  
The value of producing mines is subject to a 
high level of volatility, but the class comprises 
only 0.5 percent of the state’s total assessed 
value.  Although fourteen counties have 
producing mines, the great majority of the 
producing mines value is associated with two 
mines located in three counties.  The world’s 
largest primary producer of molybdenum, the 
Henderson mine, straddles the Continental 
Divide in Clear Creek and Grand Counties.  
Since 1976, the mine has produced more 
than 160 million tons of ore and 770 million 
pounds of molybdenum. 
 
 
 
Teller County is the location of most of 
Colorado’s gold production.  The county’s 



primary mine, the Cresson Mine, is located 
between Victor and Cripple Creek.  In 2009, 
the mine produced 217,609 troy ounces of 
gold.   
 
The value of mining operations in Colorado is 
sensitive to changes in commodity prices, 
owners’ business choices and decisions 
rendered on property tax appeals.  According 
to the United States Geological Survey’s 
website, the average price of gold for 2009 
was $950 per ounce, up from the $900 per 
ounce price listed the prior year. 
 

State Assessed Property 

Unlike most other classes, property classified 
as state assessed is valued annually by the 
Division of Property Taxation using unitary 
valuation procedures.  The state assessed 
property class is comprised of real and 
personal property owned by public utilities, 
airlines and railroads.  The State Assessed 
Section of the Division values each company 
and allocates a portion of the value to 
Colorado.  That value is then apportioned to 
the appropriate counties based on the 
location of the company’s operating property 
or business activity. 
 
State assessed values were up nearly six 
percent in 2009.  Pipeline infrastructure 
growth, new renewable energy development, 
and increases to railroad values were the 
largest contributors to the increase.  Gains in 
those sectors were partially offset by 
continued weakness in the airline and 
telecom industries. 
 
 
Personal Property in 2009 

In 2009, personal property accounted for 11.9 
percent of Colorado’s property tax base, but 
that percentage varied substantially from 
county to county.  Approximately 40 percent 
of personal property is classified as state 
assessed while the remainder is valued at the 
local level.  In 2009, 89.1 percent of the state 
assessed property value was personal 
property.  All taxable personal property is 
assessed at 29 percent of its actual value. 
 
Under the Colorado Constitution and 
statutes, certain categories of business 
personal property are exempt from taxation, 
including equipment used for agricultural 
purposes, business industry materials and 
supplies held for consumption. 
 

Prior to January 1, 2009, business personal 
property under common ownership with a 
total actual value of no more than $2,500 per 
county was also exempt.  However, with the 
passage of HB 08-1225, the amount of actual 
value subject to the exemption is increasing 
according to the following schedule: 
 
- Four thousand dollars ($4,000) for 

property tax years commencing on 
January 1 2009 and January 1, 2010. 

- Five thousand five hundred dollars 
($5,500) for property tax years 
commencing on January 1, 2011 and 
January 1, 2012. 

- Seven thousand dollars ($7,000) for 
property tax years commencing on 
January 1, 2013 and January 1, 2014. 

 
In addition, a provision found in the 
constitution, allows any taxing entity to “enact 
cumulative uniform exemptions and credits to 
reduce or end business personal property 
taxes,” § 20(8)(b), art. X, COLO. CONST. 
 
Table 6 lists the state assessed, locally 
assessed and total taxable personal property 
by county, and the total percentage of value 
comprised of personal property. 
 



TABLE 6 

 

DISTRIBUTION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY IN 2009
State Assd. % of Locally Assd. % of Total % of Total Total Assd.

County Personal Total Personal Total Personal Total Real Value
Adams 316,321,400 6.88% 553,919,120 12.05% 870,240,520 18.93% 3,727,915,220 4,598,155,740
Alamosa 12,139,930 8.41% 7,404,194 5.13% 19,544,124 13.55% 124,741,418 144,285,542
Arapahoe 302,661,960 3.80% 474,643,690 5.96% 777,305,650 9.77% 7,182,454,430 7,959,760,080
Archuleta 9,042,234 2.13% 8,622,070 2.03% 17,664,304 4.17% 406,072,826 423,737,130
Baca 32,060,366 42.06% 3,330,297 4.37% 35,390,663 46.43% 40,840,460 76,231,123
Bent 20,296,994 27.57% 1,254,536 1.70% 21,551,530 29.27% 52,072,216 73,623,746
Boulder 140,558,960 2.41% 408,928,290 7.01% 549,487,250 9.41% 5,287,703,050 5,837,190,300
Broomfield 41,655,900 3.84% 116,304,790 10.72% 157,960,690 14.56% 926,664,308 1,084,624,998
Chaffee 14,534,330 3.74% 9,626,970 2.48% 24,161,300 6.22% 364,432,870 388,594,170
Cheyenne 14,283,521 7.88% 15,678,675 8.65% 29,962,196 16.53% 151,272,456 181,234,652
Clear Creek 10,730,840 2.04% 73,517,810 13.99% 84,248,650 16.04% 441,103,430 525,352,080
Conejos 3,688,147 6.81% 934,298 1.73% 4,622,445 8.54% 49,498,188 54,120,633
Costilla 5,332,090 4.18% 557,510 0.44% 5,889,600 4.61% 121,770,570 127,660,170
Crowley 3,578,420 10.35% 705,060 2.04% 4,283,480 12.39% 30,285,377 34,568,857
Custer 4,009,600 4.18% 586,370 0.61% 4,595,970 4.79% 91,266,730 95,862,700
Delta 22,879,100 6.48% 28,280,780 8.02% 51,159,880 14.50% 301,687,450 352,847,330
Denver 657,201,400 5.47% 813,420,350 6.77% 1,470,621,750 12.23% 10,552,410,190 12,023,031,940
Dolores 11,557,512 11.59% 12,218,095 12.25% 23,775,607 23.84% 75,937,990 99,713,597
Douglas 145,448,200 2.98% 262,736,150 5.38% 408,184,350 8.37% 4,471,354,600 4,879,538,950
Eagle 56,384,620 1.56% 100,593,680 2.78% 156,978,300 4.34% 3,463,256,500 3,620,234,800
El Paso 260,396,170 3.81% 395,092,740 5.78% 655,488,910 9.58% 6,185,654,260 6,841,143,170
Elbert 16,671,692 6.09% 3,968,450 1.45% 20,640,142 7.54% 253,065,340 273,705,482
Fremont 27,874,330 6.14% 77,886,490 17.15% 105,760,820 23.28% 348,461,300 454,222,120
Garfield 71,229,470 1.36% 786,793,000 15.01% 858,022,470 16.37% 4,384,184,310 5,242,206,780
Gilpin 6,076,219 1.57% 32,816,870 8.49% 38,893,089 10.07% 347,503,821 386,396,910
Grand 28,756,430 2.95% 59,440,170 6.11% 88,196,600 9.06% 885,201,190 973,397,790
Gunnison 10,610,970 1.25% 62,034,200 7.32% 72,645,170 8.57% 775,256,580 847,901,750
Hinsdale 619,290 1.00% 298,220 0.48% 917,510 1.48% 60,922,730 61,840,240
Huerfano 20,163,785 15.25% 6,459,475 4.88% 26,623,260 20.13% 105,640,133 132,263,393
Jackson 1,882,759 4.79% 2,650,257 6.74% 4,533,016 11.53% 34,771,137 39,304,153
Jefferson 257,026,850 3.47% 470,962,800 6.36% 727,989,650 9.83% 6,681,140,090 7,409,129,740
Kiowa 3,498,980 8.93% 1,563,550 3.99% 5,062,530 12.92% 34,116,990 39,179,520
Kit Carson 18,405,517 15.26% 6,537,528 5.42% 24,943,045 20.68% 95,690,173 120,633,218
La Plata 60,961,200 1.79% 335,428,100 9.83% 396,389,300 11.62% 3,015,990,390 3,412,379,690
Lake 8,558,616 8.04% 4,007,176 3.76% 12,565,792 11.80% 93,940,522 106,506,314
Larimer 92,067,470 2.16% 328,987,832 7.71% 421,055,302 9.87% 3,846,973,855 4,268,029,157
Las Animas 63,787,290 7.54% 126,804,890 14.99% 190,592,180 22.53% 655,175,890 845,768,070
Lincoln 20,425,909 26.13% 2,977,695 3.81% 23,403,604 29.94% 54,773,751 78,177,355
Logan 96,718,300 35.53% 22,221,350 8.16% 118,939,650 43.69% 153,289,520 272,229,170
Mesa 97,315,425 4.06% 183,881,760 7.67% 281,197,185 11.73% 2,116,949,995 2,398,147,180
Mineral 1,006,890 3.06% 1,953,470 5.93% 2,960,360 8.99% 29,983,020 32,943,380
Moffat 152,971,980 29.92% 60,785,640 11.89% 213,757,620 41.80% 297,585,590 511,343,210
Montezuma 35,276,012 5.79% 55,533,850 9.11% 90,809,862 14.90% 518,794,583 609,604,445
Montrose 50,024,902 7.99% 35,588,250 5.68% 85,613,152 13.67% 540,729,528 626,342,680
Morgan 134,787,200 33.14% 43,837,080 10.78% 178,624,280 43.92% 228,114,550 406,738,830
Otero 25,526,001 20.83% 7,375,412 6.02% 32,901,413 26.85% 89,646,451 122,547,864
Ouray 5,874,757 2.79% 2,234,460 1.06% 8,109,217 3.85% 202,427,313 210,536,530
Park 14,070,272 3.00% 2,791,899 0.60% 16,862,171 3.59% 452,321,493 469,183,664
Phillips 3,044,550 5.22% 4,418,480 7.58% 7,463,030 12.80% 50,864,140 58,327,170
Pitkin 22,423,510 0.61% 52,589,920 1.43% 75,013,430 2.04% 3,600,777,010 3,675,790,440
Prowers 35,101,200 28.02% 7,390,290 5.90% 42,491,490 33.92% 82,760,470 125,251,960
Pueblo 139,963,340 10.37% 168,647,900 12.49% 308,611,240 22.86% 1,041,465,227 1,350,076,467
Rio Blanco 79,613,780 6.81% 353,740,600 30.28% 433,354,380 37.09% 734,989,080 1,168,343,460
Rio Grande 9,153,480 5.09% 6,549,280 3.64% 15,702,760 8.74% 163,977,890 179,680,650
Routt 76,047,700 5.20% 66,386,110 4.54% 142,433,810 9.73% 1,320,732,770 1,463,166,580
Saguache 4,715,000 7.60% 879,490 1.42% 5,594,490 9.01% 56,478,960 62,073,450
San Juan 1,728,720 2.93% 829,610 1.41% 2,558,330 4.34% 56,417,060 58,975,390
San Miguel 12,787,371 1.23% 26,000,130 2.50% 38,787,501 3.72% 1,003,033,139 1,041,820,640
Sedgwick 34,921,032 59.96% 843,430 1.45% 35,764,462 61.41% 22,478,788 58,243,250
Summit 26,021,075 1.33% 73,072,412 3.74% 99,093,487 5.08% 1,852,291,250 1,951,384,737
Teller 12,704,180 2.59% 41,620,410 8.48% 54,324,590 11.07% 436,308,550 490,633,140
Washington 28,278,058 21.94% 4,330,801 3.36% 32,608,859 25.30% 96,289,845 128,898,704
Weld 485,203,040 8.39% 387,595,410 6.71% 872,798,450 15.10% 4,906,895,070 5,779,693,520
Yuma 44,275,140 10.53% 38,858,890 9.24% 83,134,030 19.78% 337,236,520 420,370,550
TOTALS 4,422,931,386 4.52% 7,247,928,512 7.41% 11,670,859,898 11.94% 86,114,040,553 97,784,900,451 

 



RESIDENTIAL ASSESSMENT RATE 

In 1982, the electorate passed sweeping 
changes to the portion of the Colorado 
Constitution that governs the property tax 
system.  One of these changes was the 
enactment of a provision known as the 
“Gallagher Amendment,” found in § 3(1)(b), 
art. X, COLO. CONST. 
 
The purpose of the Gallagher Amendment is 
to stabilize residential real property’s share of 
the statewide property tax base.  From 1958 
to 1982, the percentage of total assessed 
value comprised of residential property 
increased from 29 to 44 percent.  This 
occurred primarily because market value 
increases to residential property greatly 
outpaced market value increases to non-
residential property. 
 
To counter this trend, the Gallagher 
Amendment requires a review and potential 
adjustment of the residential assessment rate 
each time there is a year of general 
reassessment.  This adjustment is meant to 
ensure that the rate of change to the state’s 
total assessed value of residential property 
remains essentially the same as it is for non-
residential property.  The current residential 
assessment rate is 7.96 percent of assessed 
value.  In contrast, the assessment rate for 
most classes of non-residential property is 
fixed at 29 percent.  A history of changes to 
the residential assessment rate is shown in 
Table 7. 

TABLE 7 

RESIDENTIAL ASSESSMENT RATE

Years Rate 

Prior to 1983 30%
1983-1986 21%
1987 18%
1988 16%
1989-1990 15%
1991-1992 14.34%
1993-1994 12.86%
1995-1996 10.36%
1997-1998 9.74%
1999-2000 9.74%
2001-2002 9.15%
2003-2004 7.96%
2005-2006 7.96%
2007-2008 7.96%
2009-2010 7.96%  

During years of general reassessment (odd 
numbered years), § 39-1-104.2(5)(c), C.R.S., 
requires the Property Tax Administrator to 
complete a documented study that is used by 
the General Assembly to enact a new 
residential assessment rate into law.  The 
2009 preliminary and final residential 
assessment rate study reports are accessible 
on the Division’s web site at 
www.dola.colorado.gov/dpt/publications/index
.htm. 
 
Assessment Rate and Tax Burden 

Table 8, calculates the savings to residential 
taxpayers from the inception of the Gallagher 
Amendment through 2009.  It does so by 
comparing the taxes paid by residential 
property owners to an estimate of the taxes 
they would have paid had the Gallagher 
Amendment not been enacted.  The 
estimated savings to residential property 
owners is $15,943,362,927.  The table begins 
with 1987, because the residential 
assessment rate remained at 21 percent until 
1987.  The contents of each column in the 
table are described below. 
 

1: Tax year. 

2: Hypothetical residential assessment 
rate of 21 percent. 

3: Enacted residential assessment rate 
for each tax year. 

4: Average statewide mill levy for each 
tax year. 

5: Hypothetical average statewide mill 
levy needed to generate the total true 
revenue if the residential assessment 
rate had been 21 percent.  This is 
calculated by dividing the total true 
revenue received in each year 
(Column 10), by the total assessed 
value at 21 percent (Column 9). 

6: Total true residential assessed value 
as reflected in the 2009 Abstracts of 
Assessment. 

7: Total statewide assessed value, as 
reflected in the Certification of Levies 
and Revenue reports compiled and 
submitted by county commissioners. 

8: Hypothetical total residential assessed 
value, had the residential rate 
remained at 21 percent. 

http://www.dola.colorado.gov/dpt/publications/index.htm
http://www.dola.colorado.gov/dpt/publications/index.htm


9: Hypothetical total assessed value, had 
the residential assessment rate 
remained at 21 percent. 

10: Total statewide property tax revenue, 
as reflected in the Certification of 
Levies and Revenue reports compiled 
and submitted by county 
commissioners. 

11: Hypothetical property tax revenue 
attributable to residential property, had 
the residential rate remained at 21 
percent.  This is calculated by 
multiplying the hypothetical mill levy at 
21 percent (Column 5) by the 
hypothetical residential assessed 
value at 21 percent (Column 8). 

12: Total property tax revenue of 
residential property at the assessment 
rate established for each tax year.  
This is calculated by multiplying the 
total statewide residential assessed 
value (Column 6) by the statewide 
average mill levy (Column 4). 

13: Savings to residential taxpayers, 
Column 11 minus Column 12. 

 

Table 9 illustrates the effect of Gallagher on 
the statewide assessed value of residential 
property since 1983.  As the table shows, the 
percentage of actual value attributable to 
residential property has increased 
dramatically since Gallagher’s inception, from 
53.2 percent in 1983 to 76.1 percent today.  
At the same time, the adjustment of the 
residential assessment rate caused the 
percentage of total assessed value 
comprised of residential property to remain 
essentially stable. 
 

 



TABLE 8 

SHIFT OF PROPERTY TAX BURDEN DUE TO THE GALLAGHER AMENDMENT

Res. Actual Avg Avg. Total True Total Total Total Res. Res. Savings 
Tax Rate w/o Res. Actual Levy Res. Assd. Total True Res. Assd. Assd. Value TRUE Revenue Revenue to Res
Year Gallagher Rate Mill Levy at 21% Value Assd. Value Value at 21% at 21% Revenue at 21% at True Rate Taxpayers

Column Column Column Column Column Column Column Column Column Column Column Column Column
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

1987 21% 18.00% 61.631 57.041 $16,082,851,000 $33,305,709,386 $18,763,326,167 $35,986,184,553 $2,052,676,764 $1,070,273,054 $991,208,269 $79,064,785

1988 21% 16.00% 68.941 60.260 $14,565,525,000 $31,594,514,873 $19,117,251,563 $36,146,241,436 $2,178,165,007 $1,152,001,612 $1,004,165,343 $147,836,269

1989 21% 15.00% 76.599 64.812 $13,246,081,000 $29,132,506,180 $18,544,513,400 $34,430,938,580 $2,231,532,285 $1,201,903,929 $1,014,641,762 $187,262,167

1990 21% 15.00% 77.543 65.465 $13,393,681,000 $29,039,235,830 $18,751,153,400 $34,396,708,230 $2,251,797,175 $1,227,553,345 $1,038,589,762 $188,963,583

1991 21% 14.34% 82.883 68.395 $12,886,606,000 $28,254,712,020 $18,871,598,745 $34,239,704,765 $2,341,834,706 $1,290,728,562 $1,068,080,296 $222,648,266

1992 21% 14.34% 84.618 69.563 $13,256,627,000 $28,447,544,980 $19,413,470,502 $34,604,388,482 $2,407,175,164 $1,350,453,688 $1,121,749,638 $228,704,050

1993 21% 12.86% 84.215 65.064 $13,373,489,410 $28,758,329,600 $21,838,513,033 $37,223,353,223 $2,421,892,140 $1,420,896,252 $1,126,252,788 $294,643,464

1994 21% 12.86% 84.423 65.084 $13,970,427,000 $29,761,160,460 $22,813,294,479 $38,604,027,939 $2,512,514,138 $1,484,786,121 $1,179,419,579 $305,366,542

1995 21% 10.36% 82.287 55.600 $15,155,126,840 $32,428,020,970 $30,719,851,703 $47,992,745,833 $2,668,403,530 $1,708,028,147 $1,247,069,440 $460,958,707

1996 21% 10.36% 82.951 55.931 $15,788,272,000 $33,563,472,960 $32,003,254,054 $49,778,455,014 $2,784,139,391 $1,789,961,545 $1,309,660,357 $480,301,188

1997 21% 9.74% 78.773 51.464 $17,673,602,010 $38,502,250,770 $38,105,302,075 $58,933,950,835 $3,032,955,892 $1,961,037,718 $1,392,210,956 $568,826,762

1998 21% 9.74% 80.042 52.162 $18,452,519,220 $39,910,771,429 $39,784,692,363 $61,242,944,572 $3,194,557,668 $2,075,251,197 $1,476,985,652 $598,265,545

1999 21% 9.74% 74.927 48.756 $21,633,354,370 $46,590,805,330 $46,642,755,829 $71,600,206,789 $3,490,910,908 $2,274,095,459 $1,620,923,103 $653,172,356

2000 21% 9.74% 75.733 49.182 $22,729,547,584 $48,673,508,510 $49,006,211,423 $74,950,172,349 $3,686,192,349 $2,410,218,895 $1,721,377,541 $688,841,354

2001 21% 9.15% 70.416 43.633 $27,699,298,175 $58,440,166,120 $63,572,159,746 $94,313,027,691 $4,115,123,689 $2,773,819,343 $1,950,474,231 $823,345,112

2002 21% 9.15% 72.350 44.696 $28,882,504,491 $60,456,523,380 $66,287,715,225 $97,861,734,114 $4,374,011,505 $2,962,784,501 $2,089,640,619 $873,143,882

2003 21% 7.96% 74.335 41.705 $29,523,577,562 $61,816,965,320 $77,888,835,277 $110,182,223,035 $4,595,136,111 $3,248,344,331 $2,194,621,762 $1,053,722,569

2004 21% 7.96% 74.969 42.274 $30,470,840,993 $64,541,293,358 $80,387,897,092 $114,458,349,457 $4,838,584,603 $3,398,298,534 $2,284,362,993 $1,113,935,541

2005 21% 7.96% 73.284 41.409 $33,110,601,388 $70,466,165,655 $87,352,089,089 $124,707,653,356 $5,164,064,927 $3,617,194,674 $2,426,487,858 $1,190,706,817

2006 21% 7.96% 73.480 41.859 $34,350,208,817 $74,489,498,610 $90,622,410,196 $130,761,699,989 $5,473,511,765 $3,793,334,198 $2,524,064,138 $1,269,270,060

2007 21% 7.96% 72.882 41.469 $39,331,276,064 $85,060,615,128 $103,763,416,752 $149,492,755,816 $6,199,362,883 $4,302,998,302 $2,866,530,563 $1,436,467,739

2008 21% 7.96% 72.748 41.405 $40,409,568,301 $87,449,633,973 $106,608,157,578 $153,648,223,250 $6,361,812,205 $4,414,115,983 $2,939,727,397 $1,474,388,587

2009 21% 7.96% 69.761 40.813 $42,297,938,878 $97,690,726,981 $111,590,039,754 $166,982,827,857 $6,814,995,043 $4,554,274,098 $2,950,746,514 $1,603,527,584

Estimated total savings to residential taxpayers from inception to 2009 = $15,943,362,927  
 



TABLE 9 

 

COLORADO ASSESSED VALUES
ASSESSED VALUES DISTRIBUTION OF VALUE

Non- Non-
Year Total Residential Residential Year Total Residential Residential

1983 $17,185,698,000 $7,424,951,000 $9,760,747,000 1983 100.0% 43.2% 56.8%

1984 $17,905,089,000 $7,921,865,470 $9,983,223,530 1984 100.0% 44.2% 55.8%

1985 $18,730,104,000 $8,327,520,240 $10,402,583,760 1985 100.0% 44.5% 55.5%

1986 $19,216,096,000 $8,646,958,180 $10,569,137,820 1986 100.0% 45.0% 55.0%

1987 $33,261,142,000 $16,082,850,600 $17,178,291,400 1987 100.0% 48.4% 51.6%

1988 $31,660,568,730 $14,565,865,580 $17,094,703,150 1988 100.0% 46.0% 54.0%

1989 $29,131,941,640 $13,247,498,311 $15,884,443,329 1989 100.0% 45.5% 54.5%

1990 $29,082,011,770 $13,393,681,560 $15,688,330,210 1990 100.0% 46.1% 53.9%

1991 $28,285,335,860 $12,886,606,790 $15,398,729,070 1991 100.0% 45.6% 54.4%

1992 $28,490,629,640 $13,256,627,100 $15,234,002,540 1992 100.0% 46.5% 53.5%

1993 $28,820,035,320 $13,373,489,410 $15,446,545,910 1993 100.0% 46.4% 53.6%

1994 $29,831,046,660 $13,970,427,000 $15,860,619,660 1994 100.0% 46.83% 53.17%

1995 $32,469,922,680 $15,155,131,610 $17,314,791,070 1995 100.0% 46.67% 53.33%

1996 $33,606,775,890 $15,788,272,000 $17,818,503,890 1996 100.0% 46.98% 53.02%

1997 $38,536,664,720 $17,673,602,020 $20,863,062,700 1997 100.0% 45.86% 54.14%

1998 $40,165,596,490 $18,452,519,220 $21,713,077,270 1998 100.0% 45.94% 54.06%

1999 $46,711,921,473 $21,633,354,370 $25,078,567,103 1999 100.0% 46.31% 53.69%

2000 $48,757,383,218 $22,729,547,584 $26,027,835,634 2000 100.0% 46.62% 53.38%

2001 $58,812,663,875 $27,699,298,175 $31,113,365,700 2001 100.0% 47.10% 52.90%

2002 $60,564,946,027 $28,888,969,314 $31,675,976,713 2002 100.0% 47.70% 52.30%

2003 $61,949,204,975 $29,523,577,562 $32,425,627,413 2003 100.0% 47.66% 52.34%

2004 $64,630,921,990 $30,470,840,993 $34,160,080,997 2004 100.0% 47.15% 52.85%

2005 $70,625,603,899 $33,110,601,388 $37,515,002,511 2005 100.0% 46.88% 53.12%

2006 $74,549,449,375 $34,350,208,817 $40,199,240,558 2006 100.0% 46.08% 53.92%

2007 $85,147,187,463 $39,331,276,064 $45,815,911,399 2007 100.0% 46.19% 53.81%

2008 $87,550,006,576 $40,409,568,301 $47,140,438,275 2008 100.0% 46.16% 53.84%

2009 $97,784,900,451 $42,297,938,878 $55,486,961,573 2009 100.0% 43.26% 56.74%

COLORADO ACTUAL VALUES
ACTUAL VALUES DISTRIBUTION OF VALUE

Non- Non-
Year Total Residential Residential Year Total Residential Residential

1983 $66,459,485,820 $35,356,909,524 $31,102,576,296 1983 100.0% 53.20% 46.80%

1984 $69,718,797,755 $37,723,168,905 $31,995,628,850 1984 100.0% 54.11% 45.89%

1985 $72,958,307,363 $39,654,858,286 $33,303,449,078 1985 100.0% 54.35% 45.65%

1986 $75,118,950,953 $41,175,991,333 $33,942,959,620 1986 100.0% 54.81% 45.19%

1987 $146,891,450,388 $89,349,170,000 $57,542,280,388 1987 100.0% 60.83% 39.17%

1988 $148,225,023,177 $91,036,659,875 $57,188,363,302 1988 100.0% 61.42% 38.58%

1989 $141,342,075,160 $88,316,655,407 $53,025,419,753 1989 100.0% 62.48% 37.52%

1990 $141,421,555,163 $89,291,210,400 $52,130,344,763 1990 100.0% 63.14% 36.86%

1991 $140,967,103,411 $89,864,761,437 $51,102,341,974 1991 100.0% 63.75% 36.25%

1992 $142,906,267,259 $92,445,098,326 $50,461,168,932 1992 100.0% 64.69% 35.31%

1993 $155,096,689,828 $103,992,919,207 $51,103,770,621 1993 100.0% 67.05% 32.95%

1994 $160,946,706,538 $108,634,735,614 $52,311,970,923 1994 100.0% 67.50% 32.50%

1995 $203,663,083,533 $146,285,054,151 $57,378,029,382 1995 100.0% 71.83% 28.17%

1996 $211,793,556,887 $152,396,447,876 $59,397,109,011 1996 100.0% 71.96% 28.04%

1997 $250,804,220,896 $181,453,819,507 $69,350,401,389 1997 100.0% 72.35% 27.65%

1998 $261,128,074,968 $189,450,916,016 $71,677,158,951 1998 100.0% 72.55% 27.45%

1999 $306,002,830,219 $222,108,361,088 $83,894,469,131 1999 100.0% 72.58% 27.42%

2000 $320,312,771,175 $233,362,911,540 $86,949,859,635 2000 100.0% 72.85% 27.15%

2001 $404,716,127,139 $302,724,570,219 $101,991,556,920 2001 100.0% 74.80% 25.20%

2002 $419,294,563,373 $315,726,440,590 $103,568,122,783 2002 100.0% 75.30% 24.70%

2003 $478,546,478,821 $370,899,215,603 $107,647,263,218 2003 100.0% 77.51% 22.49%

2004 $492,572,877,562 $382,799,509,962 $109,773,367,599 2004 100.0% 77.71% 22.29%

2005 $534,826,428,655 $415,962,328,995 $118,864,099,660 2005 100.0% 77.78% 22.22%

2006 $554,757,341,157 $431,535,286,646 $123,222,054,512 2006 100.0% 77.79% 22.21%

2007 $636,895,128,388 $494,111,508,342 $142,783,620,046 2007 100.0% 77.58% 22.42%
2008 $654,555,841,028 $507,657,893,229 $146,897,947,799 2008 100.0% 77.56% 22.44%

2009 $698,329,685,726 $531,381,141,683 $166,948,544,043 2009 100.0% 76.09% 23.91%  
 
The total assessed values in Table 9 may not match the values in Table 8, as they originate from different 
sources.  The values in Table 9 were taken from the 2009 Abstracts of Assessment while the total assessed 
value listed in Table 8 is from the Certification of Levies and Revenues. 



PROTESTS, APPEALS, AND 
ABATEMENTS 

Protests and Appeals 

Colorado statutes mandate a process that 
allows taxpayers the opportunity to challenge 
the actual value established by the assessor.  
The process begins with the taxpayer’s 
protest to the assessor.  Upon receiving a 
protest, the assessor reviews the issues 
raised, and either adjusts or maintains the 
actual value established for the property.  
Taxpayers who disagree with the assessor’s 
decision can appeal to the county board of 
equalization.  Taxpayers who disagree with 
the county board’s decision have three 
choices for further appeal.  They can appeal 
to the State Board of Assessment Appeals 
(BAA), district court, or binding arbitration.  
Decisions of the BAA and district court can 
be appealed to the Colorado Court of 
Appeals and ultimately to the Colorado 
Supreme Court.  Decisions of an arbitrator 
are final. 
 
Taxpayers can protest and appeal in both 
reappraisal (odd numbered years) and 
intervening years (even numbered years).  
However, the number of protests and appeals 
are typically higher in the years of 
reappraisal. 
 
The number of protests and appeals varies 
greatly from county to county.  During 2009 
Denver County received the greatest number 
of protests with 15,016 while Kiowa County 
received three.  For many counties, the 
protest process places a significant strain on 
the resources of the assessor’s office.  Table 
10 lists the protests and county board 
appeals for each county during the last three 
reappraisal years, organized according to the 
county officer pay categories established in  
§ 30-2-102, C.R.S.  For the purpose of this 
table, the Cities and Counties of Denver and 
Broomfield are placed in category one.  
Table 11 provides a statistical summary of 
protests and appeals.  The Board of 
Assessment Appeals protest and appeals 
data was not available for property tax year 
2009. 
 
Abatements 

An abatement of tax is a cancellation or 
reduction in the amount of tax owed by the 
taxpayer.   
 

The abatement process begins after the tax 
roll is printed.  The process corrects an illegal 
or erroneous value or tax.  Illegal and 
erroneous assessments or taxes are defined 
in statute as, “erroneous valuation for 
assessment, irregularity in levying, clerical 
error, or overvaluation,” § 39-10-
114(1)(a)(I)(A), C.R.S.  Overvaluation is 
defined as valuation adjustments that require 
judgment, such as effective age of a property, 
quality, condition, depreciation, or economic 
obsolescence. 
 
Abatement petitions may be approved only if 
they are filed within two years after January 1 
of the year following the year in which the 
taxes were levied.  Because abatement 
petitions are filed on taxes already levied, the 
abated or refunded taxes constitute lost 
revenue to the affected local governments; 
however, § 39-10-114(1)(a)(I)(B), C.R.S., and 
case law, allow local governments to recover 
abated taxes through an increase in mill 
levies.  Table 12 displays the taxes abated 
during 2007, 2008, and 2009. 
 



TABLE 10 

PROTESTS AND APPEALS
County Protests to Assessor Protests to Assessor Appeals to CBOE

(PER EMPLOYEE)

 Category 1 2005 2007 2009 2005 2007 2009 2005 2007 2009

 Adams 8,404 6,242 6,519 195 145 152 1,488 964 2,308

 Arapahoe 5,119 9,679 9,594 71 138 145 1,337 2,758 4,283

 Boulder 6,741 9,682 10,722 145 206 241 648 230 1,383

 Broomfield 939 1,084 1,154 104 120 144 111 178 354

 Denver 5,784 12,292 15,016 70 154 218 1,807 2,456 4,197

 Douglas 6,360 8,608 9,182 127 172 200 2,512 2,508 4,268

 El Paso 7,000 5,999 9,956 113 105 195 1,440 851 1,366

 Jefferson 8,285 12,974 10,539 145 228 199 1,557 1,741 2,429

 Larimer 14,783 11,685 13,533 279 225 271 2,035 1,161 3,276

 Pueblo 733 1,272 925 23 42 30 3 10 14

 Weld 4,626 4,340 5,165 119 122 161 468 396 866

 Category 2

 Eagle 2,550 5,869 8,103 116 293 386 495 1,548 2,555

 Fremont 1,221 1,636 1,369 94 126 124 17 145 108

 Garfield 1,166 981 2,753 69 59 125 339 345 423

 La Plata 1,466 2,772 1,132 75 135 60 57 60 63

 Mesa 2,658 3,235 4,319 95 112 144 164 213 599

 Pitkin 963 2,118 4,628 96 223 441 181 387 1,873

 Summit 3,283 3,365 6,873 173 173 362 300 374 825

 Category 3

 Alamosa 151 248 237 19 31 30 7 9 7

 Archuleta 1,303 2,207 3,181 118 276 277 32 500 435

 Chaffee 1,177 1,011 1,638 131 112 182 164 101 218

 Clear Creek 779 732 747 139 146 149 12 41 51

 Delta 609 780 1,106 57 59 88 14 32 98

 Gilpin 378 696 352 63 99 50 10 47 25

 Grand 1,047 2,431 2,065 95 221 188 91 321 246

 Gunnison 943 2,200 2,251 86 220 225 64 182 279

 Las Animas 403 445 840 40 45 76 4 23 9

 Logan 231 255 201 26 28 22 13 20 10

 Moffat 289 454 497 48 76 83 6 13 40

 Montrose 645 928 733 61 81 64 97 186 197

 Morgan 504 466 158 46 42 14 29 9 6

 Otero 103 107 102 13 13 16 6 1 3

 Park 2,324 2,270 2,244 186 197 204 348 172 375

 Rio Blanco 77 263 302 13 44 43 0 145 110

 Routt 837 1,533 2,706 73 153 271 150 352 465

 San Miguel 761 657 1,127 109 73 125 134 68 288

 Teller 917 1,942 1,257 61 129 79 110 323 235

 Category 4

 Custer 98 173 284 20 35 57 1 0 1

 Elbert 612 236 659 47 18 60 175 15 35

 Huerfano 127 186 317 21 27 45 2 4 22

 Kit Carson 194 271 102 49 90 26 5 1 3

 Lake 246 476 387 41 95 77 7 16 35

 Montezuma 486 622 1,225 54 69 144 71 83 43

 Ouray 413 463 250 103 116 63 21 55 34

 Prowers 350 150 50 70 30 10 0 0 0

 Rio Grande 332 1,086 652 83 136 82 4 25 202

 Washington 90 15 20 18 3 3 1 0 0

 Yuma 256 148 949 51 27 173 1 0 0

 Category 5

 Baca 5 20 4 1 6 1 0 0 0

 Bent 134 126 116 34 32 26 2 0 2

 Cheyenne 60 128 52 20 51 21 3 0 0

 Conejos 137 113 256 137 25 57 0 0 26

 Costilla 54 765 2,159 11 153 432 5 194 730

 Crowley 11 5 12 11 5 12 0 1 3

 Hinsdale 81 319 489 41 80 245 6 1 40

 Lincoln 24 15 25 5 3 5 0 0 2

 Phillips 37 13 60 12 4 20 0 0 0

 Saguache 43 133 131 9 27 33 0 1 0

 San Juan 56 59 43 56 59 29 2 10 3

 Category 6

 Dolores 112 199 89 37 66 30 0 1

 Jackson 1 2 6 1 2 3 1 2 0

 Kiowa 0 0 3 0 0 2 0 0 0

 Mineral 6 35 20 4 18 11 0 1 3

 Sedgwick 14 18 15 7 6 5 14 0 0

0



TABLE 11 

PROTESTS AND APPEALS

Assessors 2005 2007 2009

Total Parcels 2,268,488 2,342,391 2,511,308
Parcels/Schedules Protested 99,538 129,234 151,601
Protests as a Percent of Total Parcels 4.4% 5.5% 6.0%
Percent Change from Prior Reappraisal -21.5% 29.8% 17.3%

County Boards of Equalization (CBOE)

Parcels/Schedules Appealed to CBOE 19,065 19,280 35,471

Percent of CBOE Appeals to Protests 19.2% 14.9% 23.4%

Additional Assessor Costs

Dollars of Overtime Paid $93,226 $113,288 $221,428

Hours of Compensation Time Granted 2,825 3,317 7,396

Parcels Protested Per Assessor’s Employee
Average Number Protested Per Employee 109 94 116
Maximum Number Protested Per Employee 279 293 441
Minimum Number Protested Per Employee 0 0 1

Parcels Protested Per Employee – Frequency Distribution

    0 – 50 28 24 24
  51 – 100 19 13 12
101 – 200 16 19 16

201 – 300 1 8 8

301 – 400 0 0 2
401 – 500 0 0 2
Counties Reporting 64 64 64

Parcel count derived from county Abstracts of Assessment.  Includes condominium units.

Overtime/comp time figures not available from all counties. 

 
 



TABLE 12 
 

ABATEMENTS, REFUNDS AND CANCELLATION OF TAXES

2009 2009 2009 2008 2008 2008 2007 2007 2007

County Abatement Abatement Average Abatement Abatement Average Abatement Abatement Average

Amounts Counts Abated Amounts Counts Abated Amounts Counts Abated

Adams $2,174,806 1,603 $1,357 $1,500,009 1,133 $1,324 $2,921,051 1,159 $2,520

Alamosa $30,530 50 $611 $7,926 38 $209 $32,057 228 $141

Arapahoe $7,766,984 1,306 $5,947 $9,076,676 1,153 $7,872 $7,620,926 3,303 $2,307

Archuleta $56,116 46 $1,220 $101,887 97 $1,050 $35,048 69 $508

Baca $13,419 38 $353 $10,617 41 $259 $807 23 $35

Bent $2,363 33 $72 $7,607 119 $64 $3,422 32 $107

Boulder $1,496,375 1,163 $1,287 $1,557,669 697 $2,235 $1,167,503 1,006 $1,161

Broomfield $2,298,613 843 $2,727 $1,809,958 237 $7,637 $2,099,258 119 $17,641

Chaffee $32,632 63 $518 $35,440 74 $479 $59,382 92 $645

Cheyenne $5,608 14 $401 $559 13 $43 $7 3 $2

Clear Creek $123,406 173 $713 $65,408 257 $255 $53,355 85 $628

Conejos $17,780 63 $282 $26,151 108 $242 $7,279 52 $140

Costilla $22,800 83 $275 $91,212 57 $1,600 $24,187 12 $2,016

Crowley $44 1 $44 $505 3 $168 $681 3 $227

Custer $6,702 17 $394 $5,070 16 $317 $846 5 $169

Delta $34,456 244 $141 $76,841 96 $800 $40,959 105 $390

Denver $11,596,449 2,073 $5,594 $9,903,961 1,937 $5,113 $11,084,772 2,145 $5,168

Dolores $4,184 10 $418 $11,263 23 $490 $4,488 26 $173

Douglas $3,533,946 1,021 $3,461 $6,063,080 898 $6,752 $6,196,914 925 $6,699

Eagle $2,488,018 525 $4,739 $3,648,808 949 $3,845 $1,437,745 255 $5,638

Elbert $145,701 123 $1,185 $307,941 102 $3,019 $170,847 93 $1,837

El Paso $4,270,915 2,419 $1,766 $4,614,242 3,493 $1,321 $2,164,622 1,269 $1,706

Fremont $241,342 261 $925 $125,300 319 $393 $83,269 289 $288

Garfield $221,959 169 $1,313 $447,335 317 $1,411 $164,555 115 $1,431

Gilpin $252,948 50 $5,059 $22,963 49 $469 $17,708 16 $1,107

Grand $119,829 139 $862 $97,872 165 $593 $41,523 62 $670

Gunnison $100,450 109 $922 $78,804 71 $1,110 $185,214 74 $2,503

Hinsdale $13,425 9 $1,492 $8,478 18 $471 $7,264 2 $3,632

Huerfano $476,917 571 $835 $280,061 48 $5,835 $311,731 388 $803

Jackson $5,836 2 $2,918 $1,197 7 $171 $21,357 64 $334

Jefferson $7,244,322 1,982 $3,655 $6,595,429 1,867 $3,533 $5,351,018 1,974 $2,711

Kiowa $25,880 3 $8,627 $1,991 6 $332 $1,030 10 $103

Kit Carson $312,380 94 $3,323 $57,979 263 $220 $4,422 28 $158

Lake $71,063 22 $3,230 $19,071 93 $205 $41,710 90 $463

La Plata $1,739,272 359 $4,845 $885,635 551 $1,607 $1,733,339 855 $2,027

Larimer $1,413,709 1,387 $1,019 $1,209,725 1,542 $785 $1,511,883 2,311 $654

Las Animas $6,665 25 $267 $10,716 36 $298 $5,872 24 $245

Lincoln $18,251 29 $629 $30,429 19 $1,602 $3,066 43 $71

Logan $88,907 33 $2,694 $10,034 29 $346 $659,918 91 $7,252

Mesa $719,143 228 $3,154 $184,150 281 $655 $341,920 366 $934

Mineral $15 1 $15 $696 4 $174 $59 3 $20

Moffat $36,464 125 $292 $218,173 510 $428 $68,484 50 $1,370

Montezuma $269,507 161 $1,674 $219,728 334 $658 $85,288 154 $554

Montrose $152,405 125 $1,219 $65,673 78 $842 $99,072 84 $1,179

Morgan $51,146 20 $2,557 $10,662 23 $464 $565,224 33 $17,128

Otero $8,976 23 $390 $10,839 21 $516 $52,780 60 $880

Ouray $15,882 19 $836 $185,148 66 $2,805 $82,802 31 $2,671

Park $60,361 560 $108 $84,878 355 $239 $192,954 1,268 $152

Phillips $4,574 12 $381 $357 4 $89 $1,476 6 $246

Pitkin $485,027 123 $3,943 $240,001 98 $2,449 $237,857 128 $1,858

Prowers $11,873 43 $276 $686 17 $40 $1,825 32 $57

Pueblo $968,974 201 $4,821 $233,174 276 $845 $196,264 311 $631

Rio Blanco $99,614 56 $1,779 $127,267 60 $2,121 $7,656 62 $123

Rio Grande $16,258 57 $285 $134,194 57 $2,354 $9,678 48 $202

Routt $313,430 187 $1,676 $321,807 373 $863 $215,576 304 $709

Saguache $2,178 13 $168 $10,302 40 $258 $44,873 673 $67

San Juan $361 2 $181 $1,936 3 $645 $95 1 $95

San Miguel $72,418 39 $1,857 $112,586 198 $569 $121,842 89 $1,369

Sedgwick $7,713 21 $367 $1,969 5 $394 $3,072 7 $439

Summit $406,847 380 $1,071 $465,628 233 $1,998 $307,447 376 $818

Teller $104,531 64 $1,633 $84,483 63 $1,341 $57,044 57 $1,001

Washington $1,230 19 $65 $697 13 $54 $6,050 14 $432

Weld $815,284 627 $1,300 $1,215,689 1,068 $1,138 $1,812,001 1,459 $1,242

Yuma $27,478 72 $382 $13,954 56 $249 $391,790 494 $793

Totals: $53,126,692 20,333 $2,613 $52,750,526 21,177 $2,491 $50,174,164 23,555 $2,130

Information reported by treasurers for 2009, 2008 and 2007  
 

 



SENIOR CITIZEN AND DISABLED 
VETERAN EXEMPTION 

In 2000, voters enacted Section 3.5, Article X 
of the Colorado Constitution, creating a 
property tax exemption for qualifying senior 
citizens and their surviving spouses.  Voters 
expanded the program in 2006 to include 
qualifying disabled veterans.  For both 
groups, the exemptions as enacted reduce 
the taxable actual value of a residential 
property by 50 percent, up to a maximum 
reduction of $100,000.  The reduction in 
property tax revenue is backfilled by the State 
of Colorado.  
 
The constitution grants the Colorado General 
Assembly the authority to increase or 
decrease the amount of the senior and 
disabled veteran exemptions.  For tax year 
2009, the General Assembly enacted 
legislation to reduce the amount of the senior 
exemption to 50 percent of $0, effectively 
suspending the senior exemption benefit.  
The suspension, which did not affect the 
disabled veteran exemption, saved the state 
approximately $90 million.  This was the 
second time that the General Assembly had 
enacted a suspension of the senior 
exemption benefit.    
 
To qualify for the senior exemption, a 
qualifying senior must be at least 65 years 
old on January 1 and must have owned and 
occupied the property for at least 10 
consecutive years as his or her primary 
residence.  To qualify for the disabled veteran 
exemption, a veteran must be 100 percent 
permanently disabled through a service 
connected disability and must have owned 
and occupied the property since January 1. 
 
Applications for the senior citizen exemption 
are filed with the county assessor no later 
than July 15, and applications for the 
disabled veteran exemption are filed with the 
Colorado Division of Veterans Affairs, 
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs 
(DMVA), no later than July 1.  If approved by 
the DMVA, the veteran’s application is 
forwarded to the county assessor for further 
processing and approval.  Once approved, 
the senior citizen or disabled veteran 
exemption remains in effect from year to year 
until a change in ownership or occupancy 
triggers its removal.  Each year, the assessor 
is required to mail a notice to all residential 
property owners explaining the exemption 
programs. 
 

No later than October 10, the assessor is 
required to send the Division of Property 
Taxation an electronic list of the exemptions 
granted, including the names and social 
security numbers of each person occupying 
the property.  The Division uses the data to 
identify individuals who were granted an 
exemption on more than one property, and 
denies the exemptions on each property.  In 
2009, the Division denied exemptions on 14 
properties owned by 8 applicants. 
 
In 2009, 168,117 properties were approved 
for the senior citizen exemption, and 3,122 
received the disabled veteran exemption.  
These figures were up from 163,619 senior 
exemptions and 1,977 disabled veteran 
exemptions for tax year 2008. 
 
The senior and disabled veteran exemption 
programs do not result in a loss of revenue to 
local governments.  Instead, the state 
reimburses the local governments for the tax 
revenue exempted.  No later than April 1, 
county treasurers send the State Treasurer 
an itemized list of the exemptions granted 
and taxes exempted.  No later than April 15, 
the State Treasurer reimburses the local 
governments for the lost revenue.  In April 
2010, the State Treasurer reimbursed local 
governments $1,335,704 for disabled veteran 
exemptions granted for tax year 2009. 
 
 
POSSESSORY INTERESTS 

In 2001 the Colorado Supreme Court ruled 
that certain possessory interests are subject 
to ad valorem taxation in Colorado.  A 
possessory interest is defined as a private 
property interest in government-owned 
property or the right to the occupancy and 
use of any benefit in government-owned 
property that has been granted under lease, 
permit, license, concession, contract or other 
agreement.  The use of the property must be 
in connection with a business conducted for 
profit. 
 
Taxable possessory interests may include but 
are not limited to: 
 
1. Private concessionaires utilizing 

government owned land, improvements, 
or personal property unless operating 
pursuant to a management contract. 

2. Government land and improvements used 
in the operation of a farm or ranch. 



3. Government land, improvements, and/or 
personal property used in the operation of 
ski or recreational areas. 

4. Land underlying privately owned cabins 
or other residential property located on 
government land that is rented 
commercially. 

5. Recreational use of lakes, reservoirs, and 
rivers in a revenue-generating capacity. 

6. Land, improvements, and personal 
property at a tax-exempt airport. 

7. Other government property leased to 
private parties.  However, the property 
may be otherwise exempt pursuant to 
Colorado Revised Statutes. 

 



2009 PROPERTY TAX LEGISLATION 

Senate Bills 

SB 09-040 
Concerning the regulation of 
manufactured homes. 
 
This bill was initiated by the manufactured 
home task force in an attempt to clean up 
legislative changes accomplished by  
HB 08-1260.  The changes made were based 
on concerns of county offices and industry 
about the movement, title changes, 
identification numbers, definitions, and other 
issues relating to manufactured homes. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends paragraph  
30-10-406(3)(a), C.R.S., excepting the 
Verification of Application form as defined in 
subsection 38-29-102(13), C.R.S., from the 
margin requirements for documents filed with 
the clerk and recorder’s office. 
 
Section 2 amends subsection 30-10-409(2), 
C.R.S., excepting documents filed and 
recorded pursuant to section 38-29-205, 
C.R.S., from the requirement that they be 
endorsed by 5 p.m. the same day if received 
on or before 1 p.m. or by 5 p.m. the following 
day if received after 1 p.m.  Documents 
received pursuant to section 38-29-205, 
C.R.S., shall be endorsed by the clerk and 
recorder within three business days.  This 
refers to documents concerning 
manufactured homes. 
 
Section 3 of the bill amends section  
38-29-107, C.R.S., with the addition of 
subsections (2) and (3), which specify the 
application requirements for obtaining a 
manufactured home title when the 
manufactured home is affixed to the ground.  
The application for a Certificate of Title shall 
be submitted to the Director of the 
Department of Revenue on a form provided 
by the Director, and it shall include the 
following documents. 
 
­ For a manufactured home that was 

permanently affixed to the ground prior to 
July 1, 2008, and for which a Certificate of 
Permanent Location was not filed and 
recorded, subsection 38-29-107(2), 
C.R.S., states that the application shall 
include:  an Affidavit of Real Property, a 
verification of the identification number 
produced in accordance with paragraph 
38-29-122(3)(a), C.R.S., a Certificate of 
Removal, and a copy of all deeds 

recorded since the home was affixed to 
the ground. 

 
­ For a manufactured home affixed to the 

ground after July 1, 2008, and for which a 
Certificate of Permanent Location was 
filed and recorded, paragraph  
38-29-107(3)(a), C.R.S., states that the 
application shall include: a copy of the 
recorded Certificate of Permanent 
Location, a Certificate of Removal, a 
verification of the identification number 
produced in accordance with paragraph 
38-29-122(3)(a), C.R.S., and a copy of all 
deeds recorded since the home was 
affixed to the ground. 

 
­ For a manufactured home that was 

affixed to the ground after July 1, 2008, 
pursuant to a long-term lease with an 
express term of at least 10 years, 
paragraph 38-29-107(3)(b), C.R.S., states 
that the application shall include:  a copy 
of the recorded Certificate of Permanent 
Location, a verification of the identification 
number produced in accordance with 
paragraph 38-29-122(3)(a), C.R.S., and 
copy of the recorded long-term lease. 

 
Section 4 of the bill amends section  
38-29-119, C.R.S., regarding the process by 
which an owner may bond for title. 
 
Subsection 38-29-119(1), C.R.S., is amended 
to specify the documents that must 
accompany an application for a Certificate of 
Title when the manufactured home has been 
abandoned by a prior owner on the 
applicant’s real property.  The bill requires 
that the applicant provide the following 
evidence of his or her right to receive a 
Certificate of Title: a copy of an order or 
judgment for possession obtained through a 
civil eviction proceeding, proof of ownership 
of the real property, and proof of efforts to 
notify the prior owner of the potential 
issuance of a new title or movement of the 
manufactured home. 
 
Subsection 38-29-119(2), C.R.S., is amended 
with the addition of paragraph (b), which 
specifies that surety for a manufactured 
home that is at least 25 years old is not 
required if the owner provides proof that all 
property taxes are paid, provides a 
verification of the identification number, and 
files a title application. 
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Section 5 amends section 38-29-122, C.R.S., 
with the addition of a new subsection (3), 
regarding the inspection and verification of a 
manufactured home identification number, 
and when necessary, the assignment of a 
new number.  Paragraph 38-29-122(3)(a), 
C.R.S., authorizes the Department of 
Revenue to designate qualified VIN 
inspectors and allows an inspector to charge 
a reasonable fee for an inspection.  An 
inspector shall verify the following: the 
identification number, the make, the year of 
manufacture, and any other information 
required by the department.  If the inspector 
determines that the identification number has 
been removed, changed, altered, or 
obliterated, the owner shall request that the 
department assign an identification number 
pursuant to section 38-29-123, C.R.S.  
Paragraph 38-29-122(3)(b), C.R.S., states 
that a designated inspector may be:  an 
authorized agent as defined in subsection  
38-29-102(1), C.R.S., a person designated by 
an authorized agent, a Colorado law 
enforcement officer, a person registered to 
sell manufactured homes, or a county 
assessor. 
 
Section 6 amends section 38-29-123, C.R.S., 
by adding that a new identification number 
can be assigned by the department to a 
manufactured home when the original 
number is missing or has been destroyed.  
The new number must be affixed to the home 
in either the door frame, fuse box, or as 
determined by the department.  The assigned 
number is the identification number under 
which a Certificate of Title may be issued.  If 
the manufactured home is permanently 
affixed to the ground, the owner shall file for 
recording with the county clerk and recorder 
the form on which the new number was 
issued. 
 
Section 7 amends subsection 38-29-133(1), 
C.R.S., to state that an extension made to an 
authorized agent does not need to be 
notarized if it is made under the penalties of 
perjury in the second degree as defined in 
section 18-8-503, C.R.S. 
 
Subsection 38-29-133(2), C.R.S., is also 
amended by adding language which defines 
that upon receipt of a mortgage extension on 
a manufactured home, the authorized agent 
shall complete a record of the extension and 
shall issue a new Certificate of Title on which 
the extension is noted.  If a mortgage noted 
on the Certificate of Title has not been 
released or extended after its maturity date, 

the owner of the manufactured home may 
request that any references to the mortgages 
shown on the records of the authorized agent 
be removed, and upon request, the 
authorized agent shall remove such 
references. 
 
Section 8 amends paragraph 38-29-
201(2)(a), C.R.S., by removing Bill of Sale 
from the list of documents that must be 
recorded prior to the issuance of a Certificate 
of Title for a new manufactured home. 
 
The bill also amends section 38-29-201, 
C.R.S., with the addition of a new subsection 
(3), which states that a Verification of 
Application form must comply with the federal 
“Driver’s Privacy Protection Act of 1994.” 
 
Section 9 amends paragraphs 38-29-202 
(1)(b) and (c), C.R.S., to specify requirements 
that pertain to the filing of a Certificate of 
Permanent Location for a manufactured 
home that occupies real property subject to a 
long-term lease of at least 10 years.  When 
the certificate is filed with the authorized 
agent of the county pursuant to an application 
for purging the title pursuant to subsections  
38-29-112(1.5) or 38-29-118(2), C.R.S., or 
when it is filed for recording pursuant to 
subsections 38-29-114(2) or 38-29-117(6), 
C.R.S., a copy of the lease must be filed 
along with the Certificate of Permanent 
Location. 
 
This section also amends subsection  
38-29-202(2), C.R.S., to list additional 
requirements for the Certificate of Permanent 
Location form.  Paragraph (i) is amended, 
clarifying that the verification concerns 
whether the home is permanently affixed to 
the ground rather than on a permanent 
foundation.  Paragraph (l) is amended to 
specify that the statement found on the 
certificate under which any owners of the 
manufactured home who are not owners of 
the real property relinquish their ownership of 
the manufactured home, shall not apply when 
the home will occupy land subject to a long-
term lease of at least 10 years. 
 
The bill amends section 38-29-202, C.R.S., 
with the addition of a new subsection (l.5), 
which requires that the Certificate of 
Permanent Location for a manufactured 
home that occupies real property subject to a 
long-term lease of at least 10 years, include a 
statement that the owners of the real property 
and manufactured home consent to the 
affixation of the manufactured home to the 



land.  It also requires an acknowledgement 
that, upon such affixation and upon the filing 
and recording of the Certificate of Permanent 
Location, the manufactured home will 
become a part of the real property, subject to 
the reversion of the manufactured home to 
the owners of the home upon termination of 
the long-term lease. 
 
Section 10 amends section 38-29-203, 
C.R.S., by adding a new subsection (2.5), 
regarding the eviction of a tenant by a 
landlord for a manufactured home subject to 
a long-term lease of at least 10 years.  The 
manufactured home can be removed from its 
permanent location without the owner first 
filing a Certificate of Removal if, within twenty 
days after removal, the landlord files a 
Certificate of Removal accompanied by a 
copy of the Notice of Judgment or Order for 
Possession allowing the eviction of the home 
and the address to which the home has been 
moved.  The landlord shall file the Certificate 
of Removal and additional information with 
the authorized agent for the county. 
 
Section 11 amends subsection 38-29-208(1), 
C.R.S., to clarify that any person can prove 
that a manufactured home and the land upon 
which it has been permanently affixed is real 
property by filing and recording the Affidavit 
of Real Property in the county in which the 
manufactured home is located. 
 
Section 11 also amends section 38-29-208, 
C.R.S., with the addition of a new subsection 
(2), which concerns manufactured homes 
that are located on land subject to long-term 
lease of at least 10 years.  For such 
properties, the Affidavit of Real Property shall 
be filed for recording along with a copy of the 
long-term lease and a statement from the 
county treasurer that the taxes have been 
paid separately on the manufactured home 
and the land upon which it is affixed. 
 
Section 12 amends subsections  
39-1-102(7.7), (7.8), (8), (14.3), C.R.S., and 
creates a new subsection (8.3), which define 
or redefine the terms “manufactured home,” 
“mobile home,” and “modular home,” for 
property tax purposes.  The definition of 
“mobile home,” now located in subsection  
39-1-102(8), C.R.S., is based on the 
definition found in paragraph 42-1-
102(106)(b), C.R.S. 
 
 
Section 13 amends subsection  
39-14-101(1.5), C.R.S., to clarify that the term 

“conveyance” includes the transfer of an 
interest in a “manufactured home.”  The bill 
amends subsection 39-14-101(4), C.R.S., by 
eliminating the reference to a previously 
repealed statute and adding a reference to 
subsection 39-1-102(7.8), C.R.S. 
 
Section 14 amends paragraph  
39-14-103(1)(a), C.R.S., concerning the 
Manufactured Home Transfer Declaration.  
On or after July 1, 2009, a Manufactured 
Home Transfer Declaration shall accompany 
an application for a Certificate of Title only 
when the application is submitted pursuant to 
a conveyance. 
 
Signed by Lt. Governor O’Brien:  March 9, 2009 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2009 
 
SB 09-042 
Concerning the administration of the 
exempt status of property for property tax 
purposes. 
 
This bill accomplishes four things related to 
the exemption of property from the property 
tax: 
 
1. Broadens the definition of property 

overseen by the Property Tax 
Administrator (Administrator) that qualifies 
for an exemption to include property 
owned by organizations created to take 
advantage of the federal New Markets 
Income Tax Credit or Rehabilitation Tax 
Credits provided the property is operated 
by a nonprofit entity that would otherwise 
qualify for exemption. 

 
2. Creates a payment in lieu of tax to be 

paid by property owners when property 
qualifies for exemption because it is 
funded through New Markets Tax Credits 
or Rehabilitation Tax Credits.  This 
payment is to replace the tax that would 
have been paid to the school district total 
program had the property remained 
taxable. 

 
3. Eliminates the directive that the Property 

Tax Administrator shall require owners of 
certain exempt residential properties to 
provide financial reports on their 
operations and tax returns from all their 
residents claimed to qualify for 
exemption.  The Administrator may still 
collect that information if necessary but it 
is no longer required. 

 



4. Requires the Property Tax Administrator 
to provide a list of pending applications 
for property tax exemptions annually to 
county assessors, treasurers, and boards 
of commissioners. 

 
Section 1 amends subsection 39-1-102(8.5), 
C.R.S., to read that property ownership shall 
be deemed to have met the requirements of 
this subsection if: the property is owned by a 
nonprofit corporation or association whose 
property is irrevocably dedicated to charitable 
religious, or school purposes and no portion if 
its assets will inure to the benefit of any 
private person upon the liquidation, 
dissolution, or abandonment of such 
corporation or association; or 
 
The operator of the property is a nonprofit 
entity that would otherwise qualify for 
property tax exemption under article 3 of this 
title and is a general partner or member of 
the owner and the property is owned by: 
 
An entity organized for the purpose of 
obtaining tax credits through the federal New 
Markets Tax Credit Program or the 
Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program and is 
eligible for credits; and an entity that makes 
payments in lieu of property taxes pursuant to 
section 39-3-114.5, C.R.S.  This will apply to 
applications for exemption filed on or after 
January 1, 2009, or that are pending on that 
date. 
 
Section 2 amends paragraph 39-2-117 (1)(a), 
C.R.S., by adding a new subparagraph (III), 
which states that no later than June 1 of each 
year, the Administrator shall provide the 
assessor, treasurer, and board of county 
commissioners of each county a list of all 
pending property tax exemption applications. 
 
Section 3 amends article 3, title 39 by adding 
a new section 114.5., titled “Charitable 
exemption-owner claiming federal tax credit – 
fee in lieu of school district tax.” 
 
Whenever an entity organized for the 
purpose of obtaining tax credits through the 
federal New Markets Tax Credit Program or 
the Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program is 
granted an exemption, the entity shall pay 
annually to the treasurer of the county in 
which the property is located a payment in 
lieu of taxes, which payment shall not exceed 
the amount of taxes that would be due for 
total program for the school district in which 
the property is located if the interest were 
taxable.  Each year during the regular tax 

assessment period, the board of county 
commissioners shall provide to each entity 
that holds such real property interest the 
following information in the same manner as 
such information is provided to any other 
owner of real property in a county: 
 
­ The current assessed value of the real 

property interest expressed in dollars; 
­ The amount of the payment in lieu of 

taxes due on the real property interest 
based on the value and tax rate levied for 
total program for the school district in 
which the property is located that would 
be applicable to the real property interest 
if it were taxable; 

­ The date the payment in lieu of taxes is 
due for such real property interest based 
on the date property taxes within the 
county are due. 

 
The treasurer of each county that receives a 
payment in lieu of taxes pursuant to this 
section shall pay to the appropriate school 
district the total payment deducting any costs 
incurred in administering this payment. 
 
Each school district that receives a payment 
in lieu of taxes pursuant to this section shall 
certify the amount paid or received to the 
State Board of Education. 
 
Section 4 amends section 39-3-114, C.R.S., 
by changing the “shall” statements to “may” 
statements in that: 
 
“..the administrator may require the 
owner or operator of such property to 
annually submit a complete financial 
report on its operations and may 
require any occupants whose 
residential units are claimed to qualify 
for such exemption to submit copies 
of their federal or state income tax 
returns.” 
 
Section 5 amends subsections 39-3-137(2) 
and (3), C.R.S., by deleting “pursuant to 
section 39-9-109” and adding language which 
allows the Property Tax Administrator to 
reestablish tax-exempt status when 
authorized by the State Board of 
Equalization. 
 
Section 6 amends paragraph 22-54-
115(1)(a), C.R.S., by adding language 
establishing that the payment for the 
distribution of state funds to a school district 
will be adjusted by the certification of any 



payments in lieu of taxes received by a 
school district. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April 22, 2009 
Effective Date:  August 5, 2009 
 
SB 09-085 
Concerning the creation of a legislative 
task force to study a property tax 
exemption for business personal property. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends article 2, title 2, 
C.R.S., by adding a new part 15, which 
creates a legislative task force on business 
personal property tax.  It directs the task 
force to hold a minimum of six meetings 
public meetings and authorizes the task force 
to make legislative recommendations to the 
General Assembly no later than November 1, 
2009.  The task force is specifically prohibited 
from being staffed by Legislative Council staff 
and the office of Legislative Legal Services. 
 
The task force is composed of the following: 
­ five members from the Senate, 

- three appointed by the  
President of the Senate, 

- two appointed by the Senate  
Minority Leader 

­ five members from the House of 
Representatives 
- three appointed by the Speaker 

of the House, 
- two appointed by the House 

Minority Leader 
­ the Property Tax Administrator, 
­ a representative of the Colorado 

Municipal League; 
­ a representative of Colorado Counties 

Inc; 
­ a member of a local chamber of 

commerce, appointed by the Governor; 
­ a small business representative, 

appointed by the Governor; 
­ a large business representative, 

appointed by the Governor 
­ a member of the public with expertise in 

tax policy, appointed by the Governor. 
 
The task force may examine, but need not 
limit its consideration to, the following issues: 
­ business personal property tax 

exemptions that eliminate or phase out 
the tax; 

­ an analysis of the fiscal impact of the 
personal property exemptions on state 
and local governments; and 

­ methods to reimburse local governments 
for revenue lost as a result of the 
business personal property exemptions. 

 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  June 4, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature. 
Repeal Date:  July 1, 2010 
 
SB 09-105 
Concerning removal of the statutory limit 
on the amount that may be raised in a 
single year by a special property tax 
levied by a board of county 
commissioners for the purpose of fighting 
specified types of fires in a county. 
 
Current law allows counties, with voter 
approval, to impose a special property tax to 
generate funding for the purpose of fighting 
both forest and prairie fires.  The tax cannot 
exceed one mill ($1 per $1,000 of taxable 
value) or $500,000 per year, whichever is 
less. 
 
The bill deletes a portion of section  
30-10-513, C.R.S., to remove the mill levy 
limit and allow counties to impose any tax 
level approved by voters. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April 30, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature. 
 
SB 09-177 
Concerning the valuation of new solar 
energy facilities for the purpose of 
property taxation. 
 
This bill specifies that for purposes of 
property taxation, solar energy facilities that 
were first placed in production on or after 
January 1, 2009, and that generate more 
than two megawatts of energy to the 
interconnection meter, must be valued based 
solely on the income approach.   
 
Section 1 of the bill amends paragraph  
39-4-101(3)(a), C.R.S, by adding “solar 
energy facility” where appropriate.  The bill 
also creates a new subsection (3.5) that 
defines “solar energy facility.” 
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Section 2 of the bill amends portions of 
section 39-4-102, C.R.S., by adding the terms 
“solar energy facility” and “solar energy 
devices” to the existing language.  The bill 
establishes that the methodology used to 
determine the actual value of a solar energy 
facility is the same methodology used to 
value a wind energy facility. 
 
Section 3 of the bill amends paragraph  
39-5-104.7(1)(b), C.R.S., by adding “solar 
energy facilities” where appropriate. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April 22, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
NOTE:  For property tax purposes, the bill is effective 
for new solar energy facilities fist placed in production 
on or after January 1, 2009. 
 
SB 09-276 
Concerning the property tax exemption for 
qualifying seniors, and, in connection 
therewith, lowering for a specified 
property tax year the maximum amount of 
actual value of the primary owner-
occupied residence of a qualifying senior 
that is partly exempt from property 
taxation, and making an appropriation in 
connection therewith. 
 
The bill eliminates the senior exemption 
benefit for tax year 2009, payable in 2010.  
The disabled veteran exemption remains in 
place.  (As originally introduced the bill would 
have eliminated both the senior and disabled 
veteran exemptions for tax years 2009 and 
2010.) 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends section 39-3-
203, C.R.S., by reducing for one year the 
property tax exemption for a senior citizen’s 
primary residence to fifty percent of $0 in 
actual value.  For tax years 2010 and beyond, 
the exemption returns to fifty percent of the 
first $200,000. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  June 4, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
NOTE:  Affects 2009 property taxes due in 2010 
 

House Bills 

HB 09-1005 
Concerning the authority of a special 
district to establish special improvement 
districts within the boundaries of the 
special district.  
 
This bill allows a special district to establish a 
special improvement district within its 

boundaries to finance the cost of any 
improvements that the special district is 
authorized to finance. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends subsection  
32-1-1101(1), C.R.S., by adding a new 
paragraph (g) that allows a special district to 
establish special improvement districts within 
the boundaries of the special district and the 
authority to levy special assessments on 
properties that will receive a direct benefit 
from the improvements. 
 
Section 2 of the bill amends article 1, title 32, 
C.R.S., by adding a new section 1101.7, titled 
“Establishment of special improvement 
districts within the boundaries of a special 
district.”  In order to establish a special 
improvement district, the power to levy 
assessments must be authorized in the 
special district’s service plan or statement of 
purposes or be approved by the county or 
municipality that approved the special 
district’s service plan or accepted the 
district’s statement of purposes. 
 
If the special improvement district is 
established, the assessment must be levied 
on a frontage, area, zone, or other equitable 
basis upon voter approval of a majority of the 
eligible electors within the special 
improvement district or with the written 
consent of 100 percent of the owners of the 
property to be assessed. 
 
The method of creating a special 
improvement district, levying, and collecting 
the assessments, and making the 
improvements, shall be provided in part 5, 
article 25, title 31, C.R.S., subject to some 
duties as noted in this new section. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April, 2, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
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HB 09-1034 
Concerning authorization for a Regional 
Transportation Authority to impose a 
property tax.  
 
This bill permits Regional Transportation 
Authorities (RTAs) to impose a property tax of 
up to five mills, if approved by voters.  RTAs 
are formed by two or more local governments 
to finance, construct, operate, and maintain 
regional transportation systems.  Prior to this 
legislation, RTAs were only authorized to 
issue bonds to be repaid through several 
means, including motor vehicle registration 
fees, sales and use taxes, and visitor benefit 
taxes.  Their primary source of funding has 
been through sales and use taxes. 
 
The creation of RTAs, and the imposition of 
any new taxes, must be approved by voters 
within the proposed authority’s boundaries.  
Currently, there are five organized/operating 
RTAs in the state. 
 
­ Roaring Fork Transportation Authority 

(Eagle, Garfield, Pitkin) 
­ Gunnison Valley Transportation Authority 

(Gunnison) 
­ Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority 

(El Paso) 
­ Baptist Road Rural Transportation 

Authority (El Paso) 
­ South Platte Valley Regional 

Transportation Authority (Logan) 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends subsection  
43-4-605(1), C.R.S., by adding a new 
paragraph (j.5) that allows a Regional 
Transportation Authority to impose a uniform 
mill levy of up to five mills on all taxable 
property within the territory of the authority.  
This power to impose a uniform mill levy is 
repealed as of January 1, 2019. 
 
NOTE:  In counties where RTAs are currently 
operating (those listed above), the assessor 
must certify values to the appropriate 
authorities in August and December 2009.  It 
may be necessary to contact the RTAs to 
obtain boundary information in order to 
accurately certify values.  Contact information 
for the RTAs can be found on the Division of 
Local Government’s website at:  
www.dola.colorado.gov/dlg/local_government
s/Docs/lg_type_list.pdf. 
 
A newly-formed RTA may levy a property tax 
for the calendar year in which it is organized 
only if, prior to July 1, the assessor and the 
board of county commissioners are notified of 

the organization.  In addition, prior to July 1, 
the RTA must provide a map and legal 
description of the authority’s boundaries 
along with official notice that a tax will be 
levied, subsection 39-1-110(1), C.R.S. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April, 16, 2009 
Effective Date:  August 5, 2009 
 
HB 09-1110 
Concerning information required to be 
provided to the county assessor upon 
request in connection with any 
advertisement for the rental of furnished 
residential real property within the state. 
 
Under current law, personal property that is 
used to furnish residential rental property is 
subject to property taxation.  However, many 
advertisements for the rental of furnished 
residential properties do not provide the 
assessor with sufficient information to identify 
to whom personal property declaration 
schedules should be sent.  This bill expands 
existing law by requiring the owner of 
furnished residential rental property or an 
agent of the owner who advertises the 
property for rent to provide the assessor with 
information that identifies the rental property 
by address and by the owner’s name. 
 
The bill also restricts the assessor from 
levying property taxes for prior years on 
omitted personal property that is 
subsequently reported by the owner or the 
owner’s agent. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends article 5, title 39, 
C.R.S., with the addition of a new section 
108.5, which restates existing duties of the 
assessor and establishes a new personal 
property discovery mechanism. 
 
New subsection (1) restates existing 
requirements regarding the assessor’s duty 
to discover and assess taxable personal 
property, and the personal property owner’s 
duty to annually complete a personal property 
declaration schedule.  Subsection (1) also 
sets forth the reasoning behind the bill. 
 
New subsection (2) authorizes the assessor 
to, no more than twice per year, request 
identifying information from the owner of 
furnished residential rental property or an 
agent of the owner who advertises the 
property for rent. 
New subsection (3) defines an “agent” as a 
real estate broker, a property management 
company, a lodging company, an internet 
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website listing service, a print-based listing 
service, or any other person that advertises 
furnished residential real property for rent on 
behalf of the property owner in exchange for 
compensation. 
 
Section 2 of the bill amends section 39-5-
125, C.R.S., by adding a new subsection (3), 
which prohibits the assessor from levying 
property taxes on omitted personal property 
that is discovered when such information is 
reported by the owner or the owner’s agent 
under the provisions of section 39-5-108.5, 
C.R.S. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April 22, 2009 
Effective Date:  August 5, 2009 
 
HB 09-1161 
Concerning a reduction in the time to 
provide written documentation supporting 
an oil and gas valuation statement. 
 
This bill reduces the time that an oil and gas 
operator or owner has to submit written 
documentation supporting a valuation 
statement to a county assessor from 45 to 30 
days. 
 
Section 1 amends paragraph 39-7-101(3)(a), 
C.R.S., changing the time to supply written 
documentation to the assessor from 45 days 
to 30 days after either the date of the 
postmark on the assessor’s written request 
for such documentation or the date by which 
an owner or operator is required to file a 
statement pursuant to subsection (1) of this 
section, whichever is later. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  March 20, 2009 
Effective Date:  August 5, 2009 
 
HB 09-1203 
Concerning the reclassification of 
Montezuma County. 
 
This bill reclassifies Montezuma County from 
a class four county to a class three county for 
the purposes of fixing fees and establishing 
salaries for elected county officials. 
 
Section 1 amends paragraphs 30-1-101(1)(c) 
and (1)(d), C.R.S., changing the 
categorization of Montezuma County from 
Category IV to Category III for the purpose of 
fixing fees of the county and other officers. 
Section 2 amends paragraphs 30-1-102(1)(c) 
and (1)(d), C.R.S., changing the 
categorization of Montezuma County from 

Category IV to Category III for the purpose of 
establishing salaries of county officers. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  April 3, 2009 
Effective Date:  August 5, 2009   
NOTE:  Section 39-2-102(3)(e), C.R.S., states in part, 
“No elected officer shall have his compensation 
increased or decreased during the term of office to 
which he has been elected or appointed….” 
 
HB 09-1260 
Concerning Designated Beneficiary 
Agreements. 

 
This bill allows two unmarried adults to enter 
into a designated beneficiary agreement for 
the purpose of ensuring that each person has 
certain rights and financial protections.  The 
bill expands existing laws related to health 
care, medical emergencies, incapacity, 
death, and the administration of decedent’s 
estates to include rights, benefits and 
protections of a designated beneficiary when 
no valid or enforceable estate planning 
document exists. 
 
The creation of a Beneficiary Agreement by 
two parties can affect certain rights 
concerning real property; however, the 
changes set forth by this bill do not change 
the actions of the assessor.  The language 
concerning the ability to hold property as joint 
tenants was already established under 
statute and does not provide additional rights.  
The ability of the parties to inherit property 
when the decedent died intestate is an 
expansion of the Colorado probate law.  The 
filing of a Beneficiary Agreement would be 
used in the administration of the decedent’s 
estate; the agreement alone does not change 
real or personal property ownership. 
 
The below summary focuses only on the 
portion of the bill that is of interest to 
assessors. 
 
Section 1 adds a new article 22 to title 15:  
Designated Beneficiary Agreements.   
Section15-22-105(3)(a) through (l), C.R.S., 
address the multiple rights and protections 
available to the parties of a designated 
beneficiary agreement.  Paragraph (a) 
entitles parties to a designated beneficiary 
agreement with the right to acquire, hold title 
to, own jointly, or transfer inter vivos or at 
death real or personal property as joint 
tenants with the right of survivorship or as 
tenants in common.  Paragraph (b) entitles 
the right to be designated as a beneficiary, 
payee, or owner as a trustee named in an 
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inter vivos or testamentary trust for the 
purposes of a non-probate transfer on death.  
The remaining paragraphs entitle parties of a 
designated beneficiary agreement with rights 
and protections related to retirement benefits, 
insurance policies, medical issues, 
inheritances, legal standing, etc. 
 
Subsection15-22-106(1), C.R.S., illustrates 
the statutory form of a designated beneficiary 
agreement.  Of all of the rights that may be 
granted or withheld, only the first two items, 
as referenced in paragraphs15-22-105(3)(a) 
and (b) above, affect the operations of the 
assessor’s office. 
 
Subsections 15-22-107 through 109, C.R.S., 
set forth the requirements for recording a 
designated beneficiary agreement, clarify the 
effect a designated beneficiary agreement 
has on other legal documents, and explain 
the affirmation of validity of a designated 
beneficiary agreement, respectively. 
 
Section 15-22-110, C.R.S., provides immunity 
from civil liability or administrative discipline 
for a third party who relies on the affirmation 
of the existence of a valid designated 
beneficiary agreement. 
 
Section 15-22-111, C.R.S., provides the 
procedures and the form that must be 
recorded to revoke a designated beneficiary 
agreement.  The designated beneficiary 
agreement is also deemed to be revoked 
upon the marriage of either party. 
 
Subsection 15-22-112(1), C.R.S., declares 
that a designated beneficiary agreement is 
terminated upon the death of either of the 
parties. 
 
Sections 2-19 affect conforming amendments 
and additions to section 8-41-501, sections 
10-16-102 and 105, section 12-34-109, 
section 13-21-201, sections15-11-103, 106, 
and 114, section 15-12-203, sections 15-14-
310 and 413, sections 15-18.5-103 and 104, 
sections 15-19-103 and 106, section 25-1-
120, and section 30-10-406, C.R.S. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter: April 9, 2009  
Effective Date:  July 1, 2009 
 
 
HB 09-1265 
Concerning a two-year limitation on 
abatement interest awarded to a nonprofit 
entity that has not qualified for tax 

exemption due to an error made by the 
nonprofit entity. 
 
This bill provides counties and all property tax 
entities a two year period for which a 
nonprofit entity may be awarded a refund of 
interest (at 12 percent), whereas current law 
provides no such limitation. 
 
Section 1 amends subsection 39-10-114(1), 
C.R.S., with the addition of a new paragraph 
(c), which concerns the interest paid on 
abatements for a nonprofit entity.  If a county, 
the Board of Assessment Appeals, a court of 
competent jurisdiction, or the Property Tax 
Administrator determines that a property is 
exempt from taxation and finds competent 
evidence that the property became or 
remained subject to taxation as a result of an 
error or omission made by the taxpayer, then 
the county, Board of Assessment Appeals, 
court of competent jurisdiction, or the 
Property Tax Administrator may award refund 
interest or any other type of interest for not 
greater than two property tax years.  The 
interest rate is the same as that provided in 
section 39-10-104.5, C.R.S. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  March 20, 2009 
Effective Date:  August 5, 2009 
 
HB 09-1316 
Concerning public dissemination of 
personal information of a person working 
in the criminal justice system. 
 
This bill expands existing law concerning the 
posting of personal information on the 
Internet.  Under section 18-9-313, C.R.S., 
posting the personal information of a law 
enforcement official may be considered a 
class one misdemeanor, punishable through 
the courts. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends section 18-9-
313, C.R.S., by replacing “peace officer” with 
“law enforcement official.” 
 
Subsection 18-9-313(1), C.R.S., is amended 
with the addition of a new paragraph (a.5), 
which defines “law enforcement official,” as a 
peace officer as described in section  
16-2.5-101, C.R.S., a judge as defined in 
subsection 18-8-615(3), C.R.S., or a 
prosecutor. 
 
The bill amends the definition of personal 
information in paragraph 18-9-313(1)(b), 
C.R.S., to include a personal mobile 
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telephone number and personal e-mail 
address to the definition. 
 
Subsection 18-9-313(2), C.R.S., which states 
that it is unlawful for a person to knowingly 
make personal information available on the 
internet, is amended to include law 
enforcement officials or the official’s 
immediate family member. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  May 21, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
 
HB 09-1360 
Concerning the adjustment of the ratio of 
valuation for assessment for residential 
real property. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends subsection  
39-1-104.2(3), C.R.S., by adding a new 
paragraph (l), which states that the residential 
target percentage is 46.82 percent,  and the 
residential assessment rate will remain at 
7.96 percent for tax years 2009 and 2010. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  June 1, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
 
HB 09-1365 
Concerning modifications to the property 
tax exemption for certain property leased 
by governmental entities that use the 
property for governmental purposes. 
 
Under current law (established by  
HB 08-1395), property that is leased for at 
least a one-year term by the state, a political 
subdivision of the state, or a state-supported 
institution of higher education is exempt from 
property taxation.  The lessee is required to 
provide the assessor a copy of the lease 
(including subleases). 
 
This bill clarifies that the rent due by the 
state, political subdivision, or state-supported 
institution of higher education shall be 
reduced by an amount equal to that of the 
property tax exemption.  The bill also directs 
the assessor to notify the landlord upon 
receipt of a lease agreement between the 
landlord and the state, a political subdivision, 
or a state-supported institution of higher 
education. 
 
Section 1 of the bill amends subparagraph 
39-3-124(1)(b)(I), C.R.S., by the addition of 
sub-subparagraphs (B) through (E) which 
delineate the following: 
 

­ Rent due by the state, a political 
subdivision, or a state-supported 
institution of higher education pursuant to 
the terms of the lease agreement shall be 
reduced by an amount equal to the 
property tax exemption. 

­ The assessor will send a notice to the 
landlord upon receipt of a lease 
agreement between the landlord and the 
state, a political subdivision, or a state-
supported institution of higher education 
which identifies the property, the property 
address, and the parties to the lease 
agreement. 

­ Real property taxes payable by non-state, 
non-political subdivision, or non-state-
supported institution of higher education 
tenants are considered to be taxes paid 
by the property owner or landlord. 

­ Only a state, political subdivision, or 
state-supported institution of higher 
education tenant shall receive any benefit 
related to its property tax-exempt status. 

 
NOTE:  Legislative Legal Services indicated 
that this subsection of the bill is effective 
upon signing.  Governor Ritter signed this bill 
on June 1, 2009. Assessors only need to 
send this notice for leases received after 
June 1, 2009.  However, nothing in this law 
prevents assessors from sending this notice 
for leases received prior to June 1, 2009, as 
a courtesy. 
 
Signed by Governor Ritter:  June 1, 2009 
Effective Date:  Upon 
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