
COLORADO PROPERTY TAX 
 
OVERVIEW 
The Colorado property tax system provides 
revenue exclusively for local government 
services.  The largest share of property tax 
revenue (50.2 percent) goes to support the 
state's public schools.  County governments 
claim the next largest share (25.2 percent), 
followed by special districts (18.1 percent), 
municipal governments (5.3 percent), and 
junior colleges (1.2 percent). 
 
The authority for property taxation is both 
constitutional and statutory.  Article X of the 
Colorado Constitution provides that all 
property is taxable unless declared exempt by 
the Constitution, and that the actual value of 
taxable property shall be determined under 
the general laws to secure just and equalized 
valuations.  The specific statutes pertaining to 
property taxation are found in Title 39, Articles 
1 through 14, Colorado Revised Statutes. 
 
Under the general laws of Colorado, county 
assessors are required to value all taxable 
property within their county boundaries.  The 
State Board of Equalization (state board) has 
supervision over the administration of all laws 
concerning the valuation and assessment of 
taxable property and the levying of property 
taxes.  The Division of Property Taxation 
(Division), under direction of the Property Tax 
Administrator (administrator), coordinates the 
implementation of property tax laws 
throughout Colorado’s sixty-four counties. 
 
Revenue derived from 2008 property taxes 
(payable 2009) will increase statewide for 
every local government type.  Table 1 lists the 
percentage increases in property tax revenue 
between taxes payable in 2008 and taxes 
payable in 2009.  The combined revenue 
increase from taxes payable in 2009 is 2.6 
percent. 
 

TABLE 1 

 

In 2007, the General Assembly amended  
§ 22-54-106(2), C.R.S., to freeze the total 
program mill levies certified annually by 
school districts.  The mill levy freeze, when 
implemented, applied to 174 of the state’s 
178 school districts that had previously 
approved broadly worded ballot issues 
waiving the revenue limits of Article X, Section 
20 of the Colorado Constitution (TABOR).  
The remaining four districts excluded from the 
change are Colorado Springs, Harrison, 
Cherry Creek and Steamboat Springs.  Over 
time, the mill levy freeze is intended to restore 
the percentage of school total program 
funding from property tax revenue to levels 
that existed prior to the passage of Section 
20, Article X of the Colorado Constitution 
(TABOR).   
 
Note:  On March 16, 2009, the Colorado 
Supreme Court issued a determination that 
the mill levy freeze is constitutional. 
 
 
STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 
The State Board of Equalization consists of 
the Governor, the President of the Senate, 
the Speaker of the House of Representatives, 
or their designees, and two members 
appointed by the Governor with consent of 
the Senate.  Each appointed member must be 
a qualified appraiser, a former assessor, or a 
person who has knowledge and experience in 
property taxation.  The state board members 
for 2008 were Lyle C. Kyle, Chairperson and 
appointee of the Governor; Charles Brown, 
Vice-Chairman and appointee of the 
Governor; Craig R. Welling, designee of 
Governor Bill Ritter, Jr.; Sharon R. Bailey, 
Ph.D., designee of Peter Groff, President of 
the Senate; and Representative Joel Judd, 
designee of Andrew Romanoff, Speaker of 
the House of Representatives. 
 
Duties and Responsibilities 
The state board supervises the administration 
of property tax laws and the equalization of 
the values of classes and subclasses of 
taxable property.  Duties of the state board 
are found primarily in Article X, Sections  
3 and 15 of the Colorado Constitution and in 
Title 39, Articles 1 and 9, Colorado Revised 
Statutes. 
 
Among its duties, the state board reviews the 
findings and conclusions of the annual study 
contractor and orders reappraisals in counties 
found not in compliance.  The annual study 
was initiated by a 1982 amendment to the 



Colorado Constitution to ensure that all 
assessors value property at the same level of 
value, using standardized procedures and 
statistical measurements.  The study is 
conducted by an independent auditing firm 
contracted by the Director of Research, 
Colorado Legislative Council, § 39-1-104(16), 
C.R.S.  The study and the resulting orders of 
reappraisal are the primary means of 
achieving statewide equalization. 
 
The importance of the state board’s 
equalization function is due in part to the 
relationship that exists between assessed 
values and state aid to schools.  Generally, if 
the property in a school district is under-
assessed, it is likely that the district will 
receive more state revenue than it is entitled.  
When the results of a reappraisal order 
indicate that the affected school district(s) 
received too much state revenue, the state 
board will order the county (not the school 
district) to pay back the excess funding.  
During the 1980s and early 1990s, this 
occasionally required the repayment of 
substantial revenue to the state.  In more 
recent years, significant improvements in the 
quality of county assessments have resulted 
in far fewer reappraisal orders and smaller 
repayments of excess state aid to schools. 
 
The state board also reviews county 
Abstracts of Assessment, decisions of county 
boards of equalization (county boards) and 
the policies and recommendations of the 
Property Tax Administrator. 
 
 
STATE BOARD ENFORCEMENT 
The following is a brief history of recent 
enforcement actions by the State Board of 
Equalization. 
 
2008 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 8, 2008, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on these findings, the state board 
issued no orders of reappraisal. 
 
They also reviewed the status of their 2005 
recommendation for Jackson County.  The 
2005 recommendation asked Jackson County 
to implement a five-year cycle for physical 
inspections of rural outbuildings.  The 
Jackson County Assessor indicated that she 
only had four physical inspections left to 
complete the project. 

 
2007 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 10, 2007, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on these findings, the state board 
issued no orders of reappraisal.  They did, 
however, review the status of a prior 
reappraisal order given to Costilla County. 
 
On October 11, 2006, the state board 
determined that the 2005 ordered reappraisal 
of single-family residential property was 
successfully completed by Costilla County, 
and ordered the county to payback the state 
aid to schools as well as the supervision 
reimbursement costs by the end of 2007.  At 
the October 2007 state board hearing, the 
Costilla County Deputy Assessor provided the 
state board with a document detailing the 
County’s 2007 expenditures.  Although the 
entire $17,964.97 had not yet been spent, the 
remaining portion was slated to be used for 
education of assessor personnel and a list of 
proposed courses was submitted.    
 
The board reviewed the progress of their 
2005 recommendations for both Rio Grande 
and Jackson Counties.  The state board’s 
2005 recommendation asked Rio Grande 
County to determine the productive capability 
of agricultural land by implementing the 
National Resource Conservation Service 
(NRCS) soil survey by 2007 for 2008.  At the 
2007 hearing, it was reported the county 
completed the soil survey.  This was verified 
by Carl Ross of Rocky Mountain Valuation 
Specialists, Inc. 
 
The state board also reviewed Jackson 
County’s progress toward implementing a 
five-year cycle for physical inspections of rural 
outbuildings.  The Jackson County Assessor 
indicated that as of October 10, 2007, 45 
percent of the inspections had been 
completed. 
 
2006 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 11, 2006, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on these findings, the board issued no 
orders of reappraisal.  They did, however, 
review the results of the reappraisal order 
given to Costilla County in 2005 for all single-
family residential properties in the county.  
The board determined that the reappraisal 



was successfully completed, and ordered the 
county to make the following payback and 
reimbursement. 
 
  State Aid 
 Supervision To Schools 
County Reimbursement Payback 
Costilla $17,964.97 $968.09* 
 
*   + interest on state aid payback based on the 
rate set by the Colorado Banking Commissioner, 
which can be reduced by three percent under the 
authority of the state board. 
 
The board approved Costilla County’s request 
to repay the excess state equalization 
payments to schools by the end of 2007.  In 
addition, the state board approved a reduction 
of three percentage points, resulting in an 
interest rate of six percent. 
 
The board also approved the county’s request 
to employ the “Bledsoe Plan” for the 
repayment of the supervision costs allowing 
the county to choose an alternative method of 
repaying the costs associated with the state’s 
supervision of the reappraisal.  The Bledsoe 
Plan authorizes counties to increase the 
assessor’s budget by the supervision 
reimbursement money for expenditures that 
will enhance their operational effectiveness. 
 
2005 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 11, 2005, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council.  
Based on the findings, the state board issued 
a reappraisal order for the single-family 
residential property subclass in Costilla 
County.  The board recommended that Rio 
Grande County comply with a procedural 
requirement to use a soil survey conducted by 
the United States Natural Resource 
Conservation Service (NRCS) when 
classifying and valuing agricultural land, and it 
recommended that Jackson County submit a 
plan for detailing the methodologies and time 
frames the county will use to physically 
inspect agricultural outbuildings. 
 
The board also reviewed the results of a 
reappraisal order issued to Fremont County in 
2004.  Pursuant to the reappraisal, it ordered 
the repayment of excess state aid to schools 
and ordered the repayment of the cost of 
supervising the reappraisal.   
 
The county commissioners requested the 
state board allow them to apply the 

supervision reimbursement money to the 
assessor’s budget for 2006.  The alternate 
repayment method, referred to as the 
“Bledsoe Plan” authorizes counties to 
increase the assessor’s budget by the 
supervision reimbursement money for 
expenditures that will enhance their 
operational effectiveness. The county 
requested the funds be used to purchase a 
variety of computers, various types of 
software and maps.  The board approved the 
county’s request to employ the “Bledsoe Plan” 
for the repayment of the supervision costs.   
 
The board approved Fremont County’s 
request to repay the excess state equalization 
payments to schools by the end of 2006.  The 
state board approved a reduction of three 
percentage points, resulting in an interest rate 
of four percent.   
 
  State Aid 
 Supervision To Schools 
County Reimbursement Payback 
Fremont $54,751 $131,263 
 
+ interest on state aid payback based on the rate 
set by the Colorado Banking Commissioner, which 
can be reduced by three percent under the 
authority of the state board. 
 
2004 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 4, 2004, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky 
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual 
study contractor for Legislative Council. 
 
After considering all evidence and testimony, 
the state board concluded that the Fremont 
County commercial/industrial property classes 
were out of compliance and issued an order 
of reappraisal to the county. 
 
 



DIVISION OF PROPERTY TAXATION 
Under the general laws of Colorado, the 
Property Tax Administrator (Administrator) 
heads the Division of Property Taxation.  The 
Administrator is appointed by the State Board 
of Equalization to serve a five-year term, and 
until a successor is appointed and qualified. 
 
A primary responsibility of the Division is to 
administer the implementation of property tax 
law throughout the 64 counties so that 
valuations are fair, uniform, and defensible, 
thereby ensuring that each property class 
contributes only its fair share of the total 
property tax revenue.  In other words, the 
Division's goal is equalization of valuation and 
proper distribution of property taxes 
throughout the state. 
 
The Division is comprised of four sections: 
Administrative Resources, Appraisal 
Standards, Exempt Properties, and State 
Assessed Properties. 
 
Administrative Resources 
Administrative Resources prepares and 
publishes administrative manuals, procedures 
and instructions.  It conducts schools and 
seminars regarding the administrative 
functions of the assessors’ offices.   
It conducts field studies and provides 
statewide assistance in tax increment 
financing, manufactured housing, title 
conveyance, mapping, abstracting valuations, 
certification of values to taxing entities, and 
workforce analysis studies.  The section also 
investigates taxpayer or taxing entity 
complaints.  It is responsible for various 
studies and reports such as the residential 
assessment rate study and the Property Tax 
Administrator’s Annual Report to the 
Governor and the General Assembly.  It also 
coordinates with agencies having an interest 
in property taxation.  In addition, the field staff 
works closely with assessors in all areas of 
property taxation. 
 
Appraisal Standards 
Appraisal Standards prepares and publishes 
appraisal manuals, procedures and 
instructions.  It holds schools and seminars 
regarding all areas of appraisal.  It conducts 
field studies and provides statewide 
assistance in agricultural land classification, 
natural resources and personal property 
valuation, as well as assistance in the 
valuation of residential, commercial and 
industrial properties.  The section assists in 

reappraisal efforts, reviews internal appraisal 
forms used by assessors, and investigates 
and responds to taxpayer complaints. 
 
Exempt Properties 
The Exemptions Section is responsible for 
determining qualification for exemption from 
property taxation for properties that are 
owned and used for religious, charitable and 
private school purposes.  Exempt property 
owners are required to file annual reports with 
the Division to continue exemption.  The 
section provides assistance to counties and 
taxpayers with inquiries about exempt 
properties, conducts hearings on denied 
exemption applications and revocations of 
exemption, and defends appeals of such 
denials and revocations. 
 
State Assessed Properties 
The State Assessed Section values all public 
utilities, rail transportation companies, and 
airlines doing business in Colorado.  The 
company valuations are then apportioned to 
the counties for collection of local property 
tax.  The section conducts research projects 
in connection with state assessed companies; 
assists counties and taxpayers with inquiries 
on the assessment of public utilities, rail 
transportation companies, and airlines; hears 
protests of the assigned values and defends 
appeals of such valuations. 
 
 
2008 VALUE INFORMATION 
 
Statewide Assessed Values for 2008 
The 2008 tax year was an “intervening,” or 
non-reappraisal year, meaning the actual 
values of most properties were the same as 
those established for the 2007 tax year.  The 
values generally reflect market values as of 
June 30, 2006, although certain classes and 
sub-classes of property are valued every 
year. 
 
The property valued every year includes all 
property classified as state assessed; 
leasehold interests classified as oil and gas, 
natural resource, and producing mines; and 
all subclasses of personal property. 
 
For 2008, Colorado assessed values 
increased by $2.4 billion, or 2.8 percent from 
the prior year.  Table 2 displays the 
percentage changes in value of each property 
class for 2008. 
 



TABLE 2 

 
 
For real property classified as vacant land, 
residential, commercial and industrial, the 
increases in value reflect market value 
changes that occurred between June 30, 
2004 and June 30, 2006.  The 2.7 percent 
increase to the residential class and the 2.7 
percent increase to the commercial class are 
predominantly new construction related.  
Much of the 4.2 percent reduction to the 
vacant land class was caused by the 
reclassification of land underlying newly 
constructed properties. 
 
Agricultural Property 
The value established for agricultural land is 
based on the earning or productive capacity 
of the land regardless of the property’s market 
value or its highest and best use.  As a result, 
the actual values of agricultural property are 
often much lower than their market values 
and tend to be stable from year to year. 
 
Oil and Gas  
Since 2000, Colorado has experienced a 
416.8 percent increase in the total assessed 
value of the oil and gas class.  Among the 
classes of taxable property, oil and gas 
contains the third highest total assessed 
value, up from sixth highest in 2000.  The 
2008 total assessed value for the oil and gas 
class is $7,677,144,558, which is 8.8 percent 
of the state’s total taxable value.  
Approximately 94 percent of that value is 
concentrated in nine counties.  In three of the 
counties, Cheyenne, Las Animas, and Rio 
Blanco, over 70 percent of their taxable value 
is classified as oil and gas.  A partial history of 
the assessed value for the class is shown in 
Table 3 and the accompanying chart. 

 

TABLE 3 
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The value of oil and gas land is calculated as 
a percentage of the sale price obtained for the 
product at the wellhead.  This makes oil and 
gas among the most volatile of classes 
because the market prices of natural gas and 
crude oil can change considerably from year 
to year.  When the prices rise or fall, the 
production volumes of the commodities tend 
to increase or decrease in harmony with the 
changes in price, magnifying the effect of 
price changes on its assessed value. 
 
According to the Colorado Oil and Gas 
Conservation Commission, Colorado had 
37,311 active wells in the state at the close of 
2008.  Approximately, 83 percent of those are 
located in six counties:  Weld, Garfield, Yuma, 
La Plata, Las Animas and Rio Blanco. 
 
Although oil and gas property comprises only 
8.8 percent of the state’s total assessed 
value, 94.5 percent of the oil and gas value is 
concentrated in nine counties.  In three of 
those counties, Cheyenne, Las Animas and 



Rio Blanco, at least 70 percent of their 
taxable value is classified as oil and gas. 
 
Table 4 lists in order the top-nine oil and gas 
producing counties for 2008 as well as the 
percentage of change in total value. 
 

TABLE 4 

 
 
Other Production Classes 
The value of land in the other production 
classes, natural resources and producing 
mines, is also calculated as a percentage of 
the money obtained from selling the product.  
The value of producing mines is subject to a 
high level of volatility, but the class comprises 
only 0.5 percent of the state’s total assessed 
value.  The entire value of the class is located 
in thirteen counties.  Of these the largest 
percent of the value is located in Clear Creek 
Grand and Teller counties.  The world’s 
largest primary producer of molybdenum, the 
Henderson mine, straddles the Continental 
Divide in Clear Creek and Grand Counties.  
Since 1976, the mine has produced more 
than 160 million tons of ore and 70 million 
pounds of molybdenum.   
 
Teller County is the location of most of 
Colorado’s gold production.  The county’s 
primary mine, the Cresson Mine, is located 
between Victor and Cripple Creek.  The mine 
has produced over 22 million ounces of gold 
since its discovery by a local rancher in 1891.  
The value of mining operations in Colorado is 
sensitive to changes in commodity prices, 
owners’ business choices and decisions 
rendered on property tax appeals.  According 
to the United States Geological Survey’s 
website, the average price of gold for 2008 
was $900 per ounce, up from the $699 per 
ounce price listed the prior year. 

State Assessed Property 
Unlike most other classes, property classified 
as state assessed is valued annually by the 
Division of Property Taxation using unitary 
valuation procedures.  The state assessed 
property class is comprised of real and 
personal property owned by public utilities, 
airlines and railroads.  The State Assessed 
Section of the Division values each company 
and allocates a portion of the value to 
Colorado.  That value is then apportioned to 
the appropriate counties based on the 
location of the company’s operating property 
or business activity. 
 
State assessed values were up 6.8 percent in 
2008.  The most significant change was the 
$81 million increase because of continued 
work on the Rockies Express pipeline.  Other 
significant contributing factors were 
development of new energy generation 
facilities, both traditional and renewable (+$33 
million), and a strong year for the railroads 
and their associated private car lines (+$34 
million). 
 
 
Regional and Local Values in 2008 
The 2.8 percent increase in property value, as 
shown in Table 2, did not occur uniformly 
across Colorado.  At the county level, the 
changes in value ranged from an increase of 
76.7 percent in Sedgwick County to a 
decrease of 6.5 percent in Moffat County.   
 
The increase in Sedgwick’s assessed value 
was due to the construction of a pipeline 
which added $24.5 million to the county’s 
assessed value in 2008.  Ten of Colorado’s 
64 counties experienced a decline in total 
assessed value, and twenty others witnessed 
an increase of less than two percent. 
 
The largest increases in residential value for 
2008 occurred in western slope counties with 
the highest increase in Garfield County 
(9.45%). 
 
See Table 5 on the following page for the 
changes in taxable value for each county from 
2007 to 2008. 
 
 



TABLE 5 

 
 



Personal Property in 2008 
In 2008, personal property accounted for 12.1 
percent of Colorado’s property tax base, but 
that percentage varied substantially from 
county to county.  Approximately 40 percent 
of personal property is classified as state 
assessed while the remainder is valued at the 
local level.  In 2008, 90.3 percent of the state 
assessed property value was personal 
property.  All taxable personal property is 
assessed at 29 percent of its actual value. 
 
Under the Colorado Constitution and 
statutes, certain categories of business 
personal property are exempt from taxation, 
including equipment used for agricultural 
purposes, business industry materials and 
supplies held for consumption, and for 
property tax years commencing prior to 
January 1, 2009, personal property under 
common ownership with a total actual value 
of no more than $2,500 per county. 
 
With the passage of HB 08-1225, business 
personal property listed on a single personal 
property schedule will be exempt from 
property taxes if the actual value of the 
personal property is no more than: 
 
- Four thousand dollars ($4,000) for 

property tax years commencing on 
January 1 2009 and January 1, 2010. 

- Five thousand five hundred dollars 
($5,500) for property tax years 
commencing on January 1, 2011 and 
January 1, 2012. 

- Seven thousand dollars ($7,000) for 
property tax years commencing on 
January 1, 2013 and January 1, 2014. 

 
In addition, a provision found in the 
constitution, allows any taxing entity to “enact 
cumulative uniform exemptions and credits to 
reduce or end business personal property 
taxes,” § 20(8)(b), art. X, COLO. CONST. 
 
Table 6 lists the state assessed, locally 
assessed and total taxable personal property 
by county, and the total percentage of value 
comprised of personal property. 
 



TABLE 6 

 
 



RESIDENTIAL ASSESSMENT RATE 
In 1982, the electorate passed sweeping 
changes to the portion of the Colorado 
Constitution that governs the property tax 
system.  One of these changes was the 
enactment of a provision known as the 
“Gallagher Amendment,” found in § 3(1)(b), 
art. X, COLO. CONST. 
 
The purpose of the Gallagher Amendment is 
to stabilize residential real property’s share of 
the statewide property tax base.  From 1958 
to 1982, the percentage of total assessed 
value comprised of residential property 
increased from 29 to 44 percent.  This 
occurred primarily because market value 
increases for residential property greatly 
outpaced market value increases to non-
residential property. 
 
To counter this trend, the Gallagher 
Amendment requires a review and potential 
adjustment of the residential assessment rate 
each time there is a year of general 
reassessment.  This adjustment is meant to 
ensure that the rate of change to the state’s 
total assessed value of residential property 
remains essentially the same as it is for non-
residential property.  The current residential 
assessment rate is 7.96 percent of assessed 
value.  In contrast, the assessment rate for 
most classes of non-residential property is 
fixed at 29 percent.  A history of changes to 
the residential assessment rate is shown in 
Table 7. 

TABLE 7 

 

During years of general reassessment (odd 
numbered years), § 39-1-104.2(5)(c), C.R.S., 
requires the Property Tax Administrator to 
complete a documented study that is used by 
the General Assembly to enact a new 
residential assessment rate into law.  The 
2007 preliminary and final residential 
assessment rate study reports are accessible 
on the Division’s web site at 
http://www.dola.state.co.us/dpt/publications/r
esidential_assessment_rate_ndex.htm. 
 
Assessment Rate and Tax Burden 
Table 8, on the following page, calculates the 
savings to residential taxpayers from the 
inception of the Gallagher Amendment 
through 2008.  It does so by comparing the 
taxes paid by residential property owners to 
an estimate of the taxes they would have paid 
had the Gallagher Amendment not been 
enacted.  The estimated savings to 
residential property owners is 
$14,339,835,343.  The table begins with 
1987, because the residential assessment 
rate remained at 21 percent until 1987.  The 
contents of each column in the table are 
described below. 
 
1: Tax year. 
2: Hypothetical residential assessment 

rate of 21 percent. 
3: Enacted residential assessment rate 

for each tax year. 
4: Average statewide mill levy for each 

tax year. 
5: Hypothetical average statewide mill 

levy needed to generate the total true 
revenue if the residential assessment 
rate had been 21 percent.  This is 
calculated by dividing the total true 
revenue received in each year 
(Column 10), by the total assessed 
value at 21 percent (Column 9). 

6: Total true residential assessed value 
as reflected in the 2008 Abstracts of 
Assessment. 

7: Total statewide assessed value, as 
reflected in the Certification of Levies 
and Revenue reports compiled and 
submitted by county commissioners. 

8: Hypothetical total residential assessed 
value, had the residential rate 
remained at 21 percent. 



9: Hypothetical total assessed value, had 
the residential assessment rate 
remained at 21 percent. 

10: Total statewide property tax revenue, 
as reflected in the Certification of 
Levies and Revenue reports compiled 
and submitted by county 
commissioners. 

11: Hypothetical property tax revenue 
attributable to residential property, had 
the residential rate remained at 21 
percent.  This is calculated by 
multiplying the hypothetical mill levy at 
21 percent (Column 5) by the 
hypothetical residential assessed 
value at 21 percent (Column 8). 

12: Total property tax revenue of 
residential property at the assessment 
rate established for each tax year.  
This is calculated by multiplying the 
total statewide residential assessed 
value (Column 6) by the statewide 
average mill levy (Column 4). 

13: Savings to residential taxpayers, 
Column 11 minus Column 12. 



TABLE 8 

 



TABLE 9 

 
 
The total assessed values in Table 9 may not match the values in Table 8, as they originate from different 
sources.  The values in Table 9 were taken from the 2008 Abstracts of Assessment while the total assessed 
value listed in Table 8 is from the Certification of Levies and Revenues. 



Table 9 illustrates the effect of Gallagher on 
the statewide assessed value of residential 
property since 1983.  As the table shows, the 
percentage of actual value attributable to 
residential property has increased 
dramatically during the last 25 years, from 
53.2 percent in 1983 to 77.6 percent today.  
At the same time, the adjustment of the 
residential assessment rate caused the 
percentage of total assessed value 
comprised of residential property to remain 
essentially stable. 
 
 
PROTESTS, APPEALS, AND 
ABATEMENTS 
Protests and Appeals 
Colorado statutes mandate a process that 
allows taxpayers the opportunity to challenge 
the actual value established by the assessor.  
The process begins with the taxpayer’s 
protest to the assessor.  Upon receiving a 
protest, the assessor reviews the issues 
raised, and either adjusts or maintains the 
actual value established for the property.  
Taxpayers who disagree with the assessor’s 
decision can appeal to the county board of 
equalization.  Taxpayers who disagree with 
the county board’s decision have three 
choices for further appeal.  They can appeal 
to the State Board of Assessment Appeals 
(BAA), district court, or binding arbitration.  
Decisions of the BAA and district court can 
be appealed to the Colorado Court of 
Appeals and ultimately to the Colorado 
Supreme Court.  Decisions of an arbitrator 
are final. 
 
Taxpayers can protest and appeal in both 
reappraisal (odd numbered years) and 
intervening years (even numbered years).  
However, the number of protests and appeals 
are typically higher in the years of 
reappraisal. 
 
The number of protests and appeals varies 
greatly from county to county.  During 2007 
(the last reappraisal year), Jefferson County 
received the greatest number of protests with 
12,974 while Kiowa County received none.  
For many counties, the protest process 
places a significant strain on the resources of 
the assessor’s office.  Table 10 lists the 
protests and county board appeals for each 
county during the last three reappraisal 
years, organized according to the county 
officer pay categories established in  

§ 30-2-102, C.R.S.  For the purpose of this 
table, the Cities and Counties of Denver and 
Broomfield are placed in category one.  Table 
11 provides a statistical summary of protests 
and appeals. 
 
Abatements 
Abatement petitions can be filed for taxes 
erroneously or illegally levied, for 
overvaluation, or for an assessment error.  
Taxpayers who filed a protest can file an 
abatement petition only for a clerical error or 
an illegality, but not for an overvaluation.  
Abatement petitions can be filed up through 
the first working day in January two years 
after the date the taxes were levied.  
Because abatement petitions are filed on 
taxes already levied, the abated or refunded 
taxes constitute lost revenue to the affected 
local governments; however,  
§ 39-10-114(1)(a)(I)(B), C.R.S., and case law, 
allow local governments to recover abated 
taxes through an increase in mill levies.  
Table 12 displays the taxes abated during 
2006, 2007, and 2008. 
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SENIOR CITIZEN AND DISABLED 
VETERAN EXEMPTION 
In 2000, voters enacted Section 3.5, Article X 
of the Colorado Constitution, creating a 
property tax exemption for qualifying senior 
citizens and their surviving spouses.  Voters 
expanded the program in 2006 to include 
qualifying disabled veterans.  For both 
groups, the exemption reduces the actual 
value of a residential property by 50 percent, 
up to a maximum reduction of $100,000.   
 
To qualify as a senior citizen, the applicant on 
January 1 must be at least 65 years old and 
must have owned and occupied the property 
for at least 10 consecutive years as his or her 
primary residence.  To qualify as a disabled 
veteran, the applicant must be 100 percent 
permanently disabled through a service 
connected disability and must have owned 
and occupied the property since January 1. 
 
Applications for the senior citizen exemption 
are filed with the county assessor no later 
than July 15, and applications for the 
disabled veteran exemption are filed with the 
Colorado Division of Veterans Affairs, 
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs 
(DMVA), no later than July 1.  If approved by 
the DMVA, the veteran’s application is 
forwarded to the county assessor for further 
processing and approval.  Once approved, 
the senior citizen or disabled veteran 
exemption remains in effect from year to year 
until a change in ownership or occupancy 
triggers its removal.  Each year, the assessor 
is required to mail a notice to all residential 
property owners explaining the exemption 
programs. 
 
In 2008, 163,619 properties received the 
senior citizen exemption, and 1,977 received 
the disabled veteran exemption.  These 
figures were up from 155,798 senior 
exemptions and 1,301 disabled veteran 
exemptions for tax year 2007. 
 
No later than October 10, the assessor is 
required to send the Division of Property 
Taxation an electronic list of the exemptions 
granted, including the names and social 
security numbers of each person occupying 
the property.  The Division uses the data to 
identify individuals who were granted either 
exemption on more than one property, and 
denies the exemptions on each property.  In 
2008, the Division denied exemptions on 40 
properties owned by 26 applicants. 

The senior and disabled veteran exemption 
program does not result in a loss of revenue 
to local governments.  Instead, the state 
reimburses the local governments for the tax 
revenue exempted.  No later than April 1, 
county treasurers send the State Treasurer 
an itemized list of the exemptions granted 
and taxes exempted.  No later than April 15, 
the State Treasurer reimburses the local 
governments for the lost revenue.  In April 
2009, the State Treasurer reimbursed local 
governments $85,549,362 for exemptions 
granted for tax year 2008. 
 
 
POSSESSORY INTERESTS 
In 2001 the Colorado Supreme Court ruled 
that certain possessory interests are subject 
to ad valorem taxation in Colorado.  A 
possessory interest is defined as a private 
property interest in government-owned 
property or the right to the occupancy and 
use of any benefit in government-owned 
property that has been granted under lease, 
permit, license, concession, contract or other 
agreement.  The use of the property must be 
in connection with a business conducted for 
profit. 
 
Taxable possessory interests may include but 
are not limited to: 
 
1. Private concessionaires utilizing 

government owned land, improvements, 
or personal property unless operating 
pursuant to a management contract. 

2. Government land and improvements used 
in the operation of a farm or ranch. 

3. Government land, improvements, and/or 
personal property used in the operation of 
ski or recreational areas. 

4. Land underlying privately owned cabins 
or other residential property located on 
government land that is rented 
commercially. 

5. Recreational use of lakes, reservoirs, and 
rivers in a revenue-generating capacity. 

6. Recreational use of land for outfitting 
purposes in a revenue-generating 
capacity. 

7. Land, improvements, and personal 
property at a tax-exempt airport. 

 
 




