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COLORADO PROPERTY TAX
OVERVIEW

The Colorado property tax system provides
revenue exclusively for local government
services. The largest share of property tax
revenue (52.7 percent) goes to support the
state's  public  schools. County
governments claim the next largest share
(25.2 percent), followed by special districts
(15.9 percent), municipal governments (5.3
percent), and junior colleges (0.9 percent).

The authority for property taxation is both
constitutional and statutory. Article X of
the Colorado Constitution provides that all
property is taxable unless declared exempt
by the Constitution, and that the actual
value of taxable property shall be
determined under the general laws to
secure just and equalized valuations. The
specific statutes pertaining to property
taxation are found in Title 39, Articles 1
through 14, Colorado Revised Statutes.

Under the general laws of Colorado,
county assessors are required to value all
taxable property within their territorial
jurisdictions. The State Board of
Equalization (state board) has supervision
over the administration of all laws
concerning the valuation and assessment
of taxable property and the levying of
property taxes. The Division of Property
Taxation (Division), under the leadership of
the Property Tax Administrator
(administrator), coordinates and
administers the implementation of property
tax law throughout the sixty-four counties.

Revenue derived from 2004 property taxes
(payable 2005) will increase statewide for
every local government type. The
combined revenue increase from taxes
payable in 2005 is 5.30 percent. Table 1
lists the percentage increases in property
tax revenue between taxes payable in
2004 and taxes payable in 2005.

Table 1
Revenue Change by Entity Type

2003-2004

Taxing Entity % Increase
School District K-12 .......c.eveenn... + 4.94%
Junior Colleges..........ccccuvvvveeenn. + 11.18%
Counti€S..ceveeeeeeeeeee, + 4.67%
Municipalities ...........cccceeeeeiinnnnnns + 3.08%
Special Districts ..o + 7.96%
Combined Increase................... + 5.30%

Although the table above indicates that
Colorado property tax revenue increased
for 2004, at the local level, the percentage
change of tax revenue varied greatly, and
numerous taxing entities experienced a
decline in their property tax revenue, while
others experienced dramatic increases.

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

The State Board of Equalization consists of
the Governor, the President of the Senate,
the Speaker of the House of
Representatives, or their designees, and
two members appointed by the Governor
with consent of the Senate. Each
appointed member must be a qualified
appraiser, a former assessor, or a person
who has knowledge and experience in
property taxation. The state board
members for 2004 were Lyle C. Kyle,
Chairperson and appointee of Governor
Bill Owens; Heather Witwer, Vice-Chair
and designee of Governor Owens; Senator
Terry Phillips, designee of John Andrews,
President of the Senate; Representative
Michael May, designee of Lola Spradley,
Speaker of the House of Representatives;
and JoAnn Groff, appointee of Governor
Owens.

Duties and Responsibilities

The state board supervises the
administration of property tax laws and
equalization of the values of classes and
subclasses of taxable property. Duties of
the state board are found primarily in
Article X, Sections 3 and 15 of the
Colorado Constitution and in Title 39,
Articles 1 and 9, Colorado Revised
Statutes.




Among its duties, the state board reviews
the findings and conclusions of the annual
study contractor and orders reappraisals in
counties found not in compliance. The
annual study was initiated by a 1982
amendment to the Constitution to ensure
that all assessors value property at the
same level of value using standardized
procedures and statistical measurements.
The study is conducted by an independent
auditing firm contracted by the Director of
Research, Legislative Council,
§ 39-1-104(16), C.R.S. The study and the
resulting orders of reappraisal are the
primary means of achieving statewide
equalization.

The state board’s equalization function is
important due to the relationship that exists
between assessed values and state aid to
schools. Generally, if the property in a
school district is under-assessed, it is likely
that the district will receive more state
revenue than it is entitted. When a
reappraisal order results in a determination
that the affected school district(s) received
too much state revenue, the state board
will order the county (not the school
district) to pay back the excess funding.
During the 1980s and early 1990s this
sometimes required the repayment of
substantial revenue to the state. In more
recent years, significant improvements in
the quality of county assessments have
resulted in far fewer reappraisal orders and
far smaller repayments of excess state aid
to schools.

The state board also reviews county
Abstracts of Assessment, decisions of
county boards of equalization (county
board), and the policies and
recommendations of the Property Tax
Administrator.

STATE BOARD ENFORCEMENT

A brief history of enforcement actions by
the state board follows:

2004 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 4, 2004, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of
Rocky Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc.,
annual study contractor for Legislative
Council.

After considering all evidence and
testimony, the state board concluded that
the Fremont County commercial/industrial
property classes were out of compliance
and issued an order of reappraisal to the
county.

2003 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 14, 2003, the state board met
to review the findings and conclusions of
Rocky Mountain Valuation Specialists, Inc.,
annual study contractor for Legislative
Council.

After considering all evidence and
testimony, the state board concluded that
2003 class values for all 64 counties were
in compliance with Colorado assessment
law, and no orders were issued requiring
the reappraisal of a class or sub-class of
property.

2002 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 7, 2002, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study
contractor for Legislative Council.

After considering all evidence and
testimony, the state board concluded that
2002 class values for all 64 counties were
in compliance with Colorado assessment
law, and it issued no orders requiring the
reappraisal of a class or sub-class of
property.

However, the state board issued an order
to the Mesa County Board of Equalization
that it rescind its decision to remove the
possessory interest valuations from two
properties. The order, and related
correspondence with other counties, are
discussed in more detail on page I1-29.



2001 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 15, 2001, the state board met
to review the findings and conclusions of
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study
contractor for Legislative Council.

The report by the annual study contractor
recommended that two counties receive
reappraisal orders. The recommendations
were for the reappraisal of the commercial
and industrial classes in Conejos County
and the natural resources class in Routt
County.

In response, the counties testified that they
had resolved the problems identified in the
report. Their testimony was supported by
a representative of the annual study
contractor, who confirmed that the
company reviewed the revisions of both
counties and that they were in compliance
with the standards established by the state
board. Based on the testimony, the state
board determined that the values for the
two counties, and Colorado’s 61 other
counties, were in compliance with
Colorado assessment law, and no
reappraisals were ordered.

2001 Possessory Interest Orders

Pursuant to the Colorado Supreme Court’s
decision in Board of County
Commissioners, v. Vail Associates Inc., 19
P.3d 1263 (Colo 2001), the state board
unanimously voted on November 21, 2001,
to order county assessors that were not
parties to the case to value possessory
interests beginning with tax year 2001.
The order is discussed in more detail on
page 11-29.

2000 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 10, 2000, the state board met
to review the findings and conclusions of
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc., annual study
contractor for Legislative Council.

After considering all evidence and
testimony, the state board concluded that
2000 property values for all 63 counties
were in compliance with Colorado

assessment law, and no reappraisals were
ordered.

The state board also reviewed the results
of reappraisals ordered the prior year for
vacant land in Park and Saguache
Counties. The state board determined that
the reappraisals in both counties were
successfully completed, and it ordered the
counties to make the following paybacks
and reimbursements.

State Aid
Supervision to Schools
County Reimbursement Payback
Park. ...cccoooo.. $ 6,602.07............... $63.72
Saguache ........ $15,159.79 ....one...... $90.43

Since 1988, the state board has allowed
counties to choose an alternative method
for the repayment of the supervision costs.
Rather than paying the money to the state,
counties are allowed to apply the
supervision repayment to the budgets of
their assessors’ offices, for the purpose of
enhancing their operational effectiveness.

The Saguache County Commissioners
chose to employ the alternative method,
and submitted a plan detailing how the
money would be used to enhance the
effectiveness of the assessor’s office. The
Park County Commissioners chose not to
employ this method of repayment, and
were ordered to pay the supervisory costs.

1999 Enforcement and Repayment

The vacant land reappraisal orders for
Park and Saguache Counties were issued
during the October 12, 1999, meeting of
the state board. At the meeting, the state
board also determined that Fremont
County’s irrigated farm land was out of
compliance. The state board’s decisions
were based on the 1999 findings and
conclusions of annual study contractor
Thos. Y. Pickett & Co., Inc.

Vacant land values for Park County were
found out of compliance because the
reappraisal achieved a 26.46 percent
coefficient of dispersion. That figure



exceeds the vacant land standard of 20.99
percent. Saguache vacant land was out of
compliance because the median sales ratio
of 93.06 percent fell outside the allowable
range of 95.0 to 105.0 percent.

A reappraisal of Fremont County’s irrigated
land was ordered because the crop yield
used for valuing the subclass was 125
percent of the ten-year average yield
reported by the Colorado Agricultural
Statistics Service (CASS). This fell outside
the state board’s compliance standard of
90 to 110 percent. Upon receiving the
order, the county made a uniform
adjustment to its irrigated land values to
achieve compliance with the state board
standard prior to publishing the tax
warrant.

On December 3, 1999, the state board met
and approved the plans for reappraisal
submitted by Park and Saguache
Counties. The state board rescinded the
reappraisal order for Fremont County upon
receiving testimony from the Division of
Property Taxation that Fremont’s adjusted
values for irrigated land were in
compliance. The state board did not
consider repayment actions for 1999,
because all 1998 values were found to be
in compliance.

1998 Enforcement and Repayment

On October 5, 1998, the state board met to
review the findings and conclusions of
annual study contractor Thos. Y. Pickett &
Co,, Inc.

After considering all evidence and
testimony, the state board concluded that
1998 property values for all 63 counties
were in compliance with Colorado
assessment law, and no reappraisals were
ordered. The prior year, the state board
determined that the 1997 values for three
counties were out of compliance, and
issued the following reappraisal orders:

Property Classes

Lake ................... Vacant land

Routt ... Agricultural subclasses

Hinsdale............... Single family residential,
Vacant land,

Commercial/ Industrial,
Agricultural Improvements

Upon recommendation of the auditor, the
state board concluded during its 1998
meeting, that the 1997 orders were justified
and successfully completed. It ordered the
counties that received 1997 orders to make

the following paybacks and
reimbursements.
State Aid
Supervision to Schools
County Reimbursement Payback
Lake............... $10,599.00................ $ 0.00
Routt.............. $ 878.23...cennn. $81.79
Hinsdale......... $ 959.30................ $ 7.47

The counties chose the alternative
repayment method of applying the
supervisory costs to the budgets of the
assessor’s offices.

DIVISION OF PROPERTY TAXATION

Under the general laws of Colorado, the
Property Tax Administrator heads the
Division of Property Taxation. The
administrator is appointed by the State
Board of Equalization to serve for a five-
year term and until a successor is
appointed and qualified.

One primary responsibility of the Division is
to administer the implementation of
property tax law throughout the 64 counties
so that valuations are fair, uniform, and
defensible, thereby ensuring that each
property class contributes only a fair share
of the total property tax revenue. In other
words, the Division's goal is equalization of
valuation and proper distribution of
property taxes throughout the state.



The Division is comprised of four sections:
Administrative Resources, Appraisal
Standards, Exempt Properties, and State
Assessed Properties.

Administrative Resources

The Administrative Resources section acts
as liaison to the 64 county assessors in
determining existing and future needs for
assistance from the Division. In addition,
the section serves as a liaison and
coordinator with a variety of other agencies
and companies having an interest in
property taxation.

The section develops and teaches all
courses dealing with the administrative
functions of assessors’ offices. The
section also teaches specialized
workshops on parcel mapping, severed
mineral interest valuation and assessment,
title conveyance, tax increment financing,
and certification of values to taxing entities.
The Colorado Board of Real Estate
Appraisers approved the administrative
courses for continuing education purposes.

The section develops and publishes
manuals that provide instruction and legal
references for all administrative areas of
the assessor's offices, and the section
publishes the Annual Report to the
Governor and General Assembly and the
Mobile equipment Manual for county clerks
and recorders and ports of entry personnel.
For each year of reappraisal, it completes
a documented study that estimates the
residential assessment rate for the action
of the General Assembly.

The section provides technical assistance
to counties in administration matters and
also investigates taxpayer complaints. The
section conducts research projects for the
Division and Legislature.

Appraisal Standards

The Appraisal Standards Section acts as
liaison to the 64 county assessors in
determining existing and future needs for
assistance from the Division primarily in
the appraisal field. It also serves as a

liasison and coordinator with a variety of
other appraisal agencies and companies
having an interest in property taxation.

The section develops and teaches courses
dealing with all aspects of appraisal
including the three approaches to value. It
also teaches workshops in specialized
areas such as standards and ethics for
appraisers, sales ratio studies, agricultural
valuation, vacant land  discounting
procedures, and the valuation of
possessory interests. All appraisal courses
are approved for licensing credit by the
Colorado Board of Real Estate Appraisers.

The section also publishes appraisal
manuals covering both real and personal
property, and it provides technical
assistance to counties on a variety of
appraisal matters.

Exempt Properties

The Exempt Properties Section
investigates all applications for exemption
from property taxation for property claimed
to be owned and used solely and
exclusively for religious worship, private
schools, or charitable purposes, and
makes determinations on the applications.
Annual reports of exempt properties are
reviewed to determine continuations of the
exemptions.  The Exemptions Section
reviews approximately 700 applications
and 9,700 annual reports for exemption
each year.

State Assessed

The State Assessed Properties Section
values all public utility properties in
Colorado. The staff sets values on
approximately 570 companies each year
using unitary valuation procedures. It also
defends the values when they are
appealed by the property owner or the
county.



2004 VALUE INFORMATION

Statewide Assessed Values for 2004

2004 was an ‘“intervening,” or non-
reappraisal year, meaning the actual
values of most properties were the same
as those established for 2003. Generally,
the values reflect market values as of June
30, 2002. However, certain classes and
sub-classes of property are valued every
year. These include all property classified
as state assessed; land classified as oil
and gas, natural resource, and producing
mines; and all subclasses of personal

property. Table 2 displays the
percentage changes in value of each
property class for 2004.

Table 2

Value Changes by Class

2003-2004 Percentage
Class Change of Total

4.3% 6.4%

Vacant Land

Residential + 3.2% 47.2%
Commercial + 1.9% 28.5%
Industrial - 3.1% 4.2%
Agricultural + 1.1% 1.2%
Natural Resources - 5.2% 0.4%
Producing Mines - 10.4% 0.1%
Oil & Gas +77.6% 6.0%
State Assessed - 1.0% 6.0%
Net Total + 4.3% 100.0%

Typically, the most significant changes to
the values during an intervening year are
the result of new construction. For 2004,
the 3.2 percent increase to the residential
class and the 1.9 percent increase to the
commercial class are predominantly new
construction related. In addition, much of
the 4.3 percent reduction to the vacant
land class was caused by the
reclassification of land underlying newly
constructed properties, from vacant land to
an improved property classification.

However, for 2004, the most significant
change to the state’s total assessed value
in both dollar and percentage terms was
the 77.6 percent increase to the oil and gas
class. In 2004, oil and gas property
comprised 6.0 percent of the total taxable

value, whereas it comprised 3.5 percent of
the total in 2003. $1.7 billion of the $2.7
billion net increase to Colorado’s total
assessed value is attributable to the
increase in oil and gas.

The value of oil and gas land is calculated
as a percentage of the sale price obtained
for the product at the wellhead. This
makes oil and gas among the most volatile
of classes because the market prices of
natural gas and crude oil can change
considerably from year to year. When the
prices rise or fall, the production volumes
of the commodities tend to increase or
decrease in harmony with the changes in
price, magnifying the effect of price
changes on the assessed value of the
property class. For example, natural gas
production in 2003 (2004 values) was
approximately 1,307,403,000 MCFs with
an average price of $4.54 per MCF. By
comparison, the 2002 production (2003
values) was approximately 832,380,000
MCFs with an average price of $2.42 per
MCF.

The value of land in the other production
classes, natural resources and producing
mines, is also calculated as a percentage
of the money obtained from selling the
product. Unlike oil and gas, the value of
natural resource land is relatively stable
from year to year as the prices for sand
and gravel products, and their production
amounts, do not fluctuate greatly.

Producing mines values are subject to a
high level of volatility, but the class
comprises only 0.1 percent of the state’s
total value. Ninety-nine percent of that
value is located in the counties of Clear
Creek, Grand, Lake, and Teller. The
primary mineral produced in the first three
counties is molybdenum, while in Teller it is
gold. Due to the small number of mining
operations in Colorado, the total value is
sensitive not only to changes in commodity
prices, but also to business decisions of
the operators and to decisions rendered on
property tax appeals. The 10.4 percent
decrease is largely the result of a
$10,667,020 reduction by the Clear Creek
County Board of Equalization.



The state assessed class is comprised of
property owned by public utilities, airlines
and railroads. It is valued each year by
state appraisers. The portion of that value
attributable to Colorado is then distributed
to county assessors according to the
location of the companies’ operating
property and/or its business activity
throughout the state. The 1.0 percent
decrease in state assessed value occurred
because significant decreases to the
telecommunications industry outweighed
increases that occurred in most other
industries.

The slight decrease to the value of the
industrial class occurred for various
reasons. Among them was a large
reduction made to the value of an ore-
processing mill in Grand County.

The value established for agricultural land
is based on the earning or productive
capacity of the land regardless of the
property’s market value or its highest and
best use. As a result, the actual values of
agricultural property are often much lower
than their market values and tend to be
stable from year to year.

Local Values in 2004

The 4.3 percent increase did not occur
uniformly across Colorado. At the county
level, the changes in value ranged from an
increase of 54.12 percent in Las Animas
County to a decrease of 9.43 percent in
Clear Creek County. Nineteen of
Colorado’'s 64 counties experienced a
decline in total assessed value, and seven
others witnessed an increase of less than
one percent. The range of value changes
is more dramatic when observed at the
taxing district level.

In 2004, the counties with the greatest
percentage increases in total assessed
value were generally those with substantial
oil and gas property. Table 3 lists the top
ten oil and gas producing counties for 2004
along with their increases in total value.

Table 3
TOP OIL AND GAS COUNTIES IN 2004

County % Change in total value
1) La Plata + 40.28%
2) Weld + 20.52%
3) Garfield + 36.12%
4) Las Animas + 54.12%
5) Rio Blanco + 11.46%
6) Yuma + 26.61%
7) Moffat + 15.28%
8) Montezuma + 4.97%
9) Cheyenne + 11.46%
10) San Miguel + 8.57%

Several of the counties had experienced
significant declines to their 2003 total
assessed value even though 2003 was a
re-appraisal year. This occurred because
the oil and gas commodity prices and
production volumes decreased
considerably in 2002, resulting in a
statewide reduction in oil and gas value of
21.4 percent for 2003. Table 4 lists the top
10 oil and gas producing counties in 2003
and their increases or decreases in total
value.

Table 4
TOP OIL AND GAS COUNTIES IN 2003

County % Change in total value
1) La Plata - 18.90%
2) Weld +  2.29%
3) Garfield + 041%
4) Rio Blanco - 10.23%
5) Las Animas + 8.08%
6) Montezuma - 0.69%
7) Cheyenne - 6.36%
8) Moffat - 7.75%
9) Yuma - 1017%
10) Huerfano +  3.09%

Table 5 lists the value changes for each
county for 2004.

Personal Property in 2004

Colorado is one of 39 states that impose a
tax on business personal property (Fair &
Equitable, P. 6, 05/04). In 2004, personal
property accounted for 12.58 percent of
Colorado’s property tax base, but that
percentage varied substantially from



county to county. Although most personal
property is assessed locally, nearly 43
percent of personal property is classified
as state assessed. In 2004, 90.1 percent
of the state assessed property value was
personal. All taxable personal property is
assessed at 29 percent of its actual value.

Under the Colorado Constitution and
statutes, certain categories of business
personal property are exempt from
taxation, including equipment used for
agricultural purposes, business inventory,
materials and  supplies held for
consumption, and personal property under
common ownership with a total actual
value of no more than $2,500 per county.
In addition, a provision found in the
constitution, allows any taxing entity to
“‘enact cumulative uniform exemptions and
credits to reduce or end business personal
property taxes,” § 20(8)(b), art. X, COLO.
CONST.

Table 6 lists the state assessed, locally
assessed and total taxable personal
property by county, and the percentage of
value comprised of personal property.



Table 5

COUNTY

Adams
Alamosa
Arapahoe
Archuleta
Baca

Bent
Boulder
Broomfield
Chaffee
Cheyenne
Clear Creek
Conejos
Costilla
Crowley
Custer
Delta
Denver
Dolores
Douglas
Eagle

El Paso
Elbert
Fremont
Garfield
Gilpin
Grand
Gunnison
Hinsdale
Huerfano
Jackson
Jefferson
Kiowa

Kit Carson
La Plata
Lake
Larimer
Las Animas
Lincoln
Logan
Mesa
Mineral
Moffat
Montezuma
Montrose
Morgan
Otero
Ouray
Park
Phillips
Pitkin
Prowers
Pueblo

Rio Blanco
Rio Grande
Routt
Saguache
San Juan
San Miguel
Sedgwick
Summit
Teller
Washington
TWeld
Yuma

Total

CHANGE IN TAXABLE VALUES

2004 ASSESSED VALUES
Non-Residential Residential Total
1,941,558 750 1824215350  3,765774.100
72,551,300 33207320 105,759,120
3120687930 3535004 730 6,555 682680
111,583,500 88,496,580 200,080,180
54,987,991 5703002 60,686,083
44,371,391 & 624 280 50,995,671
2,157,052,866 2,588,029,250 4,755,082,116
592 966,550 302 925,803 805692443
147 605,040 116,325,290 263,930,330
102,643,502 3,173,397 105,816,899
90,506,450 34 523,160 175,029,610
24,008,150 18,471,930 42 480,080
57,510,583 8,559,558 54,070,141
21,143,549 5452470 26,596,019
34,787 360 33 445,140 68,232,500
110,559,380 94,124 960 204 684,840
4,886,081,740 3,666,381,820 8,552 463,560
24 598,090 6,052 240 31,650,330
1,462,282 900 1,996,143 870 3,458,426,770
828,570,770 1181545040 2010115810
2503572270 2508449620  5.012.021,390
70174112 151 578 680 221,752,792
190,133,818 130,896,511 330,030,429
941,228,950 313,873,410 1,255,102 360
230,716,430 44,007,850 274,724,280
266,112,300 238,208,030 404 320,330
738,755,330 167 653,830 406,409,160
20,795,740 15 494 020 36,289,760
70,064,320 37,083,180 106,147,510
19,230,428 7.015 844 37,146,272
3494 321,110 3836440760  B,330,751,.870
27,391,900 1,783,280 29,175,180
74,981,502 17,325 768 92,307,270
1.797,140,330 333,398,350 2,130,538 680
44 960,815 32,823,083 77,783,898
1,423.073,957 1766718000 3,189,791 957
376,270,440 40,391 430 416,661,870
54,031,174 9,897,227 53,928,401
109,699,010 50,683,080 160,382,090
532 416,230 521 755 440 1,054 171,670
11,452,070 10,465,670 21,817,740
305,416,380 35 064 440 341,380,820
186,140,300 73,748,070 259,888,870
195,084 584 134 557 566 330,542,250
280,197 850 71,432,830 351,630,680
65627074 39.078.196 104,705,270
63,771,910 43,136,930 106,908,840
155,314,045 160,160,410 315,474,455
31,331,220 10,884 860 42,216,080
540,086,960 1,143,274 500 1,783,351,460
103,037,999 21,655,124 124,693,123
504 668,520 466 472230 971,140,750
319,674,480 20,110,370 339,785,350
78,247,210 43 653,800 121,901,010
381,218,790 313,034,970 694,253 760
34,713,999 11,482 382 46,196,381
21,013,930 7,272,800 28,286,730
313,436,550 263 300,530 576,737,080
37557 650 4474 330 31,081,980
512,345 581 686,760,403 1,189,105 984
213,715,690 146 652,300 360,297,990
76.793.337 9092 259 85,886,006
2,074,367 550 918,193,420 2,982,560 870
175,742,160 21,320,220 197,071,380

34.160.080.997

30.470.840.993 64.630,921.990

2003 ASSESSED VALUES
Non-Residential Residential Total I
1,876,092,090 1,730,702,080 3,609,794,180
73,281,980 324725230 105,710,210
3,143,742,500 3,442,883,070 5,586,625,570
110,008,150 105,798,510 215,807,660
52,297 440 5,581,630 57,879,070
44,814,010 5,598,550 51,212,560
2,148,618,049 2,559,055,400 4707 673,448
613,351,590 286,010,105 899,361,695
146,666,120 111,408,780 258,074,910
91,794,490 3,141,180 94,935,670
110,034,290 83,219,900 193,254,190
26,052,930 17,548,730 43 601,860
58,877,360 5,205,000 55,082,360
22,989,700 5,441,100 25,430,800
35,342,810 31.416,050 68,758,860
117,835,340 900,514,980 208,350,320
4.545,628,990 3,584,737 170 5,430,266,160
25,897,580 5,260,970 32,158,550
1,384,121,350 1,879,984 480 3,274,115,810
340,631,740 1,145,795 330 1980427070
2,508,837,100 2,396,616,040 4,905 453,140
71,090,130 146,858,420 217,948,550
228,285,590 123,060,800 357,346,490
£23.951,170 298 081 630 972 032,800
228,537,390 45,882,720 275,430,110
260,255,290 226,543 130 486,708,420
234,261,580 161,308,360 395,560,940
21,622,030 14,888,150 38,520,180
§3,964,330 26,092,280 110,056,610
18,648,240 8,272,890 26,921,130
2,523,308,810 3,790,724,810 5,314,033,620
25,841,260 1,754,130 27,595,390
75,783,380 16,999 650 92,783,030
1,202,267,300 318 467 950 1,518,735,250
45422170 32,048,960 7,471,130
1410,752,930 1,703,515 640 3,114 268,570
231,230,260 39,116,600 270,346,860
51,738,100 9,754,480 51,492,580
103,984,390 49,506 610 155,491,000
516,371,120 496,194 820 1,012 565,940
11,388,870 10,087,130 21,496,100
261,174,870 34,950,290 286,125,160
176,845,620 70,734,790 247 533410
188,739,790 127,415,710 316,155,500
291,530,040 69,331,540 360,861,580
£5,890,370 38,695,910 104,586,280
52,793,324 40,688,337 103,462,661
158,007,310 153,495 460 311,502,770
31,657,810 10,683,170 42,340,980
655,675,220 1,120,4715,150 1,776,090,370
71,233,370 21,301,450 92,534,820
511,558,230 443 440,280 960,998,510
285,495,120 19,366,710 304,881,830
78,882,650 41438020 120,321,670
356,590,560 300,866,420 BET 456,980
36,583,790 11,332,310 47,816,100
21,563,600 5,998,640 28,562,240
279,150,530 252074 320 531,224,850
26,122,120 4 397 080 30,519,180
531,387,020 569,022 980 1,200,408,980
207,787,360 141,447 430 349 234,790
£7.021,290 3,867 550 75,888,840
1.628,778,190 853,158,900 2,482,938,090
134,725,180 20925610 155,650,790

32425627413 29.523.577.562 61.949.204.975

INCREASE OR DECREASE

Non-Res Residential

3.32%
-1.00%
-0.45%

1.43%

5.14%
-0.54%

0.39%
-3.32%

0.64%
11.82%

-17.75%
-T.85%
-2.32%
-8.03%
-1.57%
-6.17%

0.83%
-4.63%

4.88%
-1.43%
-0.21%
-1.28%

-13.15%
50.85%

0.51%
-1.58%

1.92%
-3.82%
-5.84%

212%
-1.15%

6.00%
-1.06%
49.48%
-1.02%

0:87%
62.73%

4.43%

0.66%

21%

0.47%
16.94%

5.25%

3.84%
-3.88%
-0.40%

1.56%
-1.70%
-1.03%
-2.38%
44 65%
-1.35%
11.97%
-0.81%
-1.39%
-5.11%
-2.55%
12.28%

5.50%
-3.58%

2.85%
14.58%
27.28%
30.44%

2.37%

5.40%
2.40%
2.41%
-16.35%
2.18%
0.39%
1.52%
5.91%
4.41%
1.03%
1.57%
5.26%
5.71%
0.21%
6.46%
2.99%
2.28%
11.04%
6.18%
2.85%
4.67%
3.21%
2.21%
5.30%
-4 1%
5.15%
2.93%
4.00%
3.80%
-4.32%
1.21%
1.66%
1.92%
5.35%
2.42%
2T1%
3.26%
1.46%
2.38%
5.15%
3.65%
2.90%
4.26%
5.61%
3.03%
0.99%
6.07%
4.34%
1.89%
2.04%
1.66%
2.79%
3.84%
5.34%
4.04%
1.32%
3.92%
4.45%
0.62%
2.65%
2.70%
2.53%
7.62%
1.93%

2.20%

Total
4.32%
0.05%
1.05%

7.28%
4.85%
0.42%
1.01%
0.39%
2.27%
11.46%
9.43%
2.57%
1.56%
£.45%
2.21%
A4.76%
1.45%
1.58%
5.63%
1.04%
217%
1.75%
7.64%
36.12%
0.26%
1.56%
2.74%
0.63%
-3.55%
0.84%
0.26%
5.72%
0.51%
40.28%
0.40%
2.43%
54.12%
3.96%
1.19%
411%
1.96%
15.28%
4.97%
4.55%
2.56%
0.11%
3.33%
1.28%
0.29%
0.41%
34.75%
1.06%
11.46%
1.31%
0.99%
3.58%
0.96%
8.57%
4.79%
0.11%
3.20%
13.17%
20.52%
26.61%

2.29%




Table 6

DISTRIBUTION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY [N 2004

State Assd. % of Locally Assd. % of Total % of Total Total Assd.
County Personal Total Personal Total Personal Total Real Value
Adams 276,923,030 7.35% 330042790 8.79% 607,865,820 16.14% 3.157.008,2800  3.765774.100
Alamosa 8061590 8 4T% B201700 0 5869 151634000 14.34% 90,505,720 105,759,120
Arapahoe 245797 460  3.60% 433,938,040  6.52% 670,735,500 10.21% 5,075,047 160! 6,655 682,660
Archuleta 8227330 4.11% 5202330 2.65% 13519660 6.76% 186,560,520 200,080,180
Baca 21,809,849 35.94% 1,759,988 2.90% 23,569,337 33.84% 37,116,246 60,686,083
Bent 10108031 19.82% 1,004,658 1.07% 1M A12880 0 21.79% 39,887,982 503,995 571
Boulder 121,660,470 2.56% 372,658,776  7.84% 404319246 1040%; | 4,260,762,870/] 4,755,082,116
Broomfield 31,690,140 1 3549 103,457,090 [ 11.55% 135166230 15.00% T60, 726,213 895892443
Chaffee 12,537,270)  4.75% 7497930 2.84% 20,035,200 7.59% 243,895 130 263,030,330
Cheyenne 11,704,284 11.06% 12044116 11.38% 23,748,400 22.44% 62,068,499 105,816,899
Clear Creek 10,840,070, 6.25% 15.504,230)  8.86% 26,444 3000 15 1% 148,585 310 175,029,610
Conejos 366,460 T 45% 94551012 93% 4119707 088% 38,368,110 43 480,080
Costilla 3741675 5.84% 647,751 1.01% 4,380,426 5.85% 59,680,715 64,070,141
Crowley 3089900 1162% 493377 1.86% 3583277 13.47% 23.012.742 265,506,019
Custer 3,107,880  4.55% 588,530  0.86% 3896410 542% 64,536,080 68,232,500
Delta 20,928,180 1 10:22% 19:807,740  9.68% 40,735,000 19.90% 163,048 040 204 684,840
Denver 677,482,200  7.92% T31771,740)  8.56% 1,409,253,940 16.46% 7,143,200 6200 8,552 463,560
Dolores 8264720 26.11% 916,650 12.90% 9,181,370 29.01% 27468960 31,650,330
Douglas 101,732,732)  2.94% 178,667,550 5.17% 280,400,282 8.11% 3,178,026 488 3,458 406,770
Eagle 47 7725600 2.368% TAA98,0300 0 354% 118,970,610 5.92% 1,891,145, 2000 2,010,115,810
El Paso 235,769,010,  4.70% 452 676,870)  9.03% 688,445,880 13.74% . 4323576010/ 5012021890
Elbert 13,368,807 6.03% 3478149 157% 16,846,056 7.60% 204,905 836 221,752,792
Fremont 20,918,207  B.34% 69,436,086 21.04% 90,354,203 27.38% 239,676,136 330,030,429
Garfield 46407825 3.70% 85,544 650 5.90% 132,952,275 10.50% 11221500851 1,255.102.360
Gilpin 3,385,100/ 1.23% 27,882,600 10.15% 31,267,700 11.38% 243 456 580 274,724,280
Grand 23,521,900 1 4.76% 14622010 2.96% 38,143010 0 TT2% 456,176,420 494320530
Gunnison 8960910 2.21% 26,024,190 6.40% 34,994 1000 8.61% 371,415,060 406,409,160
Hinsdale ETH85000 1 50% 42945000 118% 1,007 4300 278% 35,282,330 365,289,760
Huerfano 13,605,320 12.90% 4,046,010 4 .66% 18,641,330 17.56% 87,506,180 106,147,510
Jackson 1,494,599 5.51% 1,095,508 4.04% 2,500,107 954% 24,556,165 27146272
Jefferson 208,038,960,  3.29% 401,728,190  6.35% 609,767,150  9.63% 5,720,994 7200  6,330,761,870
Kiowa 2.799,930 0 960% 730,820 250% 3530750 12.10% 25 644 430 29175180
Kit Carson 10,271,013 11.13% 3775794 4.09% 14,046,807 15.22% 78,260,463 92,307,270
La Plata 51442.2000 1 2:40% 1601494800 © T 50% 2112971880 9.92% 1,919,247.000 1 12/130/538 580
Lake 9,083,012 11.68% 3785448 4.87% 12,868,460 16.54% 64,915,438 77,783,898
Larimer 70,985,380 1 2.25% 275.766,649 1 8.65% 346,752,020 10.87% 2843030938 3,189,791 967
Las Animas 34,581,900 8.30% 61,552,680 14.77% 96,134,580 23.07% 320,527 290 416,661,870
Lincoln 1F 400135 2T 05% 1/638,045 2 56% 19038180 29.78% 44,890,221 63928401
Logan 30,744,900 19.17% 9614380 5.00% 40,350,280 25.16% 120,022,810 160,382,090
Mesa 78,627,220 7.46% 732792200 B.95% 151,006,440 14.41% 902,265 2300 1054171670
Mineral 829,990  3.79% 1,007,980 4 .80% 1,837,970  8.39% 20,079,770 21,917,740
Moffat 120,454,730 135.28% D23BZ5200 0 B55% 1428172507 41.84% 108,563 570 341380,820
Montezuma 29,972,500 11.53% 17,363,360  6.68% 47,335,860 18.21% 212,553,010 250,888,870
Montrose 37,641,587 171.39% 18813838 '5.69% 56455425 17 08% 274,086,825 330542250
Morgan 121,562,180 34 57% 39,715,720) 11.29% 161,277,900 45.87% 190,352,780 351,630,680
Otero 16,043,341 16.168% 5950315 6.64% 23,803,657 22.82% 80,811,613 104,705 270
Ouray 3,585,000 3.35% 1,069,260 1.00% 4,654,260 4.35% 102,254 580 106,908,840
Park 10771974 341% 3.498,082 0.79% 13.270,056 4. 71% 302,204 399 315474455
Phillips 2,268,860  5.37% 1,958,530 4 .64% 42273900 10.01% 37,988,690 42 218,080
Pitkin 13,853,820 0.78% 33274510 187% 47126330 2.64% 1.736.233.13000 1.783,361.460
Prowers 42992754 34.48% 5800,788  4.72% 48,883,542 39.20% 75,809,581 124 693,123
Pusblo 105,836,190 1 10:90% 93,306,920 10.12% 204 143110 21.02% 766,297 840 971.140,750
Rio Blanco 295111300 8.69% 41,010,310, 12.07% 70,521,440 20.75% 269,263 910 330,785,350
Rio Grande 6951690 5.70% 5839780 4.83% 128414700 1053% 106,059,540 121,901,010
Routt 73,205,880 10.56% 334766200  4.82% 106,772,500 15.38% 587,481 260 694,253,760
Saguache 4,607,132 9.97% 895,665 1.04% 5502797 11.91% 40,693 584 46,196,387
San Juan 1,323,080 4 .68% 767,120 2.71% 2,090,180,  7.39% 26,196,550 28,286,730
San Miguel 114250600 1.93% 12782800 1 2209 23007950 4.15% £50 899 130 5T6.737.080
Sedgwick 9,700,090 30.33% 849,090  2.65% 10,549,180 32.98% 21,432,800 31,981,980
Summit 26,626,241 2.22% 55371826 487% 84,998,069  7.00% 11141079151 1,199,105.984
Teller 11,108,264  3.08% 37,751,040 10.47% 48,850,304 13.56% 311,538 686 360,397,990
Washington 10010157 11.66% 1,014,219 2.23% 11024376 13.:88% 73,961,720 85,586,006
Weld 262,821,900  8.78% 220,226,500, 7.36% 483,048,400 16.14% 25005125700 2.992560.970
Yuma 17504320 8/88% T1715,3700 75945 29219690 14.85% 167.851.890 197,071,380
TOTALS 3,482,735.889 5.39%  4,649.367.021 7.19% & 8,132,102,910 12.58% A 56,498,819.080 @ 64,630,921,990




RESIDENTIAL ASSESSMENT RATE

In 1982, the electorate passed
Constitutional Amendment One. A portion
of the amendment dealt with the residential
assessment rate, and that part of the
amendment is referred to as the “Gallagher
Amendment.”

The intent of Gallagher was to stabilize
residential real property’s share of the
property tax base. Residential real
property’s share of total assessed value
had increased from 29 percent in 1958 to
44 percent in 1982. By allowing the
residential assessment rate to “float,”
residential real property would not continue
to bear an ever-increasing share of the
property tax burden. The floating rate
would increase if residential real property’s
share of total taxable assessed value
appreciably declined below 44.60 percent.
Similarly, the rate would decrease if
residential real property’s share of total
taxable assessed value appreciably
exceeded 44.60 percent.

The 44.60 percent figure, which is now
referred to as the “residential target
percentage,” was calculated based upon
residential real property’s share of total
assessed value for 1986. The Legislature
(General Assembly) provided for changes
in the target percentage based upon new
construction and changes in the volume of
natural resource production. The target
percentage is adjusted during the year
preceding each change in the level of
value, i.e. during even-numbered years.

Property is reappraised by county
assessors every odd-numbered year. In a
reappraisal year, Section 3(1)(b) of Article
X of the Colorado Constitution and § 39-1-
104.2(5)(a), C.R.S., require an adjustment
in the residential assessment rate in order
to maintain a balance between residential
and all other property. The legislature
must adjust the residential assessment
rate to ensure that the percentage of
residential real property assessed value
(target percentage), when compared to the
assessed value of all property, remains
essentially the same as it was the

preceding year. Section 39-1-104.2(5)(c),
C.R.SS., requires the Property Tax
Administrator to complete a documented
study that estimates the residential
assessment rate for each level of value
period.  Three major calculations are
required (NOTE: our example portrays
the calculation for the 2003-2004 level of
value period):

2003 Residential Rate Calculation

Using the total actual 2001 assessed value
for non-residential property, calculate what
the total 2001 residential real property
value should have been to exactly achieve
the 2001 residential real property target
percentage of 46.61 percent. Then, adjust
the 46.61 percent target percentage to
account for 2001 and 2002 net changes in
new construction and the production
volumes of producing natural resource
properties, oil and gas wells, and earth and
stone  operations. From  these
adjustments, the 2003 residential real
property target percentage is calculated to
be 47.08 percent.

Estimate the 2003 values and determine
residential real property’s share of the tax
base assuming the residential assessment
rate remains the same. The residential
assessment rate for 2001 and 2002 was
9.15 percent. Based on our study of the
reappraised values, if the assessment rate
of 9.15 percent does not change, the
estimated tax base share for residential
real property would be 49.87 percent,
instead of the required 47.08 percent
calculated above.

Calculate the estimated residential
assessment rate necessary to ensure that
residential real property’s share of the
2003 tax base is 47.08 percent of the total
assessed value of all taxable property.
From this calculation, the residential
assessment rate requires an adjustment to
7.96 percent.

A history of changes to the residential
assessment rate is shown in Table 8.



Table 8

Residential
Years Assessment Rate
Priorto 1983 ..o, 30%
1983-1986 ...coneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 21%
1087 e 18%
TO88..eeeee 16%
1989-1990 ... 15%
1991-1992 ..o 14.34%
1993-1994 ..o 12.86%
1995-1996 ...coevevieeeeeee e 10.36%
1997-1998 ... 9.74%
1999-2000 ...cooieeeeeee e 9.74%
2001-2002 ...coneeeeeeeee e 9.15%
2003-2004......ccoii e, 7.96%

Shift of Assessed Values & Tax Burden

Table 9, on the following page, calculates
the savings to residential taxpayers from
the inception of the Gallagher Amendment
through 2004. It does so by comparing the
taxes paid by residential property owners
to an estimate of the taxes they would
have paid had the Gallagher Amendment
not been enacted. The estimated savings
to residential property owners s
$8,969,002,140.

The table begins with 1987, because the
residential assessment rate remained at 21
percent until 1987. The contents of each
row in the table are described below.

Row 1. Hypothetical residential
assessment rate of 21 percent.

Row 2.  Actual residential assessment
rate for each particular year.

Row 3.  Actual average mill levy.

Row 4.  Hypothetical average mill levy,
had the residential rate been 21
percent every year. This is
calculated by dividing the total
actual revenue received in each
year (Row 9), by the total
assessed value, had the
residential rate been 21 percent
(Row 8).

Row 5. Actual total residential assessed
value.

Row 6. Actual total statewide assessed
value as certified by county
commissioners when mill levies
were certified.

Row 7.  Total hypothetical residential
assessed value, had the
residential rate remained at 21
percent.

Row 8. Hypothetical total assessed
value, had the residential
assessment rate remained at 21
percent.

Row 9.  Total actual statewide property
tax revenue.

Row 10. Total hypothetical tax revenue
attributable to residential
property, had the residential rate
remained at 21 percent. This is
calculated by multiplying the
hypothetical mill levy at 21
percent (Row 4) by the

hypothetical residential
assessed value at 21 percent
(Row 7).

Row 11. Total actual property tax
revenue.

Row 12. Savings to residential taxpayers,
Row 10 minus
Row 11.

Table 10, illustrates the effect of Gallagher
on the statewide assessed value of
residential property since 1983. As the
table shows, the percentage of actual
value attributable to residential property
has increased dramatically during the last
21 years, from 53.20 percent in 1983 to
77.71 percent today. At the same time, the
percentage of assessed value comprising
residential property remained essentially
stable, with only slight changes over time
resulting from new construction and
increased minerals production.



10.

1.

12

Res. Rate w/o Gallagher

Actual Res. Rate

Ave. Actual Mill Levy

Ave. Mill Levy @ 21%

.| Total True Res. Assd. Val.

Total True Assd. Val.

Total Res. Assd. Val. @ 21%

Total Assd. Val. @ 21%

Total True Revenue

Res. Revenue @ 21%

Res. Rev. @ True Rate

. Savings to Res. Taxpayers

Table 9

Shift of Property Tax Burden Due to the Gallagher Amendment

1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993

21.00% 21.00% 21.00% 21.00% 21.00% 21.00% 21.00%

18.00% 16.00% 15.00% 15.00% 14.34% 14.34% 12.86%
0.061631 0.068941 0.076599 0.077543 0.082883 0.084613 0.084215
0.057041 0.060260 0.064812 0.065465 0.068395 0.069563 0.065064

$16,082,851,000 $14,565,525,000 $13,246,081,000 $13,393,681,000 $12,886,606,000 $13,256,627,000 $13,373,489,410

$33,305,709,386  $31,594,514,873 $29,132,506,180 $29,039,235,830 $28,254,712,020 $28,447,544,980 $28,758,329,600

$18,763,326,167 $19,117,251,563 $18,544,513,400 $18,751,153,400 $18,871,598,745 $19,413,470,502 $21,838,513,033

$35,986,184,553  $36,146,241,436 $34,430,938,580 $34,396,708,230 $34,239,704,765 $34,604,388,482 $37,223,353,223

$2,052,676,764  $2,178,165,007  $2,231,532,285  $2,251,797,175  $2,341,834,706  $2,407,175,164  $2,421,892,140

$1,070,273,054|  $1,152,001,612  $1,201,903,929  $1,227,553,345  $1,290,728,562  $1,350,453,688  $1,420,896,252

$991,208,269  $1,004,165,343  $1,014,641,762  $1,038,589,762  $1,068,080,296  $1,121,749,638  $1,126,252,788

$79.064.785 $147.836.269 $187.262.167 $188.963.583 $222.648.266 $228.704.050 $294.643.464

1994

21.00%

12.86%

0.084423

0.065084

$13,970,427,000

$29,761,160,460

$22,813,294 479

$38,604,027,939

$2,512,514,138

$1,484,786,121

$1,179,419,579

$305.366.542

1995

21.00%

10.36%

0.082287

0.055600

$15,155,126,840

$32,428,020,970

$30,719,851,703

$47,992,745,833

$2,668,403,530

$1,708,028,147

$1,247,069,440

$460.958.707




5.

7.

10.

1.

Table 9

Shift of Property Tax Burden Due to the Gallagher Amendment

1996
Res. Rate w/o Gallagher 21.00%
Actual Res. Rate 10.36%

Ave. Actual Mill Levy 0.082951
Ave. Mill Levy @ 21% 0.055931

Total True Res. Assd. Val. $15,788,272,000
Total True Assd. Val. $33,563,472,960

Total Res. Assd. Val. @ 21% $32,003,254,054
Total Assd. Val. @ 21% $49,778,455,014
Total True Revenue $2,734,139,391

Res. Revenue @ 21% $1,789,961,545

Res. Rev. @ True Rate $1,309,660,357

Savings to Res. Taxpayers $480,301,188

1997

21.00%

9.74%

0.078773

0.051464

$17,673,602,010

$38,502,250,770

$38,105,302,075

$58,933,950,835

$3,032,955,892

$1,961,037,718

$1,392,210,956

$568,826,762

1998 1999
21.00% 21.00%
9.74% 9.74%
0.080042 0.074927
0.052162 0.048756

$18,452,519,220 $21,633,354,370

$39,910,771,429 $46,590,805,330

$39,784,692,363 $46,642,755,829

$61.,242,944 572 $71,600,206,789

$3,194,557,668 $3.490,910,908

$2,075,251,197  $2,274,095 459

$1,476,985,652 $1,620,923,103

$598,265,545  $653,172,356

2000

21.00%

9.74%

0.075733

0.049182

2001

21.00%

9.15%

0.070416

0.043633

$22,729,547 584 $27,699,298,175

$48,673,508,510 $58,440,166,120

$49,006,211,423 $63,572,159,746

$74,950,172,349 $94,313,027,691

$3,686,192,349
$2,410,218,895
$1,721,377.541

$688,841,354

$4,115,123,689

$2,773,819,343

$1,950,474,231

$823,345.112

2002

21.00%

9.15%

0.072350

0.044696

$28,882,504,491

$60,456,523,380

$66,287,715,225

$97,861,734,114

$4,374,011,505

$2,962,784,501

$2,089,640,619

$873.143,882

2003 2004
21.00% 21.00%
7.96% 7.96%
0.074335 0.074969
0.041705 0.042274

$29,523,577,562 $30,470,840,993

$61,816,965,320 $64,541,293,358

$77,888,835,277 $80,387,897,092

$110,182,223,035  $114,458,349 457

$4,595,136,111 $4,838,584,603

$3,248,344,331 $3,398,298,534

$2,194,621,762 $2,284,362,993

$1,053,722,569 $1.113,935,541

An Estimate of Total Savings to Residential Taxpayers from Inception to 2004 = $8,969,002,140



TABLE 10

COLORADO ASSESSED VALUES

ASSESSED VALUES DISTRIBUTION OF VALUE
HNomn- Non-
Year Total R esidential R esidential Year Total Residential Residential
1983 $17,185,698,000 $7.424,951,000 $9,760,747,000 1983 | 100.00% 43.20% 56.80%
1984 $17.,905,089,000 $7.921,865470 $9.,983,223,530 1984 | 100.00% 44.24% 55.76%
1985 $18,730,104,000 $8,327,520,240 | $10,402,583,760 1985 | 100.00% 44 46% 55.54%
1986 $19.,216,096,000 $8,646,958,180 |  $10,569,137,820 1986 | 100.00% 45.00% 55.00%
1987 $33,261,142,000 | $16,082,850,600 | $17,178,291,400 1987 | 100.00% 48.35% 51.65%
1988 $31,660,568,730 | $14,565,865,580 | $17,094,703,150 1988 | 100.00% 46.01% 53.99%
1989 $29,131,941,640 | $13,247.498,311 | $15,884,443,329 1989 | 100.00% 4547% 54.53%
1990 $29.082,011,770 | $13,393,681,560 | $15,688,330,210 1990 | 100.00% 46.05% 53.95%
1991 $28,285,335,860 | $12,886,606,790 | $15,398,729,070 1991 | 100.00% 45.56% 54.44%
1992 $28.490,629,640 | $13,256,627,100 | $15,234,002,540 1992 | 100.00% 46.53% 53.47%
1993 $28,820,035,320 | $13,373.489410 | $15446,545910 1993 | 100.00% 46.40% 53.60%
1994 $29.831,046,660 | $13,970427,000 | $15,860,619,660 1994 | 100.00% 46.83% 53.17%
1995 $32,469,922,680 | $15,155,131,610 | $17,314,791,070 1995 | 100.00% 46.67% 53.33%
1996 $33.606,775,890 | $15,788,272,000 | $17,818,503,890 1996 | 100.00% 46.98% 53.02%
1997 $38,536,664,720 | $17,673,602,020 | $20,863,062,700 1997 | 100.00% 45.86% 54.14%
1998 $40,165,596 490 | $18.452,519,220 | $21,713,077,270 1998 | 100.00% 45.94% 54.06%
1999 $46,711,921 473 | $21,633,354,370 | $25,078,567,103 1999 | 100.00% 46.31% 53.69%
2000 $48.757,383,218 | $22,729547,584 | $26,027,835,634 2000 | 100.00% 46.62% 53.38%
2001 $58,812,663,875 | $27,699,298,175 | $31,113,365,700 2001 | 100.00% 47.10% 52.90%
2002 $60.564,946,027 | $28,888.969,314 | $31,675,976,713 2002 | 100.00% 47.70% 52.30%
2003 $61,949,204 975 | $29,523,577,562 | $32425,627,413 2003 | 100.00% 47.66% 52.34%
2004 $64.630,921,990 | $30.470,840,993 | $34,160.080,997 2004 | 100.00% 47.15% 52.85%
COLORADO ACTUAL VALUES
ACTUAL VALUES DISTRIBUTTION OF VALUE
Non- Non-
Year Total Residential Residential Year Total Residential Residential
1983 $66,459,485,820 | $35.356,909,524 | $31,102,576,296 1983 | 100.00% 53.20% 46.80%
1984 $69.718,797,755 | $37.723,168,905 | $31,995.,628,850 1984 | 100.00% 54.11% 45.89%
1985 $72,958,307,363 | $39.654,8358,286 | $33,303.449,078 1985 | 100.00% 54.35% 45.65%
1986 $75,118,950,953 | $41.175,991,333 | $33,942,959,620 1986 | 100.00% 54.81% 45.19%
1987 | $146.891,450,388 | $89,349,170,000 | $57.542,280,388 1987 | 100.00% 60.83% 39.17%
1988 | $148.225,023,177 | $91,036.659,875 | $57.188,363,302 1988 | 100.00% 61.42% 38.58%
1989 | $141.342,075,160 | $88,316.655407 | $53.025419,753 1989 | 100.00% 62.48% 37.52%
1990 | $141.421,555,163 | $89,291.210400 | $52.130,344,763 1990 | 100.00% 63.14% 36.86%
1991 | $140.967,103 411 | $89,864.761437 | $51,102,341,974 1991 | 100.00% 63.75% 36.25%
1992 | $142.,906,267,259 | $92.445,098,326 | $50.461,168,932 1992 | 100.00% 64.69% 35.31%
1993 | $155.096,689,828 | $103,992,919,207 | $51,103,770,621 1993 | 100.00% 67.05% 32.95%
1994 | $160.946,706,538 | $108,634.735,614 | $52.311,970,923 1994 | 100.00% 67.50% 32.50%
1995 | $203.663,083,533 | $146,285,054,151 | $57,378,029,382 1995 | 100.00% 71.83% 28.17%
1996 | $211.793,556,887 | $152,396.447,876 | $59.397,109,011 1996 | 100.00% 71.96% 28.04%
1997 | $250.804,220,896 | $181,453,819,507 | $69,350,401,389 1997 | 100.00% 72.35% 27.65%
1998 | $261.128,074,968 | $189.450,916,016 | $71.677,158,951 1998 | 100.00% 72.55% 27.45%
1999 | $306.002,830,219 | $222,108,361,088 | $83.894 469,131 1999 | 100.00% 72.58% 2742%
2000 | $320.312,771,175 | $233,362,911,540 | $86,949,859,635 2000 | 100.00% 72.85% 27.15%
2001 | $404.716,127,139 | $302,724,570,219 | $101,991,556,920 2001 | 100.00% 74.80% 25.20%
2002 | $419.294,563,373 | $315,726,440,590 | $103,568,122,783 2002 | 100.00% 75.30% 24.70%
2003 | $478.546,478,821 | $370,899.215,603 | $107,647,263,218 2003 | 100.00% 77.51% 22.49%
2004 | $492,572,877,562 | $382,799.,509,962 | $109,773,367,599 2004 | 100.00% 77.71% 22.29%




PROTESTS, APPEALS, ABATEMENTS

Protests and Appeals

Colorado statutes mandate a process that
allows taxpayers the opportunity to
challenge the actual value established by
the assessor. The process begins with the
taxpayer’s protest to the assessor. Upon
receiving a protest, the assessor reviews
the issues raised, and either adjusts or
maintains the actual value established for
the property. Taxpayers who disagree with
the assessor’s decision can appeal to the
county board of equalization. Taxpayers
who disagree with the county board’'s
decision have three choices for further
appeal; they can appeal to the State Board
of Assessment Appeals (BAA), district
court, or binding arbitration. Decisions of
the BAA and district court can be appealed
to the Colorado Court of Appeals and
ultimately to the Colorado Supreme Court.
Decisions of an arbitrator are final.

The number of protests and appeals varies
greatly from county to county. During 2003
(the last reappraisal year), Larimer County
received the greatest number of appeals
with 17,275 while Kiowa County received
none. For many counties, the protest
process places a significant strain on the
resources of the assessor’s office, resulting
in many hours of overtime or compensated
time. Table 11 lists the protests and
county board appeals for each county
during the last three reappraisal years,
organized according to the county officer
pay categories established in § 30-2-102,
C.R.S. For the purpose of this table, The
Cities and Counties of Denver and
Broomfield are placed in category one.
Table 12 provides a summary of protest
and appeal statistics.

Taxpayers can protest and appeal in both
reappraisal years, odd numbered years,
and in intervening years, even numbered
years. However, the number of protests
and appeals is higher in reappraisal years.

Abatements

Abatement petitions can be filed for taxes
erroneously or illegally levied, for
overvaluation, or for an assessment error.
Taxpayers who filed a protest can file an
abatement petition only for a clerical error
or an illegality, but not for an overvaluation.
The question of overvaluation involves
appraisal judgment, which was reviewed
during the protest, if a protest was filed.

Abatement petitions can be filed up to two
years after the date the taxes are due.
Because abatement petitions are filed on
taxes already levied, the abated or
refunded taxes constitute lost revenue to
the affected local governments; however,
§ 39-10-114(1)(a)(1)(B), C.R.S., and case
law, authorize local governments to
recover abated taxes through an increase
in mill levies. Table 13 displays the taxes
abated during 2002, 2003, and 2004.



Table 11

County Protests to Assessor Protests to Assessor Appeals to CBOE
{(PER EMPLOYEE)
Cateqgory 1 1999 2001 2003 1999 2001 2003 1999 2001 2003
Adams 5601 4558 9,295 133 109 227 648 1.059 2,459
Arapahoe 9,132 9,836 7.442 145 141 103 3314 1.040 2,593
Boulder 9,682 2618 10,910 202 180 235 1,623 978 1,620
Broomfield 1,260 144 206
Denver 9,293 7.521 9,356 93 74 108 1,860 1,742 2,441
Douglas 5825 6,730 7,030 121 143 143 330 2,001 2,115
El Paso 5,780 6,240 5,300 85 106 331 1,350 1.210 1,230
Jefferson 9,025 9,566 14,419 133 139 257 1,685 1,208 2,271
Larimer 9,769 13,422 17,275 199 274 353 818 916 2,681
Pueblo 910 794 590 24 23 20 15 5 12
Weld 3,194 4,969 5,075 36 121 134 124 133 380
_ Category 2 _ _

Eagle 3,696 4,985 2,968 154 208 135 901 1.325 947
Fremont 925 1,498 669 71 136 51 17 3 0
Garfield 1,473 1,230 1,774 109 88 111 22 35 704
La Plata 1,006 721 1,854 54 42 103 68 a5 57
Mesa 4284 4,143 3,011 165 153 112 605 421 a
Pitkin 1,773 1,543 1,733 177 171 173 446 416 530
Summit 4,152 4,236 4,532 231 212 239 117 343 587
Category 3

Archuleta 1,248 750 1,041 178 94 110 24 9 268
Chaffee 1,489 1,651 1,128 149 141 125 74 118 110
Clear Creek 628 976 1,017 97 174 182 31 41 37
Delta 775 845 731 82 89 66 17 66 24
Grand 1,121 1,862 1,209 102 177 114 67 152 100
Gunnisan 1,706 1,624 1,516 155 148 138 102 86 146
Las Animas 748 738 573 94 74 57 29 15 18
Logan 1,355 364 246 169 33 25 204 18 23
Moffat 310 181 295 44 26 42 3 9 38
Montrose 1,034 575 G605 103 52 53 62 37 88
Morgan 501 320 382 39 27 29 8 5 13
Otero 223 204 185 29 26 21 7 4 2
Park 3,200 2,100 3,029 267 191 263 104 170 184
Rio Blanco 66 123 151 11 19 25 1 1 6
Routt 1,195 1,899 1,562 109 181 148 155 547 131
San Miguel 232 937 1,041 29 117 116 12 a5 196
Teller 2632 1,737 1,523 155 109 g5 103 338 99
Cateqory 4

Alamosa 245 277 181 31 35 23 9 28 18
Custer 237 163 192 47 41 38 2 1 2
Elbert 487 449 639 35 32 46 17 18 21
Gilpin 447 218 1,062 29 44 266 14 6 24
Huerfano 289 211 173 41 35 29 9 9 42
Kit Carson 323 232 200 a1 58 50 0 8 3
Lake 479 649 247 96 130 41 25 58 28
Montezuma 866 569 554 96 57 55 8 30 23
Quray 472 267 359 118 67 120 17 13 22
Prowers 633 880 a50 106 147 58 2 2 0
Rio Grande 596 430 349 75 61 50 10 10 1
Washington 200 50 81 33 10 12 i} 1 36
Yuma 5 353 372 1 59 74 1 0 102
Category 5

Baca 53 25 34 12 6 10 1 0 0
Bent 150 75 92 38 25 23 0 1 2
Cheyenne 48 68 36 16 23 12 0 3 1
Conejos 399 297 427 100 66 g5 6 k) 0
Costilla 280 194 101 70 a9 20 11 a ]
Crowley 70 25 46 47 25 46 0 0 2
Dolores 118 89 57 39 27 18 2 2 1
Hinsdale 168 142 133 84 71 87 2 G 10
Jackson 9 60 10 6 30 5 1 5 2
Kiowa 0 2 0 0 1 0 0 0 0
Lincoln 39 41 38 8 8 8 0 0 1
Mineral 25 300 10 17 226 7 2 4 1
Phillips 134 a7 39 45 32 13 1 5 1
Saguache 209 94 208 52 24 38 2 1 2
San Juan 82 24 41 55 16 27 1 0 0
Sedgwick 63 58 7 a2 29 4 1 0 0




Table 12

Assessors:

*Total Parcels

Parcels/Schedules Protested

Protests as a Percent of Total Parcels
Percent Change from Prior Reappraisal

County Boards of Equalization (CBOE):

Parcels/Schedules Appealed to CBOE
Percent of CBOE Appeals to Protests

Board of Assessment Appeals (BAA):

“*BAA Dockets

Percent of BAA Appeals to CBOE Appeals
Percent of BAA Appeals to Protests
Percent of BAA Appeals to Total Parcels

Additional Assessor Costs:

***Dollars of Overtime Paid
“**Hours of Compensation Time Granted

Parcels Protested Per Assessor’'s Employee:

Average Number Protested Per Employee
Maximum Number Protested Per Employee
Minimum Number Protested Per Employee

1999

2,410,820
111,219
4.61%
-13.40%

15,240
13.70%

1,888
12.39%
1.70%
0.08%

$166,750
10,856

87
267
0

Parcels Protested Per Employee — Frequency Distribution:

1-50
51 -100
101 - 200
201 - 300
301 — 400

Counties Reporting

* Parcel count derived from county abstracts of assessment.  Includes condominium units.
* BAA dockets include appeals from CBOE and county abatement decisions.
7 overtime/comp time figures not available from all counties.

2001

2,390,325
113,735
4.76%
2.30%

14,816
13.03%

2,111
14.25%
1.86%
0.09%

$135,702
10,412

56
274

26
13
20
4
0
63

2003

2,440,708
126,835
5.20%
11.50%

22,981
18.12%

2,279
9.92%
1.80%
0.09%

$184,007
7,131

137
353

27
11
18

64



Table 13
Abatements, Refunds, and Cancellations of Taxes Reported by Treasurers

2004 2004 2004 2003 2003 2003 2002 2002 2002

County Abatement Abatement Average  Abatement Abatement Average  Abatement Abatement Average

A ts Counts Al 1 A Counts Al 1 A ts Counts Abated

Adams $1,262,430 850 $1,043 $3,206,764 687 34,668 $1,791,696 79 $2.265
Alamosa $83,899 79 $1,062 $21,846 44 $497 $21,074 19 $1,109
Arapahoe $7,936,426 2.586 $3,069 $10,779,228 6,105 $1,766 $8,860,002 2.776 $3,192
Archuleta $69.834 41 $1,703 $133.479 88 $1,517 $45 487 43 $1,058
Baca $24,521 49 $500 $8,102 69 $117 $12,929 75 $172
Bent $305,479 13 $23 498 $55,609 40 $1,302 $1,444 10 3144
Boulder $2,471,330 1.440 $1.716 $2,672,348 1.489 $1,795 $1,429,372 978 $1,462
Broomfield $1,950,541 564 $3,458 $1,051,880 560 $1,878 $383,861 1,039 $369
Chaffee $41,889 76 $551 $15,336 40 $383 $18,504 36 $514
Cheyenne $34,272 k] $1,106 $2619 46 $57 $24 481 24 $1,020
Clear Creek $711,987 161 $4,422 $36,080 99 $364 $27.174 139 $195
Conejos $34,328 129 $266 $9,909 78 $127 $21,801 im $196
Costilla $1,869 7 $267 $233 1 $233 $1,336 k) $445
Crowley $1,430 9 3159 $1,848 7 $264 $2,698 4 $675
Custer $16.875 16 $1.055 $2,280 1" $207 $989 13 $76
Delta 368,089 128 $532 $53,104 351 $151 $69,570 284 $245
Denver $7.037,842 2,717 $2,590 $7.673.471 2,153 $3,564 $2,794,482 2,036 $1,373
Dolores $2,710 14 $194 $43,603 26 $1,677 $3,214 20 $161
Douglas 34,260,407 773 $5,512 $1,600,648 842 31,901 $1,765,150 1,484 31,189
Eagle $1,073,632 345 $3,112 $590,914 337 $1,753 $1,925,774 531 $3,627
Elbert $123,532 81 $1,525 $188,715 171 $1,104 $127,570 125 $1,021
El Paso $3,343.601 1,795 $1,863 $2,788.047 893 $3,.122 $2,326,890 2,195 $1,080
Fremont $686,068 1.132 $606 $621,434 401 $1,550 $131,049 338 $388
Garfield $679,747 115 $5,911 $485,162 47 $10,323 $465,148 111 $4.191
Gilpin $189,867 180 $1,055 $56,796 200 $284 $138,731 42 $3,303
Grand $225,373 129 $1,747 $160,936 67 $2.402 $337,346 128 $2,636
Gunnison $119,858 360 $333 $101,062 63 $1,604 $33,074 196 $169
Hinsdale $19.586 28 $700 $1.902 T 5112 $6.516 18 $362
Huerfano $76,020 183 $415 $329,631 73 34,515 $5,366 24 $244
Jackson $5,296 44 $120 $13,120 155 $85 $11,031 36 $306
Jefferson $4,975,944 2,063 $2.412 $4,140,319 1.877 $2,206 $4,087,515 3,001 $1,362
Kiowa 3996 4 $249 $2,656 16 3166 $5,868 6 3978
Kit Carson $61,522 59 51,043 $86,528 22 $3,933 $10,624 64 $166
Lake $100,490 M $295 $47,297 186 $254 $75,118 17 $642
LaPlata $447 656 819 $547 $106,146 182 $583 $107,270 135 $795
Larimer $2,680,222 1,529 $1,688 $1,254 955 a41 $1,334 $1,176,939 1,878 $627
Las Animas $11,240 43 $261 $74,469 15 34,965 $276,681 324 $354
Lincoln $7.390 14 $528 $17.837 25 $713 $10,171 43 $237
Logan $29,537 16 $1,846 $34,512 60 $575 $12,593 48 $262
Mesa $483,023 731 3661 $614,247 807 761 $202,355 510 $397
Mineral $0 1] $0 $636 1 $636 $0 ] $0
Moffat $297.881 112 $2,660 $113,310 a7 31,168 $31,251 43 $651
Montezuma $138,526 105 $1,319 $66,316 84 $789 $183,033 142 $1,289
Meontrose $53,342 169 $316 $51,185 262 $195 $78,884 197 $400
Morgan 462,673 873 $530 $25,517 50 3510 $161,185 105 $1.535
Otero $22.591 21 $1.076 $15.427 15 $1.028 $18.871 35 $539
Quray $23.612 49 3482 338,831 59 $658 $29,893 91 $328
Park $146,985 638 $230 $82,703 1.005 $82 $118,803 365 $325
Phillips $6,503 19 $342 $1,368 18 $76 $9,213 as $263
Pitkin $350,975 254 $1,382 $316,841 115 $2,755 $402 467 181 $2.224
Prowers $79,083 50 $1,582 $20,219 21 $963 $16,881 34 $497
Pueblo $613,932 a2 $1,913 $596,090 1,402 $425 $4,994 842 342 $14,605
Rio Blanco $484 921 39 $12,434 $416,010 43 $9.675 $2,788 359 58
Rio Grande $32,038 86 $373 $61,777 a7 $1,670 $30,039 a8 $308
Routt $699,543 236 $2,964 $466,588 294 $1,587 $1,545,347 710 $2177
Saguache $15,344 82 $247 $34,904 57 $612 $12,832 134 $96
San Juan $0 1] $0 $5,081 g $635 $72 1 $72
San Miguel $80,031 a6 $834 $120,002 a7 $1.237 $130,382 108 $1.207
Sedgwick $1.892 17 111 $1.306 4 $az27 $3.410 8 5426
Summit $581,703 447 $1,301 $1,554,087 1,319 $1.178 $478,842 672 $713
Teller $237,048 151 $1,570 $134,205 141 $952 $144,076 147 $980
Washington $13,636 17 $802 $84 5 $17 $15,289 27 $566
Weld $1,357,785 927 31,465 $1,498,040 3,122 $480 $785,735 949 3828
Yuma $178,572 48 $3,720 $20,561 89 23 $15,586 313 $50

Totals: 547435375 24.431 $1.942 $44,726,259 27.636 $1.618 $37.968,114 24,856 $1.528




SENIOR CITIZEN EXEMPTION

In 2003, budget constraints forced the
Colorado Legislature to temporarily
suspend state funding for the senior citizen
property tax homestead exemption,
eliminating the tax benefit for property tax
years 2003-2005. The exemption is
scheduled to return for 2006, taxes
payable January 2007.

The exemption was enacted by voters in
2000 with the passage of Section 3.5,
Article X of the Colorado Constitution. It
became effective in 2002. As enacted, the
exemption reduced the actual value of a
residential property by 50 percent, up to a
maximum reduction of $100,000. The
amendment authorized the Colorado
Legislature to adjust the amount of value to
which the 50 percent exemption is applied.
For tax years 2003-2005, Senate Bill 03-
265 changed the exemption amount from
50 percent of the first $200,000 to 50
percent of $0. It returns to 50 percent of
the first $200,000 for assessment year
2006.

Although funding has been suspended,
counties and the state continue to
administer the program. Each year, the
assessor is required to mail a notice to all
residential property owners that explains
the existence of the exemption. Qualifying
seniors have until July 15 to apply for the
exemption, and once granted, the exempt
status remains in effect for future years
untii a change in the ownership or
occupancy requires its removal. To
qualify, on January 1 a senior must be at
least 65 years old and must have owned
and occupied the property as his or her
primary residence for ten or more
consecutive years.

In 2004, counties processed approximately
3,000 new applications, and the exemption
was granted to most of them. Currently
137,419 properties are approved for the
exemption. Applicants denied the
exemption have the right to appeal the
denial to the county board of equalization,
comprised of the county commissioners.

No later than October 10, the assessor is
required to send the Division an electronic
list of the exemptions granted, including
the names and social security numbers of
each person occupying the property. The
Division then uses that data to identify
individuals who were granted the
exemption on more than one property, and
denies the exemption on each. In 2004,
the Division denied exemptions on 18
properties owned by 9 applicants.

The senior exemption program does not
result in a loss of revenue to local
governments. Instead, the state
reimburses the local governments for the
tax revenue exempted.

No later than
April 1, county treasurers send the State
Treasurer an itemized list of the
exemptions granted and taxes exempted.
No later than April 15, the State Treasurer
reimburses the local governments for the
lost revenue. In 2003, the State Treasurer
reimbursed local governments
$61,490,941 for exemptions granted in
2002.



AGRICULTURAL TIMBERLAND

In 1990, the Colorado Legislature passed
HB 90-1229, expanding the definition of
“agricultural land” to include forested land
that meets certain requirements. The
definition reads as follows:

‘A parcel of land that consists of at
least forty acres, that is forest land,
that is used to produce tangible wood
products that originate from the
productivity of such land for the
primary purpose of obtaining a
monetary profit, that is subject to a
forest management plan, and that is
not a farm or ranch, as defined in
subsections (3.5) and (13.5) of this
section. "Agricultural land" under this

subparagraph (ll) includes land
underlying any residential
improvement located on  such
agricultural land.”

§ 39-1-102(1.6)(a)(ll), C.R.S.

Since the enactment of the statute,
numerous owners have taken advantage of
it to secure significant tax reductions by
developing "forest management plans" on
what otherwise would be classified as
vacant or residential improved land. This
has resulted in a loss of revenue for the
2004 tax year to the following counties that
have "agricultural timberland." The results
are detailed in Table 14.

Table 14
Assessed
Value Loss of

County Difference Revenue

Archuleta $ 1,376,136 $ 79,583
Boulder $ 4,834,770 $ 318,608
Chaffee $ 1,185,886 $ 53,846
Clear Creek $ 363,570 $ 31,793
Custer $ 453,050 $ 26,469
Douglas $ 4,751,292 $ 410,121
Eagle $ 2,954,180 $ 125,231
El Paso $ 563,600 $ 42,848
Elbert $ 143,887 $ 10,996
Garfield $ 384,390 $ 22,789
Gilpin $ 1,434,253 $ 64,276
Grand $ 6,066,690 $ 357,910
Gunnison $ 45,240 $ 2,173
Hinsdale $ 17,310 $ 655
Jackson $ 9,138 $ 461
Jefferson $ 10,974,065 $ 953,804
Lake $ 485,064 $ 40,016
La Plata $11,410,755 $ 342,323
Larimer $ 2,866,721 $ 205,544
Mesa $ 44,800 $ 2978
Montrose $ 20,590 $ 1,199
Ouray $ 80,010 $ 3,370
Park $ 547,370 $ 28,196
Pitkin $ 161,660 $ 12,379
RioBlanco $ 155,079 $ 5745
Routt $ 5,545,809 $ 312,588
San Juan $ 1,106,233 $ 48,434
San Miguel $ 2,182,438 $ 75,831
Summit $ 2,198,145 $ 493,204
Teller $ 1,225,170 $ 81,915
TOTAL $63,587,301 $4,155,285

An estimated 52.7 percent of this lost
revenue, or $2,189,835 would have gone
to the local school districts.



HISTORY OF POSSESSORY INTEREST

Overview

Generally, a possessory interest
constitutes a right to the possession and
use of government property for a period of
time less than perpetuity. It represents a
portion of the bundle of rights that would
normally be included in a fee ownership;
and its value, therefore, is typically
something less than the value in perpetuity
of the whole bundle of rights. For property
tax purposes, the Division of Property
Taxation defines possessory interest as: A
private property interest in government-
owned property or the right to the
occupancy and use of any benefit in
government-owned property that has been
granted under lease, permit, license,
concession, contract, or other agreement.

A question of considerable concern to
Colorado assessors has been whether a
possessory interest in government owned
property, such as a ski resort’'s permit to
use Forest Service land, represents a
taxable interest, even though the
government’s fee interest in the land is
exempt. The issue has evolved through a
series of court decisions and legislation,
culminating in the February 26, 2001,
Colorado Supreme Court decision in the
consolidated cases Board of County
Commissioners, County of Eagle, State of
Colorado v. Vail Associates Inc. and the
Board of Assessment Appeals and Allen S.
Black et al. v. Colorado State Board of
Equalization, 19 P.3d 1263 (Colo 2001).

By a four to three majority, the Supreme
Court reversed decisions of the Court of
Appeals, and affirmed the taxable status of
possessory interests in government-owned
property. The court declared that portions
of the recently enacted statute, § 39-3-136,
C.R.S., were unconstitutional, because
they created an exemption that did not fall
within any of the exemption categories
specified in Article X, of the Colorado
Constitution.  Section 3 of Article X is
quoted in part as follows: “Each property
tax levy shall be uniform upon all real and

personal property not exempt from taxation
under this article....”

To better understand the decision, the
following narrative traces the history of the
possessory interest debate, from the
original Mesa Verde case to the court’s
recent decision in Vail Associates.

Mesa Verde |

In 1967, Mesa Verde Company filed an
abatement/refund petition with Montezuma
County seeking a refund of property taxes
paid “under protest” since 1937. Mesa
Verde claimed that the improvements on
which the company was taxed were
exempt, because they were owned by the
federal government. The petition was
denied by the county board of equalization,
and the company appealed to district court.
The court dismissed the appeal, ruling it
must look “behind the shadow of the
United States’ title to the substantive
ownership of plaintiff.” The court ruled that
Mesa Verde “had substantially all the
incidents of ownership of these
improvements” making them subject to
taxation. Mesa Verde appealed the court’s
decision to the Supreme Court.

In Mesa Verde Company v. Montezuma
County Board of Commissioners, et al.,
178 Colo 49, 495 P. 2d 229 (Colo. 1972),
the Colorado Supreme Court affirmed the
district court’s ruling. The court noted that
the contracts with the Secretary of the
Interior granted Mesa Verde “..a
possessory interest in all concessionaire’s
improvements consisting of all incidents of
ownership....” The court stated that based
on “...the contracts’ terms, the language of
relevant statutes, and the actions of the
parties while under contract...” it was able
to conclude there was support in the record
for the trial court’s finding.
Of significance is the court’s finding that
legal title vested in the United States only
for collateral security purposes for
performance conditions is not conclusive
evidence of ownership by the United
States. In addition, since significant
incidents of the plaintiffs ownership exist,



the property should not be exempt from
taxation.

Enactment of § 39-3-112, C.R.S.
(amendments followed)

The legislature entered the debate in 1975
with the passage of an act titled concerning
the taxation of a possessory interest in
property otherwise exempt from taxation.
The act created § 39-3-112, C.R.S., which
is quoted in part as follows.

“When any property which for any
reason is exempt from taxation is
leased, loaned, or otherwise made
available to and used by a private
individual, association, or
corporation in connection with a
business conducted for profit, the
lessee or user thereof shall be
subject to taxation in the same
amount and to the same extent as
though the lessee or user were the
owner of  such property,...”
§ 39-3-112(1), C.R.S.

Although § 39-3-112, C.R.S., clearly stated
the legislature’s intention that most
possessory interests be taxed, it exempted
certain possessory interests, such as
agricultural land and public utility
easements, from the provisions of the
statute.

During the vyears that followed, the
legislature amended the statute with
several new exemptions to possessory
interest taxation.

e SB 76-029 amended § 39-3-112(4),
C.R.S,, to exempt, for the term of an
existing lease, property owned by a
municipality and leased to a private
entity in connection with a business,
when the lease was initiated prior to
July 1, 1976.

e HB 79-1531 amended § 39-3-112(4)(c),
C.R.S., to exempt possessory interests
in publicly owned property when the
use “...is by way of lease of or a
concession in or relative to the use of

public airport, park, market, fairground,

or similar property which is available to
the use of the general public.” Ski area
property was specifically excluded from
the exemption, and it continued to be
valued by procedures stated in
subsection six for federal lands used for
recreational purposes.

e HB 79-1021 amended § 39-3-112(1),
C.R.S., to exempt real property
furnished to a government
contractor that “...maintains
permanent records substantiating
the terms of such contract,” and to
exempt possessory interests in
property used by airline companies.
The bill also amended
§ 39-3-112(5), C.R.S., to exempt
possessory interests in land owned
by the state of Colorado and
managed by the State Board of
Land Commissioners.

e HB 83-1575 amended the “public
airport” exemption found in
§ 39-3-112(4)(c), C.R.S, to include
property owned by an authority created
by the Public Airport Authority Act, and
to limit the exemption to property
located “...within the boundaries of a
public airport [that] is directly related to
the ordinary function of the airport.”

e HB 88-1015 amended § 39-3-112(6),
C.R.S., to specify that “the possessory
interest, and only the possessory
interest...” in federal lands used for
recreational purposes be taxed. It also
provided more detailed procedures for
the valuation of possessory interests in
recreational lands.

Rockwell Case

In 1980, the U.S. 10th Circuit Court of
Appeals ruled in the United States of
America v. State of Colorado, et al. , 627
F.2d 217 (1980) (Rockwell Case), that
management contracts do not create a
possessory interest in property that is used
in conjunction with the agreement. This
case concerned the Rocky Flats Nuclear
Weapons Plant and the operator/manager,
Rockwell International. The court




determined the relationship between the
government and Rockwell was such that
the company operated under a
management contract and any use of the
property was strictly delineated by the
contract, making it not fall under the
description of possessory interest.

Southern Cafeteria Case

In 1983, the Colorado Court of Appeals
cited the “Rockwell Case” in Southern
Cafeteria, Inc. V. Property  Tax
Administrator, et al., 677 P.2d 362 (Colo.
App. 1983) (Southern Cafeteria) ruling that
management contracts cannot be valued
as a possessory interest. Once again, the
court found that the taxpayer had no
“‘incidents of ownership” over the property.
The government provided essentially all
equipment, fixtures, and real property,
monitored the pricing structure, and
maintained control over the amount of
profit Southern Cafeteria could realize.

§ 39-3-112, C.R.S., Repealed and § 39-3-
135, C.R.S., Enacted

As part of a 1989 recodification of article
three, HB-1098 repealed § 39-3-112,
C.R.S., and reenacted the statute as § 39-
3-135, C.R.S. No substantive changes to
the law were made.

Mesa Verde Il

Mesa Verde Company reentered the
debate in 1992 when, under an order from
the Montezuma County Board of
Equalization, the assessor placed an
omitted property assessment on four
parcels of land on which the company
operated its concessions. Mesa Verde
Company still operated under a contract
with the United States Government to
manage the improvements for the benefit
of the general public. Mesa Verde
protested, then appealed to the county
board of equalization, but was denied. The
taxpayer then appealed to district court,
which ruled that: 1. “Mesa Verde (did) not
enjoy a taxable ‘ownership interest’ in the
subject land.” (p. 3)
2. “Mesa Verde's use and possessory
interest in the subject land was “...exempt

from Colorado property tax under the plain
language of sections, § 39-3-135(1) and
§ 39-3-135(4)(c)...”  (p.3), and 3.
Montezuma County had no standing to
challenge the constitutionality of those
portions of the statute. @ Mesa Verde
Company v. the Montezuma County Board
of Equalization et al., 898 P.2d 1 (Colo.
1995).

The Montezuma County Board of
Equalization appealed the issue of
standing directly to the Supreme Court. In
Mesa Verde Company v. Montezuma
County Board of Equalization et al., 831
P.2d 482 (Colo. 1992), the Supreme Court
affirmed that the county board of
equalization and assessor lacked standing
to challenge the constitutionality of statute.

Mesa Verde lll

The legislature passed SB 93-046 the
following year, enacting § 30-11-105.1,
C.R.S., to authorize counties or county
officers, in defending an action in court, to
contest the constitutionality of a statute.
Subsequently, Montezuma County filed a
motion in district court to vacate its
judgment in Mesa Verde IlI. The court
agreed to vacate part of its order regarding
the county’s standing, but kept other parts
of the order in force until it could rule on
the constitutionality of exemptions cited in
§ 39-3-135(1) and § 39-3-135(4)(c), C.R.S.

In October 1993, the district court denied
the county’s motion to vacate its judgment,
and instead ruled that the entirety of § 39-
3-135, C.R.S., was unconstitutional as
applied to users of federal land because it
violated the Supremacy Clause of the
United States Constitution. The court held
that neither the federal land nor any
alleged interest of Mesa Verde in the
federal land is subject to Colorado property
taxation, and that the county had no
authority to tax Mesa Verde's use and
possessory interest. Montezuma County
appealed to the Colorado Supreme Court.

On April 24, 1995, in Mesa Verde Co. v.
Montezuma County Board of Equalization
et al, 898 P.2d 1 (Colo. 1995), the



Supreme Court reversed the judgment of
the district court, ruling that:

e Mesa Verde Company’s possessory
interest was “real property” within the
meaning of statutory provisions defining
real property for property tax purposes.

e Mesa Verde Company’s possessory
interest fell within the Government
Contractor Exemption and the Public
Park Exemption. However, those
exemptions were invalid; they
represented attempts by the legislature
to exempt real property that the
Colorado Constitution did not authorize
the legislature to exempt.

e The Supremacy Clause did not
preclude the state’'s taxation of the
concessionaire’s  possessory  and
usufructuary interests in federally
owned land.

e The resulting tax was valid because the
Ski Area Valuation Rule (and not the
unqualified As-if owned Rule) applied to
determine valuation, § 39-3-135(6),
C.R.S.

In reaching its decision, the Supreme Court
ruled that the second sentence of
§§ 39-3-135(1) and all of (4)(c) were
unconstitutional because they created
exemptions not authorized by Article X of
the Colorado Constitution. The court also
stated: “...Furthermore, sections 9 and 10
of Article X specifically proscribe the
legislative power ‘to impair the financial
base of government operations’ by
exempting corporate bodies, such as Mesa
Verde, from their share of taxation.
Allardice v. Adams County, 173 Colo. 133,
158, 476 P.2d 982, 995 (1970); see also
Colo. Const. Art. X; Sections 9 & 10....” (p.
8)

§ 39-3-135, C.R.S., Repealed and § 39-3-
136 and § 39-1-103(17), C.R.S. Enacted

In response to the Supreme Court’s
decision in Mesa Verde lll, the legislature
passed SB 96-218. The bill repealed
§ 39-3-135, C.R.S., and enacted § 39-3-

136 and § 39-1-103(17), C.R.S. The
legislation had the following effect on the
taxation of possessory interests in exempt
property:

e |t stated that possessory interests
should not be taxed with the exception
of: 1. equities in state lands, 2. mines,
quarries, or minerals, including
hydrocarbons, and 3. public utilities.
§ 39-3-136(1)(h), C.R.S.

e |t repealed § 39-3-135, C.R.S,, in its
entirety and further stated that
possessory interests in real or personal
property exempt from taxation under
§ 39-3-136, C.R.S., shall not be subject
to taxation unless specific statutory
provisions are enacted directing the
taxation of possessory interests.

e It established procedures for valuing
possessory interests that take effect if
possessory interests are found to be
taxable under the  Constitution,
§ 39-1-103(17), C.R.S.

The stated concern of the legislature was
the Supreme Court’s holding that certain
possessory interests in land are ‘“real
property” and, therefore, subject to
property taxation. The legislature felt the
decision opened the door for a variety of
possessory interests such as grazing
leases, permits on government land, or
government employees’ parking spaces in
government-owned garages becoming
subject to property taxation. Further, those
interests could be valued by different
methods.

SB 96-218 was signed by Governor Romer
on June 5, 1996, a month after the
statutory date for mailing notices of
valuation to taxpayers. When the state
board met on October 16, 1996, eighteen
counties had not yet removed possessory
interest valuations because they believed
the legislation was unconstitutional. The
state board continued the hearing on
possessory interests to October 28, 1996,
so that counties had time to prepare
presentations. The board also informed



the counties of its intention to uphold
§ 39-3-136, C.R.S.

Counties’ Challenge to 39-3-136, C.R.S.

When the state board met on October 28,
1996, fourteen counties had not removed
the possessory interest valuations. The
state board issued orders to each of the
counties to remove the valuations, and it
further ordered the counties to report back
by November 13, 1996, that the order had
been implemented.

The state board met on November 19,
1996, to review the counties’ responses.
Ten counties notified the state board that
they had not removed the possessory
interest valuations. To protect remedies,
Boulder County filed an appeal in Denver
District Court November 13, 1996; Clear
Creek County filed in Denver District Court
November 13, 1996, and seven counties
filed an action November 25, 1996. The
seven counties were Eagle, Grand,
Jefferson, Montezuma, Pitkin, Routt, and
Summit. Gunnison County chose not to
file an appeal in anticipation of the state
board’s filing a petition for writ of
mandamus with the Supreme Court.

In December, 1996, the state board filed a
petition for writ of mandamus with the
Supreme Court asking the court to order
the ten counties to show cause why they
should not comply with the state board’s
order to remove the possessory interest
valuations from the county. The state
board also requested the court to stay the
proceedings pending in Denver District
Court. On December 19, 1996, the court
denied the petition without comment.

On August 11, 1997, Denver District Court
ruled in favor of the state board and upheld
the constitutionality of SB 96-218. The
court based its ruling on the following
points:

e The Supreme Court’s decision in Mesa
Verde Co. v. Montezuma is clearly
based on a statutory definition of
possessory interests as “real property.”
“The Supreme Court did not hold, or

even suggest, that the subject land-use
rights were inherently ‘real property’ as
that term is defined in Article X,
Section 3,” of the Constitution.
Subsequent to the Supreme Court’s
decision, the legislature enacted
§ 39-3-136, C.R.S., (SB 96-218) to
exclude possessory interests from the
statutory definition of “real property.”

e The counties did not meet the burden to
prove SB 96-218 unconstitutional
beyond a reasonable doubt.

e There is no requirement in the Colorado
Constitution to tax possessory interests.

e The state board did not abuse its
discretion in ordering all counties with
1996 possessory interest assessments
to remove them from their assessment.

The counties appealed to the Court of
Appeals, and on December 24, 1998, the
court issued its decision that affirmed the
decision of the district court. In doing so,
the court cited the reasoning in Vail
Associates, Inc. v. Eagle County Board of
County Commissioners, 983 P.2d 49
(Colo. App. 1998). This closely related
case came before the court when Eagle
County appealed the Board of Assessment
Appeal’'s decision requiring it to remove
Vail Associates’ possessory interest value
from the assessment roll.

In Vail Associates, the court based its
decision on an understanding that the
taxation of property requires implementing
legislation;  therefore, “the  General
Assembly has the discretion to determine
questions of time, method, nature,
purpose, and extent in respect to the
imposition of taxes, the subjects upon
which the taxing power is to be exercised,
and the proceedings concerning taxation.”
(p- 54) The court said the Constitution is a
document that sets the limits in which the
legislature can operate, but there is no
restriction against the legislature taking
actions within those limits. In the court’s
opinion, the legislature recognized its
limitations “noting that it could not create a
class of property to be taxed and then



exempt certain members of that class.”
(p. 56) Therefore, the legislature “decided
that it simply would not create that class
consisting of possessory interests.” (p. 56)

The court also addressed the county’s
objection that upon enacting § 39-3-136,
C.R.S., the legislature did not amend
§§ 39-1-102(14) or 111, C.R.S. These are
the statutes cited in Mesa Verde lll as
defining possessory interests as real
property subject to taxation. By not
amending them, the county argued
possessory interests were still defined by
statute as real property. The court
disagreed. ‘It is not for the reviewing court
to determine that the legislature could have
addressed an issue in a different or ‘better’
manner. Rather, the court’s function is to
uphold the intent of the legislature and
determine  whether a  statute s
constitutional.” (p. 56) The counties
appealed the decisions of both cases to
the Colorado Supreme Court.

Vail Associates

The Supreme Court consolidated the two
cases, and in Board of County
Commissioners, County of Eagle, State of
Colorado v. Vail Associates Inc. and the
Board of Assessment Appeals and Allen S.
Black et al. v. Colorado State Board of
Equalization, 19 P.3d 1263 (Colo 2001),
the court overturned the decisions of the
Court of Appeals. In its decision, the court
found that § 39-3-136, C.R.S,
‘unconstitutionally exempts some private
possessory interests in  tax-exempt
property from taxation, contrary to Article X
... and (the court’s) controlling decision in
(Mesa Verde Ill).” (p.1267) As previously
stated, the Colorado Constitution provides
that “...each property tax levy shall be
uniform upon all real and personal property
not exempt from taxation under this
article....” COLO. CONST. art. X, § 3(1)(a).

The court agreed with the Court of
Appeals, that the taxation of property
requires implementing legislation, but it
said the legislature’s authority is not
unconstrained. ‘First, the General
Assembly cannot refuse to exercise its

taxation authority; it must enact tax
statutes so that governmental operations
may be funded.... Second, it cannot
provide purely statutory exemptions from
taxation that are not within the
constitutional exemption categories of
Article X.... Third, it must not enact
provisions that exempt certain private
interests from bearing their fair and
proportionate burden of taxation.” (p. 1274)

The court found that the enactment of
§ 39-3-136, C.R.S., violated each of these
constraints.  Its decision rests in part on
reasoning stated in Mesa Verde lll, that
possessory interests in real property are
themselves real property as defined by
§ 39-1-102(14)(a), C.R.S.

“‘Real Property” means: (a) All lands
or interests in lands to which title or
the right of title has been acquired
from the government of the United
States or from sovereign authority
ratified by treaties entered into by
the United States, or from the
state,.... 39-1-102(14)(a), C.R.S.

(emphasis added by court) (p. 1274)

Although § 39-3-136(1)(g), C.R.S., is
quoted as saying that provisions of
§ 39-1-102(14)(a), C.R.S., “...do not direct
the taxation of possessory interests in
exempt properties...,” the court disagreed
with the appellate court’s opinion that its
enactment removed possessory interests
from the statutory definition of real
property. “Defining property for taxation
purposes and directing taxation of that
property are different concepts...,”
(p- 1275) the court said.

Instead, the court found that § 39-3-136,
C.R.S., imposed the following changes on
the taxation of possessory interests:

e The statute “defines a class of property
known as ‘possessory interests.”
(p. 1277)

e |t “prohibits taxation of a subclass of
that property — possessory interests in
otherwise tax-exempt property — from



taxation while continuing taxation of
other possessory interests.” (p. 1277)

e And it “carves out certain interests
within the subclass for continued
taxation.” (p. 1277)

“This disparate tax treatment within the
same class of property is only permissible
if the property exempted in the statute is
also exempted in the constitution,”
(p. 1277) the court said. However, the only
constitutional exemption from the taxation
of possessory interests in exempt property
is specific to the taxation of non-producing
unpatented mining claims. (p. 1278)
Therefore, “the express language of
section § 39-3-136 operates as a purely
legislative exemption to taxation that is not
authorized under Article X.” (p. 1278)

Accordingly, the court severed § 39-3-136,
C.R.S., and the final sentence of § 39-1-
106, C.R.S., and left in place the valuation
provisions found in section § 39-1-103(17),
C.R.S., that the legislature intended to
apply if the court required the taxation of
possessory interests in exempt property.
(p. 1280) On March 30, 2001, the State
Board of Equalization voted that upon
receiving the remands from district court,
appropriate orders would be issued to the
counties.

State Board Orders Assessment of
Possessory Interests

The Supreme Court’s decision affirmed the
taxable status of the possessory interest
property assessed by counties who were
parties to Vail Associates. Their
possessory interests were taxable for the
years in which they were placed on the
assessment rolls and for future years.
However, the question remained as to
whether other possessory interest property
was taxable for the years in which the state
board ordered its removal, or whether it
was taxable beginning in 2001, the year
the court issued its decision. This included
possessory interests that had been
removed by counties in response to the
state board’s 1996 order and possessory

interests, such as grazing rights that had
not been previously assessed.

The state board addressed the question
during its November 21 meeting, in which
members voted unanimously to order “...
all county assessors except those who
were parties to (Vail Associates), to value
possessory interests for property tax years
2001, 2002 and forward.”

The order explained that the intent of the
legislature was expressed in statute,
including section § 39-10-101(2)(a)(l),
C.R.S., (amended in 1996) that reads in
part: “...the treasurer shall not treat any
possessory interest in exempt property, as
described in section § 39-3-136(1)(a), as
taxable property omitted from the tax list
and warrant for any year if the exclusion of
the possessory interest from the
assessment roll was based upon any
provision of law created or repealed by
Senate Bill 96-218...."” The state board said
“the courts will defer to clear legislative
intent  regarding the retrospective
application of court decisions. Kuhn v.
State Department of Revenue, 817 P.2d
101, 110 (Colo. 1991).”

During an October 7, 2002, hearing of the
state board, several county assessors
disclosed that they had not valued all of the
taxable possessory interests in their
jurisdictions.  The counties were Delta,
Eagle, Jackson, Jefferson, Moffat, Pitkin,
and Rio Grande. On November 4, 2002,
the state board sent the assessors a letter
reminding them of their obligation to
comply with the state board’s November
21, 2001, order and explaining the actions
the board would take to enforce
compliance if necessary. The assessors
subsequently valued the taxable
possessory interests in their counties for
tax year 2002.

During the same meeting, the state board
heard testimony from the Division of
Property Taxation that the Mesa County
Board of Equalization had incorrectly
ordered the removal of possessory interest
values placed on two properties by the



Mesa County Assessor. The state board
ordered the county board of equalization to
rescind its decision and restore the actual
values of $5,130 on one property and $80
on the other.

2003 Legislative Changes

Two Dbills were passed in 2003 that
changed the valuation procedures for
certain possessory interests. Senate Bill
03-167 affected the valuation of
possessory interests in land leased by the
state board of land commissioners. The
bill amends § 39-1-103(17(a)(l)(A), C.R.S.,
to say that the actual value of such land
“...shall be the actual amount of the annual
rent paid for the property tax year.” This
differs from most possessory interests,
which are valued according to the
“...present value of the reasonably
estimated future annual rents or
fees...through the stated initial term of the
lease or other instrument granting the
possessory interest,”
§ 39-1-103(17(a)(I)(A), C.R.S.

Senate Bill 03-347 concerns the valuation
of possessory interests in land involving
timber contracts. The bill amends § 39-1-
103(17)(a)(I)(B), C.R.S., to exclude from
the value calculation “any amount paid
under a timber sales contract or similar
agreement for the purchase of timber or for
the right to acquire and remove timber.”
The bill effectively excludes from taxation a
possessory interest created from a timber
sales contract.

2004 Legislative Changes

Senate Bill 04-059 expands to all
agricultural possessory interest land the
exception to the valuation methodology
established in 2003 for possessory
interests in land leased by the state board
of land commissioners. The bill amends
§ 39-1-103(17(a)(I)(A), C.R.S., to say that
the actual value of agricultural possessory
interest land “...shall be the actual amount
of the annual rent paid for the property tax
year.”




2004 PROPERTY TAX
LEGISLATION

SENATE BILLS

SB 04-001

Concerning the exemption of business
personal property from property
taxation.

Section 1 amends article 2 of title 2,
C.R.S., with the addition of a new part.
This part (11) creates a legislative interim
committee on  stimulating economic
development through business personal
property tax exemptions and other
methods. The committee will study the
following:

e Tax policy changes that have the
effect of creating and retaining jobs in
Colorado. This includes business
personal property tax exemptions that
eliminate or phase out the business
personal property tax;

e An analysis of the cumulative fiscal
impact of such tax policy changes on
the state and local governments.
This includes the fiscal impact of
business personal property tax
exemptions that eliminate or phase
out the business personal property
tax;

¢ Dynamic economic models, including
the multiplier effect, that use existing
resources and that demonstrate net
long-term revenue gains;

e Ensuring that such tax policy changes
would encourage economic
development in rural areas; and

e What other actions can be taken by
the state to encourage, promote, and
stimulate economic development in
Colorado.

The committee will meet six times during
the 2004 interim. The meetings are open

to the public. The committee will solicit the
testimony of the public, especially those
with expertise related to the fiscal impacts
of tax policy changes.

Signed by Governor Owens: May 21, 2004
Effective: January 1, 2005

SB 04-047
Concerning Documents Filed with a
County Official

Section 1 amends § 30-10-407, C.R.S., by
adding subsection (4.3) to allow three-
business days to pass after a document
has been recorded before the county clerk
and recorder must provide legible size
prints. Previously, there was no waiting
period.

Section 2 amends § 30-10-408, C.R.S., by
adding subsection (2.5), which requires the
clerk and recorder to enter a recorded
document in the grantor and grantee
indices no later than seven business days
after it is filed/recorded.

Section 3 amends § 30-10-409(2), C.R.S.,
to move the “endorsement” deadline from
3:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. That is, if a
document is received electronically by 1:00
p.m. on a business day, it must be
endorsed by the end of that day.
Documents received after 1:00 p.m. on a
business day must be endorsed by 5:00
p.m. the following business day.

‘Endorsed” means that the document
itself must reflect the date, hour, and
minute of its filing, the index or
reception number, the volume, film or
page where recorded if such are used,
and the recording fee. The document
also must be immediately recorded in
the “reception book.”

Further, subsection (6) is added to state
that the deadlines set forth sections
30-10-407(4.3) and 30-10-408(2.5) and 30-
10-409(2), C.R.S., can be extended for a
reasonable period of time if an extenuating
circumstance prevents the clerk and
recorder from meeting the deadlines. The



subsection goes on to define “extenuating
circumstance” and provides direction for
the clerk to make a written finding of the
circumstances. The written statement
must be available to the public.

30-10-409(6)(b) As used in this
subsection (6), “‘extenuating
circumstance” means a disaster, as
defined in section 24-32-2103(1.5),
C.R.S., or a technical difficulty related
to computer hardware or software that
is outside the control of the clerk and
recorder.

24-32-2103(1.5) "Disaster" means the
occurrence or imminent threat of
widespread or severe damage, injury,
or loss of life or property resulting from
any natural cause or cause of human
origin, including but not limited to fire,
flood, earthquake, wind, storm, wave
action, hazardous substance incident,
oil spill or other water contamination
requiring emergency action to avert
danger or damage, volcanic activity,
epidemic, air pollution, blight, drought,
infestation, explosion, civil disturbance,
hostile military or paramilitary action, or
a condition of riot, insurrection, or
invasion existing in the state or in any
county, city, town, or district in the
state.

The bill was in response to title companies’
concerns that so many homes were being
refinanced, county clerks could not keep
up with the work. Further, the clerks were
not able to hire part-time help. The
companies wanted dates put into statute to
ensure that the work gets done. County
clerks worked with the companies on the
language in the bill.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 8, 2004
Effective: July 1, 2004

SB 04-059
Concerning the valuation of possessory
interests in agricultural land.

Section 1 amends § 39-1-103(17)(a)(l1)(A),
C.R.S., by stating the actual value of a
possessory interest in agricultural land,
including land leased by the state board of
land commissioners other than land
subject to development leased pursuant to
§ 36-1-120.5, C.R.S., should be
determined by the actual amount of the
annual rent paid for the property tax year.

The actual rent paid is now the actual
value of an agricultural possessory
interest.

Signed by Governor Owens: May 27, 2004
Effective: January 1, 2005

SB 04-120

Concerning charitable trusts, and, in
connection therewith, permitting a
charitable trust to be eligible to provide
community or useful public service jobs
and requiring that property that is
owned and used by a charitable trust be
treated the same as property that is
owned and used by any other type of
nonprofit organization for the purpose
of claiming a religious purpose property
tax exemption.

Section 1 amends § 18-1.3-507, C.R.S.,
subsection (2) to include “charitable trusts”
and also amends subsection (2.5) to state
that a charitable trust that is exempt from
taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the IRS
Code of 1986 is eligible to provide
community or wuseful public jobs as
established under § 18-1.3-507, C.R.S., or
any other provision of law as long as the
charitable trust meets any other
requirement related to the provisions of
such jobs.

Note: § 18-1.3-507(2)(a), C.R.S.,
describes the purpose of the various
entities, including charitable trusts, as
being for the purpose of:



e To provide community or useful
public service jobs,

e To interview persons who have been
ordered by the court to perform
community or useful public service
and to assign such persons to
suitable community or useful public
service jobs

e To monitor compliance or
noncompliance of such persons in
performing community or useful
public service assignments within the
time established by the court.

Section 2 amends § 18-18-432, C.R.S., by
adding charitable trusts to the list of entities
that the useful public service program can
seek the cooperation of when searching for
useful public service jobs.

Section 3 amends § 39-3-106, C.R.S., to
say that any property that is owned and
used by a charitable trust that is exempt
from taxation under section 501(c)(3) shall
be treated the same as property that is
owned and used by any other type of
nonprofit organization.  This applies to
charitable  trusts  seeking  religious
exemptions.

Section 4 amends § 42-4-1301.4, C.R.S,,
adding charitable trusts to the list of entities
that the useful public service program can
seek the cooperation of when searching for
useful public service jobs.

Overall, the bill will not affect the Division’s
current exemption procedures. Any
organization exempt under 501(c)(3) has a
presumptive claim to be taken seriously
while still having to qualify under article 3
of title 39, C.R.S., no matter which type of
exemption is being sought.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 20, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004

SB 04-157

Concerning the exclusion from lobbying
of persons who limit their activities to
providing formal testimony.

Section 1 adds
24-6-301(3.5)(d)(IlN), C.R.S.

subsection

The General Assembly hereby declares
its support of the “Colorado Sunshine
Act of 1972” and the open process that
it has brought to the legislative process
in Colorado. The General Assembly’s
intent in enacting this subparagraph (lll)
is to achieve a more uniform application
of the Ilobbying laws to witness
testimony and to clarify the ability of the
public to provide testimony to the
general assembly and to state
agencies.

“‘Lobbying” excludes persons who are
not otherwise registered as lobbyists
and who Ilimit their activities to
appearances to give testimony or
provide information to committees of
the General Assembly or at public
hearings of state agencies or who give
testimony or provide information at the
request of public officials or employees
and who clearly identify themselves and
the interest for whom they are testifying
or providing information.

The bill removes the previous definition of
lobbying which included lobbying as:

¢ . such communications by any
person who makes more than three
such appearances before any
committee, board, or commission in a
calendar year. “Appearance,” for the
purpose of this paragraph (d), means
the testimony given before a
committee, board, or commission on a
single issue, rule, rate, or Dill,
regardless of the actual number of
physical appearances necessary to
present the testimony.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 13, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004



SB 04-221

Concerning the authority of a
metropolitan district to exercise
specified enforcement activities of other
entities within the boundaries of the
district.

The bill amends § 32-1-1004, C.R.S.
It allows the board of a metropolitan district
to furnish security services in any area
within the special district. The purpose is
to increase security around homes in
secluded areas.

Signed by Governor Owens: May 21, 2004
Effective: May 21, 2004

SB 04-239

Concerning the revision of statutes in
the Colorado Revised Statutes, as
amended, amending or repealing
obsolete, inconsistent, and conflicting
provisions of law and clarifying the
language to reflect the legislative intent
of the laws.

Section 86 amends § 39-1-102(1.6)(a)(l),
C.R.S., to correct the name of a federal
agency from “the natural resource
conservation service” to “the natural
resources conservation service.”

Section 87 amends § 39-4-102(1)(b),
C.R.S. to change a statutory citation from
§ 29-11-101(14) to §29-11-101(13), C.R.S.

Section 92 amends § 39-22-611, C.R.S., to
correct a  statutory citation from
§ 29-11-101(14) to §29-11-101(13), C.R.S.

NOTE: The latter portion of the statute,
which concerns intangible property, refers
to state assessed property:

39-22-611. Property exempt from ad

valorem taxes.

Notwithstanding any other provisions of
law, all intangible personal property,
whether or not owned by a resident of
Colorado, and whether or not such
property or evidence thereof is situated

or held or has its legal situs within the
state, shall be exempt from ad valorem
tax imposed by the state of Colorado,
or by any political subdivision thereof;
but nothing in this section shall be
construed to repeal, or in any way
affect the use or inclusion of intangible
property other than licenses granted by
the federal communications
commission to a wireless carrier, as
defined in section 29-11-101(13),
C.R.S., as a factor in arriving at the
valuation of public utility property
assessed by the property tax
administrator under provisions of
articles 1 to 13 of this title. (emphasis
added)

HOUSE BILLS

HB 04-1048
Concerning beneficiary deeds

Section 1 amends article 15 of title 15,
C.R.S., by adding a new Part 4 titled
Transfer of Real Property Effective on
Death — §§ 15-15-401 through 15-15-415,
C.R.S.

The legislation creates a process whereby
an interest in real property can be
conveyed that is effective on the death of
the owner. Subsection 15-15-401(1),
C.R.S., the definitions subsection, names
the document a “beneficiary deed.” Some
highlights from the legislation are:

e The deed is revocable by the owner
(grantor) if the revocation is recorded
prior to the death of the grantor.

e The most  recently  executed
beneficiary deed or revocation
recorded prior to the grantor’s death
shall control, regardless of the order
of recording.

e The transfer is effective only upon the
death of the owner.

e The deed need not be supported by
consideration.



A beneficiary deed may not be
revoked, altered, or amended by the
provisions of the will of the owner.

The grantee-beneficiary does not
have to be notified prior to the death
of the owner, but the grantee-
beneficiary can disclaim or refuse to
accept all or any part of the real
property interest.

During the lifetime of the owner, the
grantee-beneficiary has no right, title,
or interest in or to the property. The
owner retains the full power and
authority with respect to the property.

A beneficiary deed does not sever a
joint tenancy. If a joint-tenant-grantor
is not the last joint tenant to die, the
beneficiary deed shall not be
effective, and the beneficiary deed
shall not make the grantee-
beneficiary an owner in joint tenancy
with the surviving joint tenant or
tenants.

A beneficiary deed is not a
testamentary disposition and cannot
be invalidated due to nonconformity
with the provisions of the “Colorado
Probate Code” governing wills.

Medicaid eligibility exclusion:  No
individual who is an applicant for or
recipient of medical assistance for
which it would be permissible for the
Department of Health Care Policy
and Financing to assert a claim under
the Colorado Medical Assistance Act,
specifically §§ 26-4-403 or 26-4-
403.3, C.R.S., shall be entitled to the
medical assistance if the individual
has in effect a beneficiary deed.

Further, the execution of a beneficiary
deed by an applicant for or recipient
of such medical assistance shall
cause the property to be considered
“a countable resource” in accordance
with § 26-4-403.3(6), C.R.S., and
applicable rules and regulations.

Unless otherwise designated, a beneficiary
deed has the same force and effect as a
conveyance made using a bargain and
sale deed. It is not deemed to contain any
warranties of title.

Rights of creditors and others are
protected if other assets of the estate of
the deceased owner are insufficient to pay
all claims against the estate and statutory
allowances to the surviving spouse and
children.  The proceeding must begin
within one year after the death.

make

Sections 2-4 conforming
amendments  to 15-11-706(1),
15-15-101(1.5) and 38-30-113.5, C.R.S.

Signed by Governor Owens: May 12, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004.

HB 04-1067

Concerning the conversion of state
refunds of business personal property
taxes owed by the Department of
Revenue to a taxpayer into unclaimed
property for which a claim may be filed
under the “Unclaimed Property Act”
when the refund is represented by a
warrant that has been cancelled in
accordance with the law.

The following statutes are amended:

§ 38-13-102(7)(a), C.R.S.
§ 38-13-109.7, C.R.S.

§ 39-21-108, C.R.S.

§ 39-21-113(12), C.R.S.

The Department of Revenue is given a
procedure to deal with business personal
property refund checks that are not
cashed. If refund checks are not cashed,
the refund amount is sent to the State
Treasurer's Office. By doing this, the
refund is treated like other “unclaimed
property.”

Signed by Governor Owens: April 7, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004



HB 04-1129
Concerning Property Taken by a County
for Delinquent Taxes

Section 1 amends subsection
39-10-111(3), C.R.S., to require county
treasurers to publish notice of the seizure
and sale of personal property due to
delinquent taxes within 180 days after the
seizure.

Subsection (5) was amended to require
that if the amount bid is less than the fixed
minimum price, which includes taxes,
delinquent interest, and costs of making
the seizure and advertising the sale, the
treasurer or the deputy treasurer may
declare the property purchased by the
county. If the county declares the property
purchased, the personal property must be
sold within another 150 days as
determined by the county commissioners.

Subsection (13) was added to state that
the county cannot operate the business in
which the county seized the personal
property.

Section 2 amends § 39-11-143(2), C.R.S.,
by adding that the board of county
commissioners now has the ability to retain
real property that is acquired by the county
via a tax deed under § 39-11-142, C.R.S.,
in addition to having the power to rent,
lease, or sell such real property.

Subsection (2.5) was added to place
restrictions and requirements on the county
commissioners when real property is
retained for a present or future public
project. The commissioners may rent or
lease the lot or parcel retained for a
present or future project and must pass a
resolution describing the project for which
the property is retained. Further, it states
that using property to generate revenue for
the county is not a public project.
Subsection 30-20-301(2), C.R.S., defines
public project as:

(2) "Public project" means any lands,
buildings, structures, works, machinery,
equipment, or facilities suitable for and

intended for use as public property for
public purposes or suitable for and
intended for use in the promotion of the
public health, public education (where
county boundaries and school district
boundaries are coterminous), public
welfare, or the conservation of natural
resources, including the planning of any
such lands, buildings, improvements,
structures, works, machinery,
equipment, or facilities, and shall also
include existing lands, buildings,
improvements, structures, works, and
facilities, as well as improvements,
renovations, or additions to any such
lands, buildings, improvements,
structures, works, or facilities.

Subsection (3) allows the commissioners
to lease the real property to an affiliated
entity, but the lease cannot exceed five
years. An affiliated entity is defined as, “a
nonprofit entity with which the county
enters into a contract for the delivery of
goods or services to the county or to third
parties on behalf of the county.”

Subsection (4) was amended to state that
property that is not retained or leased in
accordance with subsection (2.5) or (3)
must be sold at a public sale within one
year after the property is conveyed to the
county, except the commissioners may
reject any bid that is less than the value of
the property as determined by the
assessor.

Signed by Governor Owens: March 17, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004

HB 04-1157

Concerning the procedures for purging
title to a manufactured home.

Section 1 amends section

38-29-112, C.R.S., by adding subsection
(1.3):

Prior to the sale or transfer of a
manufactured home for which a
certificate of title has been issued, a
holder of a mortgage that is the legal
holder of the certificate of title shall



provide a copy of the certificate of title
to any title insurance agent, title
insurance  company, or financial
institution requesting information
related to the payoff of the mortgage
within fourteen days of the request.

The section also amends subsection
38-29-112(1.5), C.R.S., to state in part:

...The manufactured home for which a
Colorado certificate of title has been
issued shall continue to be valued and
taxed separately from the land on which
it sits until such time that the
manufactured home becomes real
property pursuant to this subsection
(1.5). (emphasis added)

NOTE: The first part of subsection 1.5
states:

The purchaser or transferee of a
manufactured home that becomes
permanently affixed at an existing site
or is transported to a site and is
permanently affixed to the ground so
that it is no longer capable of being
drawn over the public highways shall
present_a certificate of transfer as
required in subsection (1) of this
section, together with his or her
application for purging a
manufactured home title, . . . and said
manufactured home shall become real
property. . . (emphasis added)

It also adds subsection
38-29-112(1.7), C.R.S., regarding the
certificate of title. 38-29-112(1.7)(b) states
that if:

e A title insurance agent acts as a
settlement agent related to the sale of
a manufactured home; AND

e The manufactured home that is sold
is the subject of one or more
mortgages that have been filed
pursuant to section 37-29-128; AND

e All holders of a mortgage on the
manufactured home that have been

filed pursuant to 38-29-128 have
been paid in full from the proceeds of
the sale. THEN

The legal holder of the certificate of title
(defined in [1.3] as, “ . . . a holder of a
mortgage that is the legal holder of
certificate of title . . .”) must deliver the
certificate of title within 45 days to the title
insurance agent who is the settlement
agent. If the title has been lost, evidence
must be provided that a duplicate title has
been requested from the Department of
Revenue (Division of Motor Vehicle). It
must be delivered to the title company
within five (5) days of receipt from Motor
Vehicle. The owner, the authorized agent,
or attorney of the owner executes the
formal transfer (signs the title over to the
new owner/mortgage holder).

NOTE: If a certificate of title does not
exist because the Division of Motor
Vehicle purged and removed a
certificate of title from its database,
Motor Vehicle requires the legal holder
of the title to follow the bonding
procedure for a new certificate of title.
Bonding information is available on the
state motor vehicle web site at
www.mv.state.co.us/titlereg.html or at
the county motor vehicle department.

Section 2 amends 38-29-118(2), C.R.S., by
adding the language:

...The manufactured home for which a
Colorado certificate of title has been
issued shall continue to be valued and
taxed separately from the land on which
it sits until such time that the
manufactured home becomes real
property pursuant to this subsection (2).
(emphasis added)

NOTE; The first part of subsection 2
states:

The owner of any manufactured home
for which a Colorado certificate of title
has been issued, upon its being
permanently affixed to the ground so
that it is no longer capable of being



drawn over the public highways, may
surrender his certificate of title
thereto and file with the authorized
agent of the county or city and county in
which such manufactured home is
located a request for purging of the
manufactured home title; . . .

NOTE: Subsection 38-29-118(2), C.R.S,,
was originally passed in HB 83-1428, and
the permissive “may” was placed in statute
at that time.

We teach that the purging language in this
subsection is permissive from the
standpoint that the title to an older
manufactured home that is made
permanent some period after it's moved to
the site does not have to be purged unless
the owner wants the manufactured home
and land valued together or needs some
type of financing. Mortgage companies will
not finance manufactured homes that are
separate from the land. A new owner may
also demand that the title be purged.

Section 3 adds the citation § 38-29-
112(1.7), C.R.S., to § 38-29-131(1), C.R.S.
The statute concerns the release of a
mortgage on a manufactured home
certificate of title, and so indicating on the
title.

The bill did not include language allowing
the amendment to be applied retroactively;
therefore, the change applies to property
tax year 2005 and forward. Mission Viejo
Company v. Board of Equalization of
Douglas County, 942 P.2d 1251 (Colo.App.
1996).

Signed by Governor Owens: May 21, 2004
Effective Date: August 4, 2004
Applies to property tax years beginning 2005.

HB 04-1311
Concerning identity theft.

Among other things, this bill amends § 24-
72.3-102, C.R.S., to state that a public
entity shall not request a person’s social
security number over the telephone,
internet, or via mail unless the public entity

determines that receiving the social
security number is required by federal law
or is essential to the provision of services
by the public entity.

Subsection 39-3-205(2)(a)(l) and (llI),
C.R.S.; require the Division of Property
Taxation to request the social security
numbers of all Senior Homestead
Exemption applicants. The Division
considers this requirement essential to the
provision of services. Therefore, the
amendment does not prevent the Division
from requiring an applicant’s social security
number.

Signed by Governor Owens: June 4, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004

HB 04-1356

Concerning an increase in the amount
of income that an owner of certain tax-
exempt property may earn from the
rental of the property.

Section 1 amends § 39-3-106.5(2)(b),
C.R.S., by increasing the dollar amount
that an organization with exempt property
can receive from the rental of such
property. The increase is from $10,000
gross rental income per year to $25,000.

Subsection 39-3-106.5(2), C.R.S., allows
for non-qualifying use of exempt property
as long as the exempt property owner does
not receive more than $25,000 in gross
rental income. However, the statute
applies only to “occasional, non-
continuous” use. An example might be the
occasional rental for a party at a fraternal
organization’s property.

NOTE When the non-qualifying use is
not “occasional, non-continuous,” the
Division applies § 39-3-116, C.R.S.,
which can result in some tax liability
even if the income from the rental of the
property is under $25,000. The statute
is designed to allow one exempt
organization to let another exempt
organization use its property and
recover its expenses, but not to make
any more than recovery of expenses. If



the conditions of the statute are met,
there is no change to the exempt status
of the property.

Section 2 states that the act applies to
property tax years beginning January 1,
2005.

Signed by Governor Owens: April 7, 2004
Effective: August 4, 2004, and applies to property
tax years beginning 2005.
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