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COLORADO PROPERTY TAX

OVERVIEW

The Colorado property tax system provides
revenue exclusively for local government
services. The largest share of property tax
revenue (51.0 percent) goes to support the
state's public schools. County governments
claim the next largest share (25.26 percent),
followed by special districts (17.36 percent),
municipal governments (5.26 percent), and
junior colleges (1.12 percent).

The authority for property taxation is both
constitutional and statutory. Article X of the
Colorado Constitution provides that all property
is taxable unless declared exempt by the
Constitution, and that the actual value of
taxable property shall be determined under the
general laws to secure just and equalized
valuations. The specific statutes pertaining to
property taxation are found in Title 39, Articles
1 through 14, Colorado Revised Statutes.

Under the general laws of Colorado, county
assessors are required to value all taxable
property within their territorial jurisdictions.
The State Board of Equalization (state board)
has supervision over the administration of all
laws concerning the valuation and assessment
of taxable property and the levying of property
taxes. The Division of Property Taxation
(Division), under direction of the Property Tax
Administrator (administrator), coordinates the
implementation of property tax law throughout
the sixty-four counties.

Revenue derived from 2006 property taxes
(payable 2007) will increase statewide for
every local government type. The combined
revenue increase from taxes payable in 2007
is 5.99 percent. Table 1 lists the percentage
increases in property tax revenue between
taxes payable in 2006 and taxes payable in
2007.

Table 1

Revenue Change by Entity Type for Tax
Years 2005-2006

Taxing Entity % Increase
School District K-12 .........c.ceceu.... + 3.95%
Junior Colleges.....cccccoeeeevveevnnnnnn. + 13.62%
COUNLIES cvveeeeeeeeeeeee e + 6.05%
Municipalities .........ccooevvieiennenn. + 557%
Special DIStrictS ..........vvevveeeeennnnes +_12.04%
Combined Increase .................. + 5.99%

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

The State Board of Equalization consists of the
Governor, the President of the Senate, the
Speaker of the House of Representatives, or
their designees, and two members appointed
by the Governor with consent of the Senate.
Each appointed member must be a qualified
appraiser, a former assessor, or a person who
has knowledge and experience in property
taxation. The state board members for 2006
were Lyle C. Kyle, Chairperson and appointee
of Governor Bill Owens; Heather Witwer, Vice-
Chair and designee of Governor Owens;
Michael  Schuster, designee of Joan
Fitz-Gerald, President of the Senate;
Representative Val Vigil, designee of Andrew
Romanoff, Speaker of the House of
Representatives; and Charles Brown,
appointee of Governor Owens.

Duties and Responsibilities

The state board supervises the administration
of property tax laws and the equalization of the
values of classes and subclasses of taxable
property. Duties of the state board are found
primarily in Article X, Sections 3 and 15 of the
Colorado Constitution and in Title 39, Articles 1
and 9, Colorado Revised Statutes.

Among its duties, the state board reviews the
findings and conclusions of the annual study
contractor and orders reappraisals in counties
found not in compliance. The annual study
was initiated by a 1982 amendment to the
Constitution to ensure that all assessors value
property at the same level of value, using
standardized procedures and statistical
measurements. The study is conducted by an
independent auditing firm contracted by the
Director of Research, Colorado Legislative
Council,

§ 39-1-104(16), C.R.S. The study and the
resulting orders of reappraisal are the primary
means of achieving statewide equalization.



The importance of the state board’s
equalization function is due in part to the
relationship that exists between assessed
values and state aid to schools. Generally, if
the property in a school district is under-
assessed, it is likely that the district will receive
more state revenue than it is entitted. When
the results of a reappraisal order indicate that
the affected school district(s) received too
much state revenue, the state board will order
the county (not the school district) to pay back
the excess funding. During the 1980s and
early 1990s this sometimes required the
repayment of substantial revenue to the state.
In more recent years, significant improvements
in the quality of county assessments have
resulted in far fewer reappraisal orders and far
smaller repayments of excess state aid to
schools.

The state board also reviews county Abstracts
of Assessment, decisions of county boards of
equalization (county board), and the policies
and recommendations of the Property Tax
Administrator.

STATE BOARD ENFORCEMENT

The following is a brief history of enforcement
actions by the state board.

2006 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 11, 2006, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual
study contractor for Legislative Council. Based
on these findings, the board issued no orders
of reappraisal. They did, however, review the
results of the reappraisal order given to Costilla
County in 2005 for all single-family residential
properties in the county.

Division staff provided approximately 360
hours of assistance on the Costilla County
reappraisal. The cost for salaries, per diem
expenses and mileage totaled $17,964.97.
There was an additional 81 hours of on-site
assistance provided as well.

The majority of time was spent working on the
CAMA database tables. Several adjustments
were made to the base valuation tables,
resulting in a 10.82 percent increase to the
2005 values from where the values had been
set the prior year.

Following a presentation of the reappraisal
results, the board determined that the

reappraisal was successfully completed, and it
ordered the county to make the following
paybacks and reimbursements.

State Aid

Supervision to Schools

County Reimbursement Payback
Costilla............. $17,964.97 $968.09

+ interest on state aid payback at six percent
annually

The board approved Costilla County’s request
to repay the excess state equalization
payments to schools by the end of 2007. In
addition, the state board approved a three
percent reduction in excess of the prime rate
for 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007.

The board also approved the county’s request
to employ the “Bledsoe Plan” for the
repayment of the supervision costs.

Since 1988, the state board has allowed
counties to choose the Bledsoe Plan as an
alternative method of repaying the costs
associated with the state’s supervision of the
reappraisal. The Bledsoe Plan authorizes
counties to increase the assessor’s budget by
the supervision reimbursement money for
expenditures that will enhance their operational
effectiveness.

The Costilla Board of County Commissioners
was granted permission to repay the
supervision costs via the Bledsoe Plan. The
purchase of software for statistical analysis,
along with the necessary training, staff
education, including travel expenses, a public
terminal; a laptop/tablet for field appraisal, and
Deed Plotter Plus software for Windows, along
with necessary training was approved by the
state board.

2005 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 11, 2005, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual
study contractor for Legislative Council. Based
on the findings, the state board issued a
reappraisal order for the residential property
class in Costilla County, it ordered Rio Grande
County to comply with a procedural
requirement to use a soil survey conducted by
the United States Natural Resource
Conservation Service (NRCS) when classifying
and valuing agricultural land, and it ordered
Jackson County to submit a plan for detailing
the methodologies and time frames the county




will use to physically inspect agricultural
outbuildings.

The board also reviewed the results of a
reappraisal order issued to Fremont County in
2004, and pursuant to the reappraisal, it
ordered the repayment of excess state aid to
schools at the interest rate to be reduced by
three percent during the repayment period.

The board also ordered the repayment of the
cost of supervising the reappraisal. The
county did so via the Bledsoe Plan which
allowed the county to apply the supervision
reimbursement money to the assessor’s
budget for 2006. The county requested the
funds be used to purchase desktop computers,
GPS-enabled computers, various types of
software and maps.

State Aid
Supervision to Schools

County Reimbursement Payback
Fremont ........... $54,751 $131,263

+ interest on state aid payback based on the rate
set by the Colorado Banking Commissioner,
reduced by three percent under the authority of the
state board.

Although there were no other reappraisal
orders given this year, both Rio Grande and
Jackson Counties received recommendations
from the state board.

Rio Grande County was asked to determine
the productive capabilities by implementing the
NRCS soil survey. This task was set for
completion in 2007 for 2008. Jackson County
received a recommendation to implement a
five-year cycle for physical inspections to
update inventories, as the county had no plan
in place for updating inventories.

2004 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 4, 2004, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual
study contractor for Legislative Council.

After considering all evidence and testimony,
the state board concluded that the Fremont
County commercial/industrial property classes
were out of compliance and issued an order of
reappraisal to the county.

2003 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 14, 2003, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of Rocky
Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., annual
study contractor for Legislative Council.

After considering all evidence and testimony,
the state board concluded that 2003 class
values for all 64 counties were in compliance
with Colorado assessment law, and no orders
were issued requiring the reappraisal of a class
or sub-class of property.

2002 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 7, 2002, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of Thos. Y.
Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study contractor for
Legislative Council.

After considering all evidence and testimony,
the state board concluded that 2002 class
values for all 64 counties were in compliance
with Colorado assessment law, and it issued
no orders requiring the reappraisal of a class
or sub-class of property.

However, the state board issued an order to
the Mesa County Board of Equalization
requiring that it rescind its decision to remove
the possessory interest valuations from two
properties. The order and related
correspondence with other counties are
discussed in more detail on page 11-31.

DIVISION OF PROPERTY TAXATION

Under the general laws of Colorado, the
Property Tax Administrator heads the Division
of Property Taxation. The administrator is
appointed by the State Board of Equalization to
serve a five-year term, and until a successor is
appointed and qualified.

A primary responsibility of the Division is to
administer the implementation of property tax
law throughout the 64 counties so that
valuations are fair, uniform, and defensible,
thereby ensuring that each property class
contributes only its fair share of the total
property tax revenue. In other words, the
Division's goal is equalization of valuation and
proper distribution of property taxes throughout
the state.



The Division is comprised of four sections:
Administrative Resources, Appraisal
Standards, Exempt Properties, and State
Assessed Properties.

Administrative Resources

Administrative  Resources prepares and
publishes administrative manuals, procedures
and instructions. It conducts schools and
seminars  regarding the  administrative
functions of the assessors’ offices. It conducts
field studies and provides statewide assistance
in title conveyance, mapping, abstracting
valuations, certification of values to taxing
entities, and feasibility studies. The section
also investigates taxpayer complaints. It is
responsible for various studies and reports
such as the residential assessment rate study
and the Property Tax Administrator's Annual
Report to the General Assembly and State
Board of Equalization. It also coordinates with
agencies having an interest in property
taxation. In addition, the field staff works
closely with assessors in all areas of property
taxation.

Appraisal Standards

Appraisal Standards prepares and publishes
appraisal manuals, procedures and
instructions. It holds schools and seminars
regarding all areas of appraisal. It conducts
field studies and provides statewide assistance
in agricultural land classification, natural
resources and personal property valuation, as
well as assistance in the valuation of
residential, commercial and industrial
properties. The section assists in reappraisal
efforts, reviews internal appraisal forms used
by assessors, and investigates and responds
to taxpayer complaints.

Exempt Properties

The Exemptions section is responsible for
determining qualification for exemption from
property taxation for properties that are owned
and used for religious, charitable and private
school purposes. Exempt property owners are
required to file annual reports with the Division
to continue exemption. The section provides
assistance to counties and taxpayers with
inquiries about exempt properties, conducts
hearings on denied exemption applications and
revocations of exemption, and defends
appeals of such denials and revocations.

State Assessed Properties

State Assessed values all public utilities, rail
transportation companies, and airlines doing
business in Colorado. The company
valuations are then apportioned to the counties
for collection of local property tax. The section
conducts research projects in connection with
state assessed companies, assists counties
and taxpayers with inquiries on the
assessment of public utilities, rail
transportation companies, and airlines hears
protests of the assigned values, and defends
appeals of such valuations.

2006 VALUE INFORMATION

Statewide Assessed Values for 2006

The 2006 tax year was an ‘“intervening,” or
non-reappraisal year, meaning the actual
values of most properties were the same as
those established for the 2005 tax year. The
values generally reflect market values as of
June 30, 2004, although certain classes and
sub-classes of property are valued every year.
The property valued every year includes all
property classified as state assessed;
leasehold interests classified as oil and gas,
natural resource, and producing mines; and all
subclasses of personal property. Table 2
displays the percentage changes in value of
each property class for 2006.

Table 2
Value Changes by Class

2005-2006 Percentage

Class Change of Total
Vacant Land - 3.1% 6.09%
Residential + 3.7% 46.08%
Commercial + 2.3% 27.01%
Industrial + 1.3% 3.77%
Agricultural + 0.7% 1.10%
Natural Resources +11.1% 0.46%
Producing Mines + 70.5% 0.23%
Oil and Gas + 45.0% 9.83%
State Assessed - 1.3% 5.43%
Net Total + 5.6% 100.0%

Typically, the most significant changes to the
values during an intervening year are the result
of new construction. For 2006, the 3.7 percent
increase to the residential class and the 2.3
percent increase to the commercial class are
predominantly new construction related. In
addition, much of the 3.1 percent reduction to
the vacant land class was caused by the



reclassification of land wunderlying newly
constructed properties.

The State Assessed class is comprised of
property owned by public utilities, airlines and
railroads. Property classified as state
assessed is valued annually by the Division of
Property Taxation wusing unitary valuation
procedures. The portion of that value
attributable to Colorado is then distributed to
county assessors according to the location of
the companies’ operating property and/or its
business activity throughout the state. The 1.3
percent decrease in state assessed value was
due primarily to write down of assets under
purchase price accounting rules in the
telecommunications industry. Other state
assessed industries generally remained the
same or increased slightly in 2006.

The value established for agricultural land is
based on the earning or productive capacity of
the land regardless of the property’s market
value or its highest and best use. As a result,
the actual values of agricultural property are
often much lower than their market values, and
they tend to be stable from year to year.

Since 2000, Colorado has experienced a 393
percent increase in the total assessed value of
the oil and gas class. Among the classes of
taxable property, oil and gas now contains the
third highest total assessed value, up from
sixth highest in 2000. A recent history of the
assessed value for the class is shown in
Table 3.

Table 3
Oil and Gas Class

(Billions) % of

Year Value Total Change
2000 $1.49 3.05% + 7.8%
2001 $2.65 4.51% +78.5%
2002 $2.80 4.62% + 5.6%
2003 $2.20 3.55% -21.4%
2004 $3.91 6.04% +77.6%
2005 $5.06 7.16% +29.4%
2006 $7.33 9.83% 45.0%

OIL AND GAS

$8,000
$6,000
£ $4,000
$2,000 |

Mil

For 2006, the most significant change to the
state’s total assessed value in dollars was the
increase in the oil and gas class with an
increase of $2,274,074,806 from 2005 to 2006.
In 2006, oil and gas property comprised 9.83
percent of the total taxable value, up from 7.2
percent of the total in 2005. Approximately,
$2.27 billion of the $3.92 billion net increase to
Colorado’s total assessed value is attributable
to the increase of the oil and gas class.

The value of oil and gas leasehold interests is
calculated as a percentage of the sale price
obtained for the product at the wellhead. This
makes oil and gas among the most volatile of
classes because the market prices of natural
gas and crude oil can change considerably
from year to year. When the prices rise or fall,
the production volumes of the commodities
tend to increase or decrease in harmony with
the changes in price, magnifying the effect of
price changes on the assessed value of the
property class.

The value of land in the other production
classes, natural resources and producing
mines, is also calculated as a percentage of
the money obtained from selling the product.
Unlike oil and gas, the value of natural
resource property is relatively stable from year
to year as the price of sand and gravel
products, and their production amounts for
example, do not fluctuate greatly.

Producing mines values are subject to a high
level of volatility, but the class comprises only
0.23 percent of the state’s total value. The
value of the entire class of property is located
in twelve counties which include Boulder, Clear
Creek, Eagle, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand,
Gunnison, Hinsdale, Lake, Montrose, Park and
Teller. Of the twelve counties, 98.17 percent



of the value in the producing mines property
classification is located in Clear Creek, Teller,
Grand and Lake Counties.

Specifically, 51.25 percent of the value in the
producing mines property class is located in
Clear Creek County with 25.99 percent of the
value in Teller. Grand and Lake Counties
follow with 16.11 percent and 4.82 percent, of
the total assessed value for this class
respectively.

The primary mineral produced in Clear Creek
and Grand Counties is molybdenum. At the
Henderson mine west of Empire, Colorado,
Climax Molybdenum has produced more than
770 million pounds since the mine opened in
1976.

Molybdenum maintained a price at or near $10
per metric ton from 1997 through 2002, and
reached a high of $103 per metric ton in June
of 2005. According to the USGS, the average
price of molybdenum for 2005 was $72.07 per
metric ton.

Teller County is the location of most of
Colorado’s gold production. According to the
USGS, the average price per ounce in 2005
was $440.

Regional and Local Values in 2006

The 5.6 percent increase in property value, as
shown in Table 2, did not occur uniformly
across Colorado. At the county level, the
changes in assessed value ranged from an
increase of 44.29 percent in Garfield County to
a decrease of 4.82 percent in Huerfano
County. Six of Colorado’'s 64 counties
experienced a decline in total assessed value,
and five others witnessed an increase of less
than one percent.

In 2006, the counties with the greatest
percentage increases to their total assessed
value were generally those with substantial oil
and gas property.

Although oil and gas property comprises only
9.83 percent of the state’s total assessed
value, 95.79 percent of that value is
concentrated in ten counties. Three of those
counties, Las Animas, Rio Blanco, and
Cheyenne have over 70 percent of their
taxable value classified as oil and gas. This is
significant  because the  Constitutional
Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR) prohibits a
mill levy increase without voter approval. The
restriction can subject the tax base of certain

local governments to the volatility inherent to
the oil and gas classification. Table 4 lists the
top ten oil and gas producing counties for
2006, along with their increases in total value.

Table 4
Counties with Highest Oil and Gas
Value

County % Change % in O&G
1) LaPlata + 31.24% 66.01%
2) Garfield + 20.74% 68.24%
3) Weld +41.22% 41.46%
4) Las Animas + 15.58% 77.18%
5) Rio Blanco + 27.69% 75.05%
6) Yuma + 14.33% 54.36%
7) Montezuma + 15.70% 39.48%
8) Moffat + 8.55% 28.71%
9) San Miguel + 12.35% 13.93%
10) Cheyenne + 28.92% 72.01%

Table 5 lists the value changes for each county
for 2006.

Personal Property in 2006

Colorado is one of 39 states that impose a tax
on business personal property (Fair &
Equitable, P. 6, 05/04). In 2006, personal
property accounted for 11.75 percent of
Colorado’'s property tax base, but that
percentage varied substantially from county to
county. Although most personal property is
assessed locally, 42.29 percent of personal
property is classified as state assessed. In
2006, 91.56 percent of the state assessed
property value was personal. All taxable
personal property is assessed at 29 percent of
its actual value.

Under the Colorado Constitution and statutes,
certain categories of business personal
property are exempt from taxation, including
equipment used for agricultural purposes,
business inventory, materials and supplies
held for consumption, and personal property
under common ownership with a total actual
value of no more than $2,500 per county. In
addition, a provision found in the constitution,
allows any taxing entity to “enact cumulative
uniform exemptions and credits to reduce or
end business personal property taxes,” 8
20(8)(b), art. X, COLO. CONST.

Table 6 lists the state assessed, locally
assessed, and total taxable personal property
by county, and the percentage of value
comprised of personal property.


http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Henderson_mine&action=edit
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Empire%2C_Colorado

COUNTY

Adams
Alamosa
Arapahoe
Archuleta
Baca

Bent
Boulder
Broomfield
Chaffee
Cheyenne
Clear Creek
Conejos
Costilla
Crowley
Custer
Delta
Denver
Dolores
Douglas
Eagle

El Paso
Elbert
Fremont
Garfield
Gilpin
Grand
Gunnison
Hinsdale
Huerfano
Jackson
Jefferson
Kiowa

Kit Carson
La Plata
Lake
Larimer
Las Animas
Lincoln
Logan
Mesa
Mineral
Moffat
Montezuma
Montrose
Morgan
Otero
Ouray
Park
Phillips
Pitkin
Prowers
Pueblo

Rio Blanco
Rio Grande
Routt
Saguache
San Juan
San Miguel
Sedgwick
Summit
Teller
Washington
Weld
Yuma

Total

i

Non-Residential

2,156,972,370
79,157,790
3,127,075,850
143,158,301
61,141,204
45,857,956
2,279,556,900
570,306,960
161,881,200
135,666,617
157,858,620
24,121,853
65,370,588
27,511,462
38,143,010
135,486,460
5,118,383,100
33,959,352
1,680,328,330
879,257,260
2,672,686,540
85,611,130
216,305,091
2,195,904,810
262,075,310
312,714,150
303,951,600
25,893,780
65,888,920
21,199,100
2,715,442,170
31,563,760
81,071,043
2,566,894,960
47,396,874
1,589,659,136
606,132,100
58,271,035
136,619,310
683,068,750
13,002,510
375,093,540
276,030,550
252,780,280
285,956,500
70,758,920
83,816,390
173,378,333
34,487,240
659,035,590
101,245,060
545,646,360
553,811,890
89,090,420
422,155,740
36,118,741
30,725,910
440,173,010
27,422,960
499,297,661
228,521,560
101,689,051
3,055,145,060

Table 5

CHANGE IN TAXABLE VALUES

2006 ASSESSED VALUES

Residential Total
2,090,024,670|  4,246,997,040
36,344,730 115,502,520
3,793,975,220 6,921,051,070
104,152,898 247,311,199
5,687,299 66,828,503
7,668,929 53,526,885
2,751,583,576 5,031,140,476
351,866,104 922,173,064
133,440,710 295,321,910
3,304,477 138,971,094
91,953,600 249,812,220
21,033,614 45,155,467
7,560,097 72,930,685
5,553,760 33,065,222
39,425,340 77,568,350
114,770,960 250,257,420
3,930,201,030 9,048,584,130
7,514,545 41,473,897
2,390,842,970 4,071,171,300
1,405,984,100 2,285,241,360
3,025,409,240 5,698,095,780
169,680,590 255,291,720
157,157,551 373,462,642
361,578,510 2,557,483,320
52,884,610 314,959,920
298,129,900 610,844,050
205,906,440 509,858,040
16,918,350 42,812,130
29,339,686 95,228,606
8,267,330 29,466,430
3,995,315,490 6,710,757,660
1,825,690 33,389,450
19,175,487 100,246,530
436,296,680 3,003,191,640
37,466,827 84,863,701
1,998,483,390 3,588,142,526
46,354,650 652,486,750
10,931,569 69,202,604
53,706,850 190,326,160
645,904,400 1,328,973,150
11,702,660 24,705,170
41,636,970 416,730,510
92,941,100 368,971,650
178,371,580 431,151,860
81,405,730 367,362,230
40,571,915 111,330,835
60,899,290 144,715,680
184,205,770 357,584,103
12,496,680 46,983,920
1,275,051,130 1,934,086,720
23,150,380 124,395,440
540,571,040 1,086,217,400
23,931,720 577,743,610
49,686,450 138,776,870
390,834,840 812,990,580
13,894,569 50,013,310
9,890,950 40,616,860
340,635,740 780,808,750
4,831,720 32,254,680
775,173,872 1,274,471,533
167,527,250 396,048,810
10,100,442 111,789,493
1,133,000,390 4,188,145,450
24,074,760 268,387,290

244,312,530
40,199,240,558

34,350,208,817; 74,549,449,375

i

Non-Residential

2,112,703,540
77,969,900
3,098,587,790
137,390,346
56,796,281
45,487,821
2,275,690,470
566,662,520
159,671,420
115,586,315
113,479,840
24,413,670
64,395,624
26,848,392
37,664,830
121,108,440
5,078,899,210
27,213,275
1,634,836,710
854,409,590
2,647,389,350
82,545,870
214,748,695
1,432,117,620
249,397,580
293,061,230
292,343,640
24,685,750
71,572,376
21,274,018
2,724,635,230
28,712,150
80,266,161
2,078,963,240
48,342,209
1,546,179,902
436,264,330
55,542,110
119,831,540
640,416,810
12,683,810
350,188,080
214,331,270
231,246,580
296,329,250
69,019,467
83,060,130
176,400,974
31,368,940
658,110,690
104,106,360
532,952,480
410,581,080
87,861,810
420,977,710
36,447,929
31,126,420
418,899,400
26,476,190
535,648,368
226,250,150
91,109,748
2,561,541,090

2005 ASSESSED VALUES

Residential Total
2,005,601,680 4,118,305,220!
35,231,910 113,201,810
3,694,072,400|  6,792,660,190
98,480,117 235,870,463
5,598,642 62,394,923
7,553,121 53,040,942
2,698,184,160 4,973,874,630
330,235,820 896,898,340
129,796,220 289,467,640
3,303,665 118,889,980
90,679,980 204,159,820
20,328,090 44,741,760
6,756,321 71,151,945
5,551,265 32,399,657
37,351,060 75,015,890
110,605,380 231,713,820
3,840,437,420 8,919,336,630
7,064,218 34,277,493
2,238,651,880 3,873,488,590
1,350,698,090 2,205,107,680
2,882,040,080 5,529,429,430
161,104,750 243,650,620
151,213,967 365,962,662
340,387,010 1,772,504,630
51,769,660 301,167,240
279,210,330 572,271,560
196,290,790 488,634,430
15,999,740 40,685,490
28,479,594 100,051,970
8,042,420 29,316,438
3,940,744,430 6,665,379,660
1,821,350 30,533,500
18,938,198 99,204,359
408,548,180 2,487,511,420
36,584,178 84,926,387
1,914,831,240 3,461,011,142
45,325,150 481,589,480
10,709,322 66,251,432
53,078,810 172,910,350
618,901,530 1,259,318,340
11,247,360 23,931,170
40,107,200 390,295,280
86,363,130 300,694,400
166,464,760 397,711,340
78,980,970 375,310,220
40,186,100 109,205,567
57,064,910 140,125,040
177,053,280 353,454,254
12,326,630 43,695,570
1,230,529,310 1,888,640,000
22,996,060 127,102,420
517,531,560 1,050,484,040
23,307,270 433,888,350
47,107,850 134,969,660
369,801,360 790,779,070
13,120,608 49,568,537
9,507,310 40,633,730
324,624,810 743,524,210
4,795,220 31,271,410
750,537,041 1,286,185,409
161,499,690 387,749,840
9,842,131 100,951,879
1,051,660,420 3,613,201,510
23,744,240 213,923,030

190,178,790
37,515,002,511

33,110,601,388: 70,625,603,899

INCREASE OR DECREASE

Non-Res Residential

2.10% 4.21%
1.52% 3.16%
0.92% 2.70%
4.20% 5.76%
7.65% 1.58%
0.81% 1.53%
0.17% 1.98%
0.64% 6.55%
1.38% 2.81%
17.37% 0.02%
39.11% 1.40%
-1.20% 3.47%
1.51% 11.90%
2.47% 0.04%
1.27% 5.55%
11.87% 3.77%
0.78% 2.34%
24.79% 6.37%
2.78% 6.80%
2.91% 4.09%
0.96% 4.97%
3.71% 5.32%
0.72% 3.93%
53.33% 6.23%
5.08% 2.15%
6.71% 6.78%
3.97% 4.90%
4.89% 5.74%
-7.94% 3.02%
-0.35% 2.80%
-0.34% 1.38%
9.93% 0.24%
1.00% 1.25%
23.47% 6.79%
-1.96% 2.41%
2.81% 4.37%
38.94% 2.27%
4.91% 2.08%
14.01% 1.18%
6.66% 4.36%
2.51% 4.05%
7.11% 3.81%
28.79% 7.62%
9.31% 7.15%
-3.50% 3.07%
2.52% 0.96%
0.91% 6.72%
-1.71% 4.04%
9.94% 1.38%
0.14% 3.62%
-2.75% 0.67%
2.38% 4.45%
34.88% 2.68%
1.40% 5.47%
0.28% 5.69%
-0.90% 5.90%
-1.29% 4.04%
5.08% 4.93%
3.58% 0.76%
-6.79% 3.28%
1.00% 3.73%
11.61% 2.62%
19.27% 7.73%
28.46% 1.39%
7.16%  3.74%

Total
3.12%
2.03%
1.89%
4.85%
7.11%
0.92%
1.15%
2.82%
2.02%

16.89%
22.36%
0.92%
2.50%
2.05%
3.40%
8.00%
1.45%
20.99%
5.10%
3.63%
3.05%
4.78%
2.05%
44.29%)
458%
6.74%
4.34%
5.23%
-4.82%
0.51%
0.68%
9.35%
1.05%
20.73%
0.07%
3.67%
35.49%)
4.45%|
10.07%
5.53%
3.23%
6.77%
22.71%)
8.41%
2.12%
1.95%
3.28%
1.17%
7.53%
2.41%
2.13%
3.40%
33.15%)
2.82%
2.81%
0.90%
-0.04%
5.01%
3.14%
-0.91%
2.14%
10.74%
15.91%
25.46%)

5.56%




Table 6

DISTRIBUTION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY IN 2006

State Assd. % of Locally Assd. % of Total % of Total Total Assd.
County Personal Total Personal Total Personal Total Real Value

Adams 276,340,090 6.51% 367,584,350 8.66% 643,924,440 15.16% 3,603,072,600 4,246,997,040
Alamosa 9,459,630 8.19% 6,498,560 5.63% 15,958,190 13.82% 99,544,330 115,502,520
Arapahoe 247,328,430 3.57% 431,309,940 6.23% 678,638,370 9.81% 6,242,412,700 6,921,051,070
Archuleta 9,323,022 3.77% 7,284,337  2.95% 16,607,359  6.72% 230,703,840 247,311,199
Baca 25,281,125 37.83% 2,195,316  3.28% 27,476,441 41.11% 39,352,062 66,828,503
Bent 11,064,158 20.67% 982,399 1.84% 12,046,557 22.51% 41,480,328 53,526,885
Boulder 123,216,220  2.45% 367,678,610 7.31% 490,894,830  9.76% 4,540,245,646 5,031,140,476
Broomfield 34,377,166  3.73% 100,605,040 10.91% 134,982,206 14.64% 787,190,858 922,173,064
Chaffee 11,856,270  4.01% 8,208,790 2.78% 20,065,060 6.79% 275,256,850 295,321,910
Cheyenne 10,933,214 7.87% 12,582,821  9.05% 23,516,035 16.92% 115,455,059 138,971,094
Clear Creek 10,418,140 4.17% 16,551,370  6.63% 26,969,510 10.80% 222,842,710 249,812,220
Conejos 3,509,196 7.77% 950,919 2.11% 4,460,115 9.88% 40,695,352 45,155,467
Costilla 4,079,978 5.59% 752,613  1.03% 4,832,591 6.63% 68,098,094 72,930,685
Crowley 3,628,750 10.97% 560,762 1.70% 4,189,512 12.67% 28,875,710 33,065,222
Custer 3,497,950 4.51% 563,760 0.73% 4,061,710 5.24% 73,506,640 77,568,350
Delta 20,985,980 8.39% 24,195,700 9.67% 45,181,680 18.05% 205,075,740 250,257,420
Denver 729,953,440 8.07% 730,562,900 8.07% 1,460,516,340 16.14% 7,588,067,790 9,048,584,130
Dolores 9,875,847 23.81% 895,448 2.16% 10,771,295 25.97% 30,702,602 41,473,897
Douglas 108,381,789  2.66% 209,040,520 5.13% 317,422,309  7.80% 3,753,748,991 4,071,171,300
Eagle 46,117,390 2.02% 80,294,020 3.51% 126,411,410 5.53% 2,158,829,950 2,285,241,360
El Paso 234,159,990 4.11% 442,035,930 7.76% 676,195,920 11.87% 5,021,899,860 5,698,095,780
Elbert 15,075,836 5.91% 3,358,790 1.32% 18,434,626  7.22% 236,857,094 255,291,720
Fremont 20,283,530 5.43% 72,431,070 19.39% 92,714,600 24.83% 280,748,042 373,462,642
Garfield 47,272,578 1.85% 199,809,520 7.81% 247,082,098 9.66% 2,310,401,222 2,557,483,320
Gilpin 4,180,150 1.33% 27,807,200 8.83% 31,987,350 10.16% 282,972,570 314,959,920
Grand 23,657,930 3.87% 16,274,530 2.66% 39,932,460 6.54% 570,911,590 610,844,050
Gunnison 8,838,420 1.73% 34,893,100 6.84% 43,731,520 8.58% 466,126,520 509,858,040
Hinsdale 665,820 1.56% 391,180 0.91% 1,057,000 2.47% 41,755,130 42,812,130
Huerfano 13,995,257 14.70% 5,207,760 5.47% 19,203,017 20.17% 76,025,589 95,228,606
Jackson 1,951,157 6.62% 1,084,910 3.68% 3,036,067 10.30% 26,430,363 29,466,430
Jefferson 216,998,280 3.23% 401,942,740  5.99% 618,941,020 9.22% 6,091,816,640 6,710,757,660
Kiowa 3,813,400 11.42% 799,570  2.39% 4,612,970 13.82% 28,776,480 33,389,450
Kit Carson 16,005,806 15.97% 4,219,714 4.21% 20,225,520 20.18% 80,021,010 100,246,530
La Plata 55,356,705  1.84% 206,244,270  6.87% 261,600,975 8.71% 2,741,590,665 3,003,191,640
Lake 8,083,301 9.53% 4,180,301 4.93% 12,263,602 14.45% 72,600,099 84,863,701
Larimer 75,062,160  2.09% 284,337,444  7.92% 359,399,604 10.02% 3,228,742,922 3,588,142,526
Las Animas 43,893,270 6.73% 91,141,460 13.97% 135,034,730 20.70% 517,452,020 652,486,750
Lincoln 18,687,937 27.00% 2,024,946  2.93% 20,712,883 29.93% 48,489,721 69,202,604
Logan 37,501,700 19.70% 18,675,460 9.81% 56,177,160 29.52% 134,149,000 190,326,160
Mesa 81,613,560 6.14% 87,258,180 6.57% 168,871,740 12.71% 1,160,101,410 1,328,973,150
Mineral 891,740 3.61% 1,152,600 4.67% 2,044,340 8.27% 22,660,830 24,705,170
Moffat 125,065,360 30.01% 26,294,680 6.31% 151,360,040 36.32% 265,370,470 416,730,510
Montezuma 32,021,210 8.68% 18,295,640  4.96% 50,316,850 13.64% 318,654,800 368,971,650
Montrose 43,976,130 10.20% 21,743,360 5.04% 65,719,490 15.24% 365,432,370 431,151,860
Morgan 118,711,990 32.31% 41,411,270 11.27% 160,123,260 43.59% 207,238,970 367,362,230
Otero 18,921,859 17.00% 7,316,185 6.57% 26,238,044 23.57% 85,092,791 111,330,835
Ouray 4,896,380 3.38% 2,706,410 1.87% 7,602,790 5.25% 137,112,890 144,715,680
Park 10,382,987  2.90% 2,124,527 0.59% 12,507,514 3.50% 345,076,589 357,584,103
Phillips 2,422,470 5.16% 2,555,130  5.44% 4,977,600 10.59% 42,006,320 46,983,920
Pitkin 14,931,994 0.77% 42,916,660 2.22% 57,848,654 2.99% 1,876,238,066 1,934,086,720
Prowers 41,039,400 32.99% 5,966,840 4.80% 47,006,240 37.79% 77,389,200 124,395,440
Pueblo 107,341,810 9.88% 103,055,010  9.49% 210,396,820 19.37% 875,820,580 1,086,217,400
Rio Blanco 30,813,350 5.33% 67,292,400 11.65% 98,105,750 16.98% 479,637,860 577,743,610
Rio Grande 7,569,380 5.45% 6,189,630 4.46% 13,759,010 9.91% 125,017,860 138,776,870
Routt 71,486,060 8.79% 34,742,030  4.27% 106,228,090 13.07% 706,762,490 812,990,580
Saguache 4,932,751 9.86% 810,240 1.62% 5,742,991 11.48% 44,270,319 50,013,310
San Juan 1,508,219 3.71% 765,930 1.89% 2,274,149  5.60% 38,342,711 40,616,860
San Miguel 10,855,240  1.39% 13,756,640 1.76% 24,611,880 3.15% 756,196,870 780,808,750
Sedgwick 9,708,650 30.10% 1,130,650 3.51% 10,839,300 33.61% 21,415,380 32,254,680
Summit 24,629,514 1.93% 54,246,430 4.26% 78,875,944  6.19% 1,195,595,589 1,274,471,533
Teller 12,002,766  3.03% 41,501,670 10.48% 53,504,436 13.51% 342,544,374 396,048,810
Washington 18,037,795 16.14% 2,949,933  2.64% 20,987,728 18.77% 90,801,765 111,789,493
Weld 345,481,310 8.25% 268,399,120 6.41% 613,880,430 14.66% 3,574,265,020 4,188,145,450
Yuma 21,020,890 7.83% 14,976,330 5.58% 35,997,220 13.41% 232,390,070 268,387,290
TOTALS 3,705,373,827 4.97% 5,055,715,565 6.78% 8.761,089,392 11.75% 65,788,359,983 74,549,449,375




RESIDENTIAL ASSESSMENT RATE

In 1982, the electorate passed Constitutional
Amendment One. A portion of the amendment
dealt with the residential assessment rate, and
that portion is referred to as the “Gallagher
Amendment.”

The purpose of the Gallagher Amendment is to
stabilize residential real property’s share of the
statewide property tax base. From 1958 to
1982, the percentage of total assessed value
comprised of residential property increased
from 29 to 44 percent. This occurred primarily
because market value increases to residential
property greatly outpaced market value
increases to non-residential property.

To counter this trend, the Gallagher
Amendment requires a biennial adjustment of
the residential assessment rate to ensure that
the rate of change to the state’s total assessed
value be the same for both residential and non-
residential property, after excluding certain
categories of value. The excluded categories
are new construction, destroyed property, and
changes in production volumes of natural
resources property. The current residential
assessment rate is 7.96 percent of assessed
value. In contrast, the assessment rate for
most classes of non-residential property is
fixed at 29 percent. A history of changes to the
residential assessment rate is shown in Table
7.

Table 7

Years Residential Assessment Rate
Prior to 1983 30%
1983-1986 21%
1987 18%
1988 16%
1989-1990 15%
1991-1992 14.34%
1993-1994 12.86%
1995-1996 10.36%
1997-1998 . 9.74%
1999-2000 ..9.74%
2001-2002 ..9.15%
2003-2004. 7.96%
2005-2006 7.96%

Adjustment of the residential assessment rate
is governed by § 3(1)(b) of Article X of the
Colorado Constitution and 8§ 39-1-104.2(5),
C.R.S. During years of change in the level of
value (odd numbered years), the legislature is
required to enact into law the residential
assessment rate estimated to achieve the
same percentage split between residential and
non-residential property that existed in the prior

year, except for the excluded categories. The
residential portion of the split, or “target
percentage,” is also enacted into law. The
target percentage itself is adjusted to account
for the excluded items. The current residential
target percentage is 47.22 percent.

Section 39-1-104.2(5)(c), C.R.S., requires the
Property Tax Administrator to complete a
documented study, calculating the target
percentage and estimating the residential
assessment rate needed to achieve it. The
findings are used by the legislature for
enacting the new target percentage and
residential assessment rate.

2005 Residential Rate Calculation

Three major calculations are required to
determine the residential assessment rate.
(NOTE: The following example portrays the
calculation of the rate for tax years 2005 and
2006.):

1) Calculate the 2005 Target Percentage -
The 2003 target percentage was adjusted
to account for new construction, destroyed
property and changes to the volumes of
natural resources production. To do so, a
hypothetical total assessed value of
residential property in 2003 was calculated
that, if achieved, would have resulted in
residential property comprising exactly
47.08 percent (rounded) of the total taxable
assessed value. The value of 2003 and
2004 residential net new construction was
then added to that figure. The value of
2003 and 2004 non-residential net new
construction and the values associated with
changes in production volumes of the
natural resources classes were added to
the total assessed value of 2003 non-
residential property. The new target
percentage of 47.22 percent represents the
residential portion of the total adjusted
value.

2) Estimate 2005 values — Because the
residential assessment rate study is
completed prior to the establishment of
new actual and assessed values, the most
sensitive step involves an estimation of
what those values will be. In
November/December 2004, employees of
the Administrative Resources Section
interviewed the assessor and appropriate
staff in every county to obtain their
estimates of value changes. In addition, a
linier regression technique known as time
trending was used to develop estimates



from county sales data. For the oil and gas
class, a statewide estimate was developed
using data obtained from the Colorado Oil
and Gas Conservation Commission. For
state assessed property, appraisers in the
State Assessed Section estimated value
changes for the industries they value,
resulting in an overall estimate for the state
assessed class. The value estimates in
this step do not include 2005 new
construction.

3) Calculate the new rate — The 2005 study
calculated a new residential assessment
rate of 8.17 percent. That figure, when
multiplied by the estimated actual value of
residential property, results in an assessed
value estimate that is 47.22 percent
(rounded) of the estimated 2005 total
taxable value. In other words, it is the rate
estimated to achieve the 2005 target
percentage.

Although the study indicated that the
residential assessment rate should be adjusted
upward to 8.17 percent, Section 20(4) of Article
X of the Colorado Constitution, prohibits an
increase of the rate without statewide voter
approval. Therefore, the legislature
maintained the residential assessment rate at
7.96 percent for tax years 2005 and 2006.

Shift of Assessed Values & Tax Burden

Table 8, on the following page, calculates the
savings to residential taxpayers from the
inception of the Gallagher Amendment through
2006. It does so by comparing the taxes paid
by residential property owners to an estimate
of the taxes they would have paid had the
Gallagher Amendment not been enacted. The
estimated savings to residential property
owners is $11,460,888,655.

The table begins with 1987, because the
residential assessment rate remained at 21
percent until 1987. The contents of each row
in the table are described below.

Row 1. Hypothetical residential
assessment rate of 21 percent.

Row 2. Actual residential assessment
rate for each particular year.

Row 3. Actual average mill levy.

Row 4. Hypothetical average mill levy,

had the residential rate been 21
percent every year. This is

calculated by dividing the total
actual revenue received in
each year (Row 9), by the total
assessed value, had the
residential rate been 21 percent

(Row 8).

Row 5. Actual total residential assessed
value.

Row 6. Actual total statewide assessed

value as certified by county
commissioners when mill levies
were certified.

Row 7. Total hypothetical residential
assessed value, had the
residential rate remained at 21
percent.

Row 8. Hypothetical total assessed
value, had the residential
assessment rate remained at 21
percent.

Row 9. Total actual statewide property
tax revenue.

Row 10. Total hypothetical tax revenue
attributable to residential
property, had the residential rate
remained at 21 percent. This is
calculated by multiplying the
hypothetical mill levy at 21
percent (Row 4) by the
hypothetical residential assessed
value at 21 percent (Row 7).

Total actual property tax
revenue.

Row 11.

Row 12.  Savings to residential taxpayers,
Row 10 minus

Row 11.

Table 9, illustrates the effect of Gallagher on
the statewide assessed value of residential
property since 1983. As the table shows, the
percentage of actual value attributable to
residential property has increased dramatically
during the last 21 years, from 53.20 percent in
1983 to 77.79 percent today. At the same
time, the percentage of assessed value
comprising residential property remained
essentially stable, with only slight changes
over time resulting from new construction and
increased minerals production.



10.

11

12.

Res. Rate w/o Gallagher

Actual Res. Rate

Avg. Actual Mill Levy

Avg. Mill Levy @ 21%

Total True Res. Assd. Val.

Total True Assd. Val.

Total Res. Assd. Val. @ 21%

Total Assd. Val. @ 21%

Total True Revenue

Res. Revenue @ 21%

Res. Rev. @ True Rate

Savings to Res. Taxpayers

1987

21.00%

18.00%

0.061631

0.057041

$16,082,851,000

$33,305,709,386

$18,763,326,167

$35,986,184,553

$2,052,676,764

$1,070,273,054

$991,208,269

$79,064,785

Table 8

Shift of Property Tax Burden Due to the Gallagher Amendment

1988 1989 1990
21.00% 21.00% 21.00%
16.00% 15.00% 15.00%

0.068941 0.076599 0.077543
0.060260 0.064812 0.065465

$14,565,525,000 $13,246,081,000 $13,393,681,000

$31,594,514,873 $29,132,506,180 $29,039,235,830

$19,117,251,563 $18,544,513,400 $18,751,153,400

$36,146,241,436 $34,430,938,580 $34,396,708,230

$2,178,165,007 $2,231,532,285 $2,251,797,175
$1,152,001,612 $1,201,903,929 $1,227,553,345
$1,004,165,343 $1,014,641,762 $1,038,589,762

$147,836,269 $187,262,167 $188,963,583

1991

21.00%

14.34%

0.082883

0.068395

$12,886,606,000

$28,254,712,020

$18,871,598,745

$34,239,704,765

$2,341,834,706

$1,290,728,562

$1,068,080,296

$222,648,266

1992

21.00%

14.34%

0.084618

0.069563

$13,256,627,000

$28,447,544,980

$19,413,470,502

$34,604,388,482

$2,407,175,164

$1,350,453,688

$1,121,749,638

$228,704,050

1993

21.00%

12.86%

0.084215

0.065064

$13,373,489,410

$28,758,329,600

$21,838,513,033

$37,223,353,223

$2,421,892,140

$1,420,896,252

$1,126,252,788

$294,643,464

1994

21.00%

12.86%

0.084423

0.065084

$13,970,427,000

$29,761,160,460

$22,813,294,479

$38,604,027,939

$2,512,514,138

$1,484,786,121

$1,179,419,579

$305,366,542

1995

21.00%

10.36%

0.082287

0.055600

$15,155,126,840

$32,428,020,970

$30,719,851,703

$47,992,745,833

$2,668,403,530

$1,708,028,147

$1,247,069,440

$460,958,707

1996

21.00%

10.36%

0.082951

0.055931

$15,788,272,000

$33,563,472,960

$32,003,254,054

$49,778,455,014

$2,784,139,391

$1,789,961,545

$1,309,660,357

$480,301,188




10.

11

12.

Res. Rate w/o Gallagher

Actual Res. Rate

Avg. Actual Mill Levy

Avg. Mill Levy @ 21%

Total True Res. Assd. Val.

Total True Assd. Val.

Total Res. Assd. Val. @ 21%

Total Assd. Val. @ 21%

Total True Revenue

Res. Revenue @ 21%

Res. Rev. @ True Rate

Savings to Res. Taxpayers

1997

21.00%

9.74%

0.078773

0.051464

$17,673,602,010

$38,502,250,770

$38,105,302,075

$58,933,950,835

$3,032,955,892

$1,961,037,718

$1,392,210,956

$568,826,762

Shift of Property Tax Burden Due to the Gallagher Amendment

1998

21.00%

9.74%

0.080042

0.052162

$18,452,519,220

$39,910,771,429

$39,784,692,363

$61,242,944,572

$3,194,557,668

$2,075,251,197

$1,476,985,652

$598,265,545

1999

21.00%

9.74%

0.074927

0.048756

$21,633,354,370

$46,590,805,330

$46,642,755,829

$71,600,206,789

$3,490,910,908

$2,274,095,459

$1,620,923,103

$653,172,356

2000
21.00%
9.74%
0.075733
0.049182
$22,729,547,584
$48,673,508,510
$49,006,211,423
$74,950,172,349
$3,686,192,349
$2,410,218,895
$1,721,377,541

$688,841,354

Table 8 (continued)

2001

21.00%

9.15%

0.070416

0.043633

$27,699,298,175

$58,440,166,120

$63,572,159,746

$94,313,027,691

$4,115,123,689

$2,773,819,343

$1,950,474,231

$823,345,112

2002

21.00%

9.15%

0.072350

0.044696

$28,882,504,491

$60,456,523,380

$66,287,715,225

$97,861,734,114

$4,374,011,505

$2,962,784,501

$2,089,640,619

$873,143,882

2003

21.00%

7.96%

0.074335

0.041705

$29,523,577,562

$61,816,965,320

$77,888,835,277

$110,182,223,035

$4,595,136,111

$3,248,344,331

$2,194,621,762

$1,053,722,569

An Estimate of Total Savings to Residential Taxpayers from Inception to 2006 =

2004

21.00%

7.96%

0.074969

0.042274

$30,470,840,993

$64,541,293,358

$80,387,897,092

$114,458,349,457

$4,838,584,603

$3,398,298,534

$2,284,362,993

$1,113,935,541

2005

21.00%

7.96%

0.075228

0.042507

$33,110,601,388

$70,466,165,655

$87,352,089,089

$124,707,653,356

$5,301,008,623

$3,713,117,560

$2,490,834,883

$1,222,282,677

2006

21.00%

7.96%

0.073424
0.041841
$34,350,208,817|
$74,549,449,375
$90,622,410,196
$130,821,650, 754
$5,473,694,289
$3,791,722,290
$2,522,118,452,
$1,269,603,838

$11,460,888,655




Table 9

COLORADO ASSESSED VALUES

ASSESSED VALUES DISTRIBUTION OF VALUE
Non- Non-
Year Total Residential Residential Year Total Residential Residential
1983 $17,185,698,000 $7,424,951,000 $9,760,747,000 1983 | 100.00% 43.20% 56.80%
1984 $17,905,089,000 $7,921,865,470 $9,983,223,530 1984 | 100.00% 44.24% 55.76%
1985 $18,730,104,000 $8,327,520,240 $10,402,583,760 1985 | 100.00% 44.46% 55.54%
1986 $19,216,096,000 $8,646,958,180 $10,569,137,820 1986 | 100.00% 45.00% 55.00%
1987 $33,261,142,000 $16,082,850,600 $17,178,291,400 1987 | 100.00% 48.35% 51.65%
1988 $31,660,568,730 $14,565,865,580 $17,094,703,150 1988 | 100.00% 46.01% 53.99%
1989 $29,131,941,640 $13,247,498,311 $15,884,443,329 1989 | 100.00% 45.47% 54.53%
1990 $29,082,011,770 $13,393,681,560 $15,688,330,210 1990 |100.00% 46.05% 53.95%
1991 $28,285,335,860 $12,886,606,790 $15,398,729,070 1991 | 100.00% 45.56% 54.44%
1992 $28,490,629,640 $13,256,627,100 $15,234,002,540 1992 | 100.00% 46.53% 53.47%
1993 $28,820,035,320 $13,373,489,410 $15,446,545,910 1993 | 100.00% 46.40% 53.60%
1994 $29,831,046,660 $13,970,427,000 $15,860,619,660 1994 | 100.00% 46.83% 53.17%
1995 $32,469,922,680 $15,155,131,610 $17,314,791,070 1995 | 100.00% 46.67% 53.33%
1996 $33,606,775,890 $15,788,272,000 $17,818,503,890 1996 |100.00% 46.98% 53.02%
1997 $38,536,664,720 $17,673,602,020 $20,863,062,700 1997 | 100.00% 45.86% 54.14%
1998 $40,165,596,490 $18,452,519,220 $21,713,077,270 1998 | 100.00% 45.94% 54.06%
1999 $46,711,921,473 $21,633,354,370 $25,078,567,103 1999 | 100.00% 46.31% 53.69%
2000 $48,757,383,218 $22,729,547,584 $26,027,835,634 2000 |100.00% 46.62% 53.38%
2001 $58,812,663,875 $27,699,298,175 $31,113,365,700 2001 |100.00% 47.10% 52.90%
2002 $60,564,946,027 $28,888,969,314 $31,675,976,713 2002 |100.00% 47.70% 52.30%
2003 $61,949,204,975 $29,523,577,562 $32,425,627,413 2003 | 100.00% 47.66% 52.34%
2004 $64,630,921,990 $30,470,840,993 $34,160,080,997 2004 | 100.00% 47.15% 52.85%
2005 $70,625,603,899 $33,110,601,388 $37,515,002,511 2005 |100.00% 46.88% 53.12%
2006 $74,549,449,375 $34,350,208,817 $40,199,240,558 2006 | 100.00% 46.08% 53.92%
COLORADO ACTUAL VALUES
ACTUAL VALUES DISTRIBUTION OF VALUE
Non- Non-
Year Total Residential Residential Year Total Residential Residential
1983 $66,459,485,820 $35,356,909,524 $31,102,576,296 1983 | 100.00% 53.20% 46.80%
1984 $69,718,797,755 $37,723,168,905 $31,995,628,850 1984 | 100.00% 54.11% 45.89%
1985 $72,958,307,363 $39,654,858,286 $33,303,449,078 1985 | 100.00% 54.35% 45.65%
1986 $75,118,950,953 $41,175,991,333 $33,942,959,620 1986 | 100.00% 54.81% 45.19%
1987 $146,891,450,388 $89,349,170,000 $57,542,280,388 1987 | 100.00% 60.83% 39.17%
1988 $148,225,023,177 $91,036,659,875 $57,188,363,302 1988 | 100.00% 61.42% 38.58%
1989 $141,342,075,160 $88,316,655,407 $53,025,419,753 1989 | 100.00% 62.48% 37.52%
1990 $141,421,555,163 $89,291,210,400 $52,130,344,763 1990 |100.00% 63.14% 36.86%
1991 $140,967,103,411 $89,864,761,437 $51,102,341,974 1991 | 100.00% 63.75% 36.25%
1992 $142,906,267,259 $92,445,098,326 $50,461,168,932 1992 | 100.00% 64.69% 35.31%
1993 $155,096,689,828 $103,992,919,207 $51,103,770,621 1993 | 100.00% 67.05% 32.95%
1994 $160,946,706,538 $108,634,735,614 $52,311,970,923 1994 | 100.00% 67.50% 32.50%
1995 $203,663,083,533 $146,285,054,151 $57,378,029,382 1995 | 100.00% 71.83% 28.17%
1996 $211,793,556,887 $152,396,447,876 $59,397,109,011 1996 | 100.00% 71.96% 28.04%
1997 $250,804,220,896 $181,453,819,507 $69,350,401,389 1997 | 100.00% 72.35% 27.65%
1998 $261,128,074,968 $189,450,916,016 $71,677,158,951 1998 | 100.00% 72.55% 27.45%
1999 $306,002,830,219 $222,108,361,088 $83,894,469,131 1999 | 100.00% 72.58% 27.42%
2000 $320,312,771,175 $233,362,911,540 $86,949,859,635 2000 | 100.00% 72.85% 27.15%
2001 $404,716,127,139 $302,724,570,219 | $101,991,556,920 2001 | 100.00% 74.80% 25.20%
2002 $419,294,563,373 $315,726,440,590 | $103,568,122,783 2002 | 100.00% 75.30% 24.70%
2003 $478,546,478,821 $370,899,215,603 | $107,647,263,218 2003 | 100.00% 77.51% 22.49%
2004 $492,572,877,562 $382,799,509,962 | $109,773,367,599 2004 | 100.00% 77.71% 22.29%
2005 $534,826,428,655 $415,962,328,995 | $118,864,099,660 2005 | 100.00% 77.78% 22.22%
2006 $554,757,341,157 $431,535,286,646 | $123,222,054,512 2006 | 100.00% 77.79% 22.21%




PROTESTS, APPEALS, ABATEMENTS
Protests and Appeals

Colorado statutes mandate a process that
allows taxpayers the opportunity to
challenge the actual value established by
the assessor. The process begins with the
taxpayer’'s protest to the assessor. Upon
receiving a protest, the assessor reviews the
issues raised, and either adjusts or
maintains the actual value established for
the property. Taxpayers who disagree with
the assessor's decision can appeal to the
county board of equalization. Taxpayers
who disagree with the county board’s
decision have three choices for further
appeal; they can appeal to the State Board
of Assessment Appeals (BAA), district court,
or binding arbitration. Decisions of the BAA
and district court can be appealed to the
Colorado Court of Appeals and ultimately to
the Colorado Supreme Court. Decisions of
an arbitrator are final.

The number of protests and appeals varies
greatly from county to county. During 2005
(the last reappraisal year), Larimer County
received the greatest number of appeals
with 14,783 while Kiowa County received
none. For many counties, the protest
process places a significant strain on the
resources of the assessor’s office. Table 10
lists the protests and county board appeals
for each county during the last three
reappraisal years, organized according to
the county officer pay categories established
in § 30-2-102, C.R.S. For the purpose of
this table, The Cities and Counties of Denver
and Broomfield are placed in category one.
Table 11 provides a summary of protest and
appeal statistics.

Taxpayers can protest and appeal in
reappraisal years (odd numbered years) and
in intervening years (even numbered years).
However, the number of protests and
appeals is higher in reappraisal years.

Abatements

Abatement petitions can be filed for taxes
erroneously or illegally levied, for
overvaluation, or for an assessment error.
Taxpayers who filed a protest can file an
abatement petition only for a clerical error or
an illegality, but not for an overvaluation.
The question of overvaluation involves
appraisal judgment, which was reviewed
during the protest, if a protest was filed.

Abatement petitions can be filed up through
the first working day in January two years
after the date the taxes were levied.
Because abatement petitions are filed on
taxes already levied, the abated or refunded
taxes constitute lost revenue to the affected
local governments; however, 8§ 39-10-
114(0)(@)(1)(B), C.R.S., and case law,
authorize local governments to recover
abated taxes through an increase in mill
levies. Table 12 displays the taxes abated
during 2004, 2005, and 2006.



Table 10

County Protests to Assessor Protests to Assessor Appeals to CBOE
(PER EMPLOYEE)

Cateqgory 1 2001 2003 2005 2001 2003 2005 2001 2003 2005
Adams 4,558 9,295 8,404 109 227 195 1,059 2.459 1,488
Arapahoe 9,836 7.442 5119 141 103 71 1,040 2,593 1,337
Boulder 8618 10,910 6,741 180 235 145 a7a 1.620 648
Broomfield 1,260 939 144 104 206 111
Denver 7.521 9,356 5784 74 108 70 1,742 2.441 1,807
Douglas 6,730 7.030 6,360 143 143 127 2,001 2,115 2512
El Paso 6,240 5,300 7.000 106 90 113 1,210 1,230 1,440
Jefferson 9,566 14,419 8,285 139 257 145 1,208 2,271 1,557
Larimer 13,422 17.275 14,783 274 353 279 916 2,681 2,035
Pueblo 794 890 733 23 20 23 5 12 3
Weld 4,969 5075 4,626 121 134 119 133 380 468
Category 2

Eagle 4985 2,968 2,550 208 135 116 1,325 947 495
Fremont 1,498 669 1,221 136 51 94 31 0 17
Garfield 1,230 1,774 1,166 88 111 69 35 704 339
La Plata 721 1,854 1,466 42 103 75 35 57 57
Mesa 4,143 3,011 2,658 153 112 95 421 311 2,658
Pitkin 1,643 1,733 963 171 173 96 416 530 181
Summit 4236 4,532 3,283 212 239 173 343 587 300
Category 3

Archuleta 750 1,041 1,303 94 110 118 9 268 32
Chaffee 1,551 1,128 1177 141 125 131 118 110 164
Clear Creek 976 1,017 779 174 182 139 41 a7 12
Delta 845 731 809 89 86 57 66 24 14
Grand 1,862 1,209 1,047 177 114 95 152 100 a1
Gunnison 1,624 1,516 943 148 138 86 86 146 64
Las Animas 738 573 403 74 57 40 15 18 4
Logan 364 246 231 a3 25 26 18 23 13
Moffat 181 295 289 26 42 48 =} a8 6
Montrose 575 605 645 52 53 61 37 88 a7
Morgan 320 382 504 27 29 46 5 13 29
Otero 204 185 103 26 21 13 4 2 6
Park 2,100 3.029 2,324 191 263 186 170 184 348
Rio Blanco 123 151 77 19 25 13 1 6 0
Routt 1,899 1,652 837 181 148 73 547 131 150
San Miguel 937 1,041 761 117 116 109 85 196 134
Teller 1,737 1,523 917 109 95 61 338 99 110
Cateqgory 4

Alamosa 277 181 151 a5 23 19 28 18 7
Custer 163 192 98 a1 38 20 1 2 1
Elbert 449 639 612 32 46 47 18 21 175
Gilpin 218 1,062 378 44 266 63 [ 24 10
Huerfano 211 173 127 a5 29 21 9 42 2
Kit Carson 232 200 194 58 50 49 8 3 5
Lake 649 247 246 130 41 41 58 28 7
Montezuma 569 554 486 57 55 54 30 23 71
Ouray 267 359 413 67 120 102 13 22 21
Prowers 880 350 350 147 58 70 2 0 1}
Rio Grande 420 349 332 61 50 23 10 1 4
Washington 50 61 a0 10 12 18 1 36 1
Yuma 353 a7z 256 59 74 51 0 102 1
Category 5

Baca 25 34 5 6 10 1 0 0 0
Bent 75 92 134 25 23 34 1 2 2
Cheyenne 68 36 60 23 12 20 3 1 3
Conejos 297 427 137 66 a5 137 a 0 0
Costilla 194 101 54 39 20 11 3 g9 5
Crowley 25 46 11 25 46 11 0 2 0
Dolores 29 57 112 27 18 37 2 1 0
Hinsdale 142 133 a1 71 67 41 6 10 5}
Jackson 60 10 1 30 5 1 5 2 1
Kiowa 2 o 0 1 0 o 0 0 o
Lincoln 41 38 24 8 8 5 0 1 0
Mineral 300 10 [} 226 7 4 4 1 v}
Phillips 97 39 37 32 13 12 5 1 0
Saguache 94 208 43 24 38 g 1 2 0
San Juan 24 41 56 16 27 56 0 0 2
Sedgwick 58 7 14 29 4 7 0 0 14




Table 11

Assessors: 2001 2003 2005
Total Parcels 2,390,325 2,440,708 2,353,265
Parcels/Schedules Protested 113,735 126,835 99 538
Protests as a Percent of Total Parcels 4.76% 5.20% 4.23%
Percent Change from Prior Reappraisal 2.26% 11.52% -21.52%

County Boards of Equalization (CBOE):

Parcels/Schedules Appealed to CBOE 14,816 22,981 19,065
Percent of CBOE Appeals to Protests 13.03% 18.12% 19.15%

Board of Assessment Appeals (BAA):

BAA Dockets 2111 2,279 1,768
Percent of BAA Appeals to CBOE Appeals 14.25% 9.92% 9.27%
Percent of BAA Appeals to Protests 1.86% 1.80% 1.78%
Percent of BAA Appeals to Total Parcels 0.09% 0.09% 0.08%

Additional Assessor Costs:

Dollars of Overtime Paid $135,702 $184,007 $93,226
Hours of Compensation Time Granted 10,412 7,131 2,825

Parcels Protested Per Assessor’s Employee:

Average Number Protested Per Employee 116 137 109
Maximum Number Protested Per Employee 274 353 279
Minimum Number Protested Per Employee 0 0 0

Parcels Protested Per Employee — Frequency Distribution:

0-50 26 27 28

51 - 100 13 11 19
101 - 200 20 18 16
201 - 300 4 6 1
301 — 400 0 2 0
Counties Reporting 63 64 64

Farcel count derived from county Abstracts of Assessment. Includes condominium units.
Board of Assessment Appeal (BAL) dockets include appeals from County Board of Equalization
(CBOE) and county abatement decisions

Overtime/comp time figures not available from all counties.



Table 12

Abatements, Refunds, and Cancellations of Taxes

Reported by Treasurers for 2006, 2005 and 2004

2006 2006 2006 2005 2005 2005 2004 2004 2004

County Abatement Abatement Average Abatement Abatement Average Abatement Abatement Average
Amounts Counts Abated Amounts Counts Abated Amounts Counts Abated

Adams $3,450,893 1,281 $2,694 $1,600,299 282 $5,675 $1,262,430 850 $1,043
Alamosa $7,806 21 $372 $15,899 29 $548 $83,899 79 $1,062
Arapahoe $12,522,341 1,443 $8,678 $12,011,410 1,809 $6,640 $7,936,426 2,586 $3,069
Archuleta $32,116 47 $683 $26,346 34 $775 $69,834 41 $1,703
Baca $12,298 80 $154 $3,855 33 $117 $24,521 49 $500
Bent $14,105 33 $427 $4,258 33 $129 $305,479 13 $23,498
Boulder $3,211,793 1,171 $2,743 $2,688,995 1,537 $1,750 $2,471,330 1,440 $1,716
Broomfield $582,649 527 $1,106 $3,163,395 819 $3,863 $1,950,541 564 $3,458
Chaffee $169,694 138 $1,230 $76,858 63 $1,220 $41,889 76 $551
Cheyenne $2,288 18 $127 $1,471 29 $51 $34,272 31 $1,106
Clear Creek $65,323 56 $1,166 $44,203 113 $391 $711,987 161 $4,422
Conejos $11,461 61 $188 $20,347 62 $328 $34,328 129 $266
Costilla $1,544 23 $67 $483 7 $69 $1,869 7 $267
Crowley $319 3 $106 $86,231 8 $10,779 $1,430 9 $159
Custer $8,117 20 $406 $3,639 14 $260 $16,875 16 $1,055
Delta $36,308 107 $339 $81,954 95 $863 $68,089 128 $532
Denver $7,800,131 1,821 $4,283 $8,992,189 2,220 $4,051 $7,037,842 2,717 $2,590
Dolores $8,334 22 $379 $10,724 8 $1,341 $2,710 14 $194
Douglas $2,730,744 610 $4,477 $2,017,745 1,282 $1,574 $4,260,407 773 $5,512
Eagle $575,475 331 $1,739 $647,105 436 $1,484 $1,073,632 345 $3,112
Elbert $92,550 96 $964 $284,433 151 $1,884 $123,532 81 $1,525
El Paso $1,774,754 1,130 $1,571 $2,592,135 1,260 $2,057 $3,343,601 1,795 $1,863
Fremont $182,753 185 $988 $236,156 409 $577 $686,068 1,132 $606
Garfield $483,423 110 $4,395 $78,748 81 $972 $679,747 115 $5,911
Gilpin $5,440 17 $320 $6,159 25 $246 $189,867 180 $1,055
Grand $86,387 164 $527 $130,970 86 $1,523 $225,373 129 $1,747
Gunnison $50,972 97 $525 $382,934 480 $798 $119,859 360 $333
Hinsdale $5,867 22 $267 $848 1 $848 $19,586 28 $700
Huerfano $113,373 512 $221 $175,900 283 $622 $76,020 183 $415
Jackson $11,793 12 $983 $3,402 16 $213 $5,296 44 $120
Jefferson $5,249,056 2,291 $2,291 $3,770,432 2,013 $1,873 $4,975,944 2,063 $2,412
Kiowa $370 3 $123 $980 5 $196 $996 4 $249
Kit Carson $80,509 382 $211 $79,269 58 $1,367 $61,522 59 $1,043
Lake $7,956 25 $318 $43,332 188 $230 $100,490 341 $295
La Plata $54,479 218 $250 $119,750 131 $914 $447,656 819 $547
Larimer $1,183,144 1,700 $696 $2,802,321 1,251 $2,240 $2,580,222 1,529 $1,688
Las Animas $47,194 93 $507 $62,011 38 $1,632 $11,240 43 $261
Lincoln $13,047 15 $870 $29,660 41 $723 $7,390 14 $528
Logan $10,802 46 $235 $5,741 10 $574 $29,537 16 $1,846
Mesa $408,993 303 $1,350 $308,778 385 $802 $483,023 731 $661
Mineral $2,836 13 $218 $0 ] $0 $0 ] $0
Moffat $9,934 84 $118 $19,158 67 $286 $297,881 112 $2,660
Montezuma $51,936 93 $558 $23,859 63 $379 $138,526 105 $1,319
Montrose $127,006 125 $1,016 $87,498 130 $673 $53,342 169 $316
Morgan $20,141 100 $201 $13,664 240 $57 $462,673 873 $530
Otero $37,117 32 $1,160 $2,609 9 $290 $22,591 21 $1,076
Ouray $29,004 39 $744 $24,651 26 $948 $23,612 49 $482
Park $82,220 399 $206 $90,752 422 $215 $146,985 638 $230
Phillips $661 10 $66 $17,294 29 $596 $6,503 19 $342
Pitkin $208,660 89 $2,344 $236,149 111 $2,127 $350,975 254 $1,382
Prowers $224,754 152 $1,479 $222,608 51 $4,365 $79,083 50 $1,582
Pueblo $300,521 187 $1,607 $149,331 332 $450 $613,932 321 $1,913
Rio Blanco $13,443 49 $274 $28,731 38 $756 $484,921 39 $12,434
Rio Grande $43,660 55 $794 $21,462 39 $550 $32,038 86 $373
Routt $168,446 135 $1,248 $95,080 289 $329 $699,543 236 $2,964
Saguache $10,786 58 $186 $7,639 27 $283 $15,344 62 $247
San Juan $642 1 $642 $0 0 $0 $0 0 $0
San Miguel $374,231 194 $1,929 $119,296 28 $4,261 $80,031 96 $834
Sedgwick $1,884 22 $86 $5,196 48 $108 $1,892 17 $111
Summit $364,344 283 $1,287 $480,169 838 $573 $581,703 447 $1,301
Teller $108,690 97 $1,121 $290,866 95 $3,062 $237,048 151 $1,570
Washington $29,216 52 $562 $38,654 74 $522 $13,636 17 $802
Weld $1,929,729 706 $2,733 $2,820,759 2,068 $1,364 $1,357,785 927 $1,465
Yuma $425,770 712 $598 $33,442 55 $608 $178,572 48 $3,720
Totals: $45.672,232 18,921 $2.414 $47.440,232 20.904 $2.269 $47,435,375 24,431 $1,942




SENIOR CITIZEN EXEMPTION

In 2003, budget -constraints forced the
Colorado Legislature to temporarily suspend
state funding for the senior citizen property tax
homestead exemption, eliminating the tax
benefit for property tax years 2003-2005.
Funding for the exemption was reinstated for
2006 taxes, payable January 2007.

The exemption was enacted by voters in 2000
with the passage of Section 3.5, Article X of
the Colorado Constitution. It became effective
in 2002. As enacted, the exemption reduced
the actual value of a residential property by 50
percent, up to a maximum reduction of
$100,000. The amendment authorized the
Colorado Legislature to adjust the amount of
value to which the 50 percent exemption is
applied. For tax years 2003-2005, Senate Bill
03-265 changed the exemption amount from
50 percent of the first $200,000 to 50 percent
of $0. It returned to 50 percent of the first
$200,000 for assessment year 2006. Although
funding was suspended, both the counties and
the state continued to administer the program.

Each year, the assessor is required to mail a
notice to all residential property owners that
explains the existence of the exemption.
Qualifying seniors have until July 15 to apply
for the exemption, and once granted, the
exempt status remains in effect for future years
until a change in the ownership or occupancy
requires its removal. To qualify, on January 1
a senior must be at least 65 years old and
must have owned and occupied the property
as his or her primary residence for ten or more
consecutive years.

In 2006, counties processed approximately
15,000 new applications, and the exemption
was granted to most of them. Currently
145,600 properties are approved for the
exemption. Applicants denied the exemption
have the right to appeal the denial to the
county board of equalization, comprised of the
county commissioners.

No later than October 10, the assessor is
required to send the Division an electronic list
of the exemptions granted, including the
names and social security numbers of each
person occupying the property. The Division
then uses that data to identify individuals who
were granted the exemption on more than one
property, and denies the exemption on each.
In 2006, the Division denied exemptions on 25
properties owned by 13 applicants.

The senior exemption program does not result
in a loss of revenue to local governments.
Instead, the state reimburses the local
governments for the tax revenue exempted.

No later than April 1, county treasurers send
the State Treasurer an itemized list of the
exemptions granted and taxes exempted. No
later than April 15, the State Treasurer
reimburses the local governments for the lost
revenue. In 2007, the State Treasurer
reimbursed local governments $ 74,231,508.72
for exemptions granted in 2006.

DISABLED VETERAN EXEMPTION

In November 2006, voters enacted an
amendment to the Colorado Constitution
extending the senior exemption benefit to
disabled veterans. Qualifying veterans are
those who have a 100% permanent and total
disability rating from the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs as a result of a service-
connected disability and who have owned and
occupied the property as their primary
residence since January 1.

The filing deadline for the Disabled Veteran
Exemption is July 1.

AGRICULTURAL TIMBERLAND

In 1990, the Colorado Legislature passed HB
90-1229, expanding the definition  of
“agricultural land” to include forested land that
meets certain requirements. The definition
reads as follows:

“A parcel of land that consists of at least forty
acres, that is forest land, that is used to
produce tangible wood products that originate
from the productivity of such land for the
primary purpose of obtaining a monetary profit,
that is subject to a forest management plan,
and that is not a farm or ranch, as defined in
subsections (3.5) and (13.5) of this section.
"Agricultural land" under this subparagraph (II)
includes land underlying any residential
improvement located on such agricultural
land,” § 39-1-102(1.6)(a)(ll), C.R.S.

Since the enactment of this law, numerous
owners have developed “forest management
plans” to secure tax reductions on land that
would have otherwise been classified as
residential improved or vacant land.



POSSESSORY INTERESTS

Taxability:

In 2001 the Colorado Supreme Court ruled that
certain possessory interests are subject to ad
valorem taxation in Colorado, as real property.
See Board of County Commissioners, County
of Eagle, state of Colorado v. Vail Associates,
Inc. et al and the Board of Assessment
Appeals and Allen S. Black et al, v. Colorado
State Board of Equalization, 19 P. 3d 1263
(Colo. 2001).

A possessory interest is defined as a private
property interest in  government-owned
property or the right to the occupancy and use
of any benefit in government-owned property
that has been granted under lease, permit,
license, concession, contract or other
agreement. The use of the property must be in
connection with a business conducted for
profit.

Based on the direction of the court and our
research we have determined that taxable
possessory interests may include, but are not
limited to:

1. Private concessionaires utilizing
government owned land, improvements, or
personal property that are not operating
pursuant to a management contract as
defined in § 39-1-103(17)(a)(lll), C.R.S.

2. Government land and improvements used
in the operation of a farm or ranch.

3. Government land, improvements, and/or
personal property used in the operation of
ski or recreational areas.

4. Land underlying privately owned cabins or
other residential property located on
government land that is rented
commercially.

5. Recreational use of lakes, reservoirs, and
rivers in a revenue-generating capacity.

6. Recreational use of land for outfitting
purposes in a revenue-generating capacity.

7. Land, improvements, and
property at a tax-exempt airport.

personal

Valuation:

Colorado ski areas are valued according to 8
39-1-103(17)(a)(), C.R.S. The actual value of
any possessory interest for use for ski area
recreational purposes shall be determined by
capitalizing, at an appropriate rate, the annual
fee paid by the lessee or permittee. The rate
used to capitalize any fee paid by the ski area
includes an appropriate rate of return, an
appropriate  effective tax rate and an
appropriate adjustment to reflect the portion of
the fee, if any, required to be paid over by the
United States to the state of Colorado and its
political subdivisions.

As required by § 39-1-103(17)(ll), C.R.S., all
other possessory interests in real and
personal, other than agricultural possessory
interests, must be valued considering the cost,
market, and income approaches to appraisal.
When using the cost or income approach to
appraisal, the statutes direct that the present
value of the reasonably estimated future
annual rents or fees, less statutory exclusions,
paid by the possessory interest holder, to the
government over the initial term of the lease be
determined.

As of 2004 and 2005, the actual value of a
possessory interest in agricultural land,
including land leased by the state board of land
commissioners shall be the actual amount of
the annual rent paid for the property tax year,
§ 39-1-103(17)(ll), C.R.S.



2006 PROPERTY TAX

LEGISLATION
SENATE BILLS
SB 06-002
Concerning mandatory disclosure in

connection with the purchase of residential
real property of whether the property has
been wused as a methamphetamine
laboratory.

The bill adds a new section 103 to Article 35.7
of Title 38, C.R.S., entitled: Disclosure -
methamphetamine laboratory.

For purposes of the section, “residential real
property” includes a: manufactured home;
mobile home; condominium; town home; home
sold by the owner, a financial institution, or the
Federal Department of Housing and Urban
Development; rental property, including an
apartment; and short-term residence such as a
motel or hotel.

The bill establishes that a buyer of residential
real property has the right to test the property
for the purpose of determining whether the
property has ever been wused as a
methamphetamine laboratory. It also
establishes that the testing be performed by a
certified industrial hygienist or industrial
hygienist as defined in § 24-30-1402, C.R.S.

The bill creates a procedure for notification,
response, and retesting between the buyer and
seller, if the initial test results indicate that the
property has been used as a
methamphetamine laboratory but has not been
remediated to  established  standards.
Ultimately, the buyer may terminate the
contract.

The bill states that if the seller became aware
that the property was once used for the
production of methamphetamine and the
property was remediated, and evidence of the
remediation was received by the applicable
governing body in compliance with the
documentation requirements found in § 25-
18.5-102, C.R.S., then the seller is not
required to disclose to a buyer that the
property was used as a methamphetamine
laboratory. The property is removed from any
government-sponsored informational service

listing properties that have been used for the
production of methamphetamine.

Signed by Governor Owens: May 1, 2006

Effective Date: January 1, 2007, and shall apply to
contracts for the purchase and sale of residential
real property that are offered or entered into on or
after this date.

SB 06-070

Concerning moneys paid by a lessee of
personal property for the payment of
personal property tax.

A new section, § 39-1-119.5, C.R.S., has been
added by this bill.

This bill governs lease agreements entered
into on or after January 1, 2007 that include
leased personal property. It states that if a
personal property lessee is required to make
payment to a lessor pursuant to the terms of
any contract or other agreement, those
payments shall be accounted for upon the
termination of the lease. If it is determined that
a refund is due to the lessee for overpayment
of personal property taxes, any excess
payments must be refunded to the lessee by
August 31 of the year in which the taxes were
due. The lessor shall base the accounting and
refund on the actual property tax liability due in
each year of the lease period.

Any lessor refusing to refund excess taxes
paid pursuant to this bill will be liable to the
lessee, in a civil action, in an amount equal to
the sum of three times the amount of actual
damages sustained. Additionally, when there
is action taken to enforce the liability, the
lessor will be responsible for the costs of the
action together with reasonable attorney fees
as determined by the court.

Any action brought under this section shall be
commenced within three years after the date
on which the failure to refund occurred or
within three years after the lessee discovered,
or in the exercise of reasonable diligence,
should have discovered the lessor’s failure to
refund. The period of limitation may be
extended for a period of one year if the lessee
proves that the failure to timely commence the
action was caused by the lessor engaging in
conduct calculated to induce the lessee to
refrain from or postpone the commencement of
the action.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 4, 2006
Effective Date: Upon signature



SB 06-095

Concerning limitations on the transfer of
property rights as a means of qualifying
electors in special district elections.

Section 1 prohibits parties from knowingly
manipulating the transfer of title to taxable
property for the purpose of qualifying a person
as an eligible elector at any special district
election. It makes void any ballot cast in
violation of this bill.

The bill states that a person my take or place
title to taxable property in the name of another
or enter into a contract to purchase or sell
taxable property for the purpose of attempting
to qualify a person as an eligible elector for any
special district election under the following
circumstances:

e A vacancy exists on the board of the
special district and, within ten days of the
publication of notice of the vacancy, no
otherwise qualified eligible elector file a
letter of interest in filling the position on the
board;

e In any organizational election at which
there are more than ten eligible electors, on
or after the second day before the filing
deadline for self-nomination and
acceptance forms or letters, the number of
otherwise qualified eligible electors who
have filed a self-nomination and
acceptance forms or letters is less than the
number of special district director offices to
be voted on at such election;

e There are less than eleven eligible electors
as of any date before an organizational
election; or

¢ On or after the day after the filing deadline
for self-nomination and acceptance forms
or letters, before any regular special district
election, the number of otherwise qualified
eligible electors who have filed self-
nomination and acceptance forms or letters
is less than the number of special district
director offices to be voted on at the
election.

The bill specifies that no person shall place title
to taxable property in the name of another or
enter into a contract to sell taxable property for
the purpose of attempting to qualify more than
the number of persons who are necessary to
be eligible electors in order to:

e Fill a vacancy on a board; or

e Become a candidate for director in a
special district election

The incidental qualification of the spouse of a
person as an eligible elector shall not
constitute a qualification of more than the
number of persons necessary to be eligible
electors.

It shall not constitute a violation of the act for a
person to take or place title to taxable property
in the name of another or to enter into a
contract to purchase or sell taxable property in
substitution of property acquired in accordance
with the act.

Any person who is an eligible elector as of July
1, 2006, or who has been qualified as an
eligible elector under the act shall remain
gualified as an eligible elector until such time
as the person ceases to meet the applicable
qualifications in § 32-1-103(5), C.R.S.

Any person elected to a board whose
gualification as an eligible elector is not
challenged and overturned shall not be subject
to further challenge based upon qualification
as a property owner under the act for the
remainder of the person's term in office.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 29, 2006
Effective Date: March 29, 2006

SB 06-120

Concerning the requirement of a full
investigation prior to the amendment of
licenses issued by state agencies.

The bill amends § 24-4-104(3) and (4), C.R.S.,
concerning licenses-issuance, suspension or
revocation, renewal. Section 24-4-104(3)(a),
C.R.S., is amended to note that no revocation,
suspension, annulment, limitation, or
modification of a license by any agency is
lawful unless the agency has given the
licensee notice in writing of objective facts or
conduct established upon a full investigation
that may warrant such action. For the
purposes of subsections (3) and (4), “full
investigation” means a reasonable
ascertainment of the underlying facts on which
the agency action is based. But a full
investigation does not apply to licenses of
motor carriers, people service transportation,
or regular driver’s license issued under Articles
1.1, 9, 10, 11, 11.5, 12, 13, 14, and 16 of Title
40 or Article 2 of Title 42, C.R.S.



Where the agency has objective and
reasonable grounds to believe and finds, upon
a full investigation that the licensee has been
guilty of deliberate and willful violation or that
the public health, safety, or welfare
imperatively requires emergency action and
incorporates the findings in its order, it may
suspend the license pending proceedings for
suspension or revocation which shall be
promptly instituted and determined.

Signed by Governor Owens: May 4, 2006
Effective Date: August 9, 2006.

SB 06-140

Concerning changing the name of the
Division of Minerals and Geology to the
Division of Reclamation, Mining, and
Safety.

This bill changes the name of the Division of
Minerals and Geology in the Department of
Natural Resources to the Division of
Reclamation, Mining, and Safety. The name
change affects several titles and sections of
the Colorado Revised Statutes.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 31, 2006
Effective Date: August 9, 2006

SCR 06-001

Submitting to the registered electors of the
state of Colorado an amendment to section
3.5 of article X of the Constitution of the
state of Colorado, concerning the extension
of the existing property tax exemption for
gualifying seniors to any United States
military veteran who is one hundred
percent permanently disabled due to a
service-connected disability.

Section 1 adds new subsections to section 3.5,
article X, which establishes qualifying criterion
for disabled veterans.

For property tax years commencing on or after
January 1, 2007, only, the owner-occupier, as
of the assessment date, is a disabled veteran:

e An owner-occupier may claim only one
exemption per property tax year even if the
owner-occupier qualifies for both the senior
citizen exemption and disabled veteran
exemption.

e “Disabled Veteran” means an individual
who has served on active duty in the
United States Armed Forces, including a
member of the Colorado National Guard

who has been ordered into the active
military service of the United States, has
been separated therefrom under honorable
conditions, and has established a service-
connected disability that has been rated by
the Federal Department of Veterans Affairs
as one hundred percent permanent
disability through disability retirement
benefits or a pension pursuant to a law or
regulation administered by the department,
the Department of Homeland Security, or
the Department of the Army, Navy, or Air
Force.

Signed by the President of the Senate:

May 16, 2006
Signed by the Speaker of the House:

May 22, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2007, only if approved
by the people at the November 2006 general
election.

Senate concurrent Resolution 06-001 appearing as
Referendum E was passed by the voters of
Colorado at the November 7, 2006 General
Election.

Governor Owens declared the amendment effective
December 31, 2006

To enact the amendment, enabling legislation will
be passed by the 2007 General Assembly.

Amendment 41

Addition of Article XXIX to the constitution
of the state of Colorado concerning
conduct of public officers, members of the
general assembly, local government
officials, and government employees.

Section 1 states the purposes and findings of
this new article.

Section 2 sets forth the definitions for
Government Employee, Local Government,
Local Government Official, Person,
Professional Lobbyist, and Public Officer as
used in this article.

Section 3 prohibits any public officer, member
of the general assembly, local government
official, government employee, or their
spouses or dependent children from accepting
any amount of money, release from any debt,
or any gift or thing of value that have a market
value of more than $50 in any calendar year.
The prohibitions do not apply if the gift or thing
of value is:

e A campaign contribution as defined by law.



e An unsolicited item of trivial value less than
$50, such as a pen, calendar, plant, book,
notepad, etc.

e An unsolicited token or award in the form of
a plaque, trophy, desk item, wall memento,
or similar item.

e Unsolicited informational material,
publications, or subscriptions related to the
recipient’s performance of official duties.

e Admission to and cost of food or beverages
consumed at a reception, meal or meeting
by an organization before whom the
recipient appears to speak or to answer
guestions as part of a scheduled program.

e Reasonable expenses paid by a nonprofit
organization or other state or local
government for attendance at a convention,
fact-finding mission or trip, provided that
the person is scheduled to deliver a
speech, make a presentation, participate
on a panel, or represent the state or local
government, provided that the non-profit
organization receives less than five percent
of its funding from for-profit organizations
or entities.

e Given by an individual who is a relative or
personal friend of the recipient on a special
occasion.

e Component of the compensation paid or
other incentive given to the recipient in the
normal course of employment.

The section also:

o Prohibits a professional lobbyist, personally
or on behalf of any other person or entity,
to knowingly offer, give or arrange to give
any public officer, member of the general
assembly, local government official,
government employee, or to a member of
such person’s immediate family, any gift or
thing of value, pay for any meal, beverage,
or other item to be consumed by such
recipient. The article does not forbid a gift
to an official or employee who is also a
member of the lobbyist's immediate family.

e Establishes that the general assembly shall
make any conforming amendments
necessary to comply with the reporting and
disclosure requirements set forth in
Section 3.

e States that the fifty-dollar ($50) limit shall
be adjusted every four years using the
Denver-Boulder-Greeley Consumer Price
Index. The first adjustment shall be done
in the first quarter of 2011.

Section 4 prohibits statewide elected
officeholders and members of the general
assembly from lobbying any other elected state
officials for a period of two years following
vacation of office.

Section 5 creates a five-member appointed
ethics commission, with individual members
having subpoena power, to investigate and
hear state and local complaints, assess
penalties, and issue advisory opinions
regarding conduct that may or may not cause a
violation of this article. The ethics commission
has the authority to adopt reasonable rules for
the purpose of administering and enforcing the
provisions of this article. The general
assembly shall appropriate reasonable funds
to cover staff and administrative expenses of
the ethics commission; however, the members
of the commission will receive no
compensation.

Members of the ethics commission will consist
of:

e One member appointed by the Colorado
Senate

e One member appointed by the Colorado
House of Representatives

¢ One member appointed by the Governor of
Colorado

e One member appointed by the Chief
Justice of the Colorado Supreme Court

e One member shall be either a local
government official or a local government
employee appointed by approval from at
least three of the four members of the
commission

¢ No more then two members shall be
affiliated with the same political party

e Each member shall be a registered
Colorado voter and shall have been
continuously registered with the same
political party or continuously unaffiliated
with any political party for at least two years
prior to appointment to the commission

e Members are appointed for a term of four
years, with the exception of the first
appointees of the Senate and Governor
who will serve a two year term, then
proceed to a four year term thereafter
creating staggered term expiration dates

e If a member is appointed to fill an
unexpired term, that member’'s term ends
at the same time as the term of the person
being replaced

e The original appointing authority will fill any
vacancy promptly



The section also sets forth how to initiate a
complaint before the commission. A written
complaint is filed, asking whether a local
official or employee has failed to comply with
this article or any other standards of conduct.
The commission may dismiss frivolous
complaints without conducting a public
hearing. The frivolous complaints shall be
maintained confidential by the commission. If
the commission determines a complaint is not
frivolous, an investigation, public hearing, and
findings will follow, all based on written rules
set by the commission. The commission may
assess penalties for violations. All findings are
to be based on a preponderance of the
evidence unless the commission deems that
the circumstances warrant a higher evidentiary
standard. Commission members may
subpoena documents and witnesses for
testimony as well as produce other evidence.

Any public officer, member of the general
assembly, local government official or
employee may submit a written request for an
advisory opinion on whether any conduct by
that person would constitute a violation of this
article or any other standards of conduct. The
commission shall issue the advisory opinion
pursuant to written rules adopted by the
commission.

Section 6 states that any public officer,
member of the general assembly, local
government official or government employee
who breaches a public trust for private gain
shall be liable to the state or local government
for double the amount of the financial
equivalent of any benefit obtained by their
behavior.

Section 7 permits any county or municipality to
adopt ordinances or charter provisions with
respect to ethics matters that are more
stringent than any of the provisions contained
in this article. However, the requirements of
this article shall not apply to home rule
counties or home rule municipalities that have
adopted charters, ordinances, or resolutions
that address the matters covered by this
article.

Section 8 states that any provisions in the
statutes of this state in conflict or inconsistent
with this article are declared to be preempted
by this article and inapplicable to the matters
covered by and provided for in this article.

Section 9 establishes that legislation may be
enacted to facilitate the operation of this article,

but in no way shall such legislation limit or
restrict the provisions of this article or the
powers herein granted.

Referendum 41 was passed by the voters of
Colorado at the November 7, 2006 General
Election.

Gov. Bill Owens declared Amendment 41
effective December 31, 2006

HOUSE BILLS

HB 06-1009

Concerning an increase in the limit on the
amount of money to be collected as
penalties for delinquent property tax
payments that the county treasurer is
authorized to refrain from collecting.

The bill amends § 39-10-104.5(10), C.R.S. to
increase the limit on the amount of money the
county treasurer may refrain from collecting for
penalty, interest, or costs for delinquent
property tax payments. The amount was
increased from ten to fifty dollars.

Prior to the passage of HB 06-1009,
it was not financially feasible for some counties
to collect penalties or interest for delinquent
property tax payments that were under ten
dollars. Considering the time spent preparing
and mailing letters explaining why the payment
was returned, as well as postage fees and
additional collection costs, the ten-dollar limit
was insufficient.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 13, 2006
Effective Date: Upon signature

HB 06-1051
Concerning elections to recall elected
officials.

This bill would have amended and added
several sections to Title 1, Article 12, C.R.S.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 13, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2007, only if Senate
Concurrent Resolution 05-005, enacted at the First
Regular Session of the Sixty-fifth General
Assembly, is approved by the people at the
November 2006 general election.

Concurrent Resolution 05-005 appeared on the
November 2006 ballot as Referendum F and failed
with a vote of 55.32 percent NO to 44.68 percent
YES. Therefore, the bill will not become law.



HB 06-1087

Concerning the classification of Montezuma
County for purposes of fixing the salaries
of county officers.

The bill amends 88 30-2-102 (1)(c) and (1)(d),
C.R.S., by removing Montezuma County from
the list of Category IV counties, and adding it
to the list of Category Il counties. This act
would have taken effect August 10, 20086,
except that the act shall not take effect
because House Bill 06-1295 was enacted at
the Second Regular Session of the Sixty-fifth
General Assembly and became law without the
Governor’s signature.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 06, 2006
Effective Date: Will not take effect with the passage
of House Bill 06-1295

HB 06-1094

Concerning the notice of valuation of
taxable personal property on oil and gas
leaseholds and lands.

The addition of § 39-5-121(1.5)(b), C.R.S., was
legislated based on the outcome of several
2005 Board of Assessment (BAA) hearings
(BAA docket numbers 41842 through 41844)
involving Petron Development Company and
Washington and Yuma counties. The BAA's
decision state that the assessors of both
Washington and Yuma counties were to issue
the 2003 Personal Property Notices of
Valuation to the partial interest owners of the
oil and gas personal property, as reported by
Petron Development Company. In some
counties, partial-interest owners of personal
property for one individual well could number in
the hundreds if this decision were generally
applied statewide.

The bill amends § 39-5-121, C.R.S., by the
addition of a new subsection 1.5(b), which
specifies that the assessor will send a Notice
of Valuation for taxable personal property on
oil and gas leaseholds or lands only to the
operator who filed the statement required by 8
39-7-101, C.R.S. The operator shall accept
the notice even though the operator may not
have any ownership interest in the property.
The acceptance of the Notice of Valuation by
the operator shall not be construed as an
indication that the operator agrees with the
amount of the actual value of the property
stated in the notice or obliging the operator to
pay the tax attributable to the property.

Upon written request from the county
treasurer, the operator shall submit to the

treasurer a written statement containing the
name and address of each person who has an
ownership interest in the property. If the
operator fails to submit the statement within
thirty days after receiving the request, the
operator shall pay a penalty to the treasurer in
the amount of one hundred dollars or the
amount of tax due on the property, whichever
is less.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 13, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2006

HB 06-1156

Concerning increased consumer rights
regarding the use of social security
numbers.

The bill addresses the responsibilities
surrounding the confidentiality of social
security numbers. The bill does not eliminate
the requirement of submitting a social security
number for a senior homestead exemption
application 8 39-3-205(2)(a)(l) and (Ill), C.R.S.

Section 1 amends Title 6, Article 1 with the
addition of a new section 117 which contains
four new subsections. The bill establishes that
a person or entity may not:

e Publicly post or publicly display an
individual's social security number.

e Print an individual’'s social security number
on any card required to access products or
services.

e Require an individual to transmit his or her
social security number over the internet,
unless the connection is secure or the
social security number is encrypted.

e Require an individual to use his/her social
security number to access an internet
website, unless a password or unique
identification number or other
authentication device is also required.

e Print an individual's social security number
on any materials that are mailed to the
individual, unless state or federal law
requires, permits, or authorizes the social
security number to be on the document to
be mailed.

Social security numbers may be included in
applications and forms sent by mail, including
documents sent as part of an application or
enrollment process, or to establish amend, or
terminate an account, contract, or policy, or
confirm the accuracy of the social security
number. However, the social security number
cannot be printed on a postcard or other mailer



not requiring an envelope, or visible on the
envelope without being opened.

If, prior to the effective date of this section, a
person or entity has used an individual’s social
security number in a manner inconsistent with
this section, the person or entity may continue
using the social security number provided the
following conditions are met:

e The use of the social security number is
continuous.

e The person or entity provides an annual
disclosure that informs the individual of the
right to stop the use of his/her social
security number.

e The person or entity shall implement a
written request by an individual to stop the
use of his or her social security number
within thirty days after the receipt of the
request. The person or entity may not
impose a fee for implementing the request.

e The person or entity shall not deny services
because the individual makes a written
request to stop the use of the social
security number.

This new section shall not prevent the
collection, use, or release of a social security
number as required, permitted, or authorized
by state or federal law or the use of a social
security number by the department of revenue.

This section shall not apply to:

e Documents or records that are recorded or
required to be open to the public pursuant
to the Constitution or laws of this state or
by court rule or order.

e An entity that is subject to the federal
“Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996.”

Section 2 amends 8§ 24-72-204(3)(a)(1V)
C.R.S., to include the social security number
unless disclosure of the number is required,
permitted, or authorized by state or federal law.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 31, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2007

HB 06-1254
Concerning co-ownership of real property.

Section 1, Part 1 amends § 38-31-101, C.R.S.,
to clarify that a joint tenancy in real property
must be between natural persons and cannot
include legal entities, with an exception. The
amended section also creates the exception
that a conveyance to two or more personal
representatives, trustees or other fiduciaries
(even if one or more of the fiduciaries is an
entity and not a person) is presumed to create
an estate in joint tenancy. This is a statutory
presumption and the joint tenancy designation
is not required. Other than the noted
exception, the establishment of a joint tenancy
must be specified on the conveyance
document; the bill broadens the language that
can be used to establish a joint tenancy by
including the abbreviation “JTWROS”, “in joint
tenancy”, and “as joint tenants”.

The bill rephrases § 38-31-102, C.R.S. The
section provides that the recorded death
certificate of a joint tenant owning real property
must be accompanied by a recorded
supplementary affidavit. The revised statute
identifies requirements for the contents of the
supplementary affidavit, which includes a legal
description of the property.

The bill also revised § 38-31-103 C.R.S,, to
provide for an affidavit of death signed and
sworn to by two people of legal age and
certifying to the death of the person who held
title as a joint tenant. This applies to both in-
state and out-of-state deaths, when a death
certificate cannot be obtained. The affidavit by
two people is an alternative to the death
certificate and supplementary affidavit for
showing death as a matter of record to
evidence title in the surviving joint tenant(s).
The revised statute identifies requirements for
the contents of the affidavit of death. This
affidavit may also be used to provide proof of
the death of a life tenant or any other person
whose record interest in real property
terminates upon the death of the person and
the date and place of death of the life tenant or
other person to the same extent as a joint
tenant.



Section 1, Part 2 adds a new section
§ 38-31-201, C.R.S., which states that no
conveyance of real property in Colorado shall
create a tenancy by the entirety. A
conveyance on or after July 1, 2006, purporting
to create a tenancy by the entirety shall be
presumed to create a joint tenancy.

For Informational Purposes Only

Tenancy by the entirety is a form of ownership
created by a conveyance to a husband and
wife. It is an indivisible type of ownership
which requires both husband and wife to
execute any conveyance or mortgage. In
tenancy by the entirety, each tenant effectively
owns the entire estate. Therefore, neither can
deal with the property independently of the
other.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 31, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006

HB 06-1275

Concerning the determination of the actual
value for property tax purposes of property
used to generate electricity from wind.

Section | of this bill amends the definition of a
“public utility” found in 88 39-4-101(3)(a) and
(b), C.R.S., to include “wind energy facility.” A
new subsection § 39-4-101(4), C.R.S., defines
a “wind energy facility” as a new facility first
placed in production on or after January 1,
2006, that uses property, real and personal,
including one or more wind turbines,
leaseholds, and easements, to generate and
deliver to the interconnection meter any source
of electrical or mechanical energy by
harnessing the kinetic energy of the wind.

Section 2 amends § 39-4-102(1)(e), C.R.S., by
including language excluding energy
generated from a wind energy facility from the
definition of renewable energy.

Section 2 contains a new subsection, (1.5),
that defines how the Administrator determines
the actual value of a wind energy facility. The
general assembly declares that consideration
of the cost and market approach of a wind
energy facility by the administrator results in
valuations that are neither uniform nor just and
equal. Therefore in the absence of
preponderant evidence shown by the
administrator that the use of the cost and
market approach results in uniform, just, and
equal valuation, a wind energy facility shall be

valued based solely upon the income
approach. The actual value of a wind energy
facility shall be at an amount equal to a tax
factor times the selling price at the
interconnection meter. The “interconnection
meter” is defined as the meter located at the
point of delivery of energy to the purchaser.
The “selling price” is the gross taxable revenue
realized by the taxpayer from the sale of
energy at the interconnection meter. “Tax
factor” means a factor annually established by
the administrator. It shall be a number that
when applied to the selling price at the
interconnection meter results in approximately
the same tax revenue over a twenty-year
period that would have been collected using
the cost basis method of taxation as
determined by the administrator for a
renewable energy facility pursuant to
8§ 39-4-102(1)(e), C.R.S.

For purposes of calculating the tax factor, an
owner or operator of a wind energy facility shall
provide a copy of their current purchase power
agreement to the administrator by April 1 of
each assessment year. The administrator also
has the authority to request a copy of the
current purchase power agreement from the
purchaser of power generated at a wind
energy facility. These documents shall be
considered private documents and available
only to the Administrator and the employees of
the Division of Property Taxation.

The location of a wind energy facility on real
property shall not affect the classification of
that real property for purposes of determining
the actual value of the real property.

No actual value for any personal property used
in a wind energy facility shall be assigned until
such personal property is first put into use by
the facility. If any personal property is used in
the facility and is subsequently taken out of
service so that no wind energy is produced
from that facility for the preceding calendar
year, no actual value shall be assigned to that
property of more than five percent of the
installed cost of the item for that assessment
year.

Governor Owens allowed the bill to become law
without his signature
Effective Date: January 1, 2006



HB 06-1295

Concerning the salaries of county officers,
and, in connection therewith, implementing
the recommendations of the County Elected
Officials’ Salary Commission.

The bill implements the recommendations of
the County Elected Official's Salary
Commission by:

¢ Increasing the salaries of county officers.

e Establishing the salary of county surveyors
and allowing a board of county
commissioners to pay additional
compensation to a surveyor for services in
addition to the surveyor’s official duties.

Section 1 amends § 30-2-102(1)(e), C.R.S., by
removing Dolores, Jackson, Kiowa, Mineral
and Sedgwick counties from Category V and
adds a new subsection (1)(f) which creates a
Category VI for the aforementioned counties
removed from Category V.

Section 2 amends § 30-2-102, C.R.S., by
adding a new subsection (2.2) that establishes
the annual salary of a county officer whose
term of office begins on or after January 1,
2007. This section also amends § 30-2-
102(2.8)(b), C.R.S., by adding coroners and
surveyors to those county officers whose
salaries have been fixed by law through the
enactment of this section. The annual salaries
for the assessors, clerks, treasurers and
county commissioners shall be as follows:

Assessors,
Clerks,and County
Treasurers Commissioners

Category | $ 87,300 $ 87,300
Category Il $ 72,500 $ 72,500
Category llI $ 58,500 $ 58,500
Category IV $49,700 $ 49,700
Category V $ 43,800 $ 43,800
Category VI $ 39,700 $ 39,700

Please see § 30-2-102(2.2), C.R.S. for a complete
listing.

Section 3 amends § 30-2-104(1)(a), C.R.S., to
include surveyors with the other officials that
may appoint deputies, assistants, and
employees as necessary.

Section 4 amends § 30-10-905(1), C.R.S,, to
allow the board of county commissioners to
pay additional compensation to a surveyor who
performs services for the county in addition to
the duties specified in § 30-10-903, C.R.S.

This compensation is paid out of the county
treasury.

Section 5 repeals § 30-2-108(1)(a), C.R.S.,
which specified the method of compensation
and mileage expense of the coroner.

Governor Owens allowed the bill to become law
without his signature

Effective Date: April 14, 2006; Effects salaries of
elected officials beginning January 1, 2007

HB 06-1319
Concerning the renewal of licenses for real
estate appraisers.

This bill amends 8 12-61-707(1), C.R.S. This
bill was introduced upon the recommendation
of the Colorado Board of Real Estate
Appraisers, Division of Real Estate within the
Department of Regulatory Agencies. The
rationale behind the bill was to set up a
schedule of renewal similar to what is currently
done for real estate brokers with staggered
renewal dates. The bill was to stagger the
renewal dates throughout the year, rather than
have only one expiration date of December 31
for each year.

Section 1 amends § 12-61-707(1)(a), C.R.S.,
by changing the expiration date on real estate
appraiser registrations, licenses, or certificates
from December 31 of the year of issuance on
an initial registration, or the second year
following for a renewal, to a schedule
established by the director and shall be
renewed or reinstated pursuant to this section.

The section also amends § 12-61-707(1)(b),
C.R.S., by changing the renewal deadline from
January 1 of the year succeeding the year of
expiration of such registration, license, or
certificate to the applicable renewal date
established by the director.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 17, 2006
Effective Date: August 9, 2006
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