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COLORADO PROPERTY TAX 
 
 
OVERVIEW 
The Colorado property tax system provides 
revenue exclusively for local government 
services.  The largest share of property tax 
revenue (50.7 percent) goes to support the 
state's public schools.  County 
governments claim the next largest share 
(27.2 percent), followed by special districts 
(16.0 percent), municipal governments (5.1 
percent), and junior colleges (1.0 percent). 
 
The authority for property taxation is both 
constitutional and statut ory.  Article X of 
the Colorado Constituti on provides that all 
property is taxable unless declared exempt 
by the Constitution, and that the actual 
value of taxable property shall be 
determined under the general laws to 
secure just and equalized valuations.  The 
specific statutes per taining to property 
taxation are found in Title 39, Articles 1 
through 14, Colorado Revised Statutes. 
 
Under the general laws of Colorado, 
county assessors are required to value all 
taxable property withi n their territorial 
jurisdictions.  The State Board of 
Equalization (state board) has supervision 
over the administrat ion of all laws 
concerning the valuation and assessment 
of taxable property  and the levying of 
property taxes.  The Division of Property 
Taxation (Division), under  direction of the 
Property Tax Administrator (administrator), 
coordinates the implementation of property 
tax law throughout the sixty-four counties. 
 
Revenue derived from 2005 property taxes 
(payable 2006) will increase statewide for 
every local government type.  The 
combined revenue increase from taxes 
payable in 2006 is 9.56 percent.  Table 1 
lists the percentage in creases in property 
tax revenue between taxes payable in 
2005 and taxes payable in 2006. 
 

Table 1 
Revenue Change by Entity Type for Tax 

Years 2004-2005 
Taxing Entity     % Increase

 School District K-12 .................... +     5.29% 
 Junior Colleges ........................... +   17.31% 
 Counties...................................... +   18.10% 
 Municipalities .............................. +     7.26% 
 Special Districts .......................... +   10.46% 
 Combined Increase................... +     9.56% 
 
Although the table above indicates that 
Colorado property tax revenue increased 
for 2005, at the local level the percentage 
change of tax revenue varied greatly, and 
numerous taxing entities experienced a 
decline in their property tax revenue, while 
others experienced dramatic increases.   
 
 
STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 
The State Board of Equalization consists of 
the Governor, the Pres ident of the Senate, 
the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives, or their designees, and 
two members appointed by the Governor 
with consent of the Senate.  Each 
appointed member must be a qualified 
appraiser, a former assessor, or a person 
who has knowledge and experience in 
property taxation.  The state board 
members for 2005 were Lyle C. Kyle, 
Chairperson and appointee of Governor 
Bill Owens; Heather Witwer, Vice-Chair 
and designee of Governor Owens;  
Michael Schuster, designee of Joan Fitz-
Gerald, President of the Senate; 
Representative Val Vigil, designee of 
Andrew Romanoff, Speaker of the House 
of Representatives; and JoAnn Groff, 
appointee of Governor Owens. 
 
Duties and Responsibilities 
The state board supervises the 
administration of property tax laws and the 
equalization of the values of classes and 
subclasses of taxable property.  Duties of 
the state board are found primarily in 
Article X, Sections 3 and 15 of the 
Colorado Constitution and in Title 39, 
Articles 1 and 9, Colorado Revised 
Statutes. 



Among its duties, the state board reviews 
the findings and conclusions of the annual 
study contractor and orders reappraisals in 
counties found not in compliance.  The 
annual study was initiated by a 1982 
amendment to the Constitution to ensure 
that all assessors va lue property at the 
same level of value, using standardized 
procedures and statisti cal measurements.  
The study is conducted by an independent 
auditing firm contracted by the Director of 
Research, Colorado Legislative Council,  
§ 39-1-104(16), C.R.S.  The study and the 
resulting orders of reappraisal are the 
primary means of ac hieving statewide 
equalization.   
 
The importance of the state board’s 
equalization function is due in part to the 
relationship that exists between assessed 
values and state aid to schools.  Generally, 
if the property in a sc hool district is under-
assessed, it is likely that the district will 
receive more state revenue than it is 
entitled.  When a reappr aisal order results 
in a determination that the affected school 
district(s) received too much state revenue, 
the state board will order  the county (not 
the school district) to pay back the excess 
funding.  During the 1980s and early 1990s 
this sometimes requir ed the repayment of 
substantial revenue to t he state.  In more 
recent years, significant improvements in 
the quality of county assessments have 
resulted in far fewer reappraisal orders and 
far smaller repayments of excess state aid 
to schools. 
 
The state board also reviews county 
Abstracts of Assessment, decisions of 
county boards of equalization (county 
board), and the policies and 
recommendations of the Property Tax 
Administrator.   
 
 
STATE BOARD ENFORCEMENT 
A brief history of enforcement actions by 
the state board follows: 
 
2005 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 11, 2005, the state board met 
to review the findings and conclusions of 

Rocky Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., 
annual study contractor for Legislative 
Council.  Based on t he findings, the state 
board issued a reappraisal order for 
Costilla County, it ordered Rio Grande 
County to change a classification 
procedure, and it ordered Jackson County 
to submit a plan for inspecting agricultural 
outbuildings.  The board also reviewed the 
results of a reappraisal order issued to 
Fremont County in 2004, and pursuant to 
the reappraisal, it ordered the repayment of 
excess state aid to schools and the cost of 
supervising the reappraisal. 
 
Costilla County was or dered to reappraise 
the residential class of property.  The 
annual study contractor had determined 
that the coefficient of dispersion for 
residential property was 19.3 percent, 
exceeding the standard of 15.99 percent. 
 
Rio Grande County was ordered to comply 
with a procedural requi rement stated in 
Volume 3, Chapter 5 of the Assessor’s 
Reference Library, that it use a soil survey 
conducted by the United States Natural 
Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) 
when classifying and valuing agricultural 
land.  The order is effective beginning with 
assessment year 2007.   
 
Jackson County was ordered to submit a 
plan detailing the methodologies and 
timeframes the county will use to physically 
inspect agricultural outbuildings.  The 
auditor had reported t hat although the 
value for the subclass was in compliance, 
the outbuildings had not been physically 
inspected for a number  of years.  The 
assessor submitted her plan at the 
December 2, 2005, m eeting of the state 
board, and it was approv ed.  The assessor 
must present a yearly report to the state 
board showing the status of the project. 
 
The state board review ed the results of a 
reappraisal ordered in 2004 for commercial 
and industrial property in Fremont County.  
The board determined that the reappraisal 
was successfully completed, and it ordered 
the county to make the following paybacks 
and reimbursements. 
 



      State Aid 
       Supervision to Schools 
 County  Reimbursement   Payback
Fremont ...........   $54,751   $131,263 
+ interest on state aid payback at 4% annually 
 
Since 1988, the stat e board has allowed 
counties to choose an alternative method 
of repaying the cost s associated with the 
state’s supervision of the reappraisal. This 
method, known as the “Bledsoe Plan,” 
authorizes counties to apply the 
supervision reimbursement money to the 
budgets of their assessors’ offices to 
enhance their operational effectiveness.   
 
The Fremont County Commissioners 
submitted a plan deta iling how they would 
direct the assessor to use the 
reimbursement money.  The board 
approved the county’s proposal and 
authorized repayment under the Bledsoe 
Plan.  
 
A history of prior year enforcement and 
repayment actions is described below. 
 
2004 Enforcement and Repayment 
On October 4, 2004, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of 
Rocky Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., 
annual study contractor for Legislative 
Council. 
 
After considering all evidence and 
testimony, the state board concluded that 
the Fremont County co mmercial/industrial 
property classes were out of compliance 
and issued an order of reappraisal to the 
county. 
 
2003 Enforcement and Repayment  
On October 14, 2003, the state board met 
to review the findings and conclusions of 
Rocky Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc., 
annual study contractor for Legislative 
Council. 
 
After considering all evidence and 
testimony, the state board concluded that 
2003 class values for all 64 counties were 
in compliance with Colorado assessment 

law, and no orders were issued requiring 
the reappraisal of a cl ass or sub-class of 
property. 
 
2002 Enforcement and Repayment  
On October 7, 2002, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of 
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study 
contractor for Legislative Council. 
 
After considering all evidence and 
testimony, the state board concluded that 
2002 class values for all 64 counties were 
in compliance with Colorado assessment 
law, and it issued no orders requiring the 
reappraisal of a class or sub-class of 
property. 
 
However, the state board issued an order 
to the Mesa County Board of Equalization 
requiring that it re scind its decision to 
remove the possessory interest valuations 
from two properties.  The order, and 
related correspondence with other 
counties, are discussed in more detail on 
page 36. 
 
2001 Enforcement and Repayment  
On October 15, 2001, the state board met 
to review the findings and conclusions of 
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study 
contractor for Legislative Council. 
 
The report by the annual  study contractor 
recommended that two counties receive 
reappraisal orders.  The recommendations 
were for the reappraisal of the commercial 
and industrial classes in Conejos County 
and the natural resources class in Routt 
County. 
 
In response, the counties testified that they 
had resolved the problems identified in the 
report.  Their testimony was supported by 
a representative of the annual study 
contractor, who confirmed that the 
company reviewed the revisions of both 
counties and that they were in compliance 
with the standards established by the state 
board.  Based on the testimony, the state 
board determined that t he values for the 
two counties, and Colorado’s 61 other 
counties, were in compliance with 



Colorado assessment law, and no 
reappraisals were ordered. 
 
2001 Possessory Interest Orders 
Pursuant to the Colorado Supreme Court’s 
decision in Board of County 
Commissioners, v. Vail Associates Inc., 19 
P.3d 1263 (Colo 2001), the state board 
unanimously voted on November 21, 2001, 
to order county assessors that were not 
parties to the case to value possessory 
interests beginning with tax year 2001.  
The order is discussed in more detail on 
page 35. 
 
2000 Enforcement and Repayment  
On October 10, 2000, the state board met 
to review the findings and conclusions of 
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study 
contractor for Legislative Council. 
 
After considering all evidence and 
testimony, the state board concluded that 
2000 property values for all 63 counties 
were in compliance with Colorado 
assessment law, and no reappraisals were 
ordered. 
 
The state board also reviewed the results 
of reappraisals ordered the prior year for 
vacant land in Park and Saguache 
Counties.  The state board determined that 
the reappraisals in both counties were 
successfully completed, and it ordered the 
counties to make the following paybacks 
and reimbursements. 
 
     State Aid 
       Supervision to Schools 
 County  Reimbursement   Payback
Park . ...............$  6,602 ................... $64 
Saguache ........$15,160 ................... $90 
 
The Saguache County Commissioners 
chose to employ the Bledsoe method and 
submitted a plan detailing how the money 
would be used to enhance the 
effectiveness of the assessor’s office.  The 
Park County Commissioners chose not to 
employ this method of repayment, and 
were ordered to pay the supervisory costs.  
 

1999 Enforcement and Repayment  
The vacant land reappraisal orders for 
Park and Saguache Counties were issued 
during the October 12,  1999, meeting of 
the state board.  At t he meeting, the state 
board also determined that Fremont 
County’s irrigated farmland was out of 
compliance.  The state board’s decisions 
were based on the 1999 findings and 
conclusions of annual study contractor 
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc.  
 
Vacant land values for Park County were 
found out of compliance because the 
reappraisal achieved a 26.46 percent 
coefficient of dispersion.  That figure 
exceeds the vacant land standard of 20.99 
percent.  Saguache vacant land was out of 
compliance because the median sales ratio 
of 93.06 percent fell outside the allowable 
range of 95.0 to 105.0 percent.   
 
A reappraisal of Fremont County’s irrigated 
land was ordered because the crop yield 
used for valuing the subclass was 125 
percent of the ten- year average yield 
reported by the Colo rado Agricultural 
Statistics Service (CASS).  This fell outside 
the state board’s comp liance standard of 
90 to 110 percent.  Upon receiving the 
order, the county made a uniform 
adjustment to its irri gated land values to 
achieve compliance with the state board 
standard prior to publishing the tax 
warrant. 
 
On December 3, 1999, the state board met 
and approved the plans for reappraisal 
submitted by Park and Saguache 
Counties.  The stat e board rescinded the 
reappraisal order for Fremont County upon 
receiving testimony from the Division of 
Property Taxation that  Fremont’s adjusted 
values for irrigated land were in 
compliance.   
 
1998 Enforcement and Repayment  
On October 5, 1998, the state board met to 
review the findings and conclusions of 
annual study contractor Thos. Y. Pickett & 
Co., Inc.  
 



After considering all evidence and 
testimony, the state board concluded that 
1998 property values for all 63 counties 
were in compliance with Colorado 
assessment law, and no reappraisals were 
ordered.  The prior year, the state board 
determined that the 1997 values for three 
counties were out of compliance, and 
issued the following reappraisal orders: 
 
County  Property Classes
L ake ...................Vacant land 
R outt ...................Agricultural subclasses 
Hinsdale...............Single family residential, 
  Vacant land,  
  Commercial/ Industrial,  
  Agricultural Improvements 
 
Upon recommendation of the auditor, the 
state board concluded during its 1998 
meeting, that the 1997 orders were justified 
and successfully completed.  It ordered the 
counties that received 1997 orders to make 
the following paybacks and 
reimbursements. 
 
     State Aid 
       Supervision to Schools 
 County  Reimbursement   Payback
L ake ...............$10,599 ..................... $  0 
R outt ..............$     878 ..................... $82 
Hinsdale.........$     959 ..................... $  7 
 
The counties chose the alternative 
repayment method of applying the 
supervisory costs to the budgets of the 
assessor’s offices.  
 
 
DIVISION OF PROPERTY TAXATION 
Under the general laws  of Colorado, the 
Property Tax Administrator heads the 
Division of Property Taxation.  The 
administrator is appoi nted by the State 
Board of Equalization to serve a five-year 
term, and, until a successor is appointed 
and qualified.  
 
A primary responsibility of the Division is to 
administer the implem entation of property 
tax law throughout the 64 counties so that 

valuations are fair, uniform, and defensible, 
thereby ensuring that each property class 
contributes only its fa ir share of the total 
property tax revenue.  In other words, the 
Division's goal is equalization of valuation 
and proper distribution of property taxes 
throughout the state. 
 
The Division is comprised of four sections: 
Administrative Resources, Appraisal 
Standards, Exempt Pr operties, and State 
Assessed Properties. 
 
Administrative Resources  
Administrative Resources prepares and 
publishes administrative manuals, 
procedures and instructions.  It conducts 
schools and seminars regarding the 
administrative functions of the assessors’ 
offices.  It conducts field studies and 
provides statewide assistance in title 
conveyance, mapping, abstracting 
valuations, certification of values to taxing 
entities, and feasibilit y studies.  The 
section also investigates taxpayer 
complaints. It is responsible for various 
studies and reports such  as the residential 
assessment rate study and the Property 
Tax Administrator’s Annual Report to the 
General Assembly and state board.  It also 
coordinates with agencies having an 
interest in property taxation.  In addition, 
the field staff works closely with assessors 
in all areas of property taxation. 
 
Appraisal Standards  
Appraisal Standards prepares and 
publishes appraisal manuals, procedures 
and instructions.  It holds schools and 
seminars regarding all ar eas of appraisal.  
It conducts field studies and provides 
statewide assistance in agricultural land 
classification, natural resources and 
personal property valuation, as well as 
assistance in the val uation of residential, 
commercial and industrial properties.  The 
section assists in reappraisal efforts, 
reviews internal appraisal forms used by 
assessors, and investigates and responds 
to taxpayer complaints. 
 



Exempt Properties 
The Exemptions section is responsible for 
determining qualification for exemption 
from property taxation for properties that 
are owned and used for religious, 
charitable and privat e school purposes.  
Currently exempt property owners are 
required to file annual  reports with the 
Division to continue exemption.  The 
section provides assistance to counties 
and taxpayers with inqui ries about exempt 
properties, conducts hearings on denied 
exemption applications and revocations of 
exemption, and defends appeals of such 
denials and revocations. 
 
Some exemptions statistics include:   
Annual reports filed and reviewed - approx. 
9,300 annually  
Applications received - about 700 annually 
Exemptions forfeited for failure to file 
annual report - 150–200 annually 
Decisions issued annually by the 
Administrator - approximately 750 
 
State Assessed Properties  
State Assessed values all public utilities 
and rail transportation companies doing 
business in Colorado.  The company 
valuations are t hen apportioned to the 
counties for collection of  local property tax.  
The section conducts research projects in 
connection with state assessed 
companies, assists counties and taxpayers 
with inquiries on the assessment of public 
utilities and rail transportation companies, 
hears protests of t he assigned values, and 
defends appeals of such valuations. 
 
 
2005 VALUE INFORMATION 
Statewide Assessed Values for 2005 
In Colorado, taxable property is classified 
according to its use as of January 1 of 
each year.  The property classes are listed 
below in Table 2.  Taxable property is 
divided into real property (land and 
buildings) and personal property.  For most 
classes, real property is valued for tax 
purposes during odd numbered years to an 
appraisal date of J une 30 of the year 
preceding the year in wh ich it is valued.  

However, certain property is valued every 
year, including personal  property, state 
assessed real and personal property, 
producing mines and oil and gas 
leaseholds and land.   
 
The assessed value of taxable property is 
a percentage of the actual value 
determined by the assessor.  That 
percentage is found in statute.  For most 
non-residential property, the assessed 
value is fixed at 29 per cent of the actual 
value.  For residential property, the 
assessment percentage is adjusted during 
odd-numbered years to maintain a 
consistent relationship over time between 
the tax revenue generated from residential 
verses non-residential property.  For 2005 
and 2006, the residential assessment rate 
stated in statute is 7. 96 percent, the same 
rate that was effective for tax years 2003 
and 2004. The residential assessment rate 
is discussed more beginning on page 17. 
 
For 2005, Colorado assessed values 
increased by $5.99 b illion, or 9.3 percent 
from the prior year.  The increase resulted 
from the general reapprai sal of property to 
the 2004 level of value.  It also reflects 
property constructed or  placed in service 
during 2004.  Table 2 displays the 
percentage changes by property class.   
 

Table 2 
Value Changes by Class 

      2004-2005  Percentage 
Class  Change       of Total

Vacant Land  + 13.7%            6.6%  
Residential +   8.7%          46.9% 
Commercial +   6.8%          27.9% 
Industrial +    2.7%           3.9% 
Agricultural +   1.2%            1.2% 
Natural Resources + 16.2%            0.4% 
Producing Mines +  37.3%           0.1% 
Oil & Gas + 29.4%            7.2% 
State Assessed +    6.1%           5.8% 
Net Total                    +   9.3%        100.0% 
 
For real property classified as vacant land, 
residential, commercial and industrial, the 
increases in value reflect market value 
changes that occurred between June 30, 
2002 and June 30, 2004, a time of low 



interest rates, a gradually improving 
economy, and changing priorities of 
investors.  The increases also reflect 
property newly constructed or placed in 
service during 2004.   
 
Unlike other classes, property classified as 
state assessed is valued annually by the 
Division of Property Taxation using unitary 
valuation procedures.  The state assessed 
class includes property owned by public 
utilities, airlines and railroads.  The State 
Assessed Section of the Division values 
each company and assigns a portion of the 
value to Colorado.  That value is then 
distributed to the appropriate counties 
based on where the company’s operating 
property or business activity is located.  
The 6.1 percent increase in state assessed 
value reflects a general improvement in the 
Colorado and national economies.  
 
The value established for agricultural land 
is based on the earning or productive 
capacity of the land regardless of the 
property’s market value or its highest and 
best use.  As a result, the actual values of 
agricultural property are often much lower 
than their market values and tend to be 
stable from year to year. 
 
Oil & Gas and Other Production Classes 
Since 2000, Colorado has experienced a 
240 percent increase in the total assessed 
value of the oil and gas  class.   Among the 
classes of taxable property, oil and gas 
now contains the third highest total 
assessed value, up from sixth highest in 
2000.  A recent hist ory of the assessed 
value for the class is shown below. 
 

Table 3 
Oil and Gas Class 

          (Billions) 
Year  Value       % of Total          Change
2000 $1.49 3.05% +  7.8% 
2001 $2.65 4.51% +78.5% 
2002 $2.80 4.62% +  5.6% 
2003 $2.20 3.55% - 21.4% 
2004 $3.91 6.04% +77.6% 
2005 $5.06 7.16% +29.4% 
 

The value of oil and gas land is calculated 
as a percentage of the sale price obtained 
for the product at t he wellhead.  This 
makes oil and gas among the most volatile 
of classes because the market prices of 
natural gas and crude oil can change 
considerably from year to year.  When the 
prices rise or fall, the production volumes 
of the commodities tend to increase or 
decrease in harmony with the changes in 
price, magnifying t he effect of price 
changes on the assessed value of the 
property class.   For example, natural gas 
production in 2003 (2004 values) was 
approximately 1,307,403,000 MCFs with 
an average price of $4. 54 per MCF.  By 
comparison, the 2002 production (2003 
values) was approximately 832,380,000 
MCFs with an average price of $2.42 per 
MCF. 
 
The value of land in the other production 
classes, natural resources and producing 
mines, is also calculated as a percentage 
of the money obtai ned from selling the 
product.  Like oil and gas, producing mines 
values are subject to a high level of 
volatility, but the cl ass comprises only 0.1 
percent of the state’s total value.  Ninety-
nine percent of that va lue is located in the 
counties of Clear Cr eek, Grand, Lake, and 
Teller.  The primary mineral produced in 
the first three counties is molybdenum, 
while in Teller it is gold.  Due to the small 
number of mining operations in Colorado, 
the total value is sensitive not only to 
changes in commodity prices, but also to 
business decisions of the operators and to 
decisions rendered on property tax 
appeals.   
 
Regional and Local Values in 2005 
The 9.3 percent increase did not occur 
uniformly across Colorado.  At the county 
level, the changes in  value ranged from an 
increase of 43.65 per cent in San Juan 
County to a decrease of 5.74 percent in 
Huerfano County.  The range of value 
changes is more dramatic when observed 
at the taxing entity level.   
 
Counties with the great est increases fall 
primarily into two gr oups: those with large 



percentage increases to the residential 
class and those with a la rge portion of their 
value comprised of oil and gas property. 
Twelve of the thir teen counties with the 
greatest increases in residential value for 
2005 are western slope counties.  
Generally, these counties also saw large 
increases in the values of commercial 
property and vacant land.   
 
Although oil and gas property comprises 
only 7.16 percent of the state’s total 
assessed value, over 95 percent of that 
value is concentrated in ten counties.  Two 
of those counties, Las Animas and Rio 
Blanco, have about 70 percent of their 
taxable value classified as oil and gas.  
This is significant because the 
Constitutional Taxpayer Bill of Rights 
(TABOR) prohibits a mill levy increase 
without voter approval.  The restriction can 
subject the tax base of certain local 
governments to the volatility inherent to the 
oil and gas class.  Tabl e 4 lists the top ten 
oil and gas producing counties for 2005 
along with their increases in total value. 

 
Table 4 

Counties With Highest Oil & Gas Value  
County    % Change          % in O&G
1)   La Plata + 16.76%    60.72%                 
2)   Weld  + 20.74% 35.42% 
3)   Garfield + 41.22% 55.54% 
4)   Las Animas + 15.58% 70.08% 
5)   Rio Blanco + 27.69% 69.82% 
6)   Moffat  + 14.33% 24.38% 
7)   Montezuma + 15.70% 30.71% 
8)   Yuma  +   8.55% 42.86% 
9)   Cheyenne + 12.35% 66.67% 
10) San Miguel + 28.92% 9.15% 

Table 5 lists the value changes for each 
county for 2005. 
 
Personal Property in 2005 
Colorado is one of 39 st ates that impose a 
tax on business personal property ( Fair & 
Equitable, P. 6, 05/04).  In 2005, personal 
property accounted for 12.08 percent of 
Colorado’s property tax base, but that 
percentage varied substantially from 
county to county.  Although most personal 
property is assessed locally, nearly 44 
percent of personal pr operty is classified 
as state assessed.  In 2005, 90.8 percent 
of the state assessed property value was 
personal.  All taxable personal property is 
assessed at 29 percent of its actual value.   
 
Under the Colorado Constitution and 
statutes, certain ca tegories of business 
personal property ar e exempt from 
taxation, including equipment used for 
agricultural purposes, business inventory, 
materials and supplies held for 
consumption, and personal property under 
common ownership with a total actual 
value of no more than $2,500 per county.  
In addition, a provision found in the 
constitution, allows any taxing entity to 
“enact cumulative uniform exemptions and 
credits to reduce or end business personal 
property taxes,” § 20(8)(b), art. X, COLO. 
CONST. 
 
Table 6 lists the state assessed, locally 
assessed and total taxable personal 
property by county, and the percentage of 
value comprised of personal property. 



 



 



RESIDENTIAL ASSESSMENT RATE 
In 1982, the electorate passed 
Constitutional Amendment One.  A portion 
of the amendment dealt with the residential 
assessment rate, and that portion is 
referred to as the “Gallagher Amendment.”   
 
The purpose of the Gallagher Amendment 
is to stabilize resident ial real property’s 
share of the statewi de property tax base.  
From 1958 to 1982, the percentage of total 
assessed value comprised of residential 
property increased from 29 to 44 percent.  
This occurred primarily because market 
value increases to residential property 
greatly outpaced market value increases to 
non-residential property.   
 
To counter this trend, The Gallagher 
Amendment requires a biennial adjustment 
of the residential assessment rate to 
ensure that the rate  of change to the 
state’s total assessed value be the same 
for both residential and non-residential 
property, after excluding certain categories 
of value.  The excluded categories are new 
construction, destroyed property, and 
changes in production volumes of natural 
resources property.  The current residential 
assessment rate is 7.96 percent of 
assessed value.  In contrast, the 
assessment rate for most classes of non-
residential property is fixed at 29 percent.  
A history of changes to the residential 
assessment rate is shown in Table 7. 
 

Table 7 
         Residential 

Years     Assessment Rate 
Prior to 1983 ................................. 30% 
1983-1986..................................... 21% 
1987.............................................. 18% 
1988.............................................. 16% 
1989-1990..................................... 15% 
1991-1992..................................... 14.34% 
1993-1994..................................... 12.86% 
1995-1996..................................... 10.36% 
1997-1998..................................... ..9.74% 
1999-2000..................................... ..9.74% 
2001-2002..................................... ..9.15% 
2003-2004…………………………....7.96% 
2005-2006…………………………....7.96%  

Adjustment of the residential assessment 
rate is governed by § 3( 1)(b) of Article X of 
the Colorado Constitution and  
§ 39-1-104.2(5), C.R.S.   During years of 
change in the level of value (odd numbered 
years), the legislature is required to enact 
into law the residential assessment rate 
estimated to achieve the same percentage 
split between residential and non-
residential property that existed in the prior 
year, except for the excluded categories.  
The residential portion of the split, or 
“target percentage,” is also enacted into 
law.   The target percentage itself is 
adjusted to account for the excluded items.  
The current residential target percentage is 
47.22 percent.   
 
Section 39-1-104.2(5)(c), C.R.S., requires 
the Property Tax Administrator to complete 
a documented study, calc ulating the target 
percentage and estimating the residential 
assessment rate needed to achieve it.  The 
findings are used by the legislature for 
enacting the new target percentage and 
residential assessment rate.      
 
2005 Residential Rate Calculation 
Three major calculations are required to 
determine the residential assessment rate.  
(NOTE:  our exam ple portrays the 
calculations for the 2005-2006 level of 
value period): 
 
1) Calculate the 2005 Target Percentage - 
The 2003 target perc entage was adjusted 
to account for new construction, destroyed 
property and changes to the volumes of 
natural resources production.  To do so, a 
hypothetical total assessed value of 
residential property in 2003 was calculated 
that, if achieved, would have resulted in 
residential property comprising exactly 
47.08 percent (rounded) of the total taxable 
assessed value. The value of 2003 and 
2004 residential net new construction was 
then added to that figur e.  The value of 
2003 and 2004 non-residential net new 
construction and the values associated 
with changes in producti on volumes of the 
natural resources classes were added to 
the total assessed value of 2003 non-
residential property.  The new target 



percentage of 47.22 percent represents the 
residential portion of the total adjusted 
value. 
 
2) Estimate 2005 values –  Because the 
residential assessment rate study is 
completed prior to t he establishment of 
new actual and assessed values, the most 
sensitive step involves an estimation of 
what those values will be.  In 
November/December 2004, employees of 
the Administrative Resources Section 
interviewed the assessor and appropriate 
staff in every county to obtain their 
estimates of value changes.  In addition, a 
linear regression technique known as time 
trending was used to develop estimates 
from county sales data.  For the oil and gas 
class, a statewide estimate was developed 
using data obtained from  the Colorado Oil 
and Gas Conservation Commission.  For 
state assessed property, appraisers in the 
State Assessed Section estimated value 
changes for the industries they value, 
resulting in an overall estimate for the state 
assessed class.  The value estimates in 
this step do not include 2005 new 
construction.  
 
3) Calculate the new rate – The 2005 study 
calculated a new residential assessment 
rate of 8.17 percent.  That figure, when 
multiplied by the estima ted actual value of 
residential property, results in an assessed 
value estimate that is 47.22 percent 
(rounded) of the estimated 2005 total 
taxable value.  In other words, it is the rate 
estimated to achieve the 2005 target 
percentage.  
 
Although the study indicated that the rate 
should be adjusted upward to 8.17 percent, 
Section 20(4) of Arti cle X of the Colorado 
Constitution, prohibits an increase of the 
rate without statewide voter approval.  
Therefore, the legisl ature maintained the 
residential assessment rate at 7.96 percent 
for tax years 2005 and 2006.   
 
Shift of Assessed Values & Tax Burden  
Table 8, on the following page, calculates 
the savings to residential taxpayers from 
the inception of t he Gallagher Amendment 
through 2005.  It does so by comparing the 

taxes paid by residential property owners 
to an estimate of the taxes they would 
have paid had the Gallagher Amendment 
not been enacted.  The estimated savings 
to residential property owners is 
$10,191,284,817. 
 
The table begins with 1987, because the 
residential assessment rate remained at 21 
percent until 1987.  T he contents of each 
row in the table are described below. 
 
Row 1. Hypothetical residential 
  assessment rate of 21 

percent. 
 
Row 2. Actual residential assessment 

rate for each particular year. 
 
Row 3. Actual average mill levy. 
 
Row 4. Hypothetical average mill levy, 

had the residential rate been 
21 percent every year.  This is 
calculated by dividing the total 
actual revenue received in 
each year (Row 9), by the 
total assessed value, had the 
residential rate been 21 
percent  (Row 8). 

 
Row 5. Actual total residential 

assessed value.   
 
Row 6. Actual total statewide 

assessed value as certified by 
county commissioners when 
mill levies were certified. 

 
Row 7. Total hypothetical residential 

assessed value, had the 
residential rate remained at 
21 percent. 

 
Row 8. Hypothetical total assessed 

value, had the residential 
assessment rate remained at 
21 percent. 

 
Row 9. Total actual statewide 

property tax revenue. 
 
Row 10. Total hypothetical tax revenue 

attributable to residential 
property, had the residential 
rate remained at 21 percent.  



This is calculated by 
multiplying the hypothetical 
mill levy at 21 percent (Row 4) 
by the hypothetical residential 

  assessed value at 21 percent 
(Row 7). 

 
Row 11. Total actual property tax 

revenue. 
 
Row 12. Savings to residential 

taxpayers, Row 10 minus  
Row 11. 

 
Table 9, illustrates the effect of Gallagher 
on the statewide assessed value of 
residential property since 1983.  As the 
table shows, the per centage of actual 
value attributable to residential property 
has increased dramatica lly during the last 
21 years, from 53.20 percent in 1983 to 
77.78 percent today.  At the same time, the 
percentage of assessed value comprising 
residential property remained essentially 
stable, with only slight  changes over time 
resulting from new construction and 
increased minerals production. 
 



 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 



 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 



 



PROTESTS, APPEALS, ABATEMENTS 
Protests and Appeals 
Colorado statutes mandate a process that 
allows taxpayers the opportunity to 
challenge the actual value established by 
the assessor.  The process begins with the 
taxpayer’s protest to the assessor.  Upon 
receiving a protest, the assessor reviews 
the issues raised, and either adjusts or 
maintains the actual value established for 
the property.  Taxpayers who disagree with 
the assessor’s decision can appeal to the 
county board of equalization.  Taxpayers 
who disagree with the county board’s 
decision have three choices for further 
appeal; they can appeal to the State Board 
of Assessment Appeals (BAA), district 
court, or binding arbitrat ion.  Decisions of 
the BAA and district court can be appealed 
to the Colorado Court of Appeals and 
ultimately to the Colorado Supreme Court.  
Decisions of an arbitrator are final.  
 
The number of protests and appeals varies 
greatly from county to county.  During 
2005, Larimer County received the 
greatest number of  appeals with 14,783 
while Kiowa County received none.  For 
many counties, the pr otest process places 
a significant strain on the resources of the 
assessor’s office.  Table 10 lists the 
protests and county board appeals for 
each county during the last three 
reappraisal years, organized according to 
the county officer pay categories 
established in § 30-2-102,  C.R.S.  For the 
purpose of this t able, The Cities and 
Counties of Denver  and Broomfield are 
placed in category one.  Table 11 provides 
a summary of protest and appeal statistics.   
 
Taxpayers can protest and appeal in 
reappraisal years ( odd numbered years) 
and in intervening years (even numbered 
years).  However, t he number of protests 
and appeals is higher in reappraisal years.  
 
Abatements 
Abatement petitions c an be filed for taxes 
erroneously or illegally levied, for 
overvaluation, or for an assessment error.  
Taxpayers who filed a protest can file an 

abatement petition only fo r a clerical error 
or an illegality, but not for an overvaluation.  
The question of overvaluation involves 
appraisal judgment, which was reviewed 
during the protest, if a protest was filed.   
 
Abatement petitions can be filed up to two 
years after the date the taxes are due.  
Because abatement petit ions are filed on 
taxes already levied, the abated or 
refunded taxes constitute lost revenue to 
the affected local gov ernments; however,  
§ 39-10-114(1)(a)(I)(B), C.R.S., and case 
law, authorize loca l governments to 
recover abated taxes through an increase 
in mill levies.  Table 12 displays the taxes 
abated during 2003, 2004, and 2005. 



 



 





SENIOR CITIZEN EXEMPTION 
In 2003, budget constraints forced the 
Colorado Legislature to temporarily 
suspend state funding for the senior citizen 
property tax homes tead exemption, 
eliminating the tax benef it for property tax 
years 2003-2005.  The exemption is 
scheduled to return for 2006 taxes, 
payable January 2007. 
 
The exemption was enacted by voters in 
2000 with the passage of  Section 3.5, 
Article X of the Colo rado Constitution.  It 
became effective in 2002.  As enacted, the 
exemption reduced the actual value of a 
residential property by 50 percent, up to a 
maximum reduction of $100,000.  The 
amendment authorized the Colorado 
Legislature to adjust the amount of value to 
which the 50 percent ex emption is applied.  
For tax years 2003-2005, Senate Bill 03-
265 changed the exempt ion amount from 
50 percent of the first $200,000 to 50 
percent of $0.  It retu rns to 50 percent of 
the first $200,000 for assessment year 
2006. 
 
Although funding has been suspended, 
counties and the state continue to 
administer the program.  Each year, the 
assessor is required to mail a notice to all 
residential property ow ners that explains 
the existence of the ex emption.  Qualifying 
seniors have until July 15 to apply for the 
exemption, and once gr anted, the exempt 
status remains in effect for future years 
until a change in the ownership or 
occupancy requires its removal.  To 
qualify, on January 1 a senior must be at 
least 65 years old and must have owned 
and occupied the property as his or her 
primary residence for ten or more 
consecutive years.   
 
In 2005, counties processed approximately 
1,5000 new applications, and the 
exemption was granted to  most of them.  
Currently 138,674 properties are approved 
for the exemption.  Applicants denied the 
exemption have the right to appeal the 
denial to the county board of equalization, 
comprised of the county commissioners.   
 

No later than October 10, the assessor is 
required to send the Division an electronic 
list of the exemptions  granted, including 
the names and social security numbers of 
each person occupying the property.  The 
Division then uses t hat data to identify 
individuals who were granted the 
exemption on more than one property, and 
denies the exemption on each.  In 2005, 
the Division denied exemptions on 33 
properties owned by 19 applicants.   
 
The senior exemption program does not 
result in a loss of revenue to local 
governments.  Instead, the state 
reimburses the local governments for the 
tax revenue exempted.   
 
No later than April 1, county treasurers 
send the State Treasurer an itemized list of 
the exemptions granted and taxes 
exempted.  No later than April 15, the State 
Treasurer reimburses the local 
governments for the lost revenue.  In 2003, 
the State Treasurer  reimbursed local 
governments $61,490,941 for exemptions 
granted in 2002. 



AGRICULTURAL TIMBERLAND 
In 1990, the Colorado Legislature passed 
HB 90-1229, expanding the definition of 
“agricultural land” to include forested land 
that meets certain requirements.  The 
definition reads as follows: 
 

“A parcel of land that  consists of at 
least forty acres, that is forest land, 
that is used to produce tangible wood 
products that orig inate from the 
productivity of such land for the 
primary purpose of obtaining a 
monetary profit, that is subject to a 
forest management pl an, and that is 
not a farm or ranch, as defined in 
subsections (3.5) and (13.5) of this 
section.  "Agricultural land" under this 
subparagraph (II) includes land 
underlying any residential 
improvement located on such 
agricultural land.” 
§ 39-1-102(1.6)(a)(II), C.R.S. 

 
Since the enactment of the statute, 
numerous owners have taken advantage of 
it to secure significant tax reductions by 
developing "forest management plans" on 
what otherwise would be classified as 
vacant or residential improved land.  This 
has resulted in a loss of revenue for the 
2005 tax year to the following counties that 
have "agricultural timberland."  The results 
are detailed in Table 13.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Table 13 

   Assessed 
      Value  Loss of 
County   Difference Revenue 
Archuleta $  2,627,490 $  141,216 
Boulder $  5,375,870 $  361,402 
Chaffee $  2,315,979 $    98,677 
Clear Creek $     649,910 $    50,454 
Custer $     506,660 $    28,467 
Douglas $  7,056,559 $  603,586 
Eagle $  2,259,260 $    92,361 
El Paso $     563,600 $    41,447 
Elbert $     107,421 $      7,942 
Garfield $      60,950 $      3,367 
Gilpin $  1,516,781 $    64,998 
Grand $14,178,050 $1,345,660 
Gunnison $       38,500 $      1,623 
Hinsdale $       21,120 $         764 
Jackson $        12,202 $         563 
Jefferson $ 10,130,419 $  883,923 
Lake $     585,243 $    45,049 
La Plata $15,876,907 $  476,307 
Larimer $  3,298,436 $  233,167 
Mesa $       68,410 $      4,155 
Montrose $       24,330 $      1,370 
Ouray $       41,705 $      3,019 
Park $     672,464 $    34,027 
Pitkin $      83,140 $      5,616 
Rio Blanco $     778,453 $      5,655 
Routt $  6,834,124 $  376,548 
San Miguel $  3,122,023 $  100,532 
Summit $  1,260,815 $   57,977 
Teller $  2,256,000 $  146,351 

TOTAL $82,322,821 $5,216,223 
 
An estimated 50.7 perc ent of this lost 
revenue, or $2,644,625 would have gone 
to the local school districts.  



HISTORY OF POSSESSORY INTEREST 
Overview 
Generally, a possessory interest 
constitutes a right to the possession and 
use of government proper ty for a period of 
time less than perpetuity.  It represents a 
portion of the bundle of  rights that would 
normally be included in a fee ownership, 
and its value is typically something less 
than the value in perpet uity of the whole 
bundle of rights.  For property tax 
purposes, the Division of Property Taxation 
defines possessory interest as:  A private 
property interest in government-owned 
property or the right  to the occupancy and 
use of any benefit in government-owned 
property that has  been granted under 
lease, permit, license, concession, 
contract, or other agreement.   

A question of considerable concern to 
Colorado assessors has been whether a 
possessory interest in government owned 
property, such as a ski  resort’s permit to 
use Forest Service land, represents a 
taxable interest, even though the 
government’s fee intere st in the land is 
exempt.  The issue has evolved through a 
series of court decisions and legislation, 
culminating in t he February 26, 2001, 
Colorado Supreme Court decision in the 
consolidated cases Board of County 
Commissioners, County of Eagle, State of 
Colorado v. Vail Associates Inc. and the 
Board of Assessment Appeals and Allen S. 
Black et al. v. Colorado State Board of 
Equalization, 19 P.3d 1263 (Colo 2001).   
 
By a four to three majority, the Supreme 
Court reversed decisions of the Court of 
Appeals, and affirmed the taxable status of 
possessory interests in government-owned 
property.  The court declared that portions 
of the recently enacted statute, § 39-3-136, 
C.R.S., were unconstitutional, because 
they created an exempti on that did not fall 
within any of the ex emption categories 
specified in Article X, of the Colorado 
Constitution.  Section 3 of Article X is 
quoted in part as follows:  “Each property 
tax levy shall be uniform upon all real and 
personal property not exempt from taxation 
under this article….” 

To better understand the decision, the 
following narrative traces the history of the 
possessory interest debate, from the 
original Mesa Verde case to the court’s 
decision in Vail Associates. 
 
Mesa Verde I 
In 1967, Mesa Verde Company filed an 
abatement/refund petition with Montezuma 
County seeking a refund of property taxes 
paid “under protest” since 1937.  Mesa 
Verde claimed that the improvements on 
which the company was taxed were 
exempt, because they were owned by the 
federal government.  The petition was 
denied by the county board of equalization, 
and the company appealed to district court.  
The court dismissed the appeal, ruling it 
must look “behind the shadow of the 
United States’ title to the substantive 
ownership of plaintiff.”  The court ruled that 
Mesa Verde “had subs tantially all the 
incidents of ownership of these 
improvements” making them subject to 
taxation.  Mesa Verde appealed the court’s 
decision to the Supreme Court.  
 
In Mesa Verde Company v. Montezuma 
County Board of Commissioners, et al., 
178 Colo 49, 495 P.2d 229 (Colo. 1972), 
the Colorado Supreme Court affirmed the 
district court’s ruling.  The court noted that 
the contracts with t he Secretary of the 
Interior granted Mesa Verde “...a 
possessory interest in all concessionaire’s 
improvements consisting of all incidents of 
ownership.…”  The court stated that based 
on “...the contracts’ terms, the language of 
relevant statutes, and the actions of the 
parties while under contract...” it was able 
to conclude there was support in the record 
for the trial court’s finding.   
Of significance is the court’s finding that 
legal title vested in the United States only 
for collateral security purposes for 
performance conditions is not conclusive 
evidence of ownersh ip by the United 
States.  In addition, since significant 
incidents of the plaint iff’s ownership exist, 
the property should not be exempt from 
taxation. 
 



Enactment of § 39-3-112, C.R.S. 
(amendments followed) 
The legislature entered the debate in 1975 
with the passage of an act titled 
“Concerning the taxation of a possessory 
interest in property otherwise exempt from 
taxation.”  The act created § 39-3-112, 
C.R.S., which is quoted in part as follows.   
 

“When any property which for any 
reason is exempt from taxation is 
leased, loaned, or otherwise made 
available to and used by a private 
individual, association, or corporation 
in connection with a business 
conducted for profit, the lessee or 
user thereof shall be subject to 
taxation in the same amount and to 
the same extent as though the lessee 
or user were the owner of such 
property,...” § 39-3-112(1), C.R.S. 

 
Although § 39-3-112, C.R.S., clearly stated 
the legislature’s in tention that most 
possessory interests be taxed, it exempted 
certain possessory interests, such as 
agricultural land and public utility 
easements, from the provisions of the 
statute. 
 
During the years that followed, the 
legislature amended the statute with 
several new exemptions to possessory 
interest taxation. 
 
• SB 76-029 amended § 39-3-112(4), 

C.R.S., to exempt, for the term of an 
existing lease, property owned by a 
municipality and leased to a private 
entity in connection with a business, 
when the lease was initiated prior to 
July 1, 1976.  

 
• HB 79-1531 amended  

§ 39-3-112(4)(c), C.R.S., to exempt 
possessory interests in publicly 
owned property when the use “…is 
by way of lease of or a concession in 
or relative to the use of public airport, 
park, market, fairground, or similar 
property which is available to the use 
of the general public.”  Ski area 
property was specifically excluded 

from the exemption, and it continued 
to be valued by procedures stated in 
subsection six for federal lands used 
for recreational purposes. 

 
• HB 79-1021 amended § 39-3-112(1), 

C.R.S., to exempt real property 
furnished to a government contractor 
that “…maintains permanent records 
substantiating the terms of such 
contract,” and to exempt possessory 
interests in property used by airline 
companies.  The bill also amended  
§ 39-3-112(5), C.R.S., to exempt 
possessory interests in land owned 
by the state of Colorado and 
managed by the State Board of Land 
Commissioners. 

 
•  HB 83-1575 amended the “public 

airport” exemption found in  
§ 39-3-112(4)(c), C.R.S, to include 
property owned by an authority 
created by the Public Airport 
Authority Act, and to limit the 
exemption to property located 
“…within the boundaries of a public 
airport [that] is directly related to the 
ordinary function of the airport.” 

 
• HB 88-1015 amended § 39-3-112(6), 

C.R.S., to specify that “the 
possessory interest, and only the 
possessory interest…” in federal 
lands used for recreational purposes 
be taxed.  It also provided more 
detailed procedures for the valuation 
of possessory interests in 
recreational lands. 

 
Rockwell Case 
In 1980, the U.S. 10t h Circuit Court of 
Appeals ruled in the United States of 
America v. State of Colorado, et al., 627 
F.2d 217 (1980) (Rockwell Case), that 
management contracts do not create a 
possessory interest in property that is used 
in conjunction with t he agreement.  This 
case concerned the Rocky Flats Nuclear 
Weapons Plant and the operator/manager, 
Rockwell International.  The court 
determined that the relationship between 
the government and Rockwell was such 



that the company  operated under a 
management contract, and any use of the 
property was strictly  delineated by the 
contract so it di d not fall under the 
description of possessory interest.  
 
Southern Cafeteria Case 
In 1983, the Colorado Court of Appeals 
cited the “Rockwell Case” in Southern 
Cafeteria, Inc. v. Property Tax 
Administrator, et al., 677 P.2d 362 (Colo. 
App. 1983) (Southern Cafeteria), ruling that 
management contracts cannot be valued 
as a possessory interest.  Once again, the 
court found that t he taxpayer had no 
“incidents of ownership” over the property.  
The government provi ded essentially all 
equipment, fixtures, and real property, 
monitored the pric ing structure, and 
maintained control ov er the amount of 
profit Southern Cafeteria could realize.  
 
§ 39-3-112, C.R.S., Repealed and  
§ 39-3-135, C.R.S., Enacted  
As part of a 1989 recodification of article 
three, HB-1098 repealed § 39-3-112, 
C.R.S., and reenacted the statute as  
§ 39-3-135, C.R.S.  No substantive 
changes to the law were made.  
 
Mesa Verde II 
Mesa Verde Company reentered the 
debate in 1992 when, under  an order from 
the Montezuma County Board of 
Equalization, the assessor placed an 
omitted property assessment on four 
parcels of land on which the company 
operated its concessions.  Mesa Verde 
Company still operated under a contract 
with the United States Government to 
manage the improvement s for the benefit 
of the general public.  Mesa Verde 
protested, then appeal ed to the county 
board of equalization, but was denied.  The 
taxpayer then appealed to district court, 
which ruled that:   

1. “Mesa Verde (did) not enjoy a 
taxable ‘ownership interest’ in the 
subject land.” (p. 3)   

2. “Mesa Verde’s use and possessory 
interest in the subject land was 

“...exempt from Colorado property 
tax under the plain language of 
sections, § 39-3-135(1) and  
§ 39-3-135(4)(c)...” (p.3), and  

3. Montezuma County had no standing 
to challenge the constitutionality of 
those portions of statute.  Mesa 
Verde Company v. the Montezuma 
County Board of Equalization et al., 
898 P.2d 1 (Colo. 1995).  

 
The Montezuma County Board of 
Equalization appealed the issue of 
standing directly to the Supreme Court.  In 
Mesa Verde Company v. Montezuma 
County Board of Equalization et al., 831 
P.2d 482 (Colo. 1992), the Supreme Court 
affirmed that the county board of 
equalization and assessor lacked standing 
to challenge the constitutionality of statute. 
 
Mesa Verde III 
The legislature passed SB 93-046 the 
following year, enacting § 30-11-105.1, 
C.R.S., to authorize counties or county 
officers, in defending an action in court, to 
contest the constitutiona lity of a statute.  
Subsequently, Montezuma County filed a 
motion in district c ourt to vacate its 
judgment in Mesa Verde II.    The court 
agreed to vacate part of its order regarding 
the county’s standing, but  kept other parts 
of the order in force until it could rule on 
the constitutionality of exemptions cited in 
§ 39-3-135(1) and § 39-3-135(4)(c), C.R.S.   
 
In October 1993, the district court denied 
the county’s motion to vacate its judgment, 
and instead ruled that the entirety of  
§ 39-3-135, C.R.S., was unconstitutional 
as applied to users of federal land because 
it violated the Supr emacy Clause of the 
United States Constitution.  The court held 
that neither the f ederal land nor any 
alleged interest of Mesa Verde in the 
federal land is subject to Colorado property 
taxation, and that the county had no 
authority to tax Mesa Verde’s use and 
possessory interest.  Montezuma County 
appealed to the Colorado Supreme Court. 
 



On April 24, 1995, in Mesa Verde Co. v. 
Montezuma County Board of Equalization 
et al., 898 P.2d 1 (Colo. 1995) , the 
Supreme Court revers ed the judgment of 
the district court, ruling that: 
 
• Mesa Verde Company’s possessory 

interest was “real property” within the 
meaning of statutory provisions 
defining real property for property tax 
purposes. 

 
• Mesa Verde Company’s possessory 

interest fell within the Government 
Contractor Exemption and the Public 
Park Exemption. However, those 
exemptions were invalid; they 
represented attempts by the 
legislature to exempt real property 
that the Colorado Constitution did 
not authorize the legislature to 
exempt. 

 
• The Supremacy Clause did not 

preclude the state’s taxation of the 
concessionaire’s possessory and 
usufructuary interests in federally 
owned land. 

 
• The resulting tax was valid because 

the Ski Area Valuation Rule (and not 
the unqualified As-if owned Rule) 
applied to determine valuation,  
§ 39-3-135(6), C.R.S.   

 
In reaching its decision, the Supreme Court 
ruled that the se cond sentence of  
§§ 39-3-135(1) and all of (4)(c) were 
unconstitutional because they created 
exemptions not authoriz ed by Article X of 
the Colorado Constitution.  The court also 
stated:  “…Furthermore, sections 9 and 10 
of Article X specifically proscribe the 
legislative power ‘to impair the financial 
base of government operations’ by 
exempting corporate bodies, such as Mesa 
Verde, from their s hare of taxation.  
Allardice v. Adams County, 173 Colo. 133, 
158, 476 P.2d 982, 995 (1970); see also 
Colo. Const. Art. X; Sections 9 & 10…”   
(p. 8). 
 
§ 39-3-135, C.R.S., Repealed § 39-3-136 
and § 39-1-103(17), C.R.S. Enacted 

In response to the Supreme Court’s 
decision in Mesa Verde III, the legislature 
passed SB 96-218.  The bill repealed  
§ 39-3-135, C.R.S., and enacted  
§ 39-3-136 and § 39-1-103(17), C.R.S. The 
legislation had the following effect on the 
taxation of possessory interests in exempt 
property:  
 
• It stated that possessory interests 

should not be taxed with the 
exception of:  1. equities in state 
lands, 2. mines, quarries, or 
minerals, including hydrocarbons, 
and 3. public utilities.   
§ 39-3-136(1)(h), C.R.S. 

 
• It repealed § 39-3-135, C.R.S., in its 

entirety and further stated that 
possessory interests in real or 
personal property exempt from 
taxation under § 39-3-136, C.R.S., 
shall not be subject to taxation 
unless specific statutory provisions 
are enacted directing the taxation of 
possessory interests. 

 
• It established procedures for valuing 

possessory interests that would take 
effect if possessory interests are 
found to be taxable under the 
Constitution, § 39-1-103(17), C.R.S. 

 
The stated concern of the legislature was 
the Supreme Court’s ho lding that certain 
possessory interests in land are “real 
property” and, therefore, subject to 
property taxation.  The legislature felt the 
decision opened the door for a variety of 
possessory interests such as grazing 
leases, permits on government land, or 
government employees’ parking spaces in 
government-owned garages becoming 
subject to property taxation.  Further, those 
interests could be valued by different 
methods. 
 
SB 96-218 was signed by Governor Romer 
on June 5, 1996, a month after the 
statutory date for mailing notices of 
valuation to taxpayers.  When the State 
Board of Equalization (state board) met on 
October 16, 1996, eighteen counties had 
not yet removed possessory interest 



valuations because they believed the 
legislation was unconstitutional.  The state 
board continued the hearing on possessory 
interests to October 28, 1996, so that 
counties had time to prepare 
presentations.  The board also informed 
the counties of its intention to uphold  
§ 39-3-136, C.R.S. 
 
Counties’ Challenge to 39-3-136, C.R.S. 
When the state board met on October 28, 
1996, fourteen countie s had not removed 
the possessory interest valuations.  The 
state board issued order s to each of the 
counties to remove the valuations, and it 
further ordered the counties to report back 
by November 13, 1996,  that the order had 
been implemented.  
 
The state board met on November 19, 
1996, to review the counties’ responses.  
Ten counties notified the state board that 
they had not removed the possessory 
interest valuations.  To protect remedies, 
Boulder County filed an appeal in Denver 
District Court Novem ber 13, 1996, Clear 
Creek County filed in Denver District Court 
November 13, 1996, and seven counties 
filed an action Novem ber 25, 1996.  The 
seven counties were Eagle, Grand, 
Jefferson, Montezuma, Pitkin, Routt, and 
Summit.  Gunnison County chose not to 
file an appeal in antici pation of the state 
board’s filing a petition for writ of 
mandamus with the Supreme Court. 
 
In December 1996, t he state board filed a 
petition for writ of  mandamus with the 
Supreme Court asking the court to order 
the ten counties to s how cause why they 
should not comply wit h the state board’s 
order to remove the possessory interest 
valuations from the county.  The state 
board also requested the court to stay the 
proceedings pending in Denver District 
Court.  On December  19, 1996, the court 
denied the petition without comment. 
 
On August 11, 1997, Denver District Court 
ruled in favor of the state board and upheld 
the constitutionality of SB 96-218.   The 
court based its ruling on the following 
points: 

 
• The Supreme Court’s decision in 

Mesa Verde Co. v. Montezuma is 
clearly based on a statutory 
definition of possessory interests as 
“real property.”  “The Supreme Court 
did not hold, or even suggest, that 
the subject land-use rights were 
inherently ‘real property’ as that term 
is defined in Article X, Section 3,” of 
the Constitution.  Subsequent to the 
Supreme Court’s decision, the 
legislature enacted § 39-3-136, 
C.R.S., (SB 96-218) to exclude 
possessory interests from the 
statutory definition of “real property.”  

 
• The counties did not meet the 

burden to prove SB 96-218 
unconstitutional beyond a 
reasonable doubt. 

 
• There is no requirement in the 

Colorado Constitution to tax 
possessory interests. 

 
• The state board did not abuse its 

discretion in ordering all counties 
with 1996 possessory interest 
assessments to remove them from 
their assessment. 

 
The counties appealed to the Court of 
Appeals, and on Decem ber 24, 1998, the 
court issued its decision that affirmed the 
decision of the district  court.  In doing so, 
the court cited the reasoning in Vail 
Associates, Inc. v. Eagle County Board of 
County Commissioners, 983 P.2d 49 
(Colo. App. 1998).  This closely related 
case came before the court when Eagle 
County appealed the Board of Assessment 
Appeal’s decision requiring it to remove 
Vail Associates’ possessory interest value 
from the assessment roll.   
 
In Vail Associates, the court based its 
decision on an understanding that the 
taxation of property requires implementing 
legislation; therefore, “the General 
Assembly has the discretion to determine 
questions of time, method, nature, 
purpose, and extent in respect to the 
imposition of taxes, the subjects upon 



which the taxing power is to be exercised, 
and the proceedings concerning taxation” 
(p. 54).  The court said the Constitution is a 
document that sets t he limits in which the 
legislature can operat e, but there is no 
restriction against the legislature taking 
actions within those limit s.  In the court’s 
opinion, the legislature recognized its 
limitations “noting that it could not create a 
class of property to be taxed and then 
exempt certain member s of that class”  
(p. 56).  Therefore, the legislature “decided 
that it simply would not create that class 
consisting of possessory interests” (p. 56). 
 
The court also addressed the county’s 
objection that upon enacting § 39-3-136, 
C.R.S., the legislat ure did not amend  
§§ 39-1-102(14) or 111, C.R.S.  These are 
the statutes cited in Mesa Verde III as 
defining possessory interests as real 
property subject to taxation.  By not 
amending them, the county argued 
possessory interests were still defined by 
statute as real property.  The court 
disagreed.  “It is not for the reviewing court 
to determine that the legislature could have 
addressed an issue in a different or ‘better’ 
manner.  Rather, the c ourt’s function is to 
uphold the intent of the legislature and 
determine whether a statute is 
constitutional” (p. 56).  The counties 
appealed the decisions of both cases to 
the Colorado Supreme Court.  
 
Vail Associates  
The Supreme Court consolidated the two 
cases, and in Board of County 
Commissioners, County of Eagle, State of 
Colorado v. Vail Associates Inc. and the 
Board of Assessment Appeals and Allen S. 
Black et al. v. Colorado State Board of 
Equalization, 19 P.3d 1263 (Colo 2001), 
the court overturned the decisions of the 
Court of Appeals.  In its decision, the court 
found that § 39- 3-136, C.R.S., 
“unconstitutionally exempts some private 
possessory interests in tax-exempt 
property from taxation, contrary to Article X 
… and (the court’s) controlling decision in 
(Mesa Verde III)” (p.1267).  As previously 
stated, the Colorado C onstitution provides 
that “…each property  tax levy shall be 

uniform upon all real and personal property 
not exempt from taxation under this 
article….” COLO. CONST. art. X, § 3(1)(a).  
 
The court agreed with the Court of 
Appeals, that the taxation of property 
requires implementing l egislation, but it 
said the legislatur e’s authority is not 
unconstrained.  “First, the General 
Assembly cannot refuse  to exercise its 
taxation authority; it must enact tax  
statutes so that go vernmental operations 
may be funded…. Second, it cannot 
provide purely statutor y exemptions from 
taxation that are not within the 
constitutional exemption categories of 
Article X…. Third, it must not enact 
provisions that exem pt certain private 
interests from bearing their fair and 
proportionate burden of taxation”  
(p. 1274). 
 
The court found that the enactment of  
§ 39-3-136, C.R.S., vi olated each of these 
constraints.    Its dec ision rests in part on 
reasoning stated in Mesa Verde III, that 
possessory interests in real property are 
themselves real property as defined by  
§ 39-1-102(14)(a), C.R.S.   
 

“Real Property” means: (a) All lands 
or interests in lands to which title or 
the right of title has been acquired 
from the government of the United 
States or from sovereign authority 
ratified by treaties entered into by the 
United States, or from the state:… 
39-1-102(14)(a), C.R.S.  (emphasis 
added by court), (p. 1274). 

 
Although § 39-3-136(1)(g), C.R.S., is 
quoted as saying that provisions of  
§ 39-1-102(14)(a), C.R.S., “…do not direct 
the taxation of possessory interests in 
exempt properties…,” the court disagreed 
with the appellate cour t’s opinion that its 
enactment removed possessory interests 
from the statutory definition of real 
property.  “Defining property for taxation 
purposes and directing taxation of that 
property are different concepts…,” the 
court said, (p. 1275).   
 



Instead, the court f ound that § 39-3-136, 
C.R.S., imposed the following changes on 
the taxation of possessory interests:  
 
• The statute “defines a class of 

property known as ‘possessory 
interests’” (p. 1277). 

 
• It “prohibits taxation of a subclass of 

that property – possessory interests 
in otherwise tax-exempt property – 
from taxation while continuing 
taxation of other possessory 
interests” (p. 1277). 

 
• And it “carves out certain interests 

within the subclass for continued 
taxation” (p. 1277). 
 

“This disparate tax treatment within the 
same class of property is only permissible 
if the property exempt ed in the statute is 
also exempted in the constitution,”  
the court said, (p. 1277).  However, the 
only constitutional exemption from the 
taxation of possessory interests in exempt 
property is specific to the taxation of non-
producing unpatented mining claims  
(p. 1278).  Therefore, “the express 
language of section § 39-3-136 operates 
as a purely legislative exemption to 
taxation that is not authorized under Article 
X” (p. 1278). 
 
Accordingly, the court severed § 39-3-136, 
C.R.S., and the final sentence of  
§ 39-1-106, C.R.S., and left in place the 
valuation provisions found in section  
§ 39-1-103(17), C.R.S., t hat the legislature 
intended to apply if t he court required the 
taxation of possessory interests in exempt 
property (p. 1280). On March 30, 2001, the 
State Board of Equa lization voted that 
upon receiving the rem ands from district 
court, appropriate orders would be issued 
to the counties. 
 

State Board Orders Assessment of 
Possessory Interests 
The Supreme Court’s decision affirmed the 
taxable status of the possessory interest 
property assessed by counties who were 
parties to Vail Associates.  Their 
possessory interests were taxable for the 
years in which they were placed on the 
assessment rolls and for future years.  
However, the question remained as to 
whether other possessory interest property 
was taxable for the years in which the state 
board ordered its remova l, or whether it 
was taxable beginning in 2001, the year 
the court issued its decis ion.  This included 
possessory interests that had been 
removed by counties in response to the 
state board’s 1996 order and possessory 
interests, such as grazing rights that had 
not been previously assessed.   
 
The state board addressed the question 
during its November 21 meeting, in which 
members voted unanimously to order “… 
all county assessors except those who 
were parties to (Vail Associates), to value 
possessory interests for property tax years 
2001, 2002 and forward.”  
 
The order explained that the intent of the 
legislature was expr essed in statute, 
including section § 39-10-101(2)(a)(II), 
C.R.S., (amended in 1996 ) that reads in 
part: “…the treasurer shall not treat any 
possessory interest in exempt property, as 
described in section § 39-3-136(1)(a), as 
taxable property omitted from the tax list 
and warrant for any year if the exclusion of 
the possessory interest from the 
assessment roll was based upon any 
provision of law cr eated or repealed by 
Senate Bill 96-218….” The state board 
said, “the courts will defer to clear 
legislative intent regarding the 
retrospective application of court decisions.  
Kuhn v. State Department of Revenue, 817 
P.2d 101, 110 (Colo. 1991).”  
 
During an October 7, 2002, hearing of the 
state board, several county assessors 
disclosed that they had not valued all of the 
taxable possessory in terests in their 
jurisdictions.  The counties were Delta, 



Eagle, Jackson, Jefferson, Moffat, Pitkin, 
and Rio Grande.  On November 4, 2002, 
the state board sent the assessors a letter 
reminding them of their obligation to 
comply with the stat e board’s November 
21, 2001, order and expl aining the actions 
the board would take to enforce 
compliance if necessary. The assessors 
subsequently valued the taxable 
possessory interests in their counties for 
tax year 2002. 
 
During the same meet ing, the state board 
heard testimony from  the Division of 
Property Taxation that the Mesa County 
Board of Equalization had incorrectly 
ordered the removal of possessory interest 
values placed on two properties by the 
Mesa County Assessor.  The state board 
ordered the county board of equalization to 
rescind its decision and restore the actual 
values of $5,130 on one property and $80 
on the other. 
 
2003 Legislative Changes 
Two bills were passed in 2003 that 
changed the valuation procedures for 
certain possessory interests.  Senate Bill  
03-167 affected the valuation of 
possessory interests in land leased by the 
state board of land commissioners.  The 
bill amends § 39-1-103(17(a)(II)(A), C.R.S., 
to say that the actual  value of such land 
“…shall be the actual amount of the annual 
rent paid for the property  tax year.”  This 
differs from most possessory interests, 
which are valued according to the 
“…present value of the reasonably 
estimated future annual rents or 
fees…through the stated initial term of the 
lease or other inst rument granting the 
possessory interest,” 
§ 39-1-103(17(a)(II)(A), C.R.S. 
 
Senate Bill 03-347 concer ns the valuation 
of possessory interests in land involving 
timber contracts.  The bill amends  
§ 39-1-103(17)(a)(II)(B), C.R.S., to exclude 
from the value calculation “any amount 
paid under a timber sales contract or 
similar agreement for the purchase of 
timber or for the right to acquire and 
remove timber.”  The bill effectively 

excludes from taxation a possessory 
interest created from  a timber sales 
contract. 
 
2004 Legislative Changes 
Senate Bill 04-059 expands to all 
agricultural possessory interest land the 
exception to the valuation methodology 
established in 2003 for possessory 
interests in land leas ed by the state board 
of land commissioners.  The bill amends  
§ 39-1-103(17(a)(II)(A), C.R.S., to say that 
the actual value of agricultural possessory 
interest land “…shall be the actual amount 
of the annual rent paid for the property tax 
year.” 



2005 PROPERTY TAX 
LEGISLATION 

 
SENATE BILLS 
SB 05-045 
Concerning authorization for certain 
special water districts to provide park 
and recreation services in connection 
with a reservoir.  
 
The Reuter-Hess Reservoir is being 
managed by the Parker Water and 
Sanitation District.  To resolve any conflicts 
between the water management and the 
recreation management, SB 05-045 allows 
a water district or  water and sanitation 
district to provide park and recreation 
improvement services unless another 
entity is already providing the same 
services. 
 
Section 1 amends § 32-1-1006 C.R.S., by 
the addition of a new subsection (8)(a) that 
allows a water district or water and 
sanitation district to provide park and 
recreation improvements and services if no 
other entity is current ly providing such 
improvements and services.   
 
Subsection (8)(b) prohibits other entities 
from providing such services and 
improvements without t he consent of the 
district’s board onc e the board adopts a 
resolution to provide the services and 
improvements.   
 
Subsection (8)(c) specifies the district’s 
powers including the ability to impose fees 
or charges in connection with 
improvements and serv ices, and that the 
provision of the services and 
improvements is not a material 
modification of the district’s service plan.   
 
Section 2 amends § 37-45-118(1), C.R.S. 
by the addition of a new paragraph (q) to 
the general powers of a water conservancy 
district that is essent ially the same as the 
above amendments in § 32-1-1006, C.R.S. 
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 5, 2005 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 

SB 05-056 
Concerning amounts paid in connection 
with a property tax appeal, and, in 
connection therewith, establishing that, 
in the event of a sustained appeal, the 
appellant shall provide the assessor 
notice of a sustained appeal, and that 
the assessor shall provide the treasurer 
copies of such notice prior to the 
appellant receiving a refund of taxes, 
delinquent interest, cost, and witness 
fees. 
 
Because of delay in the decisions of the 
Board of Assessment Appeals, district 
court, court of appeals, and Supreme 
Court, county treasurers were having 
trouble identifying who should get the 
refund of taxes on a sustained appeal.  
The treasurer’s records indicate the owner 
at the time the tax warrant was issued or 
who paid the taxes.  The appellant in the 
case may have sold the property after filing 
an appeal, possibly causing the treasurer 
to refund the taxes to the wrong taxpayer.  
To solve this problem, the Broomfield and 
Larimer County Treasur ers promoted this 
bill, which causes the treasurer to receive a 
copy of the decision from the assessor. 
 
Section 1 amends § 39-8-109, C.R.S., by 
requiring the appellant in a sustained 
appeal to provide a copy  of the order or 
judgment of the B oard of Assessment 
Appeals or district court to the county 
assessor.  If appealed, the appellant shall 
give the county assessor a copy of the 
original order or judgment and copies of all 
further decisions of the Board of 
Assessment Appeals, district court, court of 
appeals, and Supreme Court.  The 
assessor forwards copies of all orders or 
judgments to the treasurer.  Upon receiving 
the copies, the treasurer will issue the 
appellant, identified in the order or 
judgment of the B oard of Assessment 
Appeals or district c ourt, the appropriate 
refund of taxes and delinquent interest.   
 
The assessor will receive two copies of the 
decision, one from the appeal body and 
another from the appellant.  If the appellant 
fails to furnish copies to the assessor, the 



assessor should give the treasurer a copy 
of the decision received from the appeal 
body.  The treasurer does not care which 
copy he/she receives.  The important issue 
is that the treasurer can identify that the 
transaction is different from any 
abatements that are processed and that 
they must refund the money to the 
taxpayer named in the order.   
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 05, 2005 
Effective Date:  April 05, 2005. 
 
 
SB 05-105 
Concerning the alternative protest and 
appeal procedure for taxpayers to 
contest the valuation of taxable 
property for property tax purposes in 
specified counties that elect to use the 
alternative procedure.  
 
Under current law, Denver, Jefferson, El 
Paso, and Boulder counties are authorized 
to set a different appeal procedure for real 
property tax appeals.  The legislation 
authorizing the alternative appeal process 
was passed in 1998 (SB 98-093); business 
personal property tax appeals were left out 
of the statute.  The orig inal draft of this bill 
allowed conformity by adding business 
personal property assessment appeals to 
the alternate appeal process and added 
Larimer County to t he list of authorized 
counties.  The House Local Government 
Committee amended the bill to give the 
option to all counties in the state.   
 
Section 1 amends § 39-5-122(2), C.R.S., 
by including personal property to the 
extended protest period allowed under 
Section 39-5-122.7(1).  When a county 
utilizes an alternate protest period, the 
assessor mails the notices of determination 
on or before the last working day in August 
in the case of bot h real and personal 
property.   
 
Section 2 amends § 39-5-122.7(1), C.R.S., 
by removing specific counties and allowing 
that any county may, at the request of the 
assessor and approval by the county 
commissioners, elect to use an alternate 
protest and appeal procedure to determine 

objections and protests concerning 
valuations of taxable property.   
 
Section 3 amends § 39-8-106(1)(a), 
C.R.S., by adding pers onal property to the 
existing language, which establishes a 
deadline of September 15 for filing appeals 
with the county board of equalization under 
the alternate protest period allowed in  
§ 39-5-122.7(1), C.R.S.   
 
Note:  The deadline for the personal 
property report to the county 
commissioners, required by § 39-8-105(2), 
C.R.S., was not amended.   The Division of 
Property Taxation recommends the report 
be made the second Monday in September 
for counties utilizing t he alternate protest 
and appeal procedure.   
 

§ 39-8-105, C.R.S.   Reports of 
assessor. 
 
(1) At a meeting of the county board of 
equalization on the second Monday in 
July, or on the second Monday in 
September in a county that has made 
an election pursuant to section  
39-5-122.7(1), C.R.S., the assessor 
shall report the valuation for 
assessment of all ta xable real property 
in the county.  The assessor shall 
submit a list of all persons who have 
appeared before him or her to present 
objections or protests concerning real 
property and his or her action in each 
case. 
 
(2) At a meeting of the board on July 
15, the assessor shall report the 
valuation of all taxable personal 
property in the county and shall note 
any valuations for assessment of 
portable or movable equipment which 
have been apportioned pursuant to the 
provisions of secti on 39-5-113, C.R.S.  
He shall submit a lis t of all persons in 
the county who have failed to return 
any schedules and shall report his 
action in each case.  He shall also 
submit a list of persons who have 
appeared before him to present 
objections or protests and his action in 
each case. 



Signed by Governor Owens:  April 27, 2005 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
Note:  Applies to property tax years beginning 
2006.   
 
 
SB 05-106 
Concerning the categorization of Gilpin 
County for the purposes of establishing 
salaries of county officers.  
 
Limited gaming officially  started in Gilpin 
County on October 1, 1991.  Since that 
time, the county has seen extreme growth 
in assessed valuation and new 
construction of commercial property.  
Because of this growth, the county has had 
a strain on services.  In addition the 
county’s close proximit y to the metro area 
requires that employee salaries be 
competitive.  As a ca tegory IV county, it 
would be entirely possible that if an office 
holder did not finish a term, the chief 
deputy would have to take a pay cut to 
assume the job of the vacating office 
holder.  Because of this  type of situation, 
the county commissioners felt the county 
category needed to be changed to a 
Category III.   
 
Section 1 amends §§ 30-2-102 (1)(c) and 
(1)(d), C.R.S., changing the categorization 
of Gilpin County fr om Category IV to 
Category III for the purposes of 
establishing salaries of county officers. 
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 22, 2005 
Effective Date:  August 10, 2005, if no referendum 
petition is filed. 
 
Note:  The category change is effective January 
2007, as 39-2-102(3)(e), C.R.S., states in part, “No 
elected officer shall have his compensation 
increased or decreased during the term of office to 
which he has been elected or appointed….” 
 
 

SB 05-154 
Concerning the payment of taxes to the 
county treasurer.  
 
A taxpayer in Douglas County submitted or 
mailed payment for his property taxes that 
did not include the interest assessed as a 
penalty for late payment.  The county 
treasurer refused to accept this partial 
payment of the tota l amount due.  The 
taxpayer went to small claims court and got 
a ruling that the c ounty treasurer had to 
accept his payment of taxes less the 
delinquent interest.   
 
The ruling is not binding on any other 
property tax partial payment, but it did 
identify a lack of clar ity in the statute 
governing failure to pay and delinquency.  
If this lack of clarit y continued, property 
taxpayers could delay  paying until the day 
before the tax lien sale without incurring 
additional cost.  Such a delay in payment 
would cause hardship for those 
governmental entities that depend on 
property taxes to meet their obligations.   
 
The bill clarifies the language in  
§ 39-10-104.5, C.R.S., by  stating that any 
payment under this section shall be 
deemed received by t he treasurer on the 
date that the installm ent or full payment, 
including any penalties or fees due, is 
actually received in the treasurer’s office.  
The receipt is presumed as of the date of 
the US Postal Service postmark.   
 
Section 1 amends  § 39-10-104.5 C.R.S., 
by adding language that  the payment may 
be an installment or full payment, including 
any penalties or fees due.   
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 14, 2005 
Effective Date:  Upon signature 
 

 
SB 05-188 
Concerning the establishment of a 
county elected officials’ salary 
commission.  
 
The act creates the County Elected 
Officials’ Salary Commission by 
establishing article 3 ti tle 30, C.R.S., and it 



states that the creation came about 
because “the salaries for county elected 
officials should be based upon equitable 
and proper standards in order that such 
salaries accurately reflect the duties and 
responsibilities . . . and that citizens of the 
highest quality may be attracted to pubic 
service.” 
 
The Commission has 13 members – 12 
members appointed by the President of the 
Senate and the Speaker of the House and 
1 member appointed by  the Executive 
Director of the Department of Local Affairs.  
Provision is made if  the President and 
Speaker cannot agree on appointments.  
Four of the commissi on members initially 
appointed by the Pres ident and Speaker 
will serve two-year terms and the 
remainder of the commission members will 
serve four-year terms.  Subsequent 
members will serve four-year terms.   
A commission member may be 
reappointed once.  The b ill states that the 
members shall serve without compensation 
and shall not be entitl ed to reimbursement 
for expenses.   
 
The 12 legislatively appointed members 
must be composed of: 
 
seven members that include a: 

County Commissioner, 
County Sheriff, 
County Clerk and Recorder, 
County Assessor, 
County Treasurer, 
County Coroner, AND 
County Surveyor. 

 
Two members must be employees of 
county departments of personnel or human 
resources as follows: 

One appointee from a Category I 
County  
One appointee from a Category II, III, 
IV, or V County 

 
Three members repr esenting the general 
public 
 

The commission must study: 
 

1. Salaries paid to county elected 
officials 

2. Responsibilities of each county 
elected official and the scope of 
authority of the ent ity in which the 
official serves 

3. The relative level of difficulty in 
performing the duties of each county 
elected official 

4. The amount of time directly or 
indirectly related to the performance 
of the duties, functions, and services 
of each county elected official 

5. The current level of salaries for 
comparable employment in other 
places of public and private 
employment competitive labor 
markets 

 
The commission members had to be 
appointed by July 15, 2005, and hold the 
first meeting by August 1.  Then, a report 
must be presented to the Local 
Government Committees of the General 
Assembly no later than the 1st day of the 
2nd regular session of the 65th General 
Assembly – January 2006.  Thereafter, the 
reports must be submitted every four 
years. 
 
The report must contain, 
“recommendations of the commission as to 
the appropriate levels of salaries to be paid 
to county elected officials in each category 
of county as set forth in section  
30-2-102 for the quadrennial period 
following the submission of the report and 
any additional facts and information in the 
judgment of the co mmission that are 
relevant to this determination.  The 
recommendations contained in the report 
shall be based on sound and systematic 
occupational analysis and job evaluation 
methods and shall consider the information 
studied in subsection (1) of this section,”  
§ 30-3-105(4), C.R.S. 
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  June 7, 2005 
Effective:  Upon signature 
 
 



SB 05-224 
Concerning a process for addressing 
county service impacts related to an 
urban renewal project, and, in 
connection therewith, requiring analysis 
of and a plan for financing such 
impacts, allowing agreements 
concerning such impacts, and 
establishing a process for dispute 
resolution where agricultural land is 
involved.  
 
The bill is a result of negotiations between 
Colorado Counties Inc. and Colorado 
Municipal League, r egarding greater 
cooperation between municipal and county 
interests as it relates to the use of urban 
renewal.  The bill only applies to urban 
renewal plans.   
 
In summary, the bill: 
 

Spells out more clearly the type of 
information a municipality or urban 
renewal authority must provide a county 
regarding fiscal impacts upon county 
services and infrastructure and 
establishes deadlines for the 
information exchange.   
 
Allows greater flexibility on spending 
revenues outside the urban renewal 
authority.   
 
Authorizes the ab ility of counties and 
municipalities to enter into urban 
renewal revenue-sharing agreements. 
 
Permits a county to enforce the 
provisions of the legislation through an 
arbitration process.   
 

Signed by Governor Owens:  June 3, 2005 
Effective:  Upon signature 
 
 
SB 05-232 
Concerning the property tax deferral for 
the elderly and military personnel.  
 
Section 1 amends § 39-305-103(1)(d)(I), 
C.R.S., by adding language that the 
current statute applies prior to January 1, 

2006.  The section adds new language that 
becomes effective on or after January 1, 
2006.   
 
Under current law, in order for a property to 
meet the qualifications for a property tax 
deferral, the owner of the property must be 
65 years old or older and the total value of 
all liens against the property must be less 
than or equal to the total actual value of the 
property.  Or, if the owner is a person 
called into military serv ice, the total value 
of all liens must be less than or equal to 
ninety percent of the actual value of the 
property.  The actual va lue of the property 
is determined by the most recent appraisal 
by the county assessor as of the time that 
the claim is submitted. 
 

On or after January 1, 2006, in addition 
to the prior require ments, property is 
not eligible for the program unless the 
property meets either of the following 
conditions: 
 
If the owner is 65 years old or older, the 
total value of all liens, mortgages, and 
deeds of trust on the property, 
excluding any that the holder has 
agreed in writing to subordinate to the 
lien of the state for deferred taxes, must 
be less than or equal to  75 percent of 
the actual value of  the property as 
determined by the county assessor.   
 
If the owner is a person called into 
military service, the total value of all 
liens, mortgages, and deeds of trust on 
the property, excluding any that the 
holder has agreed in writing to 
subordinate to the li en of the state for 
deferred taxes, must be less than or 
equal to 90 percent of the actual value 
of the property as determined by the 
county assessor.   

 
Section 2 amends § 39-3.5-104, C.R.S., by 
adding a new paragraph (1)(d.5) that 
states, on or after January 1, 2006, the 
claim for deferral must list the actual value 
of the property based on the most recent 
appraisal by the county assessor. 
 



Section 3 amends § 39-3.5-112, C.R.S., by 
adding a new subsection (1.5)(a), that 
identifies instances when the loan does not 
becomes payable.   
 
When a taxpayer who claimed a tax 
deferral dies, the loan for deferred real 
estate tax, including accrued interest, shall 
not become payable if: 
 

The taxpayer was a person called to 
military service, and 
 
The taxpayer is survived by a spouse 
and the property is the homestead of 
the surviving spouse and meets the 
requirements of § 39-3.5-103(1)(b) and 
(1)(c), C.R.S. 
 
Then, the deferred real property tax 
loan plus interest becomes payable 
when the spouse of t he taxpayer dies, 
in addition to the events set forth in  
§ 39-3.5-110, C.R.S.   

 
Signed by Governor Owens:  June 1, 2005 
Effective:  January 1, 2006 
 
 
HOUSE BILLS 
HB 05-1048 
Concerning the authority of a special 
district to enter into a property tax 
reduction agreement with a taxpayer for 
the purposes of economic development.  
 
This bill came out of an interim study 
committee.  Prior to the bill, only counties 
and municipalities could enter into 
business incentive agreements with 
taxpayers that are providing new 
investments in the local economy  
(§§ 30-11-123, 31-15-903, and  
39-30-107.5, C.R.S.).  Under these 
agreements, a city or county will collect 
business personal property taxes on a 
portion of the new inve stment made by the 
taxpayer.  This assu mes that without the 
incentive, the invest ment would not have 
taken place.   
 
This bill allows special districts to also 
participate in business incentive 

agreements if the taxpayer either 
simultaneously or previously executed 
such an agreement with the county or 
municipality.   
 
Section 1 amends article 1 of title 32, 
C.R.S., by adding a new Part 17, titled 
PROPERTY TAX REDUCTION 
AGREEMENT. 
 
Section 32-1-1701, C.R.S., is the 
legislative declaration statement, that in 
order to attract new private enterprise and 
retain and expand existing enterprises, 
incentives are often necessary, and that 
ultimately the ince ntives will stimulate 
economic development in the state and 
result in the creation and maintenance of 
new jobs.   
 
Section 32-1-1702, C.R.S. allows a special 
district to negotiate an incentive payment 
or credit with a taxpay er who establishes a 
new business or expands an existing 
facility.  The annual incentive payment or 
credit cannot exceed fifty percent of the 
amount of taxes levi ed by the special 
district on the busine ss personal property.  
The term of any agreement cannot exceed 
ten years, including the term of any original 
agreement being renewed.  The special 
district cannot enter into any incentive 
agreement unless the taxpayer has either 
simultaneously or previously entered into 
such an agreement with a municipality or 
county.  The special district must also 
inform the municipality, county, and school 
district of such negotiations.   
 
Section 2 amends § 39-30-107.5(1)(a), 
C.R.S., to include special districts and 
adds a new paragraph (b ) stating that a 
special district cannot enter into any 
incentive agreement unl ess the taxpayer 
has either simultaneously or previously 
entered into such an agreement with a 
municipality or county.   
 
Section 3 amends § 39-30-107.5(3), 
C.R.S., by adding a new paragraph (c), 
stating that “Special  District” means a 
special district as defined in section  
32-1-103 (20), C.R.S. 
 



Signed by Governor Owens:  April 5, 2006 
Effective Date:  August 10, 2005, if no referendum 
petition is filed. 
 
 
HB 05-1159 
Concerning the sale of tax liens by a 
county treasurer.  
 
The bill, initiated by Jefferson County and 
the City and County of Denver, added 
clarifying language author izing the county 
treasurer to conduct tax lien sales on the 
Internet.   
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  June 3, 2005 
Effective:  Upon signature 
 
 
HB 05-1067 
Concerning the authorization for 
political subdivisions organized on a 
county basis to provide fire protection.  
 
A western slope rural fire department has 
been plagued with several financial and 
administrative problems because of an 
investment in “e.Nvizion,” an Internet 
service provider based in  Rochester, N. Y.  
Most of the money has been returned to 
the fire district, however the “dot com” still 
owes the fire distri ct over $600,000.  One 
solution to the fire districts problems may 
be to dissolve the district.  However, the 
county commissioners have no authority to 
provide fire protection services.  This bill 
allows the commissioners to create a fire 
district.   
 
Section 1 amends § 30-20-503(3), C.R.S., 
to allow the county commissioners to 
create a fire improvem ent district for the 
purpose of construc ting, installing, 
acquiring, operating, maintaining or 
providing fire prot ection regardless of 
whether or not the c ounty is authorized to 
proved fire protecti on improvements or 
services.  For the purposes of this 
subsection (3), “fire protection” shall have 
the same meaning as “firehouses, 
equipment, and firefighters” as described in 
section 30-35-201(22), C.R.S. 
 

This bill authorized the board of county 
commissioners to: 
 

Erect firehouses and provide equipment 
for extinguishing fires; 
Provide for the use and management of 
such firehouses and equipment; 
 
Determine the powers and duties of the 
members of the fire department in 
taking charge of property to the extent 
necessary to control or extinguish fires 
and preserve property not destroyed by 
the fire; 
 
Restrain persons from interfering with 
the fire department when conducing its 
duties. 

 
The creation of a fire improvement district 
would require approval through an election, 
including stipulations for increasing 
property taxes to cover the operational 
costs of the district.  A county fire 
protection district would have the authority 
to levy property taxes and fix rates, tolls, 
and charges as other districts.   
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 14, 2005 
Effective Date:  August 10, 2005, if no referendum 
petition is filed 
 

 
HB 05-1180 
Concerning changes to treat 
horticultural and floricultural operations 
like agricultural operations.  
 
The bill essentially includes horticultural 
and floricultural operati ons as part of the 
agricultural industry fo r a variety of state 
and local regulations.  The bill establishes 
maximum pay periods for certain 
employees; it encourages horticulture and 
floriculture activities along with other 
agricultural, recreational, and mineral 
extraction activities in floodplains; and it 
excludes horticultural and floricultural 
operations from emi ssion regulations or 
from having certain construction permits 
reopened.  The bill further  eliminates some 
regulatory restrictions on horticultural and 
floricultural industries, including permits for 
hazardous waste, noise restrictions, and 



air quality control regulations.  For each 
section that the bill amends, language is 
added to explicitly stat e that nothing in the 
bill shall be construed as changing the 
property tax classification of a floricultural 
or horticultural enterprise.   
 
Section 1 amends § 8-4-103(2), C.R.S., to 
include floricultural operations along with 
other agricultural operations in establishing 
maximum pay periods for employees of 
these industries. 
 
Section 2 amends § 8-20.5-101(2)(b)(III), 
C.R.S., to exclude tanks used for 
horticultural or floricultural operations from 
the definition of  “aboveground storage 
tank,” for petroleum storage regulations. 
 
Section 3 amends § 24-65.1-202(2)(a)(I), 
C.R.S., to include horticulture and 
floriculture activities along with agriculture, 
recreation, and mineral extraction in the list 
of open space activities that are 
encouraged in the adm inistration of 
floodplain areas of the state.  
 
Section 4 amends § 25-7-109(8), C.R.S., 
to exclude certain horticultural or 
floricultural production along with 
agricultural production from emission 
regulations for air quality control. 
 
Section 5 amends §§ 25-7-
114.5(12.5)(a)(I) and (12.5)(b), C.R.S., to 
exclude horticultural and floricultural 
production from having certain construction 
permits reopened for the purpose of 
imposing air quality control requirements. 
 
Section 6 amends § 25-7-211, C.R.S., to 
exclude certain horticultural or floricultural 
activities from visibility impairment 
attribution studies for air quality control. 
 
Section 7 amends § 25-8-504(2), C.R.S., 
to exclude horticultural or floricultural 
operations from permits for animal or 
agricultural waste, ex cept as required by 
the federal Clean Water Act or regulations 
for water quality control. 
 
Section 8 amends § 25-12-102(4), C.R.S., 
to exclude horticultural or floricultural 

operations from the def inition of “industrial 
zone” for establishing restrictions and limits 
on noise levels. 
 
Section 9 amends § 25-15-101(6)(b)(III), 
C.R.S., to exclude horticultural or 
floricultural waste from the definition of 
“hazardous waste.” 
 
Section 10 amends § 35-11.5-103(1), 
C.R.S., to include floricultural products 
grown or produced in the definition for 
“agricultural products,” under the Organic 
Certification Act. 
 
Section 11 amends § 35-28-104(1), 
C.R.S., to include floricultural products in 
the definition of “agricultural commodity” for 
purposes of regul ating how these 
commodities are marketed. 
 
Section 12 amends § 35-38-102(2), 
C.R.S., to add horticulture and floriculture 
to the definition of “equipment” for 
regulations related to farm equipment 
dealerships. 
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 22, 2005 
Effective Date:  August 10, 2005, if no referendum 
petition is filed.   
 

 
HB 05-1195 
Concerning a requirement that a deed 
convey any interest held by the grantor 
in certain vacated rights-of-way 
adjoining the subject real property.  
 
When a street, alley, or right-of-way is 
vacated by a city or county, upon the 
effective date of the ordinance or 
resolution, title to the vacated alley or 
street vests in theory  with the owner of the 
adjoining parcel.  The vacated parcel does 
not attach to the adj oining land; it is 
considered a separate parcel and is 
described by a separate legal description.  
Under current law, when a property sells, it 
is presumed that the vacated street or alley 
is not conveyed, unless it is specifically 
mentioned in the conveyance.  Often times 
the vacated street or alley is inadvertently 
left off the conveyance document, requiring 
a separate assessment in  the name of the 



original owner.  Many  of these vacated 
parcels eventually go to tax sale.  Under 
the new law, any inte rest the grantor may 
have in a vacated stree t, alley, or right-of-
way is conveyed al ong with the adjoining 
parcel unless the transfer is expressly 
excluded in the deed. 
 
Section 1 amends § 38-30-113(1), C.R.S., 
with the addition of a new paragraph (d) 
that establishes that when real property is 
conveyed, any interest the grantor may 
have in an adjoining vaca ted street, alley, 
or other right of wa y is also conveyed, 
unless expressly excluded in the deed.   
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  April 25, 2005 
Effective Date:  Upon Signature 
 
 
HB 05-1289 
Concerning the adjustment of the ratio 
of valuation for assessment for 
residential real property.  
 
Section 1 of the bill amends  
§ 39-1-104.2(3), C.R. S., by adding a new 
paragraph (j), which se ts the residential 
assessment rate at 7.96 percent for 
property tax years 2005 and 2006.   
 
Signed by Governor Owens:  May 27, 2005 
Effective:  Upon signature 
 
 






